DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application no. 18/647,052 filed on 04/26/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 4-20 in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objection
Claims 5-20 are objected to due to the following reason:
Claim 5 recites “The transportation device as claim in claim 4…” The phrasing of “as claim in claim” is incorrect which creates ambiguity as to what is being referenced by the claim.
Claims 6-20 similarly recite the phrase “as claim in claim”, and are objected to due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-7, 10-11, 13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Portman (US 5811791 A).
Regarding claim 4, Portman teaches the claim as follows:
A transportation device, comprising: a first seating area ; a display unit (See Figs. 1 and 2: illustrating rows of seats; a display unit 10); a top, corresponding to the first seating area (a cabin overhead 18); an accommodation space, configured to accommodate the display unit and located adjacent to the top (col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 5: a frame 14 is mounted into a ceiling cavity 16 of a cabin overhead 18 above the passenger seating area for stowing a display unit); and a control interface, electrically connected to the display unit, characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides an expanding signal to the display unit, the display unit moves away from an accommodation position in the accommodation space (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Regarding claim 5, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 4, characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides an accommodating signal to the display unit, the display unit moves towards the accommodation position (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Regarding claim 6, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 4, characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides a folding signal to the display unit, the display unit moves towards a folded position (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Regarding claim 7, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 6, characterized in that, wherein a display panel of the display unit in the folded position faces the top of the transportation device (col. 3, lines 3-6: the display units 10 are placed in a stowed position, parallel with the frame 14).
Regarding claim 10, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 4, further comprising: a second seating area, located behind the first seating area (See Fig. 1, illustrating multiple seats in a row), characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides an expanding signal to the display unit, the display unit moves toward an expansion position (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Regarding claim 11, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 10, characterized in that, wherein the expansion position is between the first seating area and the second seating area (See Fig. 1, illustrating the display unit 10 which is configured to move from a stowed position to an exposed position located between two seats).
Regarding claim 13, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 12, characterized in that, wherein when the display unit is in the expansion position, a display panel of the display unit faces toward or faces away from the second seating area (See Fig. 1, illustrating the display 10 facing the second seat).
Regarding claim 17, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 4, further comprising: a driving source, configured to drive the display unit, characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides the expanding signal to the display unit, the driving source drives the display unit to move toward the expansion position for an expansion time (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Regarding claim 18, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 17, characterized in that, wherein after the driving source drives the display unit to move toward the expansion position for the expansion time, the display unit is located at the expansion position (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Regarding claim 19, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 5, further comprising: a driving source, configured to drive the display unit, wherein when the control interface provides the accommodation signal to the display unit, the driving source drives the display unit to move toward the accommodation position for an accommodation time (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Regarding claim 20, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 19, characterized in that, wherein after the driving source drives the display unit to move toward the accommodation position for the accommodation time, the display unit is located at the accommodation position (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Portman (US 5811791 A) in view of Ten-Jet-Foei (US 20240292552 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Portman does not explicitly disclose the transportation device as claim in claim 6, characterized in that, wherein the folded position is separated from the accommodation position by a distance.
However, Ten-Jet-Foei teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 6, characterized in that, wherein the folded position is separated from the accommodation position by a distance (¶0050: the folded display parts 2, 3 slide over a support 29 such as shown in FIG. 12. The sliding distance is illustrated by the interrupted and uninterrupted lines).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Portman by incorporating the teaching of Ten-Jet-Foei as noted above, to provide a display device which is stored in a folded condition to save space, as taught by Ten-Jet-Foei (¶0006).
Regarding claim 9, Portman does not explicitly disclose the transportation device as claim in claim 6, characterized in that, wherein the display unit moves along a horizontal direction between the accommodation position and the folded position.
