DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14-18, and 20 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 21 November 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because line 2 recites “shapes” when it should recite --shape--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated
by Smith (GB 2,447,114A).
In regards to claim 1, at the onset it is noted that the claim is directed only towards the
clamping device and the hose barbs are recited only functionally. It should be noted that while
features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an
apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re
Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Further, a claim
containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be
employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art
apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647
(Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Smith discloses a clamping device for fluidically and mechanically connecting two hose
barbs, the clamping device comprising a seal (10) and a locking mechanism (P), wherein the
locking mechanism can be transferred from a mounting condition (see before night is tightened),
in which the hose barbs can be inserted into the clamping device, to an assembled condition (see
tightened state), in which the hose barbs are locked in place in a position in which free ends of
the hose barbs face each other and the seal coaxially aligns and fluid-tightly connects the free
ends,
wherein the seal comprises a primary sealing lip (20, 16) for engaging an outer surface of
the free ends of the hose barbs and a secondary sealing lip (14, 18) for engaging an inner surface
of the free ends of the hose barbs, the primary and secondary sealing lips being connected by a
web (see central portion) so as to form a flexure bearing, and
wherein the primary sealing lip circumscribes the secondary sealing lip and the web
extends in a radial direction between the primary sealing lip and the secondary sealing lip,
thereby forming a first cavity (22) for receiving a first one of the hose barbs and a second cavity (24) for receiving a second one of the hose barbs with the web delimiting, and defining a
proximal end of, each of the first and second cavities (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 2, Smith further discloses the locking mechanism comprises a
fixture (see hex surfaces) for attaching the locking mechanism to a retaining plate.
In regards to claim 3, it is noted that this claim is a product-by-process claim. In re
Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the patentability of the
product that is to be determined and not recited process steps irrespective of whether or not only
process steps are set forth. Therefore, since being a "prefabricated unit" adds no further structure
to the seal and locking mechanism, the limitation has been met.
In regards to claim 5, Smith further discloses the seal consists of a material resistant to
irradiation and chemicals (see claim 8).
In regards to claim 7, it is noted that this claim is a product-by-process claim. In re
Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the patentability of the
product that is to be determined and not recited process steps irrespective of whether or not only
process steps are set forth. Therefore, since being a "pre-loaded into the assembled condition"
adds no further structure to the locking mechanism, the limitation has been met.
In regards to claim 21, Smith further discloses the seal has an inner wall in each of the
first and second cavities having a shape adapted to frusto-conical shapes of the free ends of the hose barbs, and wherein the first and second cavities face in opposite axial directions (see fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as
applied to claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 6, Smith discloses the device of claim 5 but does not expressly
disclose the rubber being EPDM rubber. It would have been obvious before the effective filing
date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Straub by making the seal from EPDM
rubber due to its durability, flexibility, etc., since it has been held to be within the general skill of
a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as
a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See
MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to claim 10, Smith does not explicitly disclose transfer of the locking
mechanism from the mounting condition to the assembled condition is irreversible but does
disclose " The packing nut (retaining member) may have a threaded outer circumference that
engages a threaded opening in support J. However, the retainer member may engage the
housing or support by other means" (see paragraph [0015]).
The examiner is taking Official Notice that threaded connections and irreversible
connections are well-known in the art of pipe couplings as obvious variants.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the
art to provide the locking mechanism of Smith as an irreversible connection such as a grip ring,
achieving no unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be
allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and
any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Smith does not meet the concentric lip geometry of claim 1. The examiner disagrees. The entire seal body (10) is one-piece, so considering both elements 16 and 20 to be the first sealing lip and both elements 14 and 18 to be the second sealing lip is not dissimilar to that of the prior art other than that the two axial ends have been given separate reference numerals in the prior art. Further, it can be seen clearly in fig. 3 of Smith that the cavity “22” is formed radially between the first and second lips as required by claim 1, and thus the limitation has been met.
Applicant argues that the cavities of Smith are not configured for receiving a tubular element inserted axially. The examiner disagrees. The claim is directed only to the seal and locking member, and looking at only those two elements, there is nothing preventing a hose barb from being inserted into the cavity of Smith, and thus the functional limitation has been met.
In regards to applicant’s argument regarding claim 2, it is noted that the retaining plate is not a required limitation of the claim but rather recited functionally. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Since the hex surface is capable of locking the mechanism to a hypothetical retaining plate having a hex-shaped opening, the limitation has been met.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 3, the limitation of “prefabricated unit” adds no further structure to the seal and locking mechanism, and applicant’s arguments have not defined what structure this limitation supposedly imparts, so thus the limitation has been met.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to make the seal of Smith from EPDM rubber, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Straub by making the seal from EPDM rubber due to its durability, flexibility, etc.
In regards to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 10, to adequately traverse a finding based on official notice, an applicant must specifically point out the supposed errors in the examiner’s action, which would include stating why the noticed fact is not considered to be common knowledge or well-known in the art. A mere request by the applicant that the examiner provide documentary evidence in support of an officially-noticed fact is not a proper traversal. See 37 CFR 1.111(b). See also Chevenard, 139 F.2d at 713, 60 USPQ at 241. Since applicant’s traversal does not adequately point out why the stated fact is not considered to be common or well-known in the art, the Official Notice statement is taken to be admitted prior art. See Ahlert, 424 F.2d at 1091, 165 USPQ at 420.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding claim 21, it is noted that that the claim does not require the seal to have a frusto-conical shape but rather just be “adapted to” frusto-conical shapes of hypothetical hose barbs. As the seal is made of a flexible material, it is “adapted to” these shapes, the limitation has been met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 10/28/2026