DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on August 25, 2026 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on August 25, 2026, with respect to 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USK 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn. Claim(s) 1-20 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HU SHENGQUAN et al. WO 2024/217483A1.
Regarding claim 1, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “a method, comprising: allocating, by a processor of an apparatus, a plurality of resource units (RUs) to a plurality of stations (STAs)” (See Abstract describing an apparatus (e.g., station (STA)) generates a plurality of resource units (RUs). The apparatus then transmits the plurality of RUs with the plurality of RUs having either or both of the following: (a) unequal numbers of spatial streams per RU; and (b) unequal modulations applied on RUs of the plurality of RUs or on two or more spatial streams of each of one or more RUs of the plurality of Rus); and “performing, by the processor, mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU-MIMO) communications with the plurality of STAs using the plurality of Rus” (See FIG. 7; Paragraph 0038 which illustrates an example scenario 700 under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure Scenario 700 may pertain to examples of UEQM operation with unequal QAM on RUs, unequal N.sub.SS on RUs, but the same QAM on spatial streams on the same RU. Referring to FIG. 7, for 2x996-tone Rus, each 996- tone RU may be transmitted on a respective N.sub.SS (e.g., N.sub.SS1 for a first 996-tone RU and N.sub.SS2 for a second 996-tone RU and may be assigned with a respective QAM. For instance, in a mixed-bandwidth (mixed-BW) multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU-MIMO) transmission scenario, a MU-MIMO on the first 996- tone RU may be transmitted on two spatial streams (2ss) for a user (e.g., user-1) while a single-user multiple-input-multiple-output (SU-MIMO) on the second 996-tone RU may be transmitted on four spatial streams tone RU (4ss) for the user. Alternatively, the RU-MIMO transmission on the second 996- tone RU may be performed with a first QAM (QAM1) on two spatial streams of the 4ss and with a second QAM (QAM2) on the other two spatial streams of the 4ss).
As per claim 2, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications without limitations” (Figures 1-13 and corresponding text).
As per claim 3, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with alignment of RU boundaries” (Figure 6, Paragraph 0036-0037)
As per claim 4, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with each of the plurality of RUs being a 242-tone RU (RU242) or larger” (Paragraph 0026).
As per claim 5, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth Mu-MIMO communications across different 80MHz frequency segments or frequency subblocks with each of the plurality of RUs being a 996-tone RU (RU996) and boundary aligned” (Paragraph 0034-0038).
As per claim 6, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications across different 80MHz frequency segments or frequency subblocks with each of the plurality of RUs being a 484-tone RU (RU484) or larger” (Paragraph 0034-0038).
As per claim 7, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal modulations with respect to at least one STA of the plurality of STAs such that a first modulation is applied on a first RU allocated to the at least one STA and a second modulation different from the first modulation is applied on a second RU allocated to the at least one STA” (Figure 2, Paragraphs 0030-0035).
As per claim 8, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal numbers of spatial streams with respect to at least one STA of the plurality of STAs such that a first number of spatial streams (Nss1) is assigned to a first RU allocated to the at least one STA and a second number of spatial streams (Nss2) different from the Nss1 is assigned to a second RU allocated to the at least one STA” (Paragraphs 0031, 0038).
As per claim 9, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications further comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal modulations with respect to the at least one STA such that a first modulation is applied on the first RU and a second modulation different from the first modulation is applied on the second RU” (Paragraph 0031).
As per claim 10, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with at least one STA of the plurality of STAs communicating using multiple physical-layer service data units (PSDUs) on multiple RUs of the plurality of RUs” (Figure 13; Paragraphs 0050-0061).
Regarding claim 11, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “a method, comprising: generating, by a processor of an apparatus, one or more resource units (RUs)” (See Abstract describing an apparatus (e.g., station (STA)) generates a plurality of resource units (RUs). The apparatus then transmits the plurality of RUs with the plurality of RUs having either or both of the following: (a) unequal numbers of spatial streams per RU; and (b) unequal modulations applied on RUs of the plurality of RUs or on two or more spatial streams of each of one or more RUs of the plurality of Rus); and “performing, by the processor, mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple- output (MU-MIMO) communications with the one or more RUs” (See FIG. 7; ; Paragraph 0038 which illustrates an example scenario 700 under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure Scenario 700 may pertain to examples of UEQM operation with unequal QAM on RUs, unequal N.sub.SS on RUs, but the same QAM on spatial streams on the same RU. Referring to FIG. 7, for 2x996-tone Rus, each 996- tone RU may be transmitted on a respective N.sub.SS (e.g., N.sub.SS1 for a first 996-tone RU and N.sub.SS2 for a second 996-tone RU and may be assigned with a respective QAM. For instance, in a mixed-bandwidth (mixed-BW) multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU-MIMO) transmission scenario, a MU-MIMO on the first 996- tone RU may be transmitted on two spatial streams (2ss) for a user (e.g., user-1) while a single-user multiple-input-multiple-output (SU-MIMO) on the second 996-tone RU may be transmitted on four spatial streams tone RU (4ss) for the user. Alternatively, the RU-MIMO transmission on the second 996- tone RU may be performed with a first QAM (QAM1) on two spatial streams of the 4ss and with a second QAM (QAM2) on the other two spatial streams of the 4ss).
