DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 23 June 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (hereinafter “Shin” US 2016 / 0190865) in view of Aoki et al. (hereinafter “Aoki” US 6,140,801) and further in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim” US 2025 / 0104618).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Shin discloses (see Fig. 3) a power supply (100) comprising:
a converter (130) configured to convert a level of input voltage (i.e., a voltage at (110)), and a level of an output driving voltage (i.e., a voltage at (150)) to be provided to a load (150);
a first switch (S2) electrically coupled to a battery (141);
a driver (121) configured to drive the first switch (S2), based on the input voltage (i.e., a voltage at (110)); and
a second switch (S1) positioned between the first switch (S2) and the converter (130),
wherein the converter (130) is configured to operate and output the output driving voltage (i.e., the voltage at (150)), and the first switch (S2) and the second switch (S1) are turned on (see Fig. 3) to supply a third current (i.e., a charging current) to the battery (141) through the first switch (S2), based on the battery (141) being in a charging mode and the load (150) being in a stand-by mode in which the load (150) is turned off, and
wherein the third current (i.e., the charging current) is generated by adding a first current (i.e., a current associated with (110)), which flows through the driver (121), and a second current (i.e., a current associated with (130)), which flows through the converter (130) and the second switch (S1), and
wherein the second current (i.e., the current associated with (130)) corresponds to the output driving voltage (i.e., the voltage at (150)) output from converter (130; see Page 2, Para. [0030]-[0033] and Page 3, Para. [0039]; and see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0055]-[0057]).
Shin does not explicitly disclose that the load (150) is a display. In this regard, Shin further does not explicitly disclose that the converter (130) converts a level of input voltage, and a level of output driving voltage for a display. Further still, Shin does not explicitly disclose that the battery is in a charging mode when the display is in a stand-by mode in which the display is turned off.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Aoki discloses (see Fig. 3) an analogous circuit architecture to that disclosed by Shin for charging a battery provided in a small electronic appliance (see Col. 1, Ln. 7-19). In this regard, Aoki discloses a power supply comprising a converter (512) configured to convert a level of input voltage (see (501)), and a level of an output driving voltage to be provided to a load that is specifically a display (511; see Col. 1, Ln. 38-56), wherein a current is provided to a battery (513) based on the battery (513) being in a charging mode and the display (511) being in a stand-by mode in which the display is turned off (see Col. 1, Ln. 20-32 and Col. 3, Ln. 36-44). Like Shin, it is a goal of Aoki to provide a power supply comprising a means for charging a battery. Further, Aoki suggests a means for implementing an analogous circuit architecture to that disclosed by Shin in association with a display as a load device, wherein a charging operation of a battery of the display is optimized based on both of an available charging current and a structure of the display device (see Col. 5, Ln. 61-67 through Col. 6, Ln. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin with the teachings of Aoki, such that the power supply and battery charging means disclosed by Shin is applied to a display application as suggested by Aoki, as the application of the power supply and battery charging means of Shin in the display application would have been a predictable implementation for providing a charging mode in the display application. That is, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the power supply architecture disclosed by Shin is directly applicable to an application in which the load is a display, and a converter converts a level of input voltage, and a level of an output driving voltage to the display, as this analogous power supply architecture is explicitly suggested by Aoki. Further, the simple substitution of a display as a load in the power supply architecture of Shin would have been predictable given at least the teachings of Aoki, as the power supply architectures disclosed by Shin and Aoki are analogous. Further still, Aoki explicitly suggests that implementing the power supply architecture of Shin in association with a display as a load device can allow for optimization of a charging operation of a battery in the display while taking into consideration the structure of a display device.
