DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 23 July 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneckt et al. (US 2022/0086910 A1) (hereinafter Kne) in view of Li (US 2025/0393036 A1) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Kne-Li teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by an access point, a multi-user request-to-send frame requesting one or more clear-to-send frames from at least (Kne, fig. 4 and fig. 13, [0064]-[0071], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0096]: [0064] an electronic device (e.g., an access point) that provides an MU-RTS frame. During operation, the electronic device may provide the MU-RTS frame that communicates an RTS in a channel associated with the second electronic device and a second RTS in a second channel associated with a third electronic device. For example, the channel may include a primary channel, the second channel may include a secondary channel, and/or the second channel may include a packet detection channel associated with the third electronic device. Note that the third electronic device may include an SST station and the second electronic device may include a non-SST station. Then, the electronic device may receive an MU-CTS frame that includes a CTS in a third channel associated with the third electronic device. Moreover, the third channel may be equal to or a subset of the second channel, and/or the third channel may include a CTS reception channel associated with the electronic device. [0087] During operation, the electronic device may provide the MU-RTS frame (operation 210), where the MU-RTS frame communicates an RTS in a channel associated with the second electronic device and a second RTS in a second channel associated with the third electronic device. Note that the second electronic device includes a non-SST station and the third electronic device includes an SST station. [0095] The communication techniques are further illustrated in FIG. 4, which presents a flow diagram illustrating an example of communication among components in electronic device 110-1, electronic device 110-2 and access point 112. During operation, an interface circuit (IC) 410 in access point 112 may provide an MU-RTS frame 412, where MU-RTS frame 412 may communicate an RTS 414 to electronic device 110-1 in the channel associated with electronic device 110-1 and an RTS 416 in the second channel associated with electronic device 110-2.):
a first computing device (Kne, fig. 4, [0072]-[0085], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0096]: [0095] The communication techniques are further illustrated in FIG. 4, which presents a flow diagram illustrating an example of communication among components in electronic device 110-1 (i.e. first computing device), electronic device 110-2 and access point 112. During operation, an interface circuit (IC) 410 in access point 112 may provide an MU-RTS frame 412, where MU-RTS frame 412 may communicate an RTS 414 to electronic device 110-1 in the channel associated with electronic device 110-1 and an RTS 416 in the second channel associated with electronic device 110-2.); and
a second computing device (Kne, fig. 4, [0072]-[0085], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0096]: [0095] The communication techniques are further illustrated in FIG. 4, which presents a flow diagram illustrating an example of communication among components in electronic device 110-1, electronic device 110-2 (i.e. second computing device) and access point 112. During operation, an interface circuit (IC) 410 in access point 112 may provide an MU-RTS frame 412, where MU-RTS frame 412 may communicate an RTS 414 to electronic device 110-1 in the channel associated with electronic device 110-1 and an RTS 416 in the second channel associated with electronic device 110-2.);
transmitting, to the first computing device and based on receiving a first clear-to-send frame from the first computing device, a first physical layer protocol data unit comprising a first portion of first data (Kne, fig. 4 and fig. 7, [0093]-[0096],[0097]-[0098], [0099]-[0104], [0105]-[0117]: [0102] After receiving RTS 714 in MU-RTS frame 712, an interface circuit 716 in electronic device 110-2 may provide a CTS 718 in a second channel associated with electronic device 110-2 in an MU-CTS frame 720. Moreover, after receiving CTS 718 in MU-CTS frame 720, interface circuit 710 may provide a frame 722 addressed to electronic device 110-2, which may be received by interface circuit 716. [0116] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 16, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, the access point may only receive an MU-CTS frame from SST stations on secondary channels. If the access point senses CCA idle on the primary channel, the access point may transmit to another station to keep the primary channel busy. This may ensure that other stations in primary channel cannot transmit to access point. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 17, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, if the access point senses CCA busy on the primary channel, then the access point may: send PPDUs to one or more SST stations from which it received an MU-CTS frame on one or more of the secondary channels; or cancel the TXOP by sending a contention-free (CF)-End frame on the one or more secondary channels in which it received an MU-CTS frame. For example, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may sense that the primary channel is idle and may send downlink (DL) data to STA 3 and may send DL data to SST STA 2. Moreover, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may send a CF-End frame to SST STA 2. Note that an MU-RTS frame can request a response from multiple stations (therefore, each 80 MHz channel can have a different copy or version of the MU-RTS frame) and, in general, different stations may respond independently to the MU-RTS frame.);
transmitting, to the second computing device and based on receiving a second clear-to-send frame from the second computing device, a third physical layer protocol data unit comprising the second data (Kne, fig. 4, fig. 13, [0093]-[0096],[0097]-[0098], [0099]-[0104], [0105]-[0117], [0120]-[0123]: [0102] After receiving RTS 714 in MU-RTS frame 712, an interface circuit 716 in electronic device 110-2 may provide a CTS 718 in a second channel associated with electronic device 110-2 in an MU-CTS frame 720. Moreover, after receiving CTS 718 in MU-CTS frame 720, interface circuit 710 may provide a frame 722 addressed to electronic device 110-2, which may be received by interface circuit 716. [0116] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 16, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, the access point may only receive an MU-CTS frame from SST stations on secondary channels. If the access point senses CCA idle on the primary channel, the access point may transmit to another station to keep the primary channel busy. This may ensure that other stations in primary channel cannot transmit to access point. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 17, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, if the access point senses CCA busy on the primary channel, then the access point may: send PPDUs to one or more SST stations from which it received an MU-CTS frame on one or more of the secondary channels; or cancel the TXOP by sending a contention-free (CF)-End frame on the one or more secondary channels in which it received an MU-CTS frame.).
