Summary and Response to Arguments
This office action is responsive to applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 28 May 2026. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant’s remarks are addressed by the newly-added reference LIN et al. US2022/0207889, which is understood to teach the amended limitation of calculating straight-line-distances, as described in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Thome et al. “A cognitive and video-based approach for multinational License Plate Recognition” Machine Vision and Applications, Springer, vol. 22 no. 2, published 01 March 2010, pages 389-407, (cited on the 11/01/2024 IDS), (hereinafter “Thome”) in view of LIN et al. US2022/0207889 (hereinafter “Lin”).
With respect to claim 1, Thome et al. teaches a method for tracking an object in a dynamic scene, comprising:
capturing a video and obtaining continuous frames (Thome, sect. 5 “In this section, we explain our approach for explicitly taking advantage of the temporal aspect of the video”);
frame-by-frame recognizing one or more objects in each of the frames and choosing a target object in a first frame of the frames (Thome, sect. 5.1 “We define a tracking score STracking between a plate identified at time t and a new candidate being recognized at time t +1…”;
individually calculating one or more distances between the target object in the first frame and one or more objects recognized in a second frame of the frames so as to obtain one or more object distances (see Thome sect. 5.1 “SGTracking, corresponds to a geometrical component that defines a similarity measurement involving position and speed…” where the geometrical component comprises object distances. NOTE: Thome is not relied upon to teach calculating straight-line distances.);
recognizing strings of the target object in the first frame and the one or more objects recognized in the second frame (see Thome sect. 5.1 “SRTracking, is related to the OCR result…”);
calculating a string similarity between the string of the target object in the first frame and the string of each of the one or more objects recognized in the second frame (see Thome sect. 5.1 “SRTracking, is related to the OCR result, and corresponds to a similarity score between the string extracted from the current plate and the previously updated buffer” as further described in sect. 5.2.1);
calculating an overall score according to the object distance and the string similarity between the target object in the first frame and each of the one or more objects recognized in the second frame (see Thome sect. 5.1: “ We define a tracking score STracking between a plate identified at time t and a new candidate being recognized at time t +1:
SGTracking = wG × SGTracking + wR × SRTracking
wG and wR are parameters that have been learnt from training data, using across-validation procedure.”; and
determining whether or not the target object in the first frame is any object appearing in the second frame according to the overall score (see Thome sect. 5.1 “The global tracking score STracking defined in Eq. 3 is matched against a given threshold to define vehicles entries and outcomes.”).
Thome is silent on the limitation of “individually calculating one or more straight-line distances between the target object in the first frame and one or more objects recognized in a second frame of the frames so as to obtain one or more object distances…” However, in a similar field of license plate detection, Lin teaches this in paragraphs 0079-0080: “For example, all detection frames of the Nth image frame are ordered according to a spatial position rule (e.g., Euclidean distance from a center of coordinates of the detection frame to an origin of coordinates of the detection frame) to make up the left sequence, in a similar way, all detection frames of the (N+1)the image frame are ordered to make up the right sequence.” Lin’s use of a Euclidian distance between sets of frames is understood to be equivalent to the claimed “straight-line distances between the target object in the first frame and one or more objects recognized in a second frame” as recited in the independent claims.
Both Lin and Thome are similarly drawn to solving the problem of recognizing characters on license plates across a series of frames of video. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious at the time of filing to combine Lin’s determination of a Euclidian distance between sets of frames of license plate characters being analyzed with Thome’s tracking system to improve the reliability of license plate tracking across multiple frames.
With respect to claim 5, Thome teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the one or more objects to be frame-by-frame recognized are one or more license plates and the one or more license plates are one-by-one numbered (see Thome, sect. 5.1).
With respect to claim 6, Thome teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein, when the overall score between the target object in the first frame and each of the one or more objects recognized in the second frame is obtained, the overall score is compared with a score threshold so as to determine whether or not the target object in the first frame appears as any object of the one or more objects recognized in the second frame according to a comparison result (see Thome sect. 5.1 “The global tracking score STracking defined in Eq. 3 is matched against a given threshold to define vehicles entries and outcomes.”).
With respect to claim 7, Thome teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein, when it is determined that the target object appears in multiple continuous frames of the frames based on the overall score, a unique identifier is assigned to the target object in the continuous frames for tracking the target object (see Thome sect. 5.1 “At each time step, we define a binary matrix that contains the tracking score STracking between each detected plate and each previously tracked vehicle. Solving for best correspondences in this matrix makes it possible to track an unspecified number of vehicles.”).
With respect to claim 8, Thome teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein, the object distance between the target object in the first frame and each of the one or more objects recognized in the second frame is assigned with a distance score, the string similarity between the string of the target object in the first frame and the string of each of the one or more objects in the second frame is assigned with a string-similarity score, and the distance score and the string-similarity score are used to calculate the overall score (see Thome sect. 5.1. “ We define a tracking score STracking between a plate identified at time t and a new candidate being recognized at time t +1:
SGTracking = wG × SGTracking + wR × SRTracking
wG and wR are parameters that have been learnt from training data, using across-validation procedure.”
Independent claim 12 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons set forth in claim 1 above. The additional hardware components of system claim 12 are disclosed in Thome sect. 7.3.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons set forth in claim 5 above.
Claim 16 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons set forth in claim 5 above.
Claim 17 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons set forth in claims 6 and 7 above.
Claim 18 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons set forth in claim 8 above.
Claims 2-4, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thome et al. “A cognitive and video-based approach for multinational License Plate Recognition” Machine Vision and Applications, Springer, vol. 22 no. 2, published 01 March 2010, pages 389-407, (cited on the 11/01/2024 IDS), (“Thome”) in view of LIN et al. US2022/0207889 (“Lin”), further in view of Gupta et al. U.S. Patent No. 11,978,267 (hereinafter “Gupta”).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Thome and Lin teaches the method according to claim 1 as described above, but is silent on the remaining limitations. In the similar field of video-base license plate recognition Gupta et al. further teaches: wherein the object distance is a distance between a geometric center of the target object in the first frame and the geometric center of each of the one or more objects recognized in the second frame (see Gupta col. 5 lines 30-59, where the center of a bounding box representing the license plates to be tracked is defined and compared across video frames). Gupta, Lin, and Thome are similarly drawn to solving the problem of accurately tracking multiple license plates across a sequence of video frames. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to combine Gupta’s use of the detected center of a bounding box of the license plate candidate with the combination of Lin and Thome’s tracking system to improve the reliability of license plate tracking across multiple frames.
With respect to claim 3, Thome teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the string of the target object in the first frame and the string of each of the one or more objects recognized in the second frame are license-plate numbers, each of which is a combination of at least one of multiple English alphabetic letters or multiple numbers; and the string similarity between the strings of two objects is an edit distance (see Thome, sect. 5.2.1. “…our approach is based on the Levenstein distance, or Edit Distance (ED), to measure the similarity between strings.”).
With respect to claim 4, Thome teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the edit distance is a Levenshtein distance that is a minimum number of single-character edits that is necessary to convert one string into another string between the strings of two objects (see Thome, sect. 5.2.1. “…our approach is based on the Levenstein distance, or Edit Distance (ED), to measure the similarity between strings.”).
Claim 13 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons set forth in claim 2 above.
Claim 14 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons set forth in claim 3 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665