DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the amendment dated 6/24/2026, for which the amendment and corresponding arguments filed on the same date have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8 and 10-18 are currently pending in this application, with claims 1, 4 and 7 being independent. Claims 1, 4, 7 and 10 have been amended. Claims 12-18 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the arguments, the applicant argues Wilson fails to disclose that a second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired through a first TCI state in a TCI state list activated by a MAC-CE for configuring TCI states of PDSCHs.
The reasons by the applicant for making this argument are:
Wilson merely discloses a default QCL rule for cross-carrier scheduling scenarios. According to Wilson, paragraphs [0045]-[0046], when the scheduling offset between reception of downlink DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than a threshold, the UE obtains its QCL assumption from the TCI state associated with the lowest CORESET ID in the active bandwidth part, with the aforementioned default rule relying entirely on a control channel configuration (e.g., the TCI state of a CORESET (which is a control-channel resource used for PDCCH transmission)). According to the applicant, this means Wilson does not disclose or suggest acquiring a second-type QCL reference signal through a TCI state in a TCI state list activated by a MAC-CE for configuring TCI states of PDSCHs.
Examiner agrees the default QCL taught by Wilson does not teach the limitations required by the claim. However, the Kim reference does teach the limitations that were previously said to be taught by Wilson, and, since a new ground of rejection using the Kim reference has been made, this argument is moot.
Regarding the same argument, the applicant then states on pages 8 and 9, that with respect to claim 1, the Office Action alleges that Kim discloses such subject matter at paragraph [0213] for MAC-CE activation and paragraph [0210] for the "for PDSCHs" feature. However, in Kim, paragraph [0213] states that "if a plurality of TCI states is configured for a CORESET, the terminal receives a MAC-CE activation command." Thus, the configuration of the MAC-CE in Kim is strictly for the CORESET, and is not a MAC-CE that activates a TCI state list for configuring TCI states of the PDSCH data channel. The MAC-CE of Kim merely configures TCI states of the CORESET, not TCI states of the PDSCH. Second, the Kim paragraph [0210] merely states that the terminal decodes the PDSCH providing the MAC-CE activation command, and the Office Action argues that because the PDSCH "provides" the MAC-CE, the MAC-CE is "for PDSCHs."
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kim teaches this limitation, because, in the cited [0210], the PDSCH provides the MAC CE activation command that the terminal succeeds in decoding. In the cited [0213], the configuration information in [Table 7] may be provided to the terminal, including information on a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship, where the terminal may receive a configuration of a plurality of TCI states, the terminal receiving a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE activation command.
Applicant states that contrary to the allegations of the Office Action, every downlink MAC-CE in a 5G NR system must be carried by the PDSCH because the PDSCH is the only downlink physical channel capable of carrying higher-layer data payloads. The fact that Kim's MAC-CE is physically delivered inside a PDSCH transmission is merely a consequence of standard physical-layer transport routing. It does not alter the fact that the decoded MAC-CE is targeted to configure a CORESET, as explicitly stated in Kim [0213]. The physical channel delivering a configuration command in Kim is not the same as the physical channel being configured by that command. Regarding this CORESET, the applicant further states in the subsequent paragraph that, to illustrate, a MAC-CE delivered via a PDSCH that commands the UE to activate a particular CORESET configuration is a MAC-CE "for configuring TCI states of the CORESET," not a MAC-CE "for configuring TCI states of PDSCHs" even if the delivery vehicle happens to be the PDSCH. Consequently, the Examiner's reasoning conflates the transport layer with the target of the command. However, the decoded MAC-CE being targeted to configure a CORESET does not prevent the MAC CE from being a MAC CE activation command provided via a PDSCH, because, as taught in [0210], a PDSCH provides a MAC CE activation command, indicating the PDSCH is not a mere consequence of standard physical-layer transport routing. And regarding the physical channel being configured by that command, as taught in [0213], the terminal receives a configuration of one or more TCI states, the terminal receiving a message indicating activation of the TCI state through the MAC CE activation command.