Thus, the system of Kne does not teach suspending, based on availability of second data, a transmission of a second physical layer protocol data unit to the first computing device, wherein the second physical layer protocol data unit comprises a second portion of the first data.
Similar to the system of Kne, Li teaches dividing non-low-latency data into several short PPDUs and postponing transmission of the remaining data when a new-latency packet arrives, so that the low latency packet is transmitted first (Li, [0165]), which can be seen as, suspending, based on availability of second data, a transmission of a second physical layer protocol data unit to the first computing device, wherein the second physical layer protocol data unit comprises a second portion of the first data (Li, [0141]-[0161], [0162]-[0167]: Examiner views short PPDUs carrying the divided non-low-latency service as PPDUs comprising respective portions of first data, and the newly arrived low-latency service packet as second data. The examiner further views postponing transmission of a subsequent short PPDU carrying remaining non-low-latency data until after transmission of the newly arrived low latency packet as suspending transmission of a second PPDU comprising a second portion of the first data based on availability of second data. [0143] Preemption (preemption) is a potential technology for resolving ultra-low latency. A principle of the preemption is to interrupt transmission of a non-low-latency service that is currently transmitted, preferentially transmit the low-latency service, and resume the transmission of the non-low-latency service after the transmission of the low-latency service is completed. It should be understood that the low-latency service and the non-low-latency service are relative. The non-low-latency service may also have a latency requirement, but the latency requirement of the non-low-latency service is higher than that of the low-latency service. In an existing technical solution, how to perform preemption in a basic service set (basic service set, BSS) is mainly considered, but no consideration is given to how to avoid an overlapping basic service set (overlapping basic service set, OBSS) occupying a channel for a long time. [0165] In the PPDU-based preemption mechanism, the non-low-latency service is divided into several short PPDUs for sequential transmission. If a new low-latency service packet arrives in a process of transmitting a short PPDU, the low-latency service packet is preferentially transmitted after the transmission of the short PPDU ends, and a remaining non-low-latency service packet is transmitted after the transmission of the low-latency service packet ends.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kne with Li to reduce delay for low-latency traffic by transmitting it before the remaining non-low -latency traffic (Li, [0143] and [0165]).
Regarding claim 2, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
further comprising receiving, from the second computing device, a request frame, wherein the request frame indicates that the access point is to request the second clear-to-send frame from the second computing device in the multi-user request-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 7, [0093]-[0096],[0097]-[0098], [0099]-[0104], [0105]-[0117], [0120]-[0123]: [0094] During operation, the third electronic device may receive the RTS (operation 310) in a second channel associated with the third electronic device in the MU-RTS frame, where the MU-RTS frame is associated with (or from) the electronic device, and the MU-RTS includes a second RTS in a channel associated with the second electronic device. Then, the third electronic device may provide a CTS (operation 312) in a third channel associated with the third electronic device in an MU-CTS frame. [0098] During operation, the electronic device may provide the MU-RTS frame (operation 510), where the MU-RTS frame includes an RTS in a packet detection channel associated with a second electronic device, and the second electronic device includes an SST station. Then, the electronic device may receive an MU-CTS frame (operation 512), where the MU-CTS frame includes a CTS in a second channel associated with the second electronic device.).
