Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1, 13, 15, and 20 are amended
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/03/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
More specifically, a translated copy of the “Korean Office Action dated July 2, 2025, issue in Application No. 10-2023-0055140” is required. All other documents have been considered.
Response to Amendment
Objections to the Drawings
After reviewing applicant’s amendments within the specification, the examiner agrees the objections to the drawings have been overcome. The objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103
Regarding applicant’s arguments that “KANEL, BENJAMIN, KY, EMBREE, and TAKAMOTO, taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose or teach the first and second ultrasonic vibrators being spaced below the outlet”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. KANEL discloses an ultrasonic vibrator underneath the outlet in ¶ 0027 (KANEL, “Preferably, output vents 110 are provided in the inner wall 104 on each side of the housing 100 at the open top portion 128, or between the engine deck 20 and the open top portion 128, in order to mix and evenly distribute the warm mist rising from the heating reservoir 30 and cool mist rising from the nebulizing chamber 40.”) and within ¶ 0043 (KANEL, “The cool mist formed by the ultrasonic transducer 242 is mixed with air in a mixing chamber 230 above the engine deck 220. The air is delivered to the mixing chamber 230 from a duct 232 as the result of a fan 226 disposed in an engine chamber 208 below the engine deck 220. The fan 226 pressurizes the air in the mixing chamber 230, causing it to flow up and out of the humidifier 200 through a cover and stones 214.”). BENJAMIN teaches the use of multiple ultrasonic vibrators in ¶ 0096 (BENJAMIN, “the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a PWM scheme.”) for the purpose of “individual control of the nebulizers 300, staging of the nebulizers 300 may be possible, with some nebulizers 300 being left to run at 100% output as the demand for humidification increases or decreases, thus allowing those nebulizers 300 to operate at their most efficient mode” (BENJAMIN, ¶ 0050). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the humidifier with an output vent on top KANEL to use of a plurality of vibrators for operational efficiency within BENJAMIN would result in a humidifier with multiple vibrators for efficiency with an output vent above.
To the extent that KANEL alone does not disclose a first and second underneath an outlet as originally listed within claim 13, the examiner agrees. This was an erroneous typo in the previous office action. However, throughout the non-final rejection, BENJAMIN was continuously used by the examiner to teach the modification of KANEL to include of multiple ultrasonic vibrators as within BENJAMIN with the explicit purpose of “yield[ing] an efficient humidifier which can distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.” (non-final action, Pg. 9). The continuous teaching of the multiple vibrators by BENJAMIN can be seen in the rejections for claims 1-12 and 15-20. While the typo is regrettable, the non-final clearly established BENJAMIN taught the use of multiple vibrators.
Given the reasons above, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is sustained. Please see 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 13, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEL (US 20140151907 A1) in view of BENJAMIN (US 20180093291 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
KANEL discloses:
a case; and a humidifying assembly disposed in the case and configured to generate mist, (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0008, “In an embodiment, the present invention provides a combination warm and cool mist humidifier having a housing with a substantially open top portion. The housing has an inner wall and an outer wall and an air gap between the inner and outer walls. Each of the inner and outer walls includes at least one vent. A main water reservoir within the housing is fillable by providing water to the substantially open top portion. A level engine deck is disposed above a bottom of the main water reservoir and an impeller is configured to pump water from the main water reservoir to an overflow chamber of the engine deck. The engine deck includes a heating reservoir having at least one heating element disposed therein and a nebulizing chamber having at least one ultrasonic transducer disposed therein. An engine chamber is disposed adjacent the water reservoir and below the engine deck and includes at least one motor for driving the impeller and a fan disposed adjacent the at least one vent of the outer wall of the housing so as to draw air into the air gap and through the at least one vent of the inner wall of the housing.”)
wherein the humidifying assembly comprises: (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0008)
a humidifying chamber configured to hold water, (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0041, “FIG. 6 shows a schematic illustration of another embodiment of a humidifier 200 in accordance. Humidifier 200 illustrates additional features of a humidifier that may be implemented in accordance with the invention. These features can be combined with any of the features described above with respect to humidifier 10. Humidifier 200 includes a water feature 202, in the form of a shallow waterfall. The water feature 202 is an attractive addition of the humidifier 200 and functionally delivers water pumped from the main water reservoir 212 to the engine deck 220. The water feature 202 may include one or more steps 204 that the water cascades over as it flows down the water feature. The water is pumped up to the water feature 202 from the main water reservoir 212 with an impeller 216. The impeller 216 is driven by a motor and may be connected thereto magnetically as discussed above with respect to humidifier 10. Although the impeller 216 and fan 226 are shown at opposite sides of humidifier 200, these elements may be conFigured more closely so that they can be driven by a single motor, as discussed above. In operation, the water is driven up to the water feature 202 through a tube 218, as shown by the solid arrows in FIG. 6. The water then flows down the water feature 202 until it falls into an overflow chamber 222 on the engine deck 220. The engine deck 220 is equipped with a nebulizing chamber 240, which receives water from the overflow chamber 222. An ultrasonic transducer 242 disperses water from the nebulizing chamber 240 into the air above engine deck 220 forming a cool mist. Excess water that is not immediately converted into a mist falls from the overflow chamber 222 back into the main water reservoir 212.”; ¶ 0042, “Use of the impeller 216 to cycle water over the water feature 202 and onto the engine deck 220 where it contacts the ultrasonic transducer 242 allows the main water reservoir 212 to be open to atmospheric pressure. In contrast, the water in most humidifier tanks is held in the tank by a vacuum. This open type of system also allows the amount of water held in the nebulizing chamber 240 to be controlled very precisely by using the overflow chamber 222 to distribute excess water back to the main water reservoir 212 so that the ultrasonic transducer 242 always has an appropriate amount of water.”)
an inlet through which air is introduced into the humidifying chamber, (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027, “The fan 126 is arranged adjacent the outer wall 102 of the housing 100 in a region containing intake vents 108. The intake vents 108 may be provided with a filter to purify the air as it enters the housing 100. The motor 120 drives the fan 126 in order to pressurize the engine chamber 118 and force air into the air gap 106. The air travels between the outer and inner walls 102, 104 of the housing 100 (i.e., through air gap 106) and exits into the interior of the humidifier 10 through one or more output vents 110 disposed in the inner wall 104. Preferably, output vents 110 are provided in the inner wall 104 on each side of the housing 100 at the open top portion 128, or between the engine deck 20 and the open top portion 128, in order to mix and evenly distribute the warm mist rising from the heating reservoir 30 and cool mist rising from the nebulizing chamber 40. The airflow provided by the output vents 110 also serves to pressurize the interior of the humidifier 10 so that the combined mist rises substantially uniformly from the open top portion 128. In this manner, a substantially uniform output of mist at a substantially uniform temperature is provided throughout the open top portion 128 of the humidifier 10. Preferably, the temperature of the air and combined mist exiting through the open top portion 128 is in the range of 110.degree. F. to 130.degree. F. (43.3.degree. C. to 54.4.degree. C.).”; ¶ 0043, “The cool mist formed by the ultrasonic transducer 242 is mixed with air in a mixing chamber 230 above the engine deck 220. The air is delivered to the mixing chamber 230 from a duct 232 as the result of a fan 226 disposed in an engine chamber 208 below the engine deck 220. The fan 226 pressurizes the air in the mixing chamber 230, causing it to flow up and out of the humidifier 200 through a cover and stones 214.”)
