DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In ll. 3, the phrase “and template opening” should be re-written as --and the template opening--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the bearing opening” in ll. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the target site" in ll. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the support element" in ll. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Billeter (US 2,454,372).
Regarding claim 1, Billeter discloses a drill guide (figure 1) for an implantable medical device (considered as intended use) comprising a template (element “c”) comprising a turntable (35+60) having a drill guide opening (figure 1), and a drill clip (20) connected to the turntable (35+60) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Billeter discloses wherein the turntable (35+60) is at least partially seated in a bearing (element “d”) connected to the template (element “c”) (col. 6, ll. 38-43 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Billeter discloses wherein the bearing (element “d’) comprises a bearing opening (figure 1) aligned with the drill guide opening (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Billeter discloses wherein the bearing (element “d’) is at least partially seated in a template recess (figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Billeter discloses wherein the template recess comprises a template recess opening (figure 1) coaxially aligned with the drill guide opening (figure 1) and the bearing opening (figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Billeter discloses wherein the drill clip (20) is connected to the turntable (35+60) by a support element (36) extending above the turntable (35+60) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Billeter discloses wherein the drill clip (20) is slidably connected (figure 1) to the support element (36).
Regarding claim 8, Billeter discloses wherein the support element (36) is configured to (i.e. capable of) restrict slidable drill movement perpendicular to the target site when a drill (16) is attached to the drill clip (20).
Regarding claim 9, Billeter discloses wherein the support element (36) comprises a plurality of separate support elements (elements 36) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Billeter discloses wherein the support element (36) extends from an offset position above the turntable (35+60) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Billeter is capable of having wherein the template is an implantable hearing device template as this is considered functional.
Regarding claim 12, Billeter is capable of having wherein the implantable medical device is an implantable hearing device as this is considered functional.
Regarding claim 13, Billeter discloses a drill guide (figure 1) for an implantable medical device (considered as intended use) comprising a template (element “c”) comprising a template opening (figure 1) and a turntable (35+60) having a drill guide opening (figure 1) coaxially aligned with the template opening (figure 1), a drill interface (20) connected to the turntable (35+60) (figure 1), and a support element (36) connected to the drill interface (20) extending from the turntable (35+60) and offset from the drill guide opening (figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Billeter discloses wherein the support element (36) is slidably connected to the drill interface (20) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Billeter discloses wherein the turntable (35+60) is at least partially housed in a template recess (col. 6, ll. 38-43 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Billeter discloses further comprising a ring bearing (element “d”) seated in the template recess (figure 1) and coaxially aligned with the drill guide opening (figure 1) and template opening (figure 1).
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775