Applicant the states that furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, faced with Wilson and Kim, would find both references strictly limited to default QCL rules based on control channel configurations (e.g., CORESET TCI states). Neither Wilson nor Kim discloses, teaches, or suggests a default QCL mechanism where the reference signal is acquired through a TCI state in a TCI state list activated by a MAC-CE functionally targeted to configure TCI states of the PDSCH data channel as recited in claim 1. However, as stated above, the default QCL teaching was from Wilson, the Kim reference does teach the limitations that were previously said to be taught by Wilson, and, since a new ground of rejection using the Kim reference has been made, this argument is moot.
Therefore, based on the above response, Kim teaches this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 12, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0124802), hereafter Wilson, in view of Kim, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0098723), hereafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches
a quasi co-location information acquisition method, comprising:
acquiring a quasi co-location reference signal of an information element according to a second-type quasi co-location reference signal
([0045] UE receives a current transmission (e.g., a PDSCH) based on parameters the UE used to receive a prior transmission
[0046] The DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s)
(The UE receives (acquires) signals of a PDSCH channel (information element), a DMRS reference signal being of the PDSCH channel (information element) and co-located with RSs (reference signals))),
wherein the information element satisfies following characteristic:
a time interval between control information for scheduling the information element and the information element is less than a predetermined threshold
([0046] If the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold Threshold-Sched-Offset),
wherein the information element comprises a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or an aperiodic channel state information reference signal (AP-CSI-RS)
([0045] UE receives a current transmission (e.g., a PDSCH)
(The UE receives (acquires) signals of a PDSCH channel (information element)).
Wilson does not teach
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in the following manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired through a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state in a TCI state list activated by a medium access control element (MAC-CE) for configuring TCI states of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a frequency domain bandwidth where the information element is located,
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in the following manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired through a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state in a TCI state list activated by a medium access control element (MAC-CE) for configuring TCI states of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a frequency domain bandwidth where the information element is located
([0210] The PDSCH provides the MAC CE activation command. The terminal succeeds in decoding the PDSCH providing the MAC CE activation command and receives indicator for changing the uplink bandwidth (frequency domain resource)
[0213] The configuration information in [Table 7] (Table 7 that includes frequency domain) may be provided to the terminal by the gNB, including information on one or a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship with a DMRS (demodulation reference signal). The terminal may receive a configuration of one or more TCI states from the gNB. If a plurality of TCI states is configured, the terminal may receive a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states from the gNB through a MAC CE activation command
(The PDSCH provides the MAC CE activation command that the terminal decodes. The configuration information in [Table 7] is provided to the terminal that includes information on a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship, the terminal receiving a configuration of a plurality of TCI states, the terminal receiving a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE activation command)),
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths
([0066] The base station may configure bandwidth parts having different size bandwidths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Wilson teaches
a quasi co-location information acquisition apparatus
([0090] Apparatus),
comprising one or more processors adapted to
([0091] Apparatus includes processor):
acquire a quasi co-location reference signal of an information element according to a second-type quasi co-location reference signal
([0045] UE receives a current transmission (e.g., a PDSCH) based on parameters the UE used to receive a prior transmission
[0046] The DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s)
(The UE receives (acquires) signals of a PDSCH channel (information element), a DMRS reference signal being of the PDSCH channel (information element) and co-located with RSs (reference signals))),
wherein the information element satisfies following characteristic:
a time interval between control information for scheduling the information element and the information element is less than a predetermined threshold
([0046] If the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold Threshold-Sched-Offset),
wherein the information element comprises a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or an aperiodic channel state information reference signal (AP-CSI-RS)
([0045] UE receives a current transmission (e.g., a PDSCH)
(The UE receives (acquires) signals of a PDSCH channel (information element)).