an outlet through which mist generated in the humidifying chamber is discharged, and (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0046, “The engine deck 320 includes a nebulizing chamber 340 in fluid communication with an ultrasonic transducer 342. The transducer 342 disperses water from the nebulizing chamber 340 into a cool mist in a mixing chamber 330. The mist is then mixed with pressurized air that is driven into the mixing chamber 330 by a fan 326. In the illustrated embodiment, the fan is housed in an engine chamber 308 disposed below the engine deck 320. The fan 326 is driven by a motor which may be the same motor 314 as that which drives the impeller 316. Alternatively, a separate motor may be used to drive the fan 326. The fan 326 pressurizes air within the engine chamber 308 which drives the air through a duct 332 into the mixing chamber 330 where it mixes with the mist. As an alternative, air may flow from the engine chamber 308 to the mixing chamber 330 through a port connecting the two chambers. The mist is propelled into the atmosphere by the pressurized air within the mixing chamber 330 through a nozzle 306. In an embodiment, the nozzle may be rotatable, such that the mist can be directed in a direction as desired by the user.”)
and wherein the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are spaced below the outlet. (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027; ¶ 0043)
KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
first and second ultrasonic vibrators configured to atomize water in the humidifying chamber, and (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0092, The nebulizer bank 1310 may include a plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. Although only three ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 are shown in the figure, it will be understood that many more ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be included in embodiments, e.g., the nebulizer bank 1310 may include at least 64 ultrasonic nebulizers 1312, or another number of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be in fluid communication with the water supply 1320, e.g., individually, in series, or in combined groups. In general, each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be structurally configured for breaking up water in liquid form from the water supply 1320 into aerosol droplets for humidifying a volume. “”; ¶ 0105, “Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may include a piezo-electric transducer 1314 (or other transducer or the like) and an electric circuit 1316 for electrically oscillating the piezo-electric transducer 1314 with a natural frequency thereof. The system 1300 may further include a microprocessor 1318 embedded into the electric circuit 1316 for controlling the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may be in communication with the controller 1330 and other nebulizer electric circuits 1316. The microprocessor 1318 may retain a network address in its flash memory to uniquely identify itself in a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. For example, the microprocessor 1318 may recognize the ultrasonic nebulizer 1312 to which its associated, as well as neighboring ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may receive commands to locally control a PWM scheme turning on the piezo-electric transducer 1314 for a given amount of time within a programmable time window, thereby controlling aerosol droplets generated by the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may control a starting point of a time window with respect to other ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 on a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may monitor a temperature of one or more drive transistors 1336 with heat sinks to the water supply 1320, where the microprocessor 1318 is configured to prevent damage or failure to the one or more drive transistors 1336 and the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may communicate a current temperature and a status of one or more of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 to the controller 1330 through the data network 1302.”)
wherein one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators is (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0092; ¶ 0105)
driven at a time, or (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0044, “In an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer, all nebulizers may have power applied at all times, resulting in a one-time power up inrush of current. The current demand 405 may rise as the oscillator starts without the inrush of current. By controlling the start of each nebulizer and the period and duty cycle of the PWM, the size of the current drawn from the power supply may be reduced from the original current step produced by turning all transducers on and off at the same time. This reduced current step may reduce component stress caused by rapid changes in current inside the power supply, such as capacitors and rectifiers, due to powering up and down the bank of nebulizers. The power supply, typically a switching regulator type of power supply, thus may not have to respond to quick changes due to impulse current, but instead only relatively slow changes in energy demand as the on and off times of the nebulizers are typically in the order of about 0.1 seconds to about 10 seconds. Thus, the life of the power supply may be prolonged even when all of the nebulizers are commanded on at the same time.”)
the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are driven with respective different driving signals, (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0096, “In implementations, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a PWM scheme. Also, or instead, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a predetermined period and duty cycle. The predetermined period and duty cycle may be selected to maintain a predetermined humidity or dew point in the volume to be humidified/conditioned.”)
and wherein the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are spaced below the outlet. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0092; ¶ 0105)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber with an output vent on top within KANEL to contain multiple individually controllable ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence or cycle.
Regarding Claim 2:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein the respective different driving signals to drive the first and second ultrasonic vibrators include first Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) driving signal to drive the first ultrasonic vibrator and a second PWM driving signal to drive the second ultrasonic vibrator, and wherein a duty ratio of the first PWM driving signal is different from a duty ratio of the second PWM driving signal. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0047, “Variations in the control of the PWM can be implemented in the humidifier controller without modifying the individual nebulizer by communicating to the nebulizer when to start, how long the period is, and the width of the duty cycle.”; ¶ 0096, “In implementations, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a PWM scheme. Also, or instead, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a predetermined period and duty cycle. The predetermined period and duty cycle may be selected to maintain a predetermined humidity or dew point in the volume to be humidified/conditioned.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
Regarding Claim 3:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein the duty ratios of the first and second PWM driving signals to drive, respectively, the first ultrasonic vibrator and the second ultrasonic vibrator are individually adjusted. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0096, “In implementations, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a PWM scheme. Also, or instead, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a predetermined period and duty cycle. The predetermined period and duty cycle may be selected to maintain a predetermined humidity or dew point in the volume to be humidified/conditioned.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
Regarding Claim 5:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein each time the humidifying assembly is turned on, the humidifying assembly is configured to drive, sequentially, a different one of the first ultrasonic vibrator or the second ultrasonic vibrator. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0042,” FIG. 4 illustrates a timing diagram, in accordance with a representative embodiment. The figure shows, by way of example, a prior art method of controlling nebulizers and the resulting current demand (i.e., labeled as “(a) Traditional all on or all off” in the figure) versus a method according to an implementation as described herein (i.e., labeled as “(b) Individual on/off” in the figure). FIG. 4 thus shows an example of the timing and current demand used in an existing ultrasonic humidifier with multiple nebulizers (i.e., the first graph 402), and the timing and current demand used in an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer (i.e., the second graph 404).”; ¶ 0050, “A nebulizer 300 may be most efficient in the use of power if it is on 100% of the time. A nebulizer 300 may have a minimum start-up time from the application of voltage to the oscillator circuit until the time droplets are being formed. During this start-up time, power may be consumed with no benefit of the production of water droplets. In traditional humidifiers, where all nebulizers are turned on and off together in a PWM fashion (to have the period set so that at, e.g., a 10% on time), the nebulizers generally have been on long enough to produce droplets. By way of example, a practical minimum on time would be twice the time it takes from the application of power to the formation of droplets. However, with the introduction of individual control of each nebulizer 300 in a humidifier of, e.g., ten or more nebulizers 300, the nebulizers 300 can be individually be turned off as the humidity rises to the set point with the last nebulizer 300 being operated at 10%. In the case of a humidifier with ten nebulizers 300, this can achieve the control of the humidity to be within 1% of the total capacity, rather than 10%.”; ¶ 0051, “With the individual control of the nebulizers 300, staging of the nebulizers 300 may be possible, with some nebulizers 300 being left to run at 100% output as the demand for humidification increases or decreases, thus allowing those nebulizers 300 to operate at their most efficient mode, eliminating the loss of efficiency due to the startup and shut down timing. The step-in supply current may be limited to what one nebulizer 300 uses, rather than the sum of all nebulizers 300.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence.
