DETAILED ACTION
America Invents Act
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 USC §119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
This application, filed 26-April-2024, claims priority from Republic of Korea application #KR10-2023-0181224 A, filed 13-December-2023.
This application will, therefore, be accorded a prima facie effective filing date of 13-December-2023.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “Vehicle Control Apparatus for Monitoring Tire Pressure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 USC §112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “….the transmit signal….”, but where claim 1 introduces both LF and RF transmitted signals, and where it is unclear which transmitted signal the dependent claim refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 USC §102(a)(2) as anticipated by Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt.
Consider claim 13: A method, Lickfelt discloses a tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS), and method of operation for a vehicle equipped with a smart entry system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0007-0008]; comprising:
transmitting, by a plurality of antennas that each transmit a low frequency (LF) signal for triggering a plurality of tire pressure sensors mounted on a plurality of wheels of a vehicle, LF signals to the tire pressure sensors that are present in an area where a transmit signal of the respective antenna reaches; wherein a plurality of Low Frequency (LF) antennas comprising a front antenna (50), a rear antenna (52), a left side antenna (54) and a right side antenna (58), are configured transmit LF signals to wake up tire sensors (20, 24, 28, 32) installed on each of, at least each of four tires of the vehicle, (22, 26, 30, 34), and where one or more tire sensors are within a respective field (transmit signal area) for each of the antennas (step 100)[Fig. 1, 2; Para. 0032-0033, 0035, 0037];
transmitting, by the plurality of tire pressure sensors, radio frequency (RF) signals to a receiver in response to receiving the LF signals; (step 104, 118) RF signals are transmitted from awakened tire sensors [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0039-0042],
receiving, by the receiver, the RF signals; a Radio Frequency (RF) receiver (14) for receiving RF signals transmitted by the tire sensors, and wherein an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (90) causes the respective LF antennas to transmit a wake-up signal, and receives the responses via the RF receiver (step 122) [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0035, 0042]; and
determining which wheel of the plurality of wheels each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is mounted on based on the RF signals received from the tire pressure sensors present in the area where the transmit signal of the respective antenna reaches; wherein (step 126) locations for each tire sensor are determined based on which antenna woke up the tire sensor transmitting the respective unique identification signal and whether the respective unique identification signal matches other received unique identification signals [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0042].
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 13: The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting the LF signals; Lickfelt discloses at least a rear antenna (52), a left side antenna (54) and a right side antenna (58), which are used to wake up the tire sensors [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0033, 0035, 0038]; comprises:
transmitting, by a first LF antenna included in the plurality of antennas, a first LF signal to the tire pressure sensors present in a first area where the first LF signal of the first LF antenna reaches; wherein the left antenna (54), emitting a left field (74) to wake left (front and rear) side tire sensors (20, 24);
transmitting, by a second LF antenna included in the plurality of antennas, a second LF signal to the tire pressure sensors present in a second area where the second LF signal of the second LF antenna reaches; the right antenna emitting a right field (78) to wake right side tire sensors (28, 32) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033]; and
transmitting, by a third LF antenna included in the plurality of antennas, a third LF signal to the tire pressure sensors present in a third area where the third LF signal of the third LF antenna reaches; the rear antenna may be used to emit a rear field (72) to wake up rear (left and right) tire sensors (24, 32); [Fig. 1; Para. 0033].
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14: The method of claim 14, wherein determining which wheel of the plurality of wheels each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is mounted on comprises:
determining the tire pressure sensors that transmit the RF signals based on the first LF signal of the first LF antenna as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a left front wheel of the vehicle, the tire pressure sensor mounted on a left rear wheel of the vehicle, or both the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left front wheel of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left rear wheel of the vehicle; Lickfelt teaches an embodiment in which the left antenna (54), emits a left (first area) field (74) to wake left (front and rear) side tire sensors (20, 24), wherein the wake LF signals may be issued sequentially, and the awakened tire sensors may send an RF signal, which includes sensor data including at least pressure, and a unique ID (steps 116, 118, 122, 124, 126) [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0033, 0039, 0042];
determining the tire pressure sensors that transmit the RF signals based on the second LF signal of the second LF antenna as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a right front wheel of the vehicle, the tire pressure sensor mounted on a right rear wheel of the vehicle, or both the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right front wheel of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right rear wheel of the vehicle; the right antenna emits a right (second area) field (78) to wake right (front and rear) side tire sensors (28, 32), wherein the wake LF signals may be issued sequentially, and the awakened tire sensors may send an RF signal, which includes sensor data including at least pressure, and a unique ID (steps 116, 118, 122, 124, 126) [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0033, 0039, 0042]; and
determining the tire pressure sensors that transmit the RF signals based on the third LF signal of the third LF antenna as the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left rear wheel of the vehicle, the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right rear wheel of the vehicle, or both the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left rear wheel of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right rear wheel of the vehicle; the rear antenna may be used to emit a rear (third area) field (72) to wake up rear (left and right) tire sensors (24, 32), wherein the wake LF signals may be issued sequentially, and the awakened tire sensors may send an RF signal, which includes sensor data including at least pressure, and a unique ID (steps 116, 118, 122, 124, 126) [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0033, 0039, 0042].
