DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Suzuki et al. (US PGP 2015/0248074) considered with Yao et al., “Multistimuli-Responsive Luminescence of Naphthalazine Based on Aggregation-Induced Emission”, Chemistry Open, vol. 4 no. 4, 13 April 2015, pp 478-482.
Suzuki teaches a particulate toner comprising CI Pigment Yellow 101 as a colorant ([0172]). Additionally, Suzuki teaches a manufacturing method of making said toner comprising subjecting Pigment Yellow 101 in a bead mill disperser to dispersion with zirconia beads with a diameter of 0.5 mm at a peripheral speed of 6 m/sec. This procedure reads on the limitations of the procedure recited by the Applicant in pending claim 4. Such a procedure would be understood to inherently reduce the Pigment Yellow 101 to a particle size within the ranges recited by the Applicant in pending claims 1-2 based on the teaching of the instant specification ([0035]). Suzuki does not teach X-ray diffraction data for CI Pigment Yellow 101. However, Yao teaches that commercial CI Pigment Yellow 101 has a second peak from a low angle side at a diffraction angle 2θ in a range of 11.66° to 11.86° and a third peak from the low angle size in a range of 17.86° to 18.06° (see p. 481 Figure 4).
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US PGP 2015/0248074) in view of JP 2022-044075 (henceforth JP ‘075) and considered with Yao et al., “Multistimuli-Responsive Luminescence of Naphthalazine Based on Aggregation-Induced Emission”, Chemistry Open, vol. 4 no. 4, 13 April 2015, pp 478-482.
The complete discussions of Suzuki and Yao above are included herein. This rejection is presented in the interest of compact prosecution in the event the Applicant is able to demonstrate that the procedure of Suzuki will not inherently produce CI Pigment Yellow 101 particles within the Applicant’s recited ranges.
JP ‘075 teaches a toner comprising both a red and yellow pigment. Specifically, JP ‘075 teaches the production of a pigment dispersion comprising CI Pigment Yellow 101 with a particle size of 300 nm (see “(F) Preparation of Fluorescent Agent particle Dispersion Liquids (1) to (3)” in the provided translation). JP ‘075 further teaches that by utilizing a pigment dispersion with a particle size within this range good emission characteristics in an image obtained with a toner comprising said pigment dispersion (see “(1.3) Volume Average Particle Diameter of Fluorescent Agent” in the provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have utilized CI Pigment Yellow 101 with a particle size of from 200 to 600 nm as taught by JP ‘075 in the toner particles of Suzuki et al. in order to improve emission characteristics of the toner.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 09/05/2026