Regarding Claim 6:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein the humidifying assembly is configured to drive the first ultrasonic vibrator during a first time period to atomize the water contained in the humidifying chamber, and to drive the second ultrasonic vibrator during a second time period after the first time period to atomize the water contained in the humidifying chamber. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0042, “FIG. 4 illustrates a timing diagram, in accordance with a representative embodiment. The figure shows, by way of example, a prior art method of controlling nebulizers and the resulting current demand (i.e., labeled as “(a) Traditional all on or all off” in the figure) versus a method according to an implementation as described herein (i.e., labeled as “(b) Individual on/off” in the figure). FIG. 4 thus shows an example of the timing and current demand used in an existing ultrasonic humidifier with multiple nebulizers (i.e., the first graph 402), and the timing and current demand used in an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer (i.e., the second graph 404).”; ¶ 0047, “Variations in the control of the PWM can be implemented in the humidifier controller without modifying the individual nebulizer by communicating to the nebulizer when to start, how long the period is, and the width of the duty cycle.”; ¶ 0054, “Furthermore, rotation of which nebulizers are on at 100% and which nebulizers are operated at a reduced duty cycle to achieve a desired percentage output may allow an even wear on transducers that do have a finite life time. This can be based on hours of operation or rotating when demand reaches 0% or 100%. FIG. 7 illustrates current demand on power for ultrasonic nebulizers, in accordance with a representative embodiment. Specifically, FIG. 7 shows an example of current demand on power up to 100%, then modulating one nebulizer. As shown in the figure, steps up to maximum amps may be spaced to be at least two times the turn-on time of the nebulizer.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence.
Regarding Claim 7:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 6 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein the first time period and the second time period are repeated according to a predetermined cycle. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0042, “FIG. 4 illustrates a timing diagram, in accordance with a representative embodiment. The figure shows, by way of example, a prior art method of controlling nebulizers and the resulting current demand (i.e., labeled as “(a) Traditional all on or all off” in the figure) versus a method according to an implementation as described herein (i.e., labeled as “(b) Individual on/off” in the figure). FIG. 4 thus shows an example of the timing and current demand used in an existing ultrasonic humidifier with multiple nebulizers (i.e., the first graph 402), and the timing and current demand used in an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer (i.e., the second graph 404).”; ¶ 0054, “Furthermore, rotation of which nebulizers are on at 100% and which nebulizers are operated at a reduced duty cycle to achieve a desired percentage output may allow an even wear on transducers that do have a finite life time. This can be based on hours of operation or rotating when demand reaches 0% or 100%. FIG. 7 illustrates current demand on power for ultrasonic nebulizers, in accordance with a representative embodiment. Specifically, FIG. 7 shows an example of current demand on power up to 100%, then modulating one nebulizer. As shown in the figure, steps up to maximum amps may be spaced to be at least two times the turn-on time of the nebulizer.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence.
Regarding Claim 8:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 6 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein the first time period and the second time period have a same length. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0042, “FIG. 4 illustrates a timing diagram, in accordance with a representative embodiment. The figure shows, by way of example, a prior art method of controlling nebulizers and the resulting current demand (i.e., labeled as “(a) Traditional all on or all off” in the figure) versus a method according to an implementation as described herein (i.e., labeled as “(b) Individual on/off” in the figure). FIG. 4 thus shows an example of the timing and current demand used in an existing ultrasonic humidifier with multiple nebulizers (i.e., the first graph 402), and the timing and current demand used in an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer (i.e., the second graph 404).”; ¶ 0075, “FIG. 12 illustrates a flow chart of a method 1200 for PWM timing for ultrasonic nebulizers, in accordance with a representative embodiment. FIG. 12 may include a PWM scheme for control of a nebulizer oscillator, where the duty cycle is from the method 1100 of FIG. 11, for example. The period and time-on timers may be interrupt driven and decremented to zero at a fixed frequency. Also, the period time may be set by a command from the humidifier controller.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence.
Regarding Claim 9:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
in response to a usage time of a first one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators reaching a reference time during a first time period, the one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators is deactivated during a second time period, and a second one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators is driven during the second time period, and in response to a usage time of the second one of first and second ultrasonic vibrators reaching the reference time during the second time period, the usage time of the first one of the first and the second ultrasonic vibrator is reset, and the second one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators is deactivated. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0042, “FIG. 4 illustrates a timing diagram, in accordance with a representative embodiment. The figure shows, by way of example, a prior art method of controlling nebulizers and the resulting current demand (i.e., labeled as “(a) Traditional all on or all off” in the figure) versus a method according to an implementation as described herein (i.e., labeled as “(b) Individual on/off” in the figure). FIG. 4 thus shows an example of the timing and current demand used in an existing ultrasonic humidifier with multiple nebulizers (i.e., the first graph 402), and the timing and current demand used in an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer (i.e., the second graph 404).”; ¶ 0054, “Furthermore, rotation of which nebulizers are on at 100% and which nebulizers are operated at a reduced duty cycle to achieve a desired percentage output may allow an even wear on transducers that do have a finite life time. This can be based on hours of operation or rotating when demand reaches 0% or 100%. FIG. 7 illustrates current demand on power for ultrasonic nebulizers, in accordance with a representative embodiment. Specifically, FIG. 7 shows an example of current demand on power up to 100%, then modulating one nebulizer. As shown in the figure, steps up to maximum amps may be spaced to be at least two times the turn-on time of the nebulizer.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence.
Regarding Claim 10:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim1 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein both of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are driven during an initial driving time, and then after the initial driving time, one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators is turned off. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0042, “FIG. 4 illustrates a timing diagram, in accordance with a representative embodiment. The figure shows, by way of example, a prior art method of controlling nebulizers and the resulting current demand (i.e., labeled as “(a) Traditional all on or all off” in the figure) versus a method according to an implementation as described herein (i.e., labeled as “(b) Individual on/off” in the figure). FIG. 4 thus shows an example of the timing and current demand used in an existing ultrasonic humidifier with multiple nebulizers (i.e., the first graph 402), and the timing and current demand used in an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer (i.e., the second graph 404).”; ¶ 0044, “In an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer, all nebulizers may have power applied at all times, resulting in a one-time power up inrush of current. The current demand 405 may rise as the oscillator starts without the inrush of current. By controlling the start of each nebulizer and the period and duty cycle of the PWM, the size of the current drawn from the power supply may be reduced from the original current step produced by turning all transducers on and off at the same time. This reduced current step may reduce component stress caused by rapid changes in current inside the power supply, such as capacitors and rectifiers, due to powering up and down the bank of nebulizers. The power supply, typically a switching regulator type of power supply, thus may not have to respond to quick changes due to impulse current, but instead only relatively slow changes in energy demand as the on and off times of the nebulizers are typically in the order of about 0.1 seconds to about 10 seconds. Thus, the life of the power supply may be prolonged even when all of the nebulizers are commanded on at the same time.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence.