Regarding claim 3, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the multi-user request-to-send frame comprises a first association identifier subfield associated with the first computing device and a second association identifier subfield associated with the second computing device (Kne, fig. 22, [0118]-[0124]: [0121] As shown in FIG. 22, which presents an example of an MU-RTS frame, the MU-RTS frame may use an UL bandwidth field to signal the channels in which the CTS frame is requested to be transmitted. The SST station may use the same values, and the packet detection channel may be the same as the primary channel. Additionally, the MU-RTS frame may signal or indicate whether the responder needs to allocate the full requested bandwidth, or whether a partial bandwidth allocation is allowed. The CTS frame may need to be transmitted on at least a 40 MHz channel, so that the access point is able to transmit on a punctured channel in S80, T80 or Q80. Alternatively, the CTS frame may be transmitted on any idle 20 MHz channels that is requested to be reserved. Note that the RTS in the first 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of STA 1, an uplink bandwidth of 68 (160 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. Moreover, the RTS in the last 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of SST STA 2, an uplink bandwidth of 64 (80 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels.).
Regarding claim 4, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein a first association identifier subfield comprised in the multi-user request-to-send frame indicates a request, by the access point and to the first computing device, to transmit the first clear-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 22, [0078]-[0098], [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0124]: [0118] Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 19, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, in some embodiments the access point may provide the MU-RTS frame with a packet detection channel. Notably, an SST station may receive a PPDU if it is transmitted to the packet detection channel of the SST station. By using the packet detection channel, this MU-RTS frame may request an EDCA transmission from the SST station. [0121] As shown in FIG. 22, which presents an example of an MU-RTS frame, the MU-RTS frame may use an UL bandwidth field to signal the channels in which the CTS frame is requested to be transmitted. The SST station may use the same values, and the packet detection channel may be the same as the primary channel. Additionally, the MU-RTS frame may signal or indicate whether the responder needs to allocate the full requested bandwidth, or whether a partial bandwidth allocation is allowed. The CTS frame may need to be transmitted on at least a 40 MHz channel, so that the access point is able to transmit on a punctured channel in S80, T80 or Q80. Alternatively, the CTS frame may be transmitted on any idle 20 MHz channels that is requested to be reserved. Note that the RTS in the first 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of STA 1, an uplink bandwidth of 68 (160 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. Moreover, the RTS in the last 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of SST STA 2, an uplink bandwidth of 64 (80 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels.).
Regarding claim 5, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein a second association identifier comprised in the multi-user request-to-send frame indicates a request, by the access point and to the second computing device, to transmit the second clear-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 13 and fig. 22, [0078]-[0098], [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0124]: [0121] As shown in FIG. 22, which presents an example of an MU-RTS frame, the MU-RTS frame may use an UL bandwidth field to signal the channels in which the CTS frame is requested to be transmitted. The SST station may use the same values, and the packet detection channel may be the same as the primary channel. Additionally, the MU-RTS frame may signal or indicate whether the responder needs to allocate the full requested bandwidth, or whether a partial bandwidth allocation is allowed. The CTS frame may need to be transmitted on at least a 40 MHz channel, so that the access point is able to transmit on a punctured channel in S80, T80 or Q80. Alternatively, the CTS frame may be transmitted on any idle 20 MHz channels that is requested to be reserved. Note that the RTS in the first 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of STA 1, an uplink bandwidth of 68 (160 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. Moreover, the RTS in the last 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of SST STA 2, an uplink bandwidth of 64 (80 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels.).
Regarding claim 6, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the multi-user request-to-send frame comprises a subfield indicating that the requested second clear-to-send frame is a pre-emptive clear-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 19, fig. 22, [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123]: [0119] Then, the access point may receive an MU-CTS frame from the SST station if it transmitted to the CTS reception channel. Moreover, if a channel has a single responding station, the station may send an E-CTS frame to the access point. This E-CTS frame may signal or indicate the channels in which E-CTS frames are transmitted. Note that the access point may control the type of response frame (CTS or E-CTS) that is provided by the station. The response may be on all of the requested channels or only on the idle channels. In FIG. 19, after downlink data is communicated to the stations, a block acknowledgment (BA) may be communicated to the access point. [0123] IEEE 802.11be allows the access point to send an MU-RTS frame with different user-specific field values in each 80 MHz channel. A station may not detect from the MU-RTS frame whether it is the only responder of the MU-RTS frame. Moreover, the secondary 80 MHz MU-RTS frame may contain user-information fields only for the SST station(s). The MU-RTS may signal or indicate the type of response frame (CTS or E-CTS). An E-CTS frame may include: frame control, duration, resource allocation, reserved channels (which may indicate unique information for each station), and/or a frame check sum (FCS). Note that: some or all responding stations may use the same frame type; some or all CTS frames may have the same format (as specified in IEEE 802.11ax for an MU-RTS frame); the CTS frame may be transmitted if multiple stations respond on the same channel or if a HE station responds. An E-CTS frame may signal or indicate per the 20 MHz channels in which channel the E-CTS was transmitted. Furthermore, an access point can command a station to set a reserved channels field as reserved.).
