DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gupta et al (WO 2016007605 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gupta et al discloses a computed tomography system (100) comprising: an annular x-ray source (104) having a plurality of partial x-ray sources (See Abstract and paragraph [0028]) around an examination region in the form of a first circle or a first part-circle (See Abstract and paragraphs [0028], [0035]); and a detector annulus (106) having a plurality of x-ray detectors around the examination region in the form of a second circle or a second part-circle (paragraphs [0028], [0035]), wherein the computed tomography system is configured to, activate at least some of the partial x-ray sources individually (controlling the plurality of source modules in accordance with selected illumination pattern) during a computed tomography scan using a static x-ray source and a static detector annulus (See Abstract) and generate absorption profiles of an object (112) in the examination region from a plurality of directions using the x-ray detectors (See Abstract) wherein the computed tomography system is further configured to at least one of, generate at least a first x-ray spectrum using a first group of the partial x-ray sources and a second x-ray spectrum, distinguishable from the first x-ray spectrum, using a second group of the partial x-ray sources during the computed tomography scan, or record an x-ray signal in a spectrally distinguishable manner (multiple projection images recorded for time-varying illumination patterns) using the x-ray detectors (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Gupta et al discloses wherein the computed tomography system (See Fig. 6A) is configured to generate the first x-ray spectrum by applying a first acceleration voltage at the partial x-ray sources of the first group of the partial x-ray sources, and the second x-ray spectrum by applying a second acceleration voltage at the partial x-ray sources of the second group of the partial X- ray sources (two different tube voltages) (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Gupta et al discloses wherein the annular x-ray source comprises a first voltage connection to generate an acceleration voltage for the first group of the partial x-ray sources and a second voltage connection to generate an acceleration voltage for the second group of the partial x-ray sources (two different tube voltages) (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claims 4, 17, Gupta et al discloses wherein the computed tomography system is configured to activate at least one of the partial x-ray sources of the first group of the partial x-ray sources and at least one of the partial X- ray sources of the second group of the partial x-ray sources alternately (i.e. plurality of source modules arranged at locations along the first circumference, and configured for directing X-ray beams toward the subject using a selected illumination pattern, and a plurality of detector modules arranged at locations along the second circumference, wherein the source and detector modules are angled toward the central axial plane such that each source module is diametrically opposed to one or more detector modules. The system further includes an acquisition system configured for controlling the plurality of source modules in accordance with the selected illumination pattern, and acquiring CT image data from the plurality of detector modules) (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Gupta et al discloses wherein the partial x-ray sources are on the annular x-ray source in such a way that a partial x-ray source of the first group and a partial x-ray source of the second group are arranged alternately in a circumferential direction (i.e. plurality of source modules arranged at locations along the first circumference, and configured for directing X-ray beams toward the subject using a selected illumination pattern, and a plurality of detector modules arranged at locations along the second circumference, wherein the source and detector modules are angled toward the central axial plane such that each source module is diametrically opposed to one or more detector modules. The system further includes an acquisition system configured for controlling the plurality of source modules in accordance with the selected illumination pattern, and acquiring CT image data from the plurality of detector modules) (See Fig. 5A, 5B and Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Gupta et al discloses wherein the partial computed tomography system is configured to activate the partial x-ray sources in a sequence of arrangements of the partial x-ray sources, respectively, along a circular circumference (See Fig. 5A, 5B and Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Gupta et al discloses wherein the computed tomography system is configured to generate the second x-ray spectrum by adapting x-radiation generated by the second group of partial x-ray sources using X- ray filters (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, Gupta et al discloses wherein the computed tomography system is configured to generate, during the computed tomography scan, one or more further x-ray spectra via one or more further groups of the partial x-ray sources (i.e. multiple sources and detector modules) (paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Gupta et al discloses wherein the detector annulus comprises photon-counting detectors configured to distinguish between at least two energy thresholds (paragraphs [0047] and [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Gupta et al discloses wherein the x-ray detectors are provided as detector pairs, a first x-ray detector of at least one detector pair is