Regarding Claim 13:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim1 and KANEL further discloses:
a heating chamber to receive water and communicating with the humidifying chamber; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0008, “In an embodiment, the present invention provides a combination warm and cool mist humidifier having a housing with a substantially open top portion. The housing has an inner wall and an outer wall and an air gap between the inner and outer walls. Each of the inner and outer walls includes at least one vent. A main water reservoir within the housing is fillable by providing water to the substantially open top portion. A level engine deck is disposed above a bottom of the main water reservoir and an impeller is configured to pump water from the main water reservoir to an overflow chamber of the engine deck. The engine deck includes a heating reservoir having at least one heating element disposed therein and a nebulizing chamber having at least one ultrasonic transducer disposed therein. An engine chamber is disposed adjacent the water reservoir and below the engine deck and includes at least one motor for driving the impeller and a fan disposed adjacent the at least one vent of the outer wall of the housing so as to draw air into the air gap and through the at least one vent of the inner wall of the housing.”; ¶ 0024, “Referring to FIG. 1, a humidifier 10 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention has a substantially rectangular housing 100 with a substantially open top portion 128. The main water reservoir 12 of the humidifier 10 is disposed within the housing 100 below the open top portion such that the water reservoir 12 is open to the atmosphere at the top. Accordingly, the humidifier 10 may be top-filled to provide water to the main water reservoir 12. A groove 14 in the bottom 13 of the water reservoir 12 provides water to an impeller 16 which draws the water up through a tube 18 to an overflow chamber 22 of a substantially level engine deck 20 (FIGS. 3 and 4). The overflow chamber 22 maintains the level of water at the engine deck 20 by allowing excess water to flow back into the water reservoir 12 via an overflow opening 24. Additionally, the overflow chamber 22 may also demineralize the water for a cleaner operation, for example, by providing a filter or a chemical for demineralization in the overflow chamber 22. From the overflow chamber 22, the water flows through a first path 26 to a heating reservoir 30 where a heating element 32 boils the water contained therein. From the heating reservoir 30, the water then flows to a nebulizing chamber 40 via a second path 36. The nebulizing chamber 40 includes an ultrasonic transducer 42 for providing a cool mist. An additional path extending from the nebulizing chamber 40 to the main water reservoir 12 may also be provided as a return path. In an alternative embodiment, the water may flow from the overflow chamber 22 to each of the heating reservoir 30 and nebulizing chamber 40 directly. In such an embodiment, the flow can be controlled such that water flowing back into the water reservoir 12 is not heated.”)
a heater to heat the water in the heating chamber; and (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0024)
a body having a first opening communicating with the heating chamber, and a second opening communicating with the humidifying chamber. (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0024)
Regarding claim 15:
KANEL discloses:
a case; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0008, “In an embodiment, the present invention provides a combination warm and cool mist humidifier having a housing with a substantially open top portion. The housing has an inner wall and an outer wall and an air gap between the inner and outer walls. Each of the inner and outer walls includes at least one vent. A main water reservoir within the housing is fillable by providing water to the substantially open top portion. A level engine deck is disposed above a bottom of the main water reservoir and an impeller is configured to pump water from the main water reservoir to an overflow chamber of the engine deck. The engine deck includes a heating reservoir having at least one heating element disposed therein and a nebulizing chamber having at least one ultrasonic transducer disposed therein. An engine chamber is disposed adjacent the water reservoir and below the engine deck and includes at least one motor for driving the impeller and a fan disposed adjacent the at least one vent of the outer wall of the housing so as to draw air into the air gap and through the at least one vent of the inner wall of the housing.”)
a humidifying chamber configured to hold water; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0041, “FIG. 6 shows a schematic illustration of another embodiment of a humidifier 200 in accordance. Humidifier 200 illustrates additional features of a humidifier that may be implemented in accordance with the invention. These features can be combined with any of the features described above with respect to humidifier 10. Humidifier 200 includes a water feature 202, in the form of a shallow waterfall. The water feature 202 is an attractive addition of the humidifier 200 and functionally delivers water pumped from the main water reservoir 212 to the engine deck 220. The water feature 202 may include one or more steps 204 that the water cascades over as it flows down the water feature. The water is pumped up to the water feature 202 from the main water reservoir 212 with an impeller 216. The impeller 216 is driven by a motor and may be connected thereto magnetically as discussed above with respect to humidifier 10. Although the impeller 216 and fan 226 are shown at opposite sides of humidifier 200, these elements may be conFigured more closely so that they can be driven by a single motor, as discussed above. In operation, the water is driven up to the water feature 202 through a tube 218, as shown by the solid arrows in FIG. 6. The water then flows down the water feature 202 until it falls into an overflow chamber 222 on the engine deck 220. The engine deck 220 is equipped with a nebulizing chamber 240, which receives water from the overflow chamber 222. An ultrasonic transducer 242 disperses water from the nebulizing chamber 240 into the air above engine deck 220 forming a cool mist. Excess water that is not immediately converted into a mist falls from the overflow chamber 222 back into the main water reservoir 212.”; ¶ 0042, “Use of the impeller 216 to cycle water over the water feature 202 and onto the engine deck 220 where it contacts the ultrasonic transducer 242 allows the main water reservoir 212 to be open to atmospheric pressure. In contrast, the water in most humidifier tanks is held in the tank by a vacuum. This open type of system also allows the amount of water held in the nebulizing chamber 240 to be controlled very precisely by using the overflow chamber 222 to distribute excess water back to the main water reservoir 212 so that the ultrasonic transducer 242 always has an appropriate amount of water.”)
disposed under the humidifying chamber (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027, “The fan 126 is arranged adjacent the outer wall 102 of the housing 100 in a region containing intake vents 108. The intake vents 108 may be provided with a filter to purify the air as it enters the housing 100. The motor 120 drives the fan 126 in order to pressurize the engine chamber 118 and force air into the air gap 106. The air travels between the outer and inner walls 102, 104 of the housing 100 (i.e., through air gap 106) and exits into the interior of the humidifier 10 through one or more output vents 110 disposed in the inner wall 104. Preferably, output vents 110 are provided in the inner wall 104 on each side of the housing 100 at the open top portion 128, or between the engine deck 20 and the open top portion 128, in order to mix and evenly distribute the warm mist rising from the heating reservoir 30 and cool mist rising from the nebulizing chamber 40. The airflow provided by the output vents 110 also serves to pressurize the interior of the humidifier 10 so that the combined mist rises substantially uniformly from the open top portion 128. In this manner, a substantially uniform output of mist at a substantially uniform temperature is provided throughout the open top portion 128 of the humidifier 10. Preferably, the temperature of the air and combined mist exiting through the open top portion 128 is in the range of 110.degree. F. to 130.degree. F. (43.3.degree. C. to 54.4.degree. C.).”)
an inlet through which air is introduced into the humidifying chamber, and (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027, “The fan 126 is arranged adjacent the outer wall 102 of the housing 100 in a region containing intake vents 108. The intake vents 108 may be provided with a filter to purify the air as it enters the housing 100. The motor 120 drives the fan 126 in order to pressurize the engine chamber 118 and force air into the air gap 106. The air travels between the outer and inner walls 102, 104 of the housing 100 (i.e., through air gap 106) and exits into the interior of the humidifier 10 through one or more output vents 110 disposed in the inner wall 104. Preferably, output vents 110 are provided in the inner wall 104 on each side of the housing 100 at the open top portion 128, or between the engine deck 20 and the open top portion 128, in order to mix and evenly distribute the warm mist rising from the heating reservoir 30 and cool mist rising from the nebulizing chamber 40. The airflow provided by the output vents 110 also serves to pressurize the interior of the humidifier 10 so that the combined mist rises substantially uniformly from the open top portion 128. In this manner, a substantially uniform output of mist at a substantially uniform temperature is provided throughout the open top portion 128 of the humidifier 10. Preferably, the temperature of the air and combined mist exiting through the open top portion 128 is in the range of 110.degree. F. to 130.degree. F. (43.3.degree. C. to 54.4.degree. C.).”; ¶ 0043, “The cool mist formed by the ultrasonic transducer 242 is mixed with air in a mixing chamber 230 above the engine deck 220. The air is delivered to the mixing chamber 230 from a duct 232 as the result of a fan 226 disposed in an engine chamber 208 below the engine deck 220. The fan 226 pressurizes the air in the mixing chamber 230, causing it to flow up and out of the humidifier 200 through a cover and stones 214.”)