Still, neither Shin nor Aoki discloses that, in the stand-by mode, the converter is configured to not supply the output driving voltage to a mainboard including a signal processing device, and that, in the stand-by mode, a micom driving voltage at a lower level than the output driving voltage is supplied to the mainboard.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) a generic power supply architecture comprising a power supply (110) wherein, in a stand-by mode (see Fig. 3) in which a display (120) is turned off, the power supply (110) is configured to not supply an output driving voltage (i.e., a main processor power supply voltage; see Fig. 6) to a mainboard (130) including a signal processing device (131), and that, in the stand-by mode (again, see Fig. 3), a micom driving voltage (i.e., a sub-processor power supply voltage) at a lower level than the output driving voltage (i.e., the main processor power supply voltage) is supplied to the mainboard (130; see Page 4, Para. [0073]-[0077] and Page 6, Para. [0109]-[0110]). In this regard, Kim discloses a means for reducing power consumption in a display device by implementing a mainboard (130) that combines a high-performance and high-power main signal processing device (131), that is utilized in a general non-stand-by mode (see Fig. 6), with a low-performance and low-power micom (132), that is utilized in the stand-by mode (see Fig. 3; and see Page 4, Para. [0078]-[0080]). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the micom (132), as a low-performance and low-power processing device, by definition requires a driving voltage (see Fig. 3) that has a lower level than that of the output driving voltage (see Fig. 6) supplied to the high-performance and high-power mainboard (130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin and Aoki with the teachings of Kim, such that in the stand-by mode, the converter is configured to not supply the output driving voltage to a mainboard including a signal processing device, and that, in the stand-by mode, a micom driving voltage at a lower level than the output driving voltage is supplied to the mainboard, as suggested by Kim, in order to provide a display device and power supply architecture that allows for improved power consumption during the stand-by mode.
As pertaining to Claim 11, Shin discloses (see Fig. 3) that in response to the display (see (150) corresponding to (511) of Aoki) switching from an on state to a stand-by state while the battery (141) is in the charging mode (again, see Fig. 3), the converter (130) is configured to:
operate in a static current mode (i.e., an arbitrary mode) during a first period (i.e., a first arbitrary period) to supply the third current (i.e., the charging current) to the battery (141) through the first switch (S2); and
operate in a state voltage mode (i.e., an arbitrary mode) during a second period (i.e., a second arbitrary period) after the first period (i.e., the first arbitrary period; again, see Page 2, Para. [0030]-[0033] and Page 3, Para. [0039]; and see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0055]-[0057] and note that the “modes” and “periods” are arbitrary).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Shin discloses (see Fig. 3) an apparatus comprising:
a load (150); and
a power supply (100) configured to supply voltage to the load (150),
wherein the power supply (100) includes:
a converter (130) configured to convert a level of input voltage (i.e., a voltage at (110)), and a level of an output driving voltage (i.e., a voltage at (150)) to be provided to a load (150);
a first switch (S2) electrically coupled to a battery (141);
a driver (121) configured to drive the first switch (S2), based on the input voltage (i.e., a voltage at (110)); and
a second switch (S1) positioned between the first switch (S2) and the converter (130),
wherein the converter (130) is configured to operate and output the output driving voltage (i.e., a voltage at (150)), and the first switch (S2) and the second switch (S1) are turned on (see Fig. 3) to supply a third current (i.e., a charging current) to the battery (141) through the first switch (S2), based on the battery (141) being in a charging mode and the load (150) being in a stand-by mode in which the load (150) is turned off, and
wherein the third current (i.e., the charging current) is generated by adding a first current (i.e., a current associated with (110)), which flows through the driver (121), and a second current (i.e., a current associated with (130)), which flows through the converter (130) and the second switch (S1), and
wherein the second current (i.e., the current associated with (130)) corresponds to the output driving voltage (i.e., the voltage at (150)) from the converter (130; see Page 2, Para. [0030]-[0033] and Page 3, Para. [0039]; and see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0055]-[0057]).
