DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species D, claims 1-4, 7-10, 12 in the reply filed on 5/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6, 11, 13-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/8/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muller (US 2021/0069392).
Regarding claim 1, Muller discloses the same invention as claimed (Figure 19 shown above for example), including a cardiac pump system (abstract; Figures 1-3), comprising: a catheter shaft having a proximal end region coupled to a handle and a distal end region coupled to a cardiac pump (Figure 1), wherein the cardiac pump includes an impeller housing, a cannula and an impeller (Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 62-64), wherein the cannula includes a distal end region and a proximal end region (Figure 2), wherein the distal end region of the cannula is configured to be positioned in a left ventricle of a heart (Figure 3); and a first flow sensor coupled to the cannula or the catheter shaft (Figures 18A-B: 521, 524; Paragraph 121+), wherein the first flow sensor is configured to directly sense a first velocity of blood flowing adjacent to the first flow sensor (Paragraph 111: velocity flowmeter; Paragraph 121: flow rate).
Regarding claims 2-3, Muller discloses a console as recited (Figure 1; Paragraph 111).
Regarding claim 7, Muller discloses both cannula and catheter shaft sensors as recited (Figure 18B: 521, 524).
Regarding claim 8, Muller discloses the catheter shaft velocity flow sensor as recited (Figure 1; Paragraph 111).
Regarding claim 9, Muller discloses comparing catheter and cannula flow as recited (Paragraph 146).
Regarding claim 10, Muller discloses calculating a pump position as recited (Paragraphs 143, 146; Figures 21A-C).
Regarding claim 12, Muller discloses a catheter shaft sensor positioned along the shaft to be proximal of a subclavian artery when the cannula is properly positioned in the left ventricle as recited (Figure 19; Paragraph 131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller (US 2021/0069392) in view of Mitze (US 2022/0161019).
Regarding claim 4, Muller discloses assessing cardiac output (Paragraph 146) but does not explicitly disclose calculating cardiac output based on flow measurements. However, Mitze teaches calculating cardiac output based on flow measurements as recited (Paragraph 222), in order to assess operational cardiac output with the pump. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muller as taught by Mitze to include calculating cardiac output based on flow measurements as recited, in order to assess operational cardiac output with the pump.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tuval (US 2022/0088368) and Mitze (US 2022/0161019) show cardiac pumps with a flow sensor.
D’Ambrosio (US 2017/0348470), Higgins (US 2020/0030510), Goldvassar (US 2020/0288988), Schlebusch (US 2022/0039669), Stigloher (US 2023/0173250), Winzer (US 2024/0011808) show cardiac pumps with a flow sensor.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796