an outlet through which mist generated in the humidifying chamber is discharged, (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0046, “The engine deck 320 includes a nebulizing chamber 340 in fluid communication with an ultrasonic transducer 342. The transducer 342 disperses water from the nebulizing chamber 340 into a cool mist in a mixing chamber 330. The mist is then mixed with pressurized air that is driven into the mixing chamber 330 by a fan 326. In the illustrated embodiment, the fan is housed in an engine chamber 308 disposed below the engine deck 320. The fan 326 is driven by a motor which may be the same motor 314 as that which drives the impeller 316. Alternatively, a separate motor may be used to drive the fan 326. The fan 326 pressurizes air within the engine chamber 308 which drives the air through a duct 332 into the mixing chamber 330 where it mixes with the mist. As an alternative, air may flow from the engine chamber 308 to the mixing chamber 330 through a port connecting the two chambers. The mist is propelled into the atmosphere by the pressurized air within the mixing chamber 330 through a nozzle 306. In an embodiment, the nozzle may be rotatable, such that the mist can be directed in a direction as desired by the user.”)
and wherein the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are spaced below the outlet. (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027; ¶ 0043)
KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
a plurality of ultrasonic vibrators, (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0092, The nebulizer bank 1310 may include a plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. Although only three ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 are shown in the figure, it will be understood that many more ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be included in embodiments, e.g., the nebulizer bank 1310 may include at least 64 ultrasonic nebulizers 1312, or another number of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be in fluid communication with the water supply 1320, e.g., individually, in series, or in combined groups. In general, each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be structurally configured for breaking up water in liquid form from the water supply 1320 into aerosol droplets for humidifying a volume. “”; ¶ 0105, “Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may include a piezo-electric transducer 1314 (or other transducer or the like) and an electric circuit 1316 for electrically oscillating the piezo-electric transducer 1314 with a natural frequency thereof. The system 1300 may further include a microprocessor 1318 embedded into the electric circuit 1316 for controlling the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may be in communication with the controller 1330 and other nebulizer electric circuits 1316. The microprocessor 1318 may retain a network address in its flash memory to uniquely identify itself in a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. For example, the microprocessor 1318 may recognize the ultrasonic nebulizer 1312 to which its associated, as well as neighboring ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may receive commands to locally control a PWM scheme turning on the piezo-electric transducer 1314 for a given amount of time within a programmable time window, thereby controlling aerosol droplets generated by the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may control a starting point of a time window with respect to other ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 on a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may monitor a temperature of one or more drive transistors 1336 with heat sinks to the water supply 1320, where the microprocessor 1318 is configured to prevent damage or failure to the one or more drive transistors 1336 and the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may communicate a current temperature and a status of one or more of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 to the controller 1330 through the data network 1302.”)
wherein the plurality of ultrasonic vibrators include first and second ultrasonic vibrators that are alternatively driven according to a predetermined cycle. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0042, “FIG. 4 illustrates a timing diagram, in accordance with a representative embodiment. The figure shows, by way of example, a prior art method of controlling nebulizers and the resulting current demand (i.e., labeled as “(a) Traditional all on or all off” in the figure) versus a method according to an implementation as described herein (i.e., labeled as “(b) Individual on/off” in the figure). FIG. 4 thus shows an example of the timing and current demand used in an existing ultrasonic humidifier with multiple nebulizers (i.e., the first graph 402), and the timing and current demand used in an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer (i.e., the second graph 404).”; ¶ 0054, “Furthermore, rotation of which nebulizers are on at 100% and which nebulizers are operated at a reduced duty cycle to achieve a desired percentage output may allow an even wear on transducers that do have a finite life time. This can be based on hours of operation or rotating when demand reaches 0% or 100%. FIG. 7 illustrates current demand on power for ultrasonic nebulizers, in accordance with a representative embodiment. Specifically, FIG. 7 shows an example of current demand on power up to 100%, then modulating one nebulizer. As shown in the figure, steps up to maximum amps may be spaced to be at least two times the turn-on time of the nebulizer.”)
and wherein the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are spaced below the outlet. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0092; ¶ 0105)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber with an output vent on top within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
EXAMINERS NOTE: Even though BENJAMIN does not explicitly order the powering of humidifiers. BENJAMIN instead discusses individually powering the humidifier chambers on/off in any computer-controlled order which would include a sequence or cycle.
Regarding claim 16:
With regards to claim 16, this claim is substantially similar to claim 6 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding claim 17:
With regards to claim 17, this claim is substantially similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding claim 18:
With regards to claim 18, this claim is substantially similar to claim 8 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEL (US 20140151907 A1) in view of BENJAMIN (US 20180093291 A1) in further view of KY (US 20200129709 A1).
Regarding claim 4:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and does not disclose, but KY teaches:
wherein the first ultrasonic vibrator and the second ultrasonic vibrator to have respective different variable resistance values. (see at least KY, ¶ 0049, “FIG. 6 is a schematic of a wearable ultrasonic nebulizer synchronizer logic in an embodiment of the invention. FIG. 6 shows nebulizer logic with a grounded collector transistor Q1 607 type self-oscillation circuit. R1-R6 are resistors, C1-C6 are capacitors, L1-L3 are inductors and TD 601 is a piezo-electric vibrator for generating ultrasonic vibration.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the microcontroller-based PWM generation for the control of the individual nebulizers of BENJAMIN within KANEL in view of BENJAMIN to use a resistor with an oscillation circuit to determine the vibration duty cycle of KY to effectively set the piezo vibrator without the need of programmed timing systems like microcontrollers.
Claims 11,12,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEL (US 20140151907 A1) in view of BENJAMIN (US 20180093291 A1) in further view of EMBREE (US 5563811 A).
Regarding claim 11:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and KANEL further discloses:
wherein the humidifier further comprises: (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0008, “In an embodiment, the present invention provides a combination warm and cool mist humidifier having a housing with a substantially open top portion. The housing has an inner wall and an outer wall and an air gap between the inner and outer walls. Each of the inner and outer walls includes at least one vent. A main water reservoir within the housing is fillable by providing water to the substantially open top portion. A level engine deck is disposed above a bottom of the main water reservoir and an impeller is configured to pump water from the main water reservoir to an overflow chamber of the engine deck. The engine deck includes a heating reservoir having at least one heating element disposed therein and a nebulizing chamber having at least one ultrasonic transducer disposed therein. An engine chamber is disposed adjacent the water reservoir and below the engine deck and includes at least one motor for driving the impeller and a fan disposed adjacent the at least one vent of the outer wall of the housing so as to draw air into the air gap and through the at least one vent of the inner wall of the housing.”)
KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
wherein the different driving signals include a first driving signal to drive the first ultrasonic vibrator, and a second driving signal to drive the second ultrasonic vibrator, and (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0096, “In implementations, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a PWM scheme. Also, or instead, the controller 1330 may be configured to activate each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 according to a predetermined period and duty cycle. The predetermined period and duty cycle may be selected to maintain a predetermined humidity or dew point in the volume to be humidified/conditioned.”)
a first driving circuit configured to supply the first driving signal to the first ultrasonic vibrator; (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0105, “Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may include a piezo-electric transducer 1314 (or other transducer or the like) and an electric circuit 1316 for electrically oscillating the piezo-electric transducer 1314 with a natural frequency thereof. The system 1300 may further include a microprocessor 1318 embedded into the electric circuit 1316 for controlling the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may be in communication with the controller 1330 and other nebulizer electric circuits 1316. The microprocessor 1318 may retain a network address in its flash memory to uniquely identify itself in a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. For example, the microprocessor 1318 may recognize the ultrasonic nebulizer 1312 to which its associated, as well as neighboring ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may receive commands to locally control a PWM scheme turning on the piezo-electric transducer 1314 for a given amount of time within a programmable time window, thereby controlling aerosol droplets generated by the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may control a starting point of a time window with respect to other ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 on a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may monitor a temperature of one or more drive transistors 1336 with heat sinks to the water supply 1320, where the microprocessor 1318 is configured to prevent damage or failure to the one or more drive transistors 1336 and the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may communicate a current temperature and a status of one or more of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 to the controller 1330 through the data network 1302.”)
a second driving circuit configured to supply the second driving signal to the second ultrasonic vibrator; and (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0105)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers as within BENJAMIN to yield an efficient humidifier which can precisely distribute the work of atomizing of water over a broad amount of vibrators.