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 13: The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting the RF signals to the receiver comprises transmitting, by each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors, the RF signals, wherein each of the RF signals comprises a unique ID of the tire pressure sensor, a pressure value of a tire, or both the unique ID and the pressure value, and wherein the pressure value is a value measured by the tire pressure sensor; Lickfelt discloses that the ECU is in communication with the tier pressure sensors via the RF receiver, that wakened tire sensors transmit RF signals, which are received by the RF receiver (14) and ECU (step 116, 118, 122), and that RF signals include pressure information and a unique ID, and may also include temperature and acceleration information [Fig. 1-2, 4; Para. 0032, 0038-0039, 0042, 0048];
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 13: The method of claim 13, wherein determining which wheel of the plurality of wheels each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is mounted on comprises:
receiving, by the receiver, three or more different RF signals; and
determining that the three or more different RF signals includes a fourth RF signal transmitted by a fourth tire pressure sensor of another vehicle based on the LF signals transmitted by any one of the plurality of antennas.
Lickfelt discloses embodiments in which: ID numbers for each tire sensor are stored with respect to wheel location and activating antenna [Fig. 3; Para. 0053]; in which each tire sensor sends a Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) in response to an activation signal, which may be used to determine location with respect to the activating antenna [Fig. 4; Para. 0048-0049]; and adjustment of LF antenna signal power to control the size of the activation field, in order to activate only the desired number of tire sensors, particularly under conditions where a response may come from a proximate other vehicle [Fig. 9; Para. 0061-0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, in view of Lammers (United Stated Patent Application Publication # US 2016/0258830 A1).
Consider claim 1: A vehicle control apparatus; Lickfelt discloses a tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS), and method of operation for a vehicle equipped with a smart entry system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0007-0008]; comprising:
a plurality of tire pressure sensors respectively mounted on a plurality of wheels of a vehicle; wherein a tire sensor (20, 24, 28, 32) is installed on each of, at least each of four tires of the vehicle (22, 26, 30, 34) [Fig. 1; Para. 0032];
a plurality of antennas, each antenna configured to transmit low frequency (LF) signals for triggering ones of the plurality of tire pressure sensors present in an area where a transmit signal of the respective antenna reaches; a plurality of Low Frequency (LF) antennas comprising a front antenna (50), a rear antenna (52), a left side antenna (54) and a right side antenna (58), which are used to wake up the tire sensors [Fig. 1; Para. 0032-0033, 0035];
a receiver configured to drive the plurality of antennas and receive radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted from the tire pressure sensors in response to receiving the LF signals; a Radio Frequency (RF) receiver (14) for receiving RF signals transmitted by the tire sensors, and wherein an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (90) causes the respective LF antennas to transmit a wake-up signal, and receives the responses via the RF receiver [Fig. 1; Para. 0032-0035];
one or more processors; and wherein the process is controlled by the ECU and an associated memory (94) [Fig. 1; Para. 0010, 0013, 0036, 0038]; and
a storage device storing a program to be executed by the one or more processors, the program including instructions to determine, for each tire pressure sensor, which wheel that tire pressure sensor is mounted on based on the RF signals received from the tire pressure sensors present in the area where the transmit signal of the respective antenna reaches [Fig. 1; Para. 0010, 0013, 0036, 0038].
