Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed June 30, 2026.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7 and 10 were amended, rendering claims 1-20 pending, with claims 12-20 withdrawn as a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carberry et al. (U.S. 2010/0218556).
Carberry discloses an apparatus for joining together pieces of low thermal expansion glass to form parts that can be used in the manufacturing of mirror blanks. The parts are then used as a basis for the fabrication, using the method described herein, of hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hexagon sub-assemblies to have openings since it is known in the art hexagon assemblies to have openings. Additionally, Figure 9 shows openings in the hexagon sub-assemblies. Carberry discloses laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5). Carberry discloses a mirror assembly has an opening for directing a laser beam from a laser beam source to a joint that is to be welded (paragraph 29), as in claim 1.
In claim 1, the phrases, “attached to the first plate by a first plurality of laser-welded joints, the core assembled from a plurality of glass parts”, “connected by a second plurality of laser-welded joints” and “formed in at least one of the glass parts”
introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a first plate and a core attached by laser welded joints. The reference suggests such a product because Carberry discloses an apparatus for joining together pieces of low thermal expansion glass to form parts that can be used in the manufacturing of mirror blanks. The parts are then used as a basis for the fabrication, using the method described herein, of hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract). Carberry discloses laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5). In claim 1, the phrase, “at least one laser access opening is positioned to provide a direct line-of-sight by a laser through the at least one laser access opening toward an internal abutment between two of the glass parts to form at least one of the second plurality of laser-welded joints” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Concerning claim 2, Carberry discloses an apparatus for joining together pieces of low thermal expansion glass to form parts that can be used in the manufacturing of mirror blanks (abstract).
Concerning claim 3, Carberry discloses the parts and sub-assemblies of the invention are made of silica-titania glass (paragraph 4).
Concerning claims 4-5, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hexagon sub-assemblies to have openings since it is known in the art hexagon assemblies to have openings. Carberry discloses a mirror assembly has an opening for directing a laser beam from a laser beam source to a joint that is to be welded (paragraph 29).
Concerning claim 6, Carberry discloses the parts and sub-assemblies of the invention are made of silica-titania glass (paragraph 4).
Concerning claim 7, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hexagon sub-assemblies to have openings since it is known in the art hexagon assemblies to have openings. Carberry discloses a mirror assembly has an opening for directing a laser beam from a laser beam source to a joint that is to be welded (paragraph 29).
Concerning claim 8, Carberry discloses laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5).
Concerning claim 9, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5) where the additional plates would be expected to include a second plate attached by additional laser welded joints.
Concerning claim 10, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5). Carberry discloses a mirror assembly has an opening for directing a laser beam from a laser beam source to a joint that is to be welded (paragraph 29).
Carberry does not appear to teach a line extending through an opening of the first plate intersecting a point along one of the third laser welded joints, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical outcomes. In the present case the apparatus is carried out using material (glass) and process (laser welded) conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the apparatus discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed line extending through an opening of the first plate intersecting a point along one of the third laser welded joints.
Concerning claim 11, Carberry discloses the parts and sub-assemblies of the invention are made of silica-titania glass (paragraph 4).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carberry et al. (U.S. 2010/0218556) have been considered; however, are unpersuasive. Applicant argues Carberry fails to teach or suggest at least, "at least one laser access opening formed in at least one of the glass parts, wherein the at least one laser access opening is positioned to provide a direct line-of-sight by a laser through the at least one laser access opening toward an internal abutment between two of the glass parts to form at least one of the second plurality of laser-welded joints," as set forth in amended claim 1. In response to Applicant’s argument, Carberry discloses a mirror assembly has an opening for directing a laser beam from a laser beam source to a joint that is to be welded (paragraph 29). In claim 1, the phrase, “at least one laser access opening is positioned to provide a direct line-of-sight by a laser through the at least one laser access opening toward an internal abutment between two of the glass parts to form at least one of the second plurality of laser-welded joints” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781