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN does not disclose, but EMBREE teaches:
a processor configured to:
receive feedback about the first driving signal through a first feedback line having an end connected between the first driving circuit and the first ultrasonic vibrator, (see at least EMBREE, Col 7 lines 41-51, “Fault detection circuit 23 functions to detect a fault in oscillator transistor Q.sub.1 or transducer 25. In the event of a fault, the circuit sends an appropriate signal to microprocessor 11 which, in turns, communicates the fault information to system controller 14. Either of these failures causes excessive current in fuse F.sub.1 on the ultrasonic driver board. This fault detection feature enables a user to know immediately that the humidifier is not capable of maximum rated output, as opposed to learning this during a regularly scheduled maintenance period, which could be a considerable amount of time after the failure occurs.”)
receive feedback about the second driving signal through a second feedback line having an end connected between the second driving circuit and the second ultrasonic vibrator, and (see at least EMBREE, Col 7 lines 41-51)
determine, based on the feedbacks of the first and second driving signals, when a failure occurs in one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators. (see at least EMBREE, Col 7 lines 41-51; Col 7 line 52 – Col 8 line 5, “The fault detection circuit monitors the voltage across the fuse. Diode D.sub.1 allows capacitor C.sub.7 to charge and remain charged as long as the power is on. The voltage on C.sub.7 is divided down by resistors R.sub.10 and R.sub.11 and applied to the emitter of transistor Q.sub.2. Diode D.sub.2 allows capacitor C.sub.8 to charge and remain charged as long as the fuse has not blown. The voltage on C.sub.8 is applied to the base of Q.sub.2 and is more negative than the emitter voltage. Therefore, Q.sub.2 remains cut off, due to the base-emitter junction being reverse biased, as long as the fuse has not blown. When the fuse opens (due, for example, to transistor Q.sub.1 or transducer 25 shorting), resistor R.sub.12 pulls the base of Q.sub.1 to ground, forward biasing the base-emitter junction, and transistor Q.sub.2 turns on. When Q.sub.2 turns on, current flows through the diode of the optoisolator OP.sub.2. This operates the logic level fault detection signal FAULT1 transmitted to microprocessor 11. As shown in FIG. 2, microprocessor 11 is connected to several fault detection lines, (shown as FAULT1, FAULT2, FAULT3), and each line is, in turn, connected to a bank of transducer fault detection circuits (in a preferred embodiment, as many as sixteen on each line).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber with multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers within KANEL in view of BENJAMIN with the oscillator fault detection circuit of EMBREE to yield a safer humidifier that detects electrical failures from transducers. It should be noted BENJAMIN does track temperature failures which would be a result from a failing transducer (BENJAMIN, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0089) and would shut down the transducer by setting the duty cycle to 0 if certain temperature thresholds are exceeded (¶ 0074).
Regarding claim 12:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN in further view of EMBREE discloses the limitations within claim 11 and KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
maintain, in an off state, the one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators in which the failure occurred, and (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0074, “FIG. 11 illustrates a flow chart of a method 1100 for determining a PWM duty cycle for ultrasonic nebulizers, in accordance with a representative embodiment. As shown in block 1102, the method 1100 may include determining whether the over temperature is set. If the over temperature is set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1104, where the duty cycle is set to zero percent. If the over temperature is not set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1106, where it is determined whether the under-temperature flag is set. If the under temperature is set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1104, where the duty cycle is set to zero percent. If the under temperature is not set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1108, where it is determined whether the new duty cycle is greater than or equal to ten percent (or another predetermined percentage). If the new duty cycle is greater than or equal to ten percent (or another predetermined percentage), the method 1100 may proceed to block 1110, where the duty cycle is set to a new duty cycle. If the new duty cycle is not greater than or equal to ten percent (or another predetermined percentage), the method 1100 may proceed to block 1104, where the duty cycle is set to zero percent.”)
operate only a remaining one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators in which the failure did not occur. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0044, “In an ultrasonic humidifier with individual control of each nebulizer, all nebulizers may have power applied at all times, resulting in a one-time power up inrush of current. The current demand 405 may rise as the oscillator starts without the inrush of current. By controlling the start of each nebulizer and the period and duty cycle of the PWM, the size of the current drawn from the power supply may be reduced from the original current step produced by turning all transducers on and off at the same time. This reduced current step may reduce component stress caused by rapid changes in current inside the power supply, such as capacitors and rectifiers, due to powering up and down the bank of nebulizers. The power supply, typically a switching regulator type of power supply, thus may not have to respond to quick changes due to impulse current, but instead only relatively slow changes in energy demand as the on and off times of the nebulizers are typically in the order of about 0.1 seconds to about 10 seconds. Thus, the life of the power supply may be prolonged even when all of the nebulizers are commanded on at the same time.”; ¶ 0074)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber within KANEL to contain multiple individually controllable ultrasonic nebulizers with temperature determination for overriding the duty cycle to 0 within BENJAMIN to yield a safer humidifier which can independently control each nebulizer and shut off transducers with abnormal behavior.
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN does not disclose, but EMBREE teaches:
in response to determining that the failure occurred in the one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators, the processor is configured to: (see at least EMBREE, Col 7 lines 41-51, “Fault detection circuit 23 functions to detect a fault in oscillator transistor Q.sub.1 or transducer 25. In the event of a fault, the circuit sends an appropriate signal to microprocessor 11 which, in turns, communicates the fault information to system controller 14. Either of these failures causes excessive current in fuse F.sub.1 on the ultrasonic driver board. This fault detection feature enables a user to know immediately that the humidifier is not capable of maximum rated output, as opposed to learning this during a regularly scheduled maintenance period, which could be a considerable amount of time after the failure occurs.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber with multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers within KANEL in view of BENJAMIN with the oscillator fault detection circuit of EMBREE to yield a safer humidifier that detects electrical failures from transducers. It should be noted BENJAMIN does track temperature failures which would be a result from a failing transducer (BENJAMIN, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0089) and would shut down the transducer by setting the duty cycle to 0 if certain temperature thresholds are exceeded (¶ 0074).