As per claim 12, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth Mu-MIMO communications across different 80MHz frequency segments or frequency subblocks with each of the plurality of RUs being a 996-tone RU (RU996) and boundary aligned” (Paragraphs 0034-0038).
As per claim 13, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications further comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal modulations with respect to the at least one STA such that a first modulation is applied on the first RU and a second modulation different from the first modulation is applied on the second RU” (Paragraph 0031).
As per claim 14, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal numbers of spatial streams such that a first number of spatial streams (Nss1) is assigned to a first RU of the one or more RUs and a second number of spatial streams (Nss2) different from the Nss1 is assigned to a second RU of the one or more RUs” (Paragraphs 0031, 0038).
As per claim 15, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications further comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal modulations such that a first modulation is applied on the first RU and a second modulation different from the first modulation is applied on the second RU” (Paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 16, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “an apparatus (Figure 12; Paragraphs 0043-0049), comprising: a transceiver (1226) configured to communicate wirelessly; and “a processor (1212, 1222) coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising: allocating, via the transceiver, a plurality of resource units (RUs) to a plurality of stations (STAs)” (See Abstract describing an apparatus (e.g., station (STA)) generates a plurality of resource units (RUs). The apparatus then transmits the plurality of RUs with the plurality of RUs having either or both of the following: (a) unequal numbers of spatial streams per RU; and (b) unequal modulations applied on RUs of the plurality of RUs or on two or more spatial streams of each of one or more RUs of the plurality of Rus); and performing, via the transceiver, mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU-MIMO) communications with the plurality of STAs using the plurality of RUs.” (See FIG. 7 illustrates an example scenario 700 under a proposed scheme in accordance with the present disclosure Scenario 700 may pertain to examples of UEQM operation with unequal QAM on RUs, unequal N.sub.SS on RUs, but the same QAM on spatial streams on the same RU. Referring to FIG. 7, for 2x996-tone Rus, each 996- tone RU may be transmitted on a respective N.sub.SS (e.g., N.sub.SS1 for a first 996-tone RU and N.sub.SS2 for a second 996-tone RU and may be assigned with a respective QAM. For instance, in a mixed-bandwidth (mixed-BW) multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU-MIMO) transmission scenario, a MU-MIMO on the first 996- tone RU may be transmitted on two spatial streams (2ss) for a user (e.g., user-1) while a single-user multiple-input-multiple-output (SU-MIMO) on the second 996-tone RU may be transmitted on four spatial streams tone RU (4ss) for the user. Alternatively, the RU-MIMO transmission on the second 996- tone RU may be performed with a first QAM (QAM1) on two spatial streams of the 4ss and with a second QAM (QAM2) on the other two spatial streams of the 4ss).
As per claim 17, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications across different 80MHz frequency segments or frequency subblocks with each of the plurality of RUs being a 996-tone RU (RU996) and boundary aligned” (Paragraph 0034-0038).
As per claim 18, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal modulations with respect to at least one STA of the plurality of STAs such that a first modulation is applied on a first RU allocated to the at least one STA and a second modulation different from the first modulation is applied on a second RU allocated to the at least one STA” (Figure 2, Paragraphs 0030-0035).
As per claim 19, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal numbers of spatial streams with respect to at least one STA of the plurality of STAs such that a first number of spatial streams (Nss1) is assigned to a first RU allocated to the at least one STA and a second number of spatial streams (Nss2) different from the Nss1 is assigned to a second RU allocated to the at least one STA” (Paragraphs 0031, 0038).
As per claim 20, HU SHENGQUAN et al. disclose “wherein the performing of the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications further comprises performing the mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with unequal modulations with respect to the at least one STA such that a first modulation is applied on the first RU and a second modulation different from the first modulation is applied on the second RU” (Paragraph 0031).
Remarks
The Applicant argued that Hu does not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). The Examiner agrees and makes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2); thus, claims 1-20 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as detailed above. Although the Hu reference was not qualified under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as the Applicant argued, page 2 of the Non-Final Action indicated that “In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.” Therefore, this Final Office Action is proper.