Wilson does not teach
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in the following manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired through a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state in a TCI state list activated by a medium access control element (MAC-CE) for configuring TCI states of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a frequency domain bandwidth where the information element is located,
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in the following manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired through a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state in a TCI state list activated by a medium access control element (MAC-CE) for configuring TCI states of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a frequency domain bandwidth where the information element is located
([0210] The PDSCH provides the MAC CE activation command. The terminal succeeds in decoding the PDSCH providing the MAC CE activation command and receives indicator for changing the uplink bandwidth (frequency domain resource)
[0213] The configuration information in [Table 7] (Table 7 that includes frequency domain) may be provided to the terminal by the gNB, including information on one or a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship with a DMRS (demodulation reference signal). The terminal may receive a configuration of one or more TCI states from the gNB. If a plurality of TCI states is configured, the terminal may receive a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states from the gNB through a MAC CE activation command
(The PDSCH provides the MAC CE activation command that the terminal decodes. The configuration information in [Table 7] is provided to the terminal that includes information on a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship, the terminal receiving a configuration of a plurality of TCI states, the terminal receiving a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE activation command)),
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths
([0066] The base station may configure bandwidth parts having different size bandwidths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, Wilson teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer
([0096] Storage medium 904 may include a magnetic storage device (e.g., hard disk, floppy disk, magnetic strip), an optical disk (e.g., a compact disc (CD) or a digital versatile disc (DVD)), a smart card, a flash memory device (e.g., a card, a stick, or a key drive), a random access memory (RAM), and any other suitable medium for storing software and/or instructions that may be accessed and read by a computer),
cause the computer to carry out steps of:
acquiring a quasi co-location reference signal of an information element according to a second-type quasi co-location reference signal
([0045] UE receives a current transmission (e.g., a PDSCH) based on parameters the UE used to receive a prior transmission
[0046] The DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s)
(The UE receives (acquires) signals of a PDSCH channel (information element), a DMRS reference signal being of the PDSCH channel (information element) and co-located with RSs (reference signals))),
wherein the information element satisfies following characteristic:
a time interval between control information for scheduling the information element and the information element is less than a predetermined threshold
([0046] If the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold Threshold-Sched-Offset),
wherein the information element comprises a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or an aperiodic channel state information reference signal (AP-CSI-RS)
([0045] UE receives a current transmission (e.g., a PDSCH)
(The UE receives (acquires) signals of a PDSCH channel (information element)).
Wilson does not teach
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in the following manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired through a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state in a TCI state list activated by a medium access control element (MAC-CE) for configuring TCI states of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a frequency domain bandwidth where the information element is located,
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in the following manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired through a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state in a TCI state list activated by a medium access control element (MAC-CE) for configuring TCI states of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) in a frequency domain bandwidth where the information element is located
([0210] The PDSCH provides the MAC CE activation command. The terminal succeeds in decoding the PDSCH providing the MAC CE activation command and receives indicator for changing the uplink bandwidth (frequency domain resource)
[0213] The configuration information in [Table 7] (Table 7 that includes frequency domain) may be provided to the terminal by the gNB, including information on one or a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship with a DMRS (demodulation reference signal). The terminal may receive a configuration of one or more TCI states from the gNB. If a plurality of TCI states is configured, the terminal may receive a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states from the gNB through a MAC CE activation command
(The PDSCH provides the MAC CE activation command that the terminal decodes. The configuration information in [Table 7] is provided to the terminal that includes information on a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship, the terminal receiving a configuration of a plurality of TCI states, the terminal receiving a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states through the MAC CE activation command)),
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths
([0066] The base station may configure bandwidth parts having different size bandwidths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches
wherein the control information does not include information of the first TCI and the control information is dynamic downlink control information
([0061] Information indicating whether to activate the configured bandwidth parts may be semi-statically transferred from the gNB to the terminal through RRC signaling, or may be dynamically transferred through DCI
[0247] If it is determined to monitor only the DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI in step 1101, the terminal may assume a TCI state configured in the second control resource set for all control resource sets existing in the overlapping region
(Only dynamic DCI monitored and TCI state not received, since assumed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition apparatus of claim 4.
Kim further teaches
wherein the control information does not include information of the first TCI and the control information is dynamic downlink control information
([0061] Information indicating whether to activate the configured bandwidth parts may be semi-statically transferred from the gNB to the terminal through RRC signaling, or may be dynamically transferred through DCI
[0247] If it is determined to monitor only the DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI in step 1101, the terminal may assume a TCI state configured in the second control resource set for all control resource sets existing in the overlapping region
(Only dynamic DCI monitored and TCI state not received, since assumed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Regarding claim 18, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7.