Regarding claim 7, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the multi-user request-to-send frame indicates a request for a third clear-to-send frame from a third computing device frame (Kne, fig. 17, [0093]-[0098], [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123]: [0116] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 16, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, the access point may only receive an MU-CTS frame from SST stations on secondary channels. If the access point senses CCA idle on the primary channel, the access point may transmit to another station to keep the primary channel busy. This may ensure that other stations in primary channel cannot transmit to access point. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 17, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, if the access point senses CCA busy on the primary channel, then the access point may: send PPDUs to one or more SST stations from which it received an MU-CTS frame on one or more of the secondary channels; or cancel the TXOP by sending a contention-free (CF)-End frame on the one or more secondary channels in which it received an MU-CTS frame. For example, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may sense that the primary channel is idle and may send downlink (DL) data to STA 3 and may send DL data to SST STA 2. Moreover, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may send a CF-End frame to SST STA 2. Note that an MU-RTS frame can request a response from multiple stations (therefore, each 80 MHz channel can have a different copy or version of the MU-RTS frame) and, in general, different stations may respond independently to the MU-RTS frame.).
Regarding claim 8, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the multi-user request-to-send comprises a third association identifier subfield associated with a third computing device (Kne, fig. 17, [0093]-[0098], [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123]: Kne shows multiple identifiers. [0121] As shown in FIG. 22, which presents an example of an MU-RTS frame, the MU-RTS frame may use an UL bandwidth field to signal the channels in which the CTS frame is requested to be transmitted. The SST station may use the same values, and the packet detection channel may be the same as the primary channel. Additionally, the MU-RTS frame may signal or indicate whether the responder needs to allocate the full requested bandwidth, or whether a partial bandwidth allocation is allowed. The CTS frame may need to be transmitted on at least a 40 MHz channel, so that the access point is able to transmit on a punctured channel in S80, T80 or Q80. Alternatively, the CTS frame may be transmitted on any idle 20 MHz channels that is requested to be reserved. Note that the RTS in the first 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of STA 1, an uplink bandwidth of 68 (160 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. Moreover, the RTS in the last 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of SST STA 2, an uplink bandwidth of 64 (80 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. [0123] IEEE 802.11be allows the access point to send an MU-RTS frame with different user-specific field values in each 80 MHz channel. A station may not detect from the MU-RTS frame whether it is the only responder of the MU-RTS frame. Moreover, the secondary 80 MHz MU-RTS frame may contain user-information fields only for the SST station(s). The MU-RTS may signal or indicate the type of response frame (CTS or E-CTS). An E-CTS frame may include: frame control, duration, resource allocation, reserved channels (which may indicate unique information for each station), and/or a frame check sum (FCS). Note that: some or all responding stations may use the same frame type; some or all CTS frames may have the same format (as specified in IEEE 802.11ax for an MU-RTS frame); the CTS frame may be transmitted if multiple stations respond on the same channel or if a HE station responds. An E-CTS frame may signal or indicate per the 20 MHz channels in which channel the E-CTS was transmitted. Furthermore, an access point can command a station to set a reserved channels field as reserved.).
Regarding claim 9, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
further comprising receiving, from the second computing device, capability information indicating that the second computing device supports physical layer protocol data unit pre-emption frame (Kne, fig. 20, [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123], [0124]-[0155]: [0130] In summary, an EHT SST station may be capable to be able to respond to an MU-RTS frame. This capability may simplify access-point operation, especially in large bandwidth PPDU transmissions. In some embodiments, the access-point transmissions to EHT SST stations may have hidden-terminal protection via MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames.).