Lickfelt does not explicitly disclose that the ECU comprises a processor controlled by program instructions, but discloses the claimed operation to associate received tire pressure signals with the particular tires from which they originate. That an ECU comprises a processor, operating according to program instructions is generally known, would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, and is taught by analogous prior art, for example:
Lammers teaches TPMS sensor auto-location through low frequency programming [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0005-0007], and particularly that an ECU (12) comprises a processor (14) , and a memory (16) which stores computer-executable instructions [Fig. 1; Para. 0020].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention that an ECU controller comprising a processor and memory which stores computer-executable instructions as taught by Lammers, be used to perform ECU operations for the vehicular TPMS as taught by Lickfelt, where such ECU devices are commonly available, economical, and readily programmed to perform such functions
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of antennas comprises a first LF antenna, a second LF antenna, and a third LF antenna; Lickfelt discloses at least a rear antenna (52), a left side antenna (54) and a right side antenna (58), which are used to wake up the tire sensors [Fig. 1; Para. 0032-0033, 0035];
the first LF antenna is configured to transmit a first LF signal to the tire pressure sensors present in a first area where the first LF signal reaches; wherein the left antenna (54), emitting a left field (74) to wake left (front and rear) side tire sensors (20, 24);
the second LF antenna is configured to transmit a second LF signal to the tire pressure sensors present in a second area where the second LF signal reaches; the right antenna emitting a right field (78) to wake right side tire sensors (28, 32) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033]; and
the third LF antenna is configured to transmit a third LF signal to the tire pressure sensors present in a third area where the third LF signal reaches; the rear antenna may be used to emit a rear field (72) to wake up rear (left and right) tire sensors (24, 32); [Fig. 1; Para. 0033].
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the program further includes instructions to:
set the first area such that only the tire pressure sensor of a left front wheel tire of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor of a left rear wheel tire of the vehicle receive the first LF signal; Lickfelt teaches an embodiment in which the left antenna (54), emits a left (first area) field (74) to wake left (front and rear) side tire sensors (20, 24), [Fig. 1; Para. 0033];
set the second area such that only the tire pressure sensor of a right front wheel tire of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor of a right rear wheel tire of the vehicle receive the second LF signal; the right antenna emits a right (second area) field (78) to wake right (front and rear) side tire sensors (28, 32) [Fig. 1; Para. 0033]; and
set the third area such that only the tire pressure sensor of the left rear wheel tire of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor of the right rear wheel tire of the vehicle receive the third LF signal; the rear antenna may be used to emit a rear (third area) field (72) to wake up rear (left and right) tire sensors (24, 32); [Fig. 1; Para. 0033].
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 2: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the program further includes instructions to:
determine the tire pressure sensors that transmit the RF signals based on the first LF signal as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a left front wheel of the vehicle, the tire pressure sensor mounted on a left rear wheel of the vehicle, or both the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left front wheel of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left rear wheel of the vehicle; Lickfelt teaches an embodiment in which the left antenna (54), emits a left (first area) field (74) to wake left (front and rear) side tire sensors (20, 24), wherein the wake LF signals may be issued sequentially, and the awakened tire sensors may send an RF signal, which includes sensor data including at least pressure, and a unique ID (steps 116, 118, 122, 124, 126) [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0033, 0039, 0042];
determine the tire pressure sensors that transmit the RF signals based on the second LF signal as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a right front wheel of the vehicle, the tire pressure sensor mounted on a right rear wheel of the vehicle, or both the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right front wheel of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right rear wheel of the vehicle; the right antenna emits a right (second area) field (78) to wake right (front and rear) side tire sensors (28, 32), wherein the wake LF signals may be issued sequentially, and the awakened tire sensors may send an RF signal, which includes sensor data including at least pressure, and a unique ID (steps 116, 118, 122, 124, 126) [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0033, 0039, 0042]; and
determine the tire pressure sensors that transmit the RF signals based on the third LF signal as the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left rear wheel of the vehicle, the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right rear wheel of the vehicle, or both the tire pressure sensor mounted on the left rear wheel of the vehicle and the tire pressure sensor mounted on the right rear wheel of the vehicle; the rear antenna may be used to emit a rear (third area) field (72) to wake up rear (left and right) tire sensors (24, 32), wherein the wake LF signals may be issued sequentially, and the awakened tire sensors may send an RF signal, which includes sensor data including at least pressure, and a unique ID (steps 116, 118, 122, 124, 126) [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0032-0033, 0039, 0042].
