DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
1. Applicant’s election of claims 1-11, without traverse, in the reply filed on March 3, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 3, 2026, is acknowledged.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 14, 2024, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carberry et al. (U.S. 2010/0218556).
Carberry discloses an apparatus for joining together pieces of low thermal expansion glass to form parts that can be used in the manufacturing of mirror blanks. The parts are then used as a basis for the fabrication, using the method described herein, of hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hexagon sub-assemblies to have openings since it is known in the art hexagon assemblies to have openings. Carberry discloses laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5), as in claim 1.
In claim 1, the phrase, “attached to the first plate by a first plurality of laser-welded joints, the core assembled from a plurality of glass parts” and “connected by a second plurality of laser-welded joints” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a first plate and a core attached by laser welded joints. The reference suggests such a product because Carberry discloses an apparatus for joining together pieces of low thermal expansion glass to form parts that can be used in the manufacturing of mirror blanks. The parts are then used as a basis for the fabrication, using the method described herein, of hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract). Carberry discloses laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5).
Concerning claim 2, Carberry discloses an apparatus for joining together pieces of low thermal expansion glass to form parts that can be used in the manufacturing of mirror blanks (abstract).
Concerning claim 3, Carberry discloses the parts and sub-assemblies of the invention are made of silica-titania glass (paragraph 4).
Concerning claims 4-5, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hexagon sub-assemblies to have openings since it is known in the art hexagon assemblies to have openings.
Concerning claim 6, Carberry discloses the parts and sub-assemblies of the invention are made of silica-titania glass (paragraph 4).
Concerning claim 7, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the hexagon sub-assemblies to have openings since it is known in the art hexagon assemblies to have openings.
Concerning claim 8, Carberry discloses laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5).
Concerning claim 9, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5) where the additional plates would be expected to include a second plate attached by additional laser welded joints.
Concerning claim 10, Carberry discloses the parts are hexagon sub-assemblies that would then be joined for assembly into mirror blanks (abstract) where laser welding of glass parts to make hexagonal sub-assemblies (paragraph 5).
Carberry does not appear to teach a line extending through an opening of the first plate intersecting a point along one of the third laser welded joints, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical outcomes. In the present case the apparatus is carried out using material (glass) and process (laser welded) conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the apparatus discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed line extending through an opening of the first plate intersecting a point along one of the third laser welded joints.
Concerning claim 11, Carberry discloses the parts and sub-assemblies of the invention are made of silica-titania glass (paragraph 4).
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781