Regarding claim 19:
With regards to claim 19, this claim is substantially similar to claim 11 with 12 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Regarding claim 20:
KANEL discloses:
a case; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0008, “In an embodiment, the present invention provides a combination warm and cool mist humidifier having a housing with a substantially open top portion. The housing has an inner wall and an outer wall and an air gap between the inner and outer walls. Each of the inner and outer walls includes at least one vent. A main water reservoir within the housing is fillable by providing water to the substantially open top portion. A level engine deck is disposed above a bottom of the main water reservoir and an impeller is configured to pump water from the main water reservoir to an overflow chamber of the engine deck. The engine deck includes a heating reservoir having at least one heating element disposed therein and a nebulizing chamber having at least one ultrasonic transducer disposed therein. An engine chamber is disposed adjacent the water reservoir and below the engine deck and includes at least one motor for driving the impeller and a fan disposed adjacent the at least one vent of the outer wall of the housing so as to draw air into the air gap and through the at least one vent of the inner wall of the housing.”)
a humidifying chamber configured to hold water; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0041, “FIG. 6 shows a schematic illustration of another embodiment of a humidifier 200 in accordance. Humidifier 200 illustrates additional features of a humidifier that may be implemented in accordance with the invention. These features can be combined with any of the features described above with respect to humidifier 10. Humidifier 200 includes a water feature 202, in the form of a shallow waterfall. The water feature 202 is an attractive addition of the humidifier 200 and functionally delivers water pumped from the main water reservoir 212 to the engine deck 220. The water feature 202 may include one or more steps 204 that the water cascades over as it flows down the water feature. The water is pumped up to the water feature 202 from the main water reservoir 212 with an impeller 216. The impeller 216 is driven by a motor and may be connected thereto magnetically as discussed above with respect to humidifier 10. Although the impeller 216 and fan 226 are shown at opposite sides of humidifier 200, these elements may be conFigured more closely so that they can be driven by a single motor, as discussed above. In operation, the water is driven up to the water feature 202 through a tube 218, as shown by the solid arrows in FIG. 6. The water then flows down the water feature 202 until it falls into an overflow chamber 222 on the engine deck 220. The engine deck 220 is equipped with a nebulizing chamber 240, which receives water from the overflow chamber 222. An ultrasonic transducer 242 disperses water from the nebulizing chamber 240 into the air above engine deck 220 forming a cool mist. Excess water that is not immediately converted into a mist falls from the overflow chamber 222 back into the main water reservoir 212.”; ¶ 0042, “Use of the impeller 216 to cycle water over the water feature 202 and onto the engine deck 220 where it contacts the ultrasonic transducer 242 allows the main water reservoir 212 to be open to atmospheric pressure. In contrast, the water in most humidifier tanks is held in the tank by a vacuum. This open type of system also allows the amount of water held in the nebulizing chamber 240 to be controlled very precisely by using the overflow chamber 222 to distribute excess water back to the main water reservoir 212 so that the ultrasonic transducer 242 always has an appropriate amount of water.”)
an inlet through which air is introduced into the humidifying chamber; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027, “The fan 126 is arranged adjacent the outer wall 102 of the housing 100 in a region containing intake vents 108. The intake vents 108 may be provided with a filter to purify the air as it enters the housing 100. The motor 120 drives the fan 126 in order to pressurize the engine chamber 118 and force air into the air gap 106. The air travels between the outer and inner walls 102, 104 of the housing 100 (i.e., through air gap 106) and exits into the interior of the humidifier 10 through one or more output vents 110 disposed in the inner wall 104. Preferably, output vents 110 are provided in the inner wall 104 on each side of the housing 100 at the open top portion 128, or between the engine deck 20 and the open top portion 128, in order to mix and evenly distribute the warm mist rising from the heating reservoir 30 and cool mist rising from the nebulizing chamber 40. The airflow provided by the output vents 110 also serves to pressurize the interior of the humidifier 10 so that the combined mist rises substantially uniformly from the open top portion 128. In this manner, a substantially uniform output of mist at a substantially uniform temperature is provided throughout the open top portion 128 of the humidifier 10. Preferably, the temperature of the air and combined mist exiting through the open top portion 128 is in the range of 110.degree. F. to 130.degree. F. (43.3.degree. C. to 54.4.degree. C.).”; ¶ 0043, “The cool mist formed by the ultrasonic transducer 242 is mixed with air in a mixing chamber 230 above the engine deck 220. The air is delivered to the mixing chamber 230 from a duct 232 as the result of a fan 226 disposed in an engine chamber 208 below the engine deck 220. The fan 226 pressurizes the air in the mixing chamber 230, causing it to flow up and out of the humidifier 200 through a cover and stones 214.”)
an outlet through which mist generated in the humidifying chamber is discharged; and (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0046, “The engine deck 320 includes a nebulizing chamber 340 in fluid communication with an ultrasonic transducer 342. The transducer 342 disperses water from the nebulizing chamber 340 into a cool mist in a mixing chamber 330. The mist is then mixed with pressurized air that is driven into the mixing chamber 330 by a fan 326. In the illustrated embodiment, the fan is housed in an engine chamber 308 disposed below the engine deck 320. The fan 326 is driven by a motor which may be the same motor 314 as that which drives the impeller 316. Alternatively, a separate motor may be used to drive the fan 326. The fan 326 pressurizes air within the engine chamber 308 which drives the air through a duct 332 into the mixing chamber 330 where it mixes with the mist. As an alternative, air may flow from the engine chamber 308 to the mixing chamber 330 through a port connecting the two chambers. The mist is propelled into the atmosphere by the pressurized air within the mixing chamber 330 through a nozzle 306. In an embodiment, the nozzle may be rotatable, such that the mist can be directed in a direction as desired by the user.”)
and wherein the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are spaced below the outlet. (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027; ¶ 0043)
KANEL does not disclose, but BENJAMIN teaches:
first and second ultrasonic vibrators provided in the case to atomize water; (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0092, The nebulizer bank 1310 may include a plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. Although only three ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 are shown in the figure, it will be understood that many more ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be included in embodiments, e.g., the nebulizer bank 1310 may include at least 64 ultrasonic nebulizers 1312, or another number of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be in fluid communication with the water supply 1320, e.g., individually, in series, or in combined groups. In general, each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may be structurally configured for breaking up water in liquid form from the water supply 1320 into aerosol droplets for humidifying a volume. “”; ¶ 0105, “Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may include a piezo-electric transducer 1314 (or other transducer or the like) and an electric circuit 1316 for electrically oscillating the piezo-electric transducer 1314 with a natural frequency thereof. The system 1300 may further include a microprocessor 1318 embedded into the electric circuit 1316 for controlling the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may be in communication with the controller 1330 and other nebulizer electric circuits 1316. The microprocessor 1318 may retain a network address in its flash memory to uniquely identify itself in a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. For example, the microprocessor 1318 may recognize the ultrasonic nebulizer 1312 to which its associated, as well as neighboring ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may receive commands to locally control a PWM scheme turning on the piezo-electric transducer 1314 for a given amount of time within a programmable time window, thereby controlling aerosol droplets generated by the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may control a starting point of a time window with respect to other ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 on a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may monitor a temperature of one or more drive transistors 1336 with heat sinks to the water supply 1320, where the microprocessor 1318 is configured to prevent damage or failure to the one or more drive transistors 1336 and the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may communicate a current temperature and a status of one or more of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 to the controller 1330 through the data network 1302.”)
a first driving circuit configured to supply a first driving signal to drive the first ultrasonic vibrator; (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0105, “Each of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 may include a piezo-electric transducer 1314 (or other transducer or the like) and an electric circuit 1316 for electrically oscillating the piezo-electric transducer 1314 with a natural frequency thereof. The system 1300 may further include a microprocessor 1318 embedded into the electric circuit 1316 for controlling the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may be in communication with the controller 1330 and other nebulizer electric circuits 1316. The microprocessor 1318 may retain a network address in its flash memory to uniquely identify itself in a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. For example, the microprocessor 1318 may recognize the ultrasonic nebulizer 1312 to which its associated, as well as neighboring ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may receive commands to locally control a PWM scheme turning on the piezo-electric transducer 1314 for a given amount of time within a programmable time window, thereby controlling aerosol droplets generated by the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may control a starting point of a time window with respect to other ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 on a network, e.g., the data network 1302 or a network of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312. The microprocessor 1318 may monitor a temperature of one or more drive transistors 1336 with heat sinks to the water supply 1320, where the microprocessor 1318 is configured to prevent damage or failure to the one or more drive transistors 1336 and the piezo-electric transducer 1314. The microprocessor 1318 may communicate a current temperature and a status of one or more of the plurality of ultrasonic nebulizers 1312 to the controller 1330 through the data network 1302.”)