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is configured to transmit the RF signals to the receiver; the ECU is in communication with the tier pressure sensors via the RF receiver [Fig. 1; Para. 0032, 0038];
each of the RF signals comprises a unique ID of the tire pressure sensor, a pressure value of a tire, or both the unique ID and the pressure value; [Para. 0032, 0038]; and
the pressure value is a value measured by the tire pressure sensor [Fig. 4; Para. 0032].
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the area where the transmit signal reaches has an oval shape with a long axis and a short axis. Lickfelt shows exemplary LF fields (70, 72, 74 and 78) transmitted by the LF antennas (50, 52, 54 and 58) as elongate oval shape [Fig. 1; Para. 0033].
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 1: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein, in response to the receiver receiving three or more different RF signals, the program further includes instructions to determine that the three or more different RF signals includes a fourth RF signal transmitted by a fourth tire pressure sensor of another vehicle based on the LF signals transmitted by any one of the plurality of antennas. Lickfelt discloses embodiments in which: ID numbers for each tire sensor are stored with respect to wheel location and activating antenna [Fig. 3; Para. 0053]; in which each tire sensor sends a Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) in response to an activation signal, which may be used to determine location with respect to the activating antenna [Fig. 4; Para. 0048-0049]; and adjustment of LF antenna signal power to control the size of the activation field, in order to activate only the desired number of tire sensors, particularly under conditions where a response may come from a proximate other vehicle [Fig. 9; Para. 0061-0063].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, and Lammers (United Stated Patent Application Publication # US 2016/0258830 A1), further in view of Hanaoka (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2021/0021022 A1).
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 3, wherein the program further includes instructions to set an extent of the first area, the second area, the third area, or any combination of the first area, the second area, and the third area based on vehicle information including an overall length of the vehicle, an overall width of the vehicle, or an overall height of the vehicle.
Lickfelt discloses that field size and shape for each LF antenna may be adjusted to include one or more desired tire pressure and lock sensors, and to exclude others, and shows these with respect to the front, back, left and right sides of a vehicle [Fig. 1; Para. 0033]. Lickfelt, does not, however, disclose configuring the shape based on the length or width of the vehicle itself. This is known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Hanaoka discloses an LF antenna module for use in a vehicle [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 8; Para. 0005, 0017] and specifically configuration such that the field does not reach beyond the windows at the width dimension of the vehicle [Para. 0030].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to configure the field shape of an LF antenna such that it did not extend more than the width boundary of a vehicle as taught by Hanaoka, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt and as modified by Lammers, in order to reduce interference with systems operating outside of the vehicle.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, and Lammers (United Stated Patent Application Publication # US 2016/0258830 A1), further in view of Kim (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2009/0289783 A1).
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 2: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 2, wherein the program further includes instructions to:
determine the tire pressure sensor that transmits the RF signals based on only the first LF signal as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a left front wheel of the vehicle; Lickfelt teaches an embodiment in which the left antenna (54), emits a left (first area) field (74) to wake left (front and rear) side tire sensors (20, 24), and that neither the right side, nor rear side fields reach the left front tire sensor, where the LF signals may be transmitted sequentially [Fig. 1-3; Para. 0033, 0038, 0042];
determine the tire pressure sensor that transmits the RF signals based on only the first LF signal and the third LF signal as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a left rear wheel of the vehicle; wherein the left antenna (54), emits a left (first area) field (74) to wake left (front and rear) side tire sensors (20, 24); the rear antenna may be used to emit a rear (third area) field (72) to wake up rear (left and right) tire sensors (24, 32), such that the left rear tire sensor receives both [Fig. 1-3; Para. 0033, 0038, 0042];
determine the tire pressure sensor that transmits the RF signals based on only the second LF signal as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a right front wheel of the vehicle; wherein the right antenna emits a right (second area) field (78) to wake right (front and rear) side tire sensors (28, 32), and neither the first or third fields extend to this tire sensor [Fig. 1-3; Para. 0033, 0038, 0042]; and
determine the tire pressure sensor that transmits the RF signals based on only the second LF signal and the third LF signal as the tire pressure sensor mounted on a right rear wheel of the vehicle; wherein the right antenna emits a right (second area) field (78) to wake right (front and rear) side tire sensors (28, 32), and the rear antenna may be used to emit a rear (third area) field (72) to wake up rear (left and right) tire sensors (24, 32), such that the right rear tire sensor receives both [Fig. 1-3; Para. 0033, 0038, 0042];
Lickfelt also disclosed the use of a front antenna and field that would be received by both the left front and right front tire sensors, but this is an obvious variant which would have been understood by an artisan, and where the use of three antennas is also known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Kin discloses a system for automatically recognizing location of respective tires using LF wake-up signals, and particularly the use of antennas on the left and right doors, and the trunk (rear) of the vehicle [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0016-0018].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to use three (left, right and rear) antennas to localized and identify tire sensors as taught by Kim, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt and as modified by Lammers, where the use of only three antennas rather than four reduces cost.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, and Lammers (United Stated Patent Application Publication # US 2016/0258830 A1), further in view of Lavoie et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2019/0256143 A1), hereinafter Lavoie.