Shin does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus is an image display apparatus wherein the load (150) is a display. In this regard, Shin further does not explicitly disclose that the converter (130) converts a level of input voltage, and a level of output driving voltage for a display. Further still, Shin does not explicitly disclose that the battery is in a charging mode when the display is in a stand-by mode in which the display is turned off.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Aoki discloses (see Fig. 3) an analogous circuit architecture to that disclosed by Shin for charging a battery provided in a small electronic appliance, including an image display apparatus (see Col. 1, Ln. 7-19). In this regard, Aoki discloses a power supply comprising a converter (512) configured to convert a level of input voltage (see (501)), and a level of an output driving voltage to be provided to a load that is specifically a display (511; see Col. 1, Ln. 38-56), wherein a current is provided to a battery (513) based on the battery (513) being in a charging mode and the display (511) being in a stand-by mode in which the display is turned off (see Col. 1, Ln. 20-32 and Col. 3, Ln. 36-44). Like Shin, it is a goal of Aoki to provide a power supply comprising a means for charging a battery. Further, Aoki suggests a means for implementing an analogous circuit architecture to that disclosed by Shin in association with a display as a load device, wherein a charging operation of a battery of the display is optimized based on both of an available charging current and a structure of the display device (see Col. 5, Ln. 61-67 through Col. 6, Ln. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin with the teachings of Aoki, such that the power supply and battery charging means disclosed by Shin is applied to a display application as suggested by Aoki, as the application of the power supply and battery charging means of Shin in the display application would have been a predictable implementation for providing a charging mode in the display application. That is, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the power supply architecture disclosed by Shin is directly applicable to an application in which the load is a display, and a converter converts a level of input voltage, and a level of an output driving voltage to the display, as this analogous power supply architecture is explicitly suggested by Aoki. Further, the simple substitution of a display as a load in the power supply architecture of Shin would have been predictable given at least the teachings of Aoki, as the power supply architectures disclosed by Shin and Aoki are analogous. Further still, Aoki explicitly suggests that implementing the power supply architecture of Shin in association with a display as a load device can allow for optimization of a charging operation of a battery in the display while taking into consideration the structure of a display device.
Still, neither Shin nor Aoki discloses that, in the stand-by mode, the converter is configured to not supply the output driving voltage to a mainboard including a signal processing device, and that, in the stand-by mode, a micom driving voltage at a lower level than the output driving voltage is supplied to the mainboard.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) a generic power supply architecture comprising a power supply (110) wherein, in a stand-by mode (see Fig. 3) in which a display (120) is turned off, the power supply (110) is configured to not supply an output driving voltage (i.e., a main processor power supply voltage; see Fig. 6) to a mainboard (130) including a signal processing device (131), and that, in the stand-by mode (again, see Fig. 3), a micom driving voltage (i.e., a sub-processor power supply voltage) at a lower level than the output driving voltage (i.e., the main processor power supply voltage) is supplied to the mainboard (130; see Page 4, Para. [0073]-[0077] and Page 6, Para. [0109]-[0110]). In this regard, Kim discloses a means for reducing power consumption in a display device by implementing a mainboard (130) that combines a high-performance and high-power main signal processing device (131), that is utilized in a general non-stand-by mode (see Fig. 6), with a low-performance and low-power micom (132), that is utilized in the stand-by mode (see Fig. 3; and see Page 4, Para. [0078]-[0080]). As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the micom (132), as a low-performance and low-power processing device, by definition requires a driving voltage (see Fig. 3) that has a lower level than that of the output driving voltage (see Fig. 6) supplied to the high-performance and high-power mainboard (130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin and Aoki with the teachings of Kim, such that in the stand-by mode, the converter is configured to not supply the output driving voltage to a mainboard including a signal processing device, and that, in the stand-by mode, a micom driving voltage at a lower level than the output driving voltage is supplied to the mainboard, as suggested by Kim, in order to provide a display device and power supply architecture that allows for improved power consumption during the stand-by mode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 11, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on a combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Shin and Aoki, teach or fairly suggest that in the stand-by mode, the converter is configured to not supply the output driving voltage to a mainboard including a signal processing device, and that, in the stand-by mode, a micom driving voltage at a lower level than the output driving voltage is supplied to the mainboard. The examiner agrees in so much as the teachings of Shin and Aoki do not expressly disclose a specific display architecture. However, the combined teachings of Shin, Aoki, and Kim, as newly relied upon by the examiner in the above rejections, clearly suggest all of the features recited in Claims 1, 11, and 16.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1, 11, and 16 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2025 / 0184443), Hayashi et al. (US 6,133,711), and Narita et al. (US 5,721,481) all disclose power supply and battery charging means relevant to the applicant’s disclosure.
Imanaka (JP-2000047764A) discloses (see Fig. 2) a power supply (2) for a display device (32) wherein in a stand-by mode, a converter (12, 15, 18) is configured to not supply an output driving voltage (see (15)) to a mainboard including a signal processing device (16), and wherein, in the stand-by mode, a micom driving voltage (see (12)) at a lower level than the output driving voltage (see (15)) is supplied to the mainboard (13).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623