a second driving circuit configured to supply a second driving signal to drive the second ultrasonic vibrator; (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0105)
wherein the processor is configured to turn off one of the first and second ultrasonic vibrators based on signal inputs received through the first and second feedback lines. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0074, “FIG. 11 illustrates a flow chart of a method 1100 for determining a PWM duty cycle for ultrasonic nebulizers, in accordance with a representative embodiment. As shown in block 1102, the method 1100 may include determining whether the over temperature is set. If the over temperature is set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1104, where the duty cycle is set to zero percent. If the over temperature is not set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1106, where it is determined whether the under-temperature flag is set. If the under temperature is set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1104, where the duty cycle is set to zero percent. If the under temperature is not set, the method 1100 may proceed to block 1108, where it is determined whether the new duty cycle is greater than or equal to ten percent (or another predetermined percentage). If the new duty cycle is greater than or equal to ten percent (or another predetermined percentage), the method 1100 may proceed to block 1110, where the duty cycle is set to a new duty cycle. If the new duty cycle is not greater than or equal to ten percent (or another predetermined percentage), the method 1100 may proceed to block 1104, where the duty cycle is set to zero percent.”)
and wherein the first and second ultrasonic vibrators are spaced below the outlet. (see at least BENJAMIN, ¶ 0092; ¶ 0105)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber with an output vent on top within KANEL to contain multiple individually controllable ultrasonic nebulizers with temperature determination for overriding the duty cycle to 0 within BENJAMIN to yield a safer humidifier which can independently control each nebulizer and shut off transducers with abnormal behavior.
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN does not disclose, but EMBREE teaches:
a processor connected between the first driving circuit and the first ultrasonic vibrator through a first feedback line and connected between the second driving circuit and the second ultrasonic vibrator through a second feedback line, (see at least EMBREE, Col 7 lines 41-51, “Fault detection circuit 23 functions to detect a fault in oscillator transistor Q.sub.1 or transducer 25. In the event of a fault, the circuit sends an appropriate signal to microprocessor 11 which, in turns, communicates the fault information to system controller 14. Either of these failures causes excessive current in fuse F.sub.1 on the ultrasonic driver board. This fault detection feature enables a user to know immediately that the humidifier is not capable of maximum rated output, as opposed to learning this during a regularly scheduled maintenance period, which could be a considerable amount of time after the failure occurs.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the humidifying chamber with a top exhaust vent and multiple PWM-driven, individually controllable, ultrasonic nebulizers within KANEL in view of BENJAMIN with the oscillator fault detection circuit of EMBREE to yield a safer humidifier that detects electrical failures from transducers. It should be noted BENJAMIN does track temperature failures which would be a result from a failing transducer (BENJAMIN, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0089) and would shut down the transducer by setting the duty cycle to 0 if certain temperature thresholds are exceeded (¶ 0074).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEL (US 20140151907 A1) in view of BENJAMIN (US 20180093291 A1) in further view of TAKAMOTO (JP6563287B2).
Regarding claim 14:
KANEL in view of BENJAMIN discloses the limitations within claim 1 and further discloses:
a suction port through which air is introduced into the case; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027, “The fan 126 is arranged adjacent the outer wall 102 of the housing 100 in a region containing intake vents 108. The intake vents 108 may be provided with a filter to purify the air as it enters the housing 100. The motor 120 drives the fan 126 in order to pressurize the engine chamber 118 and force air into the air gap 106. The air travels between the outer and inner walls 102, 104 of the housing 100 (i.e., through air gap 106) and exits into the interior of the humidifier 10 through one or more output vents 110 disposed in the inner wall 104. Preferably, output vents 110 are provided in the inner wall 104 on each side of the housing 100 at the open top portion 128, or between the engine deck 20 and the open top portion 128, in order to mix and evenly distribute the warm mist rising from the heating reservoir 30 and cool mist rising from the nebulizing chamber 40. The airflow provided by the output vents 110 also serves to pressurize the interior of the humidifier 10 so that the combined mist rises substantially uniformly from the open top portion 128. In this manner, a substantially uniform output of mist at a substantially uniform temperature is provided throughout the open top portion 128 of the humidifier 10. Preferably, the temperature of the air and combined mist exiting through the open top portion 128 is in the range of 110.degree. F. to 130.degree. F. (43.3.degree. C. to 54.4.degree. C.).”)
a fan disposed in the case; (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0027)
a humidification passage through which a second portion of air blown by the fan flows after passing through the humidifying assembly, the humidification passage being separated from the air-blowing passage; and (see at least KANEL, ¶ 0046, “The engine deck 320 includes a nebulizing chamber 340 in fluid communication with an ultrasonic transducer 342. The transducer 342 disperses water from the nebulizing chamber 340 into a cool mist in a mixing chamber 330. The mist is then mixed with pressurized air that is driven into the mixing chamber 330 by a fan 326. In the illustrated embodiment, the fan is housed in an engine chamber 308 disposed below the engine deck 320. The fan 326 is driven by a motor which may be the same motor 314 as that which drives the impeller 316. Alternatively, a separate motor may be used to drive the fan 326. The fan 326 pressurizes air within the engine chamber 308 which drives the air through a duct 332 into the mixing chamber 330 where it mixes with the mist. As an alternative, air may flow from the engine chamber 308 to the mixing chamber 330 through a port connecting the two chambers. The mist is propelled into the atmosphere by the pressurized air within the mixing chamber 330 through a nozzle 306. In an embodiment, the nozzle may be rotatable, such that the mist can be directed in a direction as desired by the user.”)
KANEL does not disclose, but TAKAMOTO teaches:
an air-blowing passage through which a first portion of air blown by the fan flows, the air-blowing passage bypassing the humidifying assembly; (see at least TAKAMOTO, ¶ 0013, "In the above configuration, the dehumidifying unit may be provided in the first air passage, and the humidifying unit may be provided in the second air passage, and the air conditioner may be provided with a third air passage that runs from the second air intake port, bypassing the humidifying unit, to the second air intake port, and a first damper that adjusts the flow rate of air flowing through the second air passage or the third air passage."; ¶ 0083, "The opening degrees of the first damper 61 and the second damper 62 may be adjustable. By doing so, air can be dispersed and flowed into the second air passage R2 and the third air passage R3 during humidifying operation. This makes it possible to adjust the amount of air to be humidified, in other words, the amount of moisture added to the air, thereby enabling humidity adjustment.")
a discharge port through which air from the air-blowing passage and the humidification passage are output from the case. (see at least TAKAMOTO, ¶ 0013; ¶ 0074, "On the other hand, the air sucked in from the second intake port 17 flows through the space between the fan case 22 and the housing 58, and then through the second intake port 26, the fan case 22, the exhaust port 24, and the third air path R3 to the outlet port 15. The airflow flowing through the third air passage R3 does not pass through the humidifying unit 5c and is blown out from the outlet 15 to the outside.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the fan and duct to push air into the mixing chamber with a duct to push air that bypasses the humidifier as in TAKAMOTO to effectively yield a humidifier-air conditioner unit as anticipated by TAKAMOTO “In the above configuration, the dehumidifying unit may be provided in the first air passage, and the humidifying unit may be provided in the second air passage, and the air conditioner may be provided with a third air passage that runs from the second air intake port, bypassing the humidifying unit, to the second air intake port, and a first damper that adjusts the flow rate of air flowing through the second air passage or the third air passage.” (TAKAMOTO, ¶ 0013)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAFAEL VELASQUEZ VANEGAS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/JOAN T GOODBODY/Examiner, Art Unit 3667