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 1: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the program further includes instructions to determine whether there is another vehicle within a predetermined distance from the vehicle using a camera mounted on an outside of the vehicle, an ultrasonic sensor mounted on the outside of the vehicle, or both the camera and the ultrasonic sensor.
Lickfelt does not disclose the use of a camera or ultrasonic sensor to detect proximate vehicles. This was known in analogous prior art however, and for example:
Lavoie discloses a tire pressure monitoring system used with a parking-assist system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0001, 0004], and particularly the use of an ultrasonic sensor and/or camera to detect proximate vehicles [Para. 0008, 0029, 0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to use one or more cameras and/or ultrasonic sensors to detect proximate objects as taught by Lavoie, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt and as modified by Lammers, where such sensors are used in parking-assist systems, which may be integrated with TPMS to improve performance and safety.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, and Lammers (United Stated Patent Application Publication # US 2016/0258830 A1), further in view of in view of Ikeo et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2019/0176544 A1), hereinafter Ikeo.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 10: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 10, wherein, in response to a determination that the three or more different RF signals includes the fourth RF signal transmitted by the fourth tire pressure sensor of the another vehicle, the program further includes instructions to:
drive each antenna of the plurality of antennas to retransmit the LF signals after a predetermined time from a time point at which the fourth RF signal transmitted by the fourth tire pressure sensor of the another vehicle is received; and
based on a response to the retransmitted LF signals in which two different RF signals among the three or more different RF signals are re-received in the receiver, determine that two different RF signals are received from the tire pressure sensors of the vehicle.
Lickfelt discloses an embodiment in which, when a fewer or greater number of tire pressure sensors that expected, are activated and provide a return signal and pressure information (possibly indicative of a nearby vehicle), that the power level of the LF signal for that antenna may be adjusted and the activation signal retransmitted until the correct number of response signals are received (steps 302, 304, 306, 308, 312) [Fig.9; Para. 0061-0062].
Lickfelt does not disclose a specific predetermined time between initial and repeat activation, but such a period would have been obvious to an artisan since a time window is required to tire sensors to respond to the activation signal. This is also specifically disclosed in analogous prior art, and for example:
Ikeo discloses a tire pressure monitoring system in which tire sensor RF response signals occur during a transmission time frame in a predetermined periodic cycle [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 4, 6; Para. 0002, 0008, 0026, 0029-0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a predetermined repeatable measurement time period for activating tire sensors and receiving response RF signals as taught by Ikeo, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt and as modified by Lammers, in order to provide for an orderly reception of signals, and manage the consumption of power.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, and Lammers (United Stated Patent Application Publication # US 2016/0258830 A1), further in view of Robson et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0132296 A1, hereinafter Robson.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 10: The vehicle control apparatus of claim 10, wherein, in response to a determination that the three or more different RF signals includes the fourth RF signal transmitted by the fourth tire pressure sensor of another vehicle and a determination that the another vehicle is no longer within a predetermined distance from the vehicle, the program further includes instructions to:
drive each of the plurality of antennas to retransmit the LF signals; and
based on a response to the retransmitted LF signals in which two different RF signals among the three or more different RF signals are re-received in the receiver, determine the two different RF signals are received from the tire pressure sensors of the vehicle.