Kim further teaches
wherein the control information does not include information of the first TCI and the control information is dynamic downlink control information
([0061] Information indicating whether to activate the configured bandwidth parts may be semi-statically transferred from the gNB to the terminal through RRC signaling, or may be dynamically transferred through DCI
[0247] If it is determined to monitor only the DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI in step 1101, the terminal may assume a TCI state configured in the second control resource set for all control resource sets existing in the overlapping region
(Only dynamic DCI monitored and TCI state not received, since assumed)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Claims 2, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, in view of Chen, et al (US PG Publication 2018/0287681), hereafter Chen.
Regarding claim 2, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition method of claim 1.
Kim further teaches
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in a following second manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired via medium access control element (MAC-CE) signaling
([0213] The configuration information in [Table 7] (Table 7 that includes frequency domain) may be provided to the terminal by the gNB, including information on one or a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship with a DMRS (demodulation reference signal). If a plurality of TCI states is configured, the terminal may receive a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states from the gNB through a MAC CE activation command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein only one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is configured for one frequency domain bandwidth, and
the one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal comprises more than one second-type quasi co-location reference signal sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches
wherein only one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is configured for one frequency domain bandwidth
([0079] The quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS indication information in each parameter set may include quasi-co-location CSI-RS frequency domain location indication information), and
the one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal comprises more than one second-type quasi co-location reference signal sets
([0075] The quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS indication information in each parameter set may include indication information of one or more quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS port groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Chen’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of solving a problem of low channel estimation performance of a terminal due to the fact that different precoding reference signals are not distinguished in quasi-co-location information notification signaling (see [0026]).
Regarding claim 5, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition apparatus of claim 4.
Kim further teaches
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in a following second manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired via medium access control element (MAC-CE) signaling
([0213] The configuration information in [Table 7] (Table 7 that includes frequency domain) may be provided to the terminal by the gNB, including information on one or a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship with a DMRS (demodulation reference signal). If a plurality of TCI states is configured, the terminal may receive a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states from the gNB through a MAC CE activation command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein only one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is configured for one frequency domain bandwidth, and
the one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal comprises more than one second-type quasi co-location reference signal sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches
wherein only one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is configured for one frequency domain bandwidth
([0079] The quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS indication information in each parameter set may include quasi-co-location CSI-RS frequency domain location indication information), and
the one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal comprises more than one second-type quasi co-location reference signal sets
([0075] The quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS indication information in each parameter set may include indication information of one or more quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS port groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Chen’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of solving a problem of low channel estimation performance of a terminal due to the fact that different precoding reference signals are not distinguished in quasi-co-location information notification signaling (see [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7.
Kim further teaches
wherein the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired in a following second manner:
the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is acquired via medium access control element (MAC-CE) signaling
([0213] The configuration information in [Table 7] (Table 7 that includes frequency domain) may be provided to the terminal by the gNB, including information on one or a plurality of CSI-RS (Reference Signal) indexes having the QCL QUASI CO-LOCATION relationship with a DMRS (demodulation reference signal). If a plurality of TCI states is configured, the terminal may receive a message indicating activation of one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states from the gNB through a MAC CE activation command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Kim’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the terminal (see [0066]).
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein only one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is configured for one frequency domain bandwidth, and
the one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal comprises more than one second-type quasi co-location reference signal sets.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches
wherein only one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal is configured for one frequency domain bandwidth
([0079] The quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS indication information in each parameter set may include quasi-co-location CSI-RS frequency domain location indication information), and
the one piece of information about the second-type quasi co-location reference signal comprises more than one second-type quasi co-location reference signal sets
([0075] The quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS indication information in each parameter set may include indication information of one or more quasi-co-location NZP CSI-RS port groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Chen’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of solving a problem of low channel estimation performance of a terminal due to the fact that different precoding reference signals are not distinguished in quasi-co-location information notification signaling (see [0026]).