configured to absorb essentially low-energy x-radiation and a second x-ray detector of the at least one detector pair is configured to absorb essentially high- energy x-radiation (i.e. dual-energy operation: dual energy CT at two different energies) (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Gupta et al discloses wherein the annular x-ray source and the detector annulus are partial annuli which are opposite each other such that the examination region is between the annular x-ray source and the detector annulus (paragraphs [0007], [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Gupta et al discloses wherein the annular x-ray source and the detector annulus are distributed over a complete annulus in each case (paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Gupta et al discloses a method for operating a computed tomography system (100) which has a plurality of partial x-ray sources (104) (See Abstract and paragraph [0028]) and a plurality of x-ray detectors (106), each being operated in a positionally fixed manner and surrounding an examination region circle (See Abstract and paragraphs [0028], [0035]), the method comprising: activating a first partial x-ray source or a first subgroup of partial x-ray sources to generate first x-radiation directed at the examination region, the x-radiation having a first x-ray spectrum (paragraph [0052]); activating a second partial x-ray source or a second subgroup of partial x-ray sources to generate second x-radiation directed at the examination region having a second x-ray spectrum different than the first x-ray spectrum (paragraph [0054]); and detecting x-ray beams of the first x-ray spectrum and the second x-ray spectrum which pass through the examination region via the x-ray detectors (paragraphs (paragraphs [0028], [0035], [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Gupta et al discloses wherein the partial x-ray sources are on the annular x-ray source in such a way that a partial x-ray source of the first group and a partial x-ray source of the second group are arranged alternately in a circumferential direction (plurality of source modules arranged at locations along the first circumference, and configured for directing X-ray beams toward the subject using a selected illumination pattern, and a plurality of detector modules arranged at locations along the second circumference, wherein the source and detector modules are angled toward the central axial plane such that each source module is diametrically opposed to one or more detector modules. The system further includes an acquisition system configured for controlling the plurality of source modules in accordance with the selected illumination pattern, and acquiring CT image data from the plurality of detector modules) (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Gupta et al discloses wherein computed tomography system is configured to activate the partial x-ray sources in a sequence of arrangements of the partial x-ray sources, respectively, on the circular circumference (See Fig. 5A, 5B and Abstract).
The method of claim 20, Gupta et al discloses wherein the activating the first partial X-ray source or the first subgroup of partial x-ray sources and the activating the second partial x-ray source or the second subgroup of partial x-ray sources are performed in a time-staggered manner (time-varying manner) (paragraph [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al (WO 2016007605 A1) in view of Worstell et al (US 2017/0023498 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Gupta et al discloses all of the limitations of claim 7, as described supra however, Gupta et al is silent with regards to filters as claimed. Worstell et al discloses a method and apparatus for performing multi-energy including dual energy computed tomograph CT imaging, comprising: generate first x-ray spectrum adapting x-radiation generated by a first group of partial x-ray sources using further x-ray filters, and further x-ray filters optionally differ from x-ray filters of second group in respect of their filter properties (i.e. dual filter detectors) (paragraph [0012]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Gupta et al with the teaching of Worstell et al, so as to enable measurements over different x-ray energy ranges i.e. high, low x-ray energy band).
Regarding claim 9, Worstell et al discloses wherein at least one the annular x-ray source comprises filter slots configured to receive x-ray filters, the annular x-ray source comprises x-ray filters at least in front of the second group of partial x-ray sources (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 16, Gupta et al discloses wherein the further x-ray filters differ from the x-ray filters of the second group with respect to filter properties (paragraph [0055]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Man et al (US 2021/0378619 A1) discloses method and system for stationary CT imaging, comprising: activating an emitter of a plurality of emitters of a stationary distributed x-ray source unit to emit an x-ray beam toward an object within an imaging volume, where the x-ray source unit does not rotate around the imaging volume, receiving the x-ray beam at a subset of detector elements of a plurality of detector elements of one or more detector arrays, sampling the plurality of detector elements to generate a total transmission profile, an attenuation profile, and a scatter measurement, generating a scatter-corrected attenuation profile by entering the total transmission profile, the attenuation profile, and the scatter measurement as inputs to a model, and reconstructing one or more images from the scatter-corrected attenuation profile.
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884