Lickfelt discloses an embodiment in which, when a fewer or greater number of tire pressure sensors that expected, are activated and provide a return signal and pressure information (possibly indicative of a nearby vehicle), that the power level of the LF signal for that antenna may be adjusted and the activation signal retransmitted until the correct number of response signals are received (steps 302, 304, 306, 308, 312), and when the number of receiver responses is properly resolved for the first LF antenna, processing proceeds to the next antenna (steps 316, 318) until all antennas are resolved, whereupon, based on the received IDs the location of each tire sensor is determined (steps 320, 322) as stored previously, or resolved according to the process indicated by the flow chart of Fig. 2 [Fig. 2, 3, 9; Para. 0037-0038, 0061-0062].
Lickfelt does not specifically determine when a proximate interfering tire sensor is no longer within the LF antenna field (a predetermined distance), but this is known in analogous prior art, and for example
Robson discloses a tire pressure monitoring system, and in particular detecting interfering signals from proximate vehicles (with a range of an LF antenna field, a predefined area and range [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2; Para. 0001, 0005-0006], and specifically that if a received signal is not within parameters (particularly signal strength) for a determined signal strength envelope (steps 22, 24) that the signal may be locked out (of consideration as a valid tire sensor) for a predetermined period of time (step 30-36) at which time the signal is evaluated again in a repeating process, which will, in effect, ignore the signal so long as it is present, determines when the signal is no longer present, and continue to periodically poll other valid tire sensors [Fig. 3A-3B; Para. 0021-0025].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to identify an RF signal determined to originate from a proximate external object, and to block consideration for a predetermined period of time, but to revaluate the signal on expiration, and to continue a periodic evaluation of other tire sensor locations as taught by Robson, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt and as modified by Lammers, thereby allowing a determination of when the interfering object is no longer within range.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, in view of Robson et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0132296 A1, hereinafter Robson, and Lavoie et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2019/0256143 A1), hereinafter Lavoie.
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 13: The method of claim 13, wherein determining which wheel of the plurality of wheels each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is mounted on comprises determining whether there is another vehicle within a predetermined distance from the vehicle using a camera mounted on an outside of the vehicle, an ultrasonic sensor mounted on the outside of the vehicle, or both the camera and the ultrasonic sensor.
Lickfelt does not disclose detection of proximate vehicles which may cause interference or the use of a camera or ultrasonic sensor to detect proximate vehicles. These were known in analogous prior art however, and for example:
Robson discloses a tire pressure monitoring system, and in particular detecting interfering signals from proximate vehicles (with a range of an LF antenna field, a predefined area and range [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2; Para. 0001, 0005-0006].
Lavoie discloses a tire pressure monitoring system used with a parking-assist system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3; Para. 0001, 0004], and particularly the use of an ultrasonic sensor and/or camera to detect proximate vehicles [Para. 0008, 0029, 0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to use one or more cameras and/or ultrasonic sensors to detect proximate objects as taught by Lavoie, where proximate vehicles are known to cause interference to vehicle TPMS systems as taught by Robson, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt, where such sensors are used in parking-assist systems, which may be integrated with TPMS to improve performance and safety, and may also be used to detect potential interference.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 13: The method of claim 13, wherein determining which wheel of the plurality of wheels each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is mounted on comprises:
receiving, by the receiver, three or more different RF signals; and
determining that the three or more different RF signals includes a fourth RF signal transmitted by a fourth tire pressure sensor of another vehicle based on the LF signals transmitted by any one of the plurality of antennas.
Lickfelt discloses embodiments in which: ID numbers for each tire sensor are stored with respect to wheel location and activating antenna [Fig. 3; Para. 0053]; in which each tire sensor sends a Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) in response to an activation signal, which may be used to determine location with respect to the activating antenna [Fig. 4; Para. 0048-0049]; and adjustment of LF antenna signal power to control the size of the activation field, in order to activate only the desired number of tire sensors, particularly under conditions where a response may come from a proximate other vehicle [Fig. 9; Para. 0061-0063].
Lickfelt does not disclose these features in a single embodiment, and discloses adjustment of activation signal strength with respect to an assemble line, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing that these features may be used individually or in combination to identify new or unexpected responses that may come from proximate vehicles in an operating environment.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, in view of in view of Ikeo et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2019/0176544 A1), hereinafter Ikeo.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 18: The method of claim 18, wherein determining which wheel of the plurality of wheels each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is mounted on further comprises:
driving the plurality of antennas to retransmit the LF signals after a predetermined time from a time point at which the fourth RF signal transmitted by the fourth tire pressure sensor of the another vehicle is received; and
based on a response to the retransmitted LF signals in which two different RF signals among the three or more different RF signals are re-received in the receiver, determining that the two different RF signals are received from the tire pressure sensors of the vehicle.