Claims 10, 11, 13, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, in view of Kim, and further in view of Guan, et al (US PG Publication 2021/0153209), hereafter Guan.
Regarding claim 10, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition method of claim 1.
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths; and/or
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Guan teaches
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths; and/or
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different component carriers
([0181] The network device may schedule a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH or a PUSCH for the terminal device by using, for example, a PDCCH. If the network device configures the carrier aggregation for the terminal device, a CC on which the network device sends the PDCCH (carrier for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH) may be different from a CC on which the PDSCH or the PUSCH is transmitted (carrier for the PDSCH or PUSCH)
(carrier for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH different from the carrier for the PDSCH or PUSCH)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Guan’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of having a terminal device determine, based on a TCI field in DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a receive beam for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see [0154]).
Regarding claim 11, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition method of claim 1.
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein TCI states in the TCI state list are in a one-to-one correspondence to TCI field values in the control information for scheduling the information element.
In the same field of endeavor, Guan teaches
wherein TCI states in the TCI state list are in a one-to-one correspondence to TCI field values in the control information for scheduling the information element
([0151] The foregoing presents the one-to-one correspondence between the plurality of TCI field values and the plurality of TCI states in a form of a table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Guan’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of having a terminal device determine, based on a TCI field in DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a receive beam for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see [0154]).
Regarding claim 13, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition apparatus of claim 4.
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths; and/or
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Guan teaches
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths; and/or
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different component carriers
([0181] The network device may schedule a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH or a PUSCH for the terminal device by using, for example, a PDCCH. If the network device configures the carrier aggregation for the terminal device, a CC on which the network device sends the PDCCH (carrier for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH) may be different from a CC on which the PDSCH or the PUSCH is transmitted (carrier for the PDSCH or PUSCH)
(carrier for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH different from the carrier for the PDSCH or PUSCH)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Guan’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of having a terminal device determine, based on a TCI field in DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a receive beam for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see [0154]).
Regarding claim 14, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the quasi co-location information acquisition apparatus of claim 4.
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein TCI states in the TCI state list are in a one-to-one correspondence to TCI field values in the control information for scheduling the information element.
In the same field of endeavor, Guan teaches
wherein TCI states in the TCI state list are in a one-to-one correspondence to TCI field values in the control information for scheduling the information element
([0151] The foregoing presents the one-to-one correspondence between the plurality of TCI field values and the plurality of TCI states in a form of a table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Guan’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of having a terminal device determine, based on a TCI field in DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a receive beam for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see [0154]).
Regarding claim 16, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7.
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths; and/or
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Guan teaches
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different frequency domain bandwidths; and/or
wherein the control information for scheduling the information element and the information element are in different component carriers
([0181] The network device may schedule a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH or a PUSCH for the terminal device by using, for example, a PDCCH. If the network device configures the carrier aggregation for the terminal device, a CC on which the network device sends the PDCCH (carrier for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH) may be different from a CC on which the PDSCH or the PUSCH is transmitted (carrier for the PDSCH or PUSCH)
(carrier for scheduling the PDSCH or PUSCH different from the carrier for the PDSCH or PUSCH)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Guan’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of having a terminal device determine, based on a TCI field in DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a receive beam for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see [0154]).
Regarding claim 17, Wilson, in view of Kim, teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7.
Wilson, in view of Kim, does not teach
wherein TCI states in the TCI state list are in a one-to-one correspondence to TCI field values in the control information for scheduling the information element.
In the same field of endeavor, Guan teaches
wherein TCI states in the TCI state list are in a one-to-one correspondence to TCI field values in the control information for scheduling the information element
([0151] The foregoing presents the one-to-one correspondence between the plurality of TCI field values and the plurality of TCI states in a form of a table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Wilson, in view of Kim, which includes receiving quasi-co-located signals, to include Guan’s teaching of receiving quasi-co-located signals, for the benefit of having a terminal device determine, based on a TCI field in DCI on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a receive beam for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see [0154]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nam, et al (US PG Publication 2017/0288743), hereafter Nam, teaches specifying the QCL relationships between MRS antenna ports and the other RS types, where the DM-RS for PDSCH is used as the example RS.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641