The Applicant also argued that “Hu fails to disclose each and every limitation of independent Claims 1 and 16. For instance, there does not appear to be any disclosure in Hu of: allocating a plurality of resource units (RUs) to a plurality of stations (STAs); and performing mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU- MIMO) communications with the plurality of STAs using the plurality of RUs, as recited in Claim 1, or the corresponding limitations of Claim 16.” The Examiner disagrees with this line of argument because the Abstract of Hu clearly describes an apparatus wherein (e.g., station (STA)) generates a plurality of resource units (RUs). Thus, each resource unit generated is associated with the STA that generated the RU; hence, allocating a plurality of resource units (RUs) to a plurality of stations (STAs) is clearly described by Hu.
As per “performing mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU- MIMO) communications with the plurality of STAs using the plurality of RUs”, Hu describes in a mixed-bandwidth (mixed-BW) multi- user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU-MIMO) transmission scenario, a MU- MIMO on the first 996- tone RU may be transmitted on two spatial streams (2ss) for a user (e.g., user-1). This is a clear description of performing mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU- MIMO) communications with the plurality of STAs using the plurality of RUs.
The Applicant also argued that “with respect to independent Claim 11, the Office relies on the Abstract of Hu for "generating one or more resource units (RUs)" and FIG. 7 and paragraph 0038 of Hu for "performing mixed-bandwidth MU-MIMO communications with the one or more RUs”. The Abstract of Hu clearly describes an apparatus wherein (e.g., station (STA)) generates a plurality of resource units (RUs). Thus, each resource unit generated is associated with the STA that generated the RU; hence, allocating a plurality of resource units (RUs) to a plurality of stations (STAs) is clearly described by Hu. As per “performing mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU- MIMO) communications with the plurality of STAs using the plurality of RUs”, Hu describes in a mixed-bandwidth (mixed-BW) multi- user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU-MIMO) transmission scenario, a MU- MIMO on the first 996- tone RU may be transmitted on two spatial streams (2ss) for a user (e.g., user-1). This is a clear description of performing mixed-bandwidth multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (MU- MIMO) communications with the plurality of STAs using the plurality of RUs.
Other Reference(s) Cited
US-20230354046-A1
US-11616547-B2
US-20210376983-A1
US 20250300702 A1 describing ", subfields for Tx beamforming for SU-MIMO 602 and a delta modulation 801 (ΔM) for a plurality of spatial streams 105"
"Methods and apparatus for indicating unequal modulation (UEQM) parameters for spatial streams between antennae of multiple input, multiple output (MIMO) communication systems are provided"
"indicating, by a respective one of the one or more groups of bits of the plurality of bits, an ultra-high-reliability modulation scheme for multiple-user MIMO communication."
US 20110261899 A1 describing Arrangements for detecting or preventing errors in the information received by diversity reception using space diversity"
"a set of at least one multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) terminal; and"
"METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ALLOCATING downlink RESOURCES IN A MULTIPLE-INPUT MULTIPLE-OUTPUT (MIMO) COMMUNICATION SYSTEM"
"MIMO Mode"
US 20150365923 A1 describing " multiple-output (MU-MIMO)."
", the AP 104 can also send MU-MIMO transmissions 901A-901C to STAs 106X-106Z that are close to the AP 104 over the remaining 60 MHz portion of the bandwidth"
"A communication link that facilitates transmission from the AP 104 to one or more of the STAs 106A-106D can be referred to as a downlink (DL) 108"
US 8228810 B2 describing Systems modifying transmission characteristics according to link quality, e.g. power backoff by adapting the channel coding"
"FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) communication system according to an embodiment of the present invention;"
"Multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communication method and system of enabling the method"
"In a conventional Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) communication system, each of a plurality of user terminals feeds back channel quality information (CQI) to a base station"
US 8842623 B2 describing "Method and apparatus for transmitting reference signals in uplink multiple input multiple output (MIMO) transmission"
"generate a plurality of reference signals for uplink Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) transmission using the control information;"
"generating, by the terminal, a plurality of reference signals for uplink Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) transmission using the control information;"
US 20240098774 A1 describing "In multi-user MIMO systems"
", the transmission performance of multi-user MIMO communication systems."
"Multi-User MIMO Systems and Methods"
US 20180115963 A1 describing " first MU-MIMO signal."
" shared resources and means for processing the first MU-MIMO signal, based on the numerology parameters."
"a channel coding used for at least one of the first and second MU-MIMO signals"
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
September 14, 2026