Regarding claim 10, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the transmitting the multi-user request-to-send is based on whether the second computing device supports physical layer protocol data unit pre-emption (Kne, fig. 20, [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123], [0124]-[0155]: [0121] As shown in FIG. 22, which presents an example of an MU-RTS frame, the MU-RTS frame may use an UL bandwidth field to signal the channels in which the CTS frame is requested to be transmitted. The SST station may use the same values, and the packet detection channel may be the same as the primary channel. Additionally, the MU-RTS frame may signal or indicate whether the responder needs to allocate the full requested bandwidth, or whether a partial bandwidth allocation is allowed. The CTS frame may need to be transmitted on at least a 40 MHz channel, so that the access point is able to transmit on a punctured channel in S80, T80 or Q80. Alternatively, the CTS frame may be transmitted on any idle 20 MHz channels that is requested to be reserved. Note that the RTS in the first 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of STA 1, an uplink bandwidth of 68 (160 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. Moreover, the RTS in the last 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of SST STA 2, an uplink bandwidth of 64 (80 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. [0130] In summary, an EHT SST station may be capable to be able to respond to an MU-RTS frame. This capability may simplify access-point operation, especially in large bandwidth PPDU transmissions. In some embodiments, the access-point transmissions to EHT SST stations may have hidden-terminal protection via MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames.).
Regarding claim 11, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
further comprising receiving, from the second computing device and via an association request frame or a probe request frame, capability information indicating that the second computing device supports physical layer protocol data unit pre-emption (Kne, fig. 20, [0072]-[0085], [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123], [0124]-[0155]: [0072] FIG. 1 presents a block diagram illustrating an example of electronic devices communicating wirelessly. Notably, one or more electronic devices 110 (such as a smartphone, a laptop computer, a notebook computer, a tablet, or another such electronic device) and access point 112 may communicate wirelessly in a WLAN using an IEEE 802.11 communication protocol. Thus, electronic devices 110 may be associated with or may have one or more connections with access point 112. For example, electronic devices 110 and access point 112 may wirelessly communicate while: detecting one another by scanning wireless channels, transmitting and receiving beacons or beacon frames on wireless channels, establishing connections (for example, by transmitting connect requests), and/or transmitting and receiving packets or frames (which may include the request and/or additional information, such as data, as payloads). Note that access point 112 may provide access to a network, such as the Internet, via an Ethernet protocol, and may be a physical access point or a virtual or ‘software’ access point that is implemented on a computer or an electronic device. In the discussion that follows, electronic devices 110 are sometimes referred to as ‘recipient electronic devices. [0130] In summary, an EHT SST station may be capable to be able to respond to an MU-RTS frame. This capability may simplify access-point operation, especially in large bandwidth PPDU transmissions. In some embodiments, the access-point transmissions to EHT SST stations may have hidden-terminal protection via MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames.).
Regarding claim 12, Kne teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the second data is based on a low latency traffic category (Kne, fig. 20, [0072]-[0085], [0124]-[0155]: [0128] Furthermore, the access-point beacons may signal that transmissions to SST stations may occur at any time. For example, an SST station may have low latency traffic and an access point may need to send it at any time.)
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneckt et al. (US 2022/0086910 A1) (hereinafter Kne) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xin et al. (US 20230081745 A1) (hereinafter Xin).
Regarding claim 13, Kne-Xin teaches a method comprising:
transmitting a multi-user request-to-send frame requesting, from the second computing device, the second clear-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 4 and fig. 22, [0113]-[0138]: [0121] As shown in FIG. 22, which presents an example of an MU-RTS frame, the MU-RTS frame may use an UL bandwidth field to signal the channels in which the CTS frame is requested to be transmitted. The SST station may use the same values, and the packet detection channel may be the same as the primary channel. Additionally, the MU-RTS frame may signal or indicate whether the responder needs to allocate the full requested bandwidth, or whether a partial bandwidth allocation is allowed. The CTS frame may need to be transmitted on at least a 40 MHz channel, so that the access point is able to transmit on a punctured channel in S80, T80 or Q80. Alternatively, the CTS frame may be transmitted on any idle 20 MHz channels that is requested to be reserved. Note that the RTS in the first 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of STA 1, an uplink bandwidth of 68 (160 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels. Moreover, the RTS in the last 20 MHz in the MU-RTS may include or may specify: the association identifier of SST STA 2, an uplink bandwidth of 64 (80 MHz), and CTS is transmitted on all channels.);