However, Ten-Jet-Foei teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 6, characterized in that, wherein the display unit moves along a horizontal direction between the accommodation position and the folded position (¶0050: the folded display parts 2, 3 slide over a support 29 such as shown in FIG. 12. The sliding distance is illustrated by the interrupted and uninterrupted lines).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Portman by incorporating the teaching of Ten-Jet-Foei as noted above, to provide a display device which is stored in a folded condition to save space, as taught by Ten-Jet-Foei (¶0006).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Portman (US 5811791 A) in view of Jaworski et al. (US 20100053480 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 4, further comprising: a second seating area, located behind the first seating area (See Fig. 1, illustrating rows of seats), characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides an expanding signal to the display unit, the display unit moves toward an expansion position (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Portman does not explicitly disclose wherein the expansion position is closer to a rear of the transportation devices than the second seating area.
However, Jaworski teaches wherein the expansion position is closer to a rear of the transportation devices than the second seating area (See Figs. 3-5: the position of screen 40 in its open position in relation to third row seat 36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Portman by incorporating the teaching of Jaworski in order to obtain an overhead display system which is selectively viewable by passengers seating on the rear side of the vehicle (¶0031-0032).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Portman (US 5811791 A) in view of Maeda et al. (US 20120318836 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Portman teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 4, further comprising: a driving source, configured to drive the display device (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Portman does not explicitly disclose a position sensor, configured to sense the position of the display unit.
However, Maeda teaches a position sensor, configured to sense the position of the display unit (¶0032-0033: A display position detection mechanism 170 (an example of a position detection mechanism) is attached to the display device 120, and detects the opening and closing positions of the display device 120).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Portman by incorporating the teaching of Maeda as noted above, in order to reduce an impact force on a person can be reduced when the person bumps into the device, as well as to reduce damage to the display device (Maeda: ¶0014, 0048).
Regarding claim 15, Portman in view of Maeda teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 14. Portman further teaches characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides the expanding signal to the display unit (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Moreover, Maeda teaches when the position sensor senses that the display unit is not in the expansion position, the driving source drives the display unit to move toward the expansion position (¶0032-0033: A display position detection mechanism 170 (an example of a position detection mechanism) is attached to the display device 120, and detects the opening and closing positions of the display device 120…the control device 180 opens the display device 120 from its storage position 121 toward its viewing position 122 by supplying power from the power supply circuit 140 to the rotation mechanism 110. Upon acquiring from the display position detection mechanism 170 a notification to the effect that the display device 120 has reached the viewing position 122, the control device 180 stops the supply of power from the power supply circuit 140 to the rotation mechanism 110). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 14 applies here.
Regarding claim 16, Portman in view of Maeda teaches the transportation device as claim in claim 14. Portman further teaches characterized in that, wherein when the control interface provides the folding signal to the display unit (col. 4, lines 9-23: Referring to FIG. 4, the control circuit 42 includes a controller 44 having an input signal line 46…and an output signal line 50…the output signal line 50 moves the display unit 10 from an exposed position to a stowed position or from a stowed position to an exposed position).
Moreover, Maeda teaches when the position sensor senses that the display unit is not in the folded position, the driving source drives the display unit to move toward the folded position (¶0032-0033: A display position detection mechanism 170 (an example of a position detection mechanism) is attached to the display device 120, and detects the opening and closing positions of the display device 120…upon acquiring from the display position detection mechanism 170 a notification to the effect that the display device 120 has rotated from the viewing position 122 toward the storage position 121 by at least a specific amount, the control device 180 stops the supply of power to the display support mechanism 130 and closes the display device 120). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 14 applies here.
The following are the relevant prior arts to the current clamed invention that are made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Umeda (US 5145128 A) describes “Storage Device And Method For Storing Video Monitoring Equipment For Airliner” Title
Chang (US 7379125 B2) describes “Flat Thin Screen TV/monitor Automotive Roof Mount” Title
Boundy et al. (US 20060262189 A1) describes “Overhead Mountable Sliding Video Display Assembly And Method” Title
Pala et al. (US 6304173 B1) describes “Rear View And Multi-media System For Vehicles” Title
Huf et al. (US 20210291747 A1) describes “Display Device And Vehicle”. Title
Lathwesen et al. (US 11981266 B2) describes “a display device for the interior of a vehicle, to a vehicle as such and also to a method for operating a display device.” Col. 1, line 6-8.
Conclusion
/NATHNAEL AYNALEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488