Lickfelt discloses an embodiment in which, when a fewer or greater number of tire pressure sensors that expected, are activated and provide a return signal and pressure information (possibly indicative of a nearby vehicle), that the power level of the LF signal for that antenna may be adjusted and the activation signal retransmitted until the correct number of response signals are received (steps 302, 304, 306, 308, 312) [Fig.9; Para. 0061-0062].
Lickfelt does not disclose a specific predetermined time between initial and repeat activation, but such a period would have been obvious to an artisan since a time window is required to tire sensors to respond to the activation signal. This is also specifically disclosed in analogous prior art, and for example:
Ikeo discloses a tire pressure monitoring system in which tire sensor RF response signals occur during a transmission time frame in a predetermined periodic cycle [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 4, 6; Para. 0002, 0008, 0026, 0029-0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a predetermined repeatable measurement time period for activating tire sensors and receiving response RF signals as taught by Ikeo, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt, in order to provide for an orderly reception of signals, and manage the consumption of power.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Lickfelt et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0304454 A1), hereinafter Lickfelt, in view of Robson et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2006/0132296 A1, hereinafter Robson.
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 18: The method of claim 18, wherein determining which wheel of the plurality of wheels each of the plurality of tire pressure sensors is mounted on further comprises:
after determining that the three or more different RF signals includes the fourth RF signal transmitted by the fourth tire pressure sensor of another vehicle, determining that the another vehicle is no longer within a predetermined distance from the vehicle; and
in response to determining that the another vehicle is no longer within the predetermined distance, driving the plurality of antennas to retransmit the LF signals; and
in response to re-receiving, by the receiver, two different RF signals among the three or more different RF signals in response to the retransmitted LF signals, determining that the two different RF signals are received from the tire pressure sensors of the vehicle.
Lickfelt discloses an embodiment in which, when a fewer or greater number of tire pressure sensors that expected, are activated and provide a return signal and pressure information (possibly indicative of a nearby vehicle), that the power level of the LF signal for that antenna may be adjusted and the activation signal retransmitted until the correct number of response signals are received (steps 302, 304, 306, 308, 312), and when the number of receiver responses is properly resolved for the first LF antenna, processing proceeds to the next antenna (steps 316, 318) until all antennas are resolved, whereupon, based on the received IDs the location of each tire sensor is determined (steps 320, 322) as stored previously, or resolved according to the process indicated by the flow chart of Fig. 2 [Fig. 2, 3, 9; Para. 0037-0038, 0061-0062].
Lickfelt does not specifically determine when a proximate interfering tire sensor is no longer within the LF antenna field (a predetermined distance), but this is known in analogous prior art, and for example
Robson discloses a tire pressure monitoring system, and in particular detecting interfering signals from proximate vehicles (with a range of an LF antenna field, a predefined area and range [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2; Para. 0001, 0005-0006], and specifically that if a received signal is not within parameters (particularly signal strength) for a determined signal strength envelope (steps 22, 24) that the signal may be locked out (of consideration as a valid tire sensor) for a predetermined period of time (step 30-36) at which time the signal is evaluated again in a repeating process, which will, in effect, ignore the signal so long as it is present, determines when the signal is no longer present, and continue to periodically poll other valid tire sensors [Fig. 3A-3B; Para. 0021-0025].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to identify an RF signal determined to originate from a proximate external object, and to block consideration for a predetermined period of time, but to reevaluate the signal on expiration, and to continue a periodic evaluation of other tire sensor locations as taught by Robson, applied to a vehicular TPMS monitoring system taught by Lickfelt and as modified by Lammers, thereby allowing a determination of when the interfering object is no longer within range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Stahan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2025/0033422 A1) disclosing timing control in a tire pressure monitoring system.
Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2020/0114707 A1) disclosing a tire air pressure detection system, vehicle apparatus and tire apparatus.
Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2009/0153317 A1) disclosing a smart key system using LF antennas of TPMS.
Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2009/0289783 A1) disclosing a system for automatically recognizing locations of respective tires.
Lin (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2008/0127723 A1) disclosing a method and apparatus for determining tire location in a tire pressure monitoring system using directional low frequency initiation.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at (571)272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685