receiving, during or before transmission of first data for a first computing device, second data for the second computing device (Kne, fig. 4, [0072]-[0098], [0121]-[0127]: [0072] FIG. 1 presents a block diagram illustrating an example of electronic devices communicating wirelessly. Notably, one or more electronic devices 110 (such as a smartphone, a laptop computer, a notebook computer, a tablet, or another such electronic device) and access point 112 may communicate wirelessly in a WLAN using an IEEE 802.11 communication protocol. Thus, electronic devices 110 may be associated with or may have one or more connections with access point 112. For example, electronic devices 110 and access point 112 may wirelessly communicate while: detecting one another by scanning wireless channels, transmitting and receiving beacons or beacon frames on wireless channels, establishing connections (for example, by transmitting connect requests), and/or transmitting and receiving packets or frames (which may include the request and/or additional information, such as data, as payloads). Note that access point 112 may provide access to a network, such as the Internet, via an Ethernet protocol, and may be a physical access point or a virtual or ‘software’ access point that is implemented on a computer or an electronic device. In the discussion that follows, electronic devices 110 are sometimes referred to as ‘recipient electronic devices. [0073] This can include transmitting beacons on wireless channels to enable the electronic devices to make initial contact with or to detect each other, followed by exchanging subsequent data/management frames (such as connect requests) to establish a connection, configure security options (e.g., IPSec), transmit and receive packets or frames via the connection, etc.); and
transmitting, to the second computing device and based on a reception of the second clear-to-send frame, the second data (Kne, fig. 7, [0093]-[0096],[0097]-[0098], [0099]-[0104], [0105]-[0117], [0121]-[0123]: [0116] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 16, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, the access point may only receive an MU-CTS frame from SST stations on secondary channels. If the access point senses CCA idle on the primary channel, the access point may transmit to another station to keep the primary channel busy. This may ensure that other stations in primary channel cannot transmit to access point. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 17, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, if the access point senses CCA busy on the primary channel, then the access point may: send PPDUs to one or more SST stations from which it received an MU-CTS frame on one or more of the secondary channels; or cancel the TXOP by sending a contention-free (CF)-End frame on the one or more secondary channels in which it received an MU-CTS frame. For example, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may sense that the primary channel is idle and may send downlink (DL) data to STA 3 and may send DL data to SST STA 2. Moreover, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may send a CF-End frame to SST STA 2. Note that an MU-RTS frame can request a response from multiple stations (therefore, each 80 MHz channel can have a different copy or version of the MU-RTS frame) and, in general, different stations may respond independently to the MU-RTS frame.).
Thus, the system of Kne does not teach receiving, by an access point and from a second computing device, a request frame, wherein the request frame indicates that the access point is to request a second clear-to-send frame from the second computing device.
Similar to the system of Kne, Xin teaches that STA B sends preemption RTS frame to STA A. Upon accepting the request, STA A sends trigger frame, which can have the MU-RTS TXS format, and STA B responds with CTS frame (Xin, fig. 22, [0167]-[0172]), which can be seen as, receiving, by an access point and from a second computing device, a request frame, wherein the request frame indicates that the access point is to request a second clear-to-send frame from the second computing device (Xin, fig. 22, [0042]-[0074], [0094]-[0139], [0153]-[0171]: The examiner views STA B as the second computing device and STA A, implemented as an AP under paragraph [0048], as the access point. The examiner interprets preemption RTS frame as requesting initiation of the trigger/CTS exchange, because acceptance of that request causes STA to send trigger frame soliciting CTS frames from STA B.[0169] When the backoff is counted down to zero, then STA B can access the channel and sends a signal 512 to request a preemption transmission. It will be noted that when STA B accesses the channel, it may wait several micro-seconds to align its OFDM symbol boundary with that of STA A. As shown in the figure, the signal sent to request a preemption transmission by STA B is a RTS frame (denoted as a preemption RTS frame) as a preemption request signal is sent through the whole channel to STA A. The preemption RTS frame can indicate the priority of the preemption transmission, such as PPDU2. The preemption RTS frame can also reserve the TXOP or set NAV 514 for the preemption transmission. [0171] Then STA A sends a DTX confirmation signal 516 indicating interruption of its ongoing transmission. Then STA A sends a frame 518, shown as a trigger frame by way of example and not limitation as a Single-User (SU) trigger frame, to launch the preemption transmission. The format of SU-trigger can be the same as MU-RTS TXS trigger frame as defined in IEEE 802.11be. Then, STA B sends a CTS frame 522 back to STA A and starts its preemption transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kne’s system to use Xin’s station-initiated preemption request and responsive trigger/CTS exchange to allow higher-priority traffic to proceed before completion of an ongoing lower-priority transmission (Xin, [0169]-[0171]).
Regarding claim 14, Kne teaches the method of claim 13:
wherein the transmitting of the multi-user request-to-send frame is based on whether the access point receives the request frame from the second STA (Kne, fig.4, [0072]-[0086], [0114]-[0119], [0120]-[0123]: [0116] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 16, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, the access point may only receive an MU-CTS frame from SST stations on secondary channels. If the access point senses CCA idle on the primary channel, the access point may transmit to another station to keep the primary channel busy. This may ensure that other stations in primary channel cannot transmit to access point. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 17, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, if the access point senses CCA busy on the primary channel, then the access point may: send PPDUs to one or more SST stations from which it received an MU-CTS frame on one or more of the secondary channels; or cancel the TXOP by sending a contention-free (CF)-End frame on the one or more secondary channels in which it received an MU-CTS frame. For example, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may sense that the primary channel is idle and may send downlink (DL) data to STA 3 and may send DL data to SST STA 2. Moreover, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may send a CF-End frame to SST STA 2. Note that an MU-RTS frame can request a response from multiple stations (therefore, each 80 MHz channel can have a different copy or version of the MU-RTS frame) and, in general, different stations may respond independently to the MU-RTS frame.).
Regarding claim 15, Kne teaches the method of claim 13:
wherein the multi-user request-to-send frame comprises a subfield indicating that the requested second clear-to-send frame is a pre-emptive clear-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 19, fig. 22, [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123]: [0119] Then, the access point may receive an MU-CTS frame from the SST station if it transmitted to the CTS reception channel. Moreover, if a channel has a single responding station, the station may send an E-CTS frame to the access point. This E-CTS frame may signal or indicate the channels in which E-CTS frames are transmitted. Note that the access point may control the type of response frame (CTS or E-CTS) that is provided by the station. The response may be on all of the requested channels or only on the idle channels. In FIG. 19, after downlink data is communicated to the stations, a block acknowledgment (BA) may be communicated to the access point. [0123] IEEE 802.11be allows the access point to send an MU-RTS frame with different user-specific field values in each 80 MHz channel. A station may not detect from the MU-RTS frame whether it is the only responder of the MU-RTS frame. Moreover, the secondary 80 MHz MU-RTS frame may contain user-information fields only for the SST station(s). The MU-RTS may signal or indicate the type of response frame (CTS or E-CTS). An E-CTS frame may include: frame control, duration, resource allocation, reserved channels (which may indicate unique information for each station), and/or a frame check sum (FCS). Note that: some or all responding stations may use the same frame type; some or all CTS frames may have the same format (as specified in IEEE 802.11ax for an MU-RTS frame); the CTS frame may be transmitted if multiple stations respond on the same channel or if a HE station responds. An E-CTS frame may signal or indicate per the 20 MHz channels in which channel the E-CTS was transmitted. Furthermore, an access point can command a station to set a reserved channels field as reserved.).
Regarding claim 16, Kne teaches the method of claim 13:
further comprising receiving, from the second computing device, capability information indicating that the second computing device supports physical layer protocol data unit pre-emption (Kne, fig. 20, [0116]-[0120], [0121]-[0123], [0124]-[0155]: [0130] In summary, an EHT SST station may be capable to be able to respond to an MU-RTS frame. This capability may simplify access-point operation, especially in large bandwidth PPDU transmissions. In some embodiments, the access-point transmissions to EHT SST stations may have hidden-terminal protection via MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames.).
Regarding claim 17, Kne-Xin teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, to the access point and based on the multi-user request-to-send frame, the requested clear-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 22, [0064]-[0071], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0096], [0115]-[0123]: [0115] However, the MU-RTS frame may also be sent to an SST station (such as STA 2) on a channel(s) that operates outside of the operating bandwidth of the non-SST station (e.g., STA 1). The access point may use a transmit opportunity (TXOP) to transmit to the SST station if the SST station responds to the MU-RTS frame in an MU-CTS frame. [0116] Moreover, as shown in FIG. 16, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, the access point may only receive an MU-CTS frame from SST stations on secondary channels. If the access point senses CCA idle on the primary channel, the access point may transmit to another station to keep the primary channel busy. This may ensure that other stations in primary channel cannot transmit to access point. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 17, which presents an example of exchange of MU-RTS and MU-CTS frames, if the access point senses CCA busy on the primary channel, then the access point may: send PPDUs to one or more SST stations from which it received an MU-CTS frame on one or more of the secondary channels; or cancel the TXOP by sending a contention-free (CF)-End frame on the one or more secondary channels in which it received an MU-CTS frame. For example, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may sense that the primary channel is idle and may send downlink (DL) data to STA 3 and may send DL data to SST STA 2. Moreover, if STA 1 senses a channel is busy and does not respond to the MU-RTS frame, then, after the MU-CTS frame is received, the access point may send a CF-End frame to SST STA 2. Note that an MU-RTS frame can request a response from multiple stations (therefore, each 80 MHz channel can have a different copy or version of the MU-RTS frame) and, in general, different stations may respond independently to the MU-RTS frame.).
Thus, the system of Kne does not teach receiving, by a first computing device and from an access point, a multi-user request-to-send frame requesting a clear-to-send frame from the first computing device, wherein the multi-user request-to-send frame indicates that the requested clear-to-send is a pre-emptive clear-to-send frame.
Similar to the system of Kne, Xin teaches STA A sends an SU-trigger frame, which can have the MU-RTS TXS format, to launch a preemption transmission, and STA B responds with CTS frame (Xin, fig. 22, [0171]), which can be seen as, receiving, by a first computing device and from an access point, a multi-user request-to-send frame requesting a clear-to-send frame from the first computing device, wherein the multi-user request-to-send frame indicates that the requested clear-to-send is a pre-emptive clear-to-send frame (Xin, fig. 22, [0042]-[0074], [0094]-[0139], [0153]-[0171]: The examiner views STA B as the first computing device and STA A, operating as an AP, as mentioned in paragraph [0048], as the access point. STA B receives trigger frame, which can have the MU-RTS TXS format, and responds with CTS frame. The Examiner views CTS frame as a CTS used for preemption because it responds to trigger frame that launches the preemption transmission. [0171] Then STA A sends a DTX confirmation signal 516 indicating interruption of its ongoing transmission. Then STA A sends a frame 518, shown as a trigger frame by way of example and not limitation as a Single-User (SU) trigger frame, to launch the preemption transmission. The format of SU-trigger can be the same as MU-RTS TXS trigger frame as defined in IEEE 802.11be. Then, STA B sends a CTS frame 522 back to STA A and starts its preemption transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kne’s system to use Xin’s trigger/CTS exchange for launching a preemption transmission to allow higher-priority traffic to proceed before completion of an ongoing lower-priority transmission (Xin, [0169]-[0171]).
Regarding claim 18, Kne teaches the method of claim 17:
further comprising receiving, from the access point and after transmitting the requested clear-to-send frame, a first physical layer protocol data unit comprising a first portion of first data for a second computing device (Kne, fig. 4 and fig. 13, [0064]-[0071], [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0120]: See above for paragraph [0116]. [0065] By providing the MU-RTS frame, these communication techniques may improve communication performance in a WLAN that includes the second electronic device and the third electronic device. Moreover, the communication techniques may increase flexibility when communicating in the WLAN. Notably, the communication techniques may allow an MU-RTS frame to be transmitted to an SST station, the SST station may be able to respond to the MU-RTS frame, and an MU-CTS frame may be provided even when the whole channel is not idle. Furthermore, the MU-RTS may concurrently communicate RTS frames to a non-SST station and an SST station. Consequently, the communication techniques may improve the user experience and customer satisfaction when using the electronic device, the second electronic device and/or the third electronic device.).
Regarding claim 19, Kne teaches the method of claim 17:
wherein the multi-user request-to-send frame indicates a request, by the access point and to a second computing device, transmit a second clear-to-send frame (Kne, fig. 4 and fig. 13, [0064]-[0071], [0086]-[0092], [0093]-[0096]: [0064] an electronic device (e.g., an access point) that provides an MU-RTS frame. During operation, the electronic device may provide the MU-RTS frame that communicates an RTS in a channel associated with the second electronic device and a second RTS in a second channel associated with a third electronic device. For example, the channel may include a primary channel, the second channel may include a secondary channel, and/or the second channel may include a packet detection channel associated with the third electronic device. Note that the third electronic device may include an SST station and the second electronic device may include a non-SST station. Then, the electronic device may receive an MU-CTS frame that includes a CTS in a third channel associated with the third electronic device. Moreover, the third channel may be equal to or a subset of the second channel, and/or the third channel may include a CTS reception channel associated with the electronic device. [0087] During operation, the electronic device may provide the MU-RTS frame (operation 210), where the MU-RTS frame communicates an RTS in a channel associated with the second electronic device and a second RTS in a second channel associated with the third electronic device. Note that the second electronic device includes a non-SST station and the third electronic device includes an SST station. [0095] The communication techniques are further illustrated in FIG. 4, which presents a flow diagram illustrating an example of communication among components in electronic device 110-1, electronic device 110-2 and access point 112. During operation, an interface circuit (IC) 410 in access point 112 may provide an MU-RTS frame 412, where MU-RTS frame 412 may communicate an RTS 414 to electronic device 110-1 in the channel associated with electronic device 110-1 and an RTS 416 in the second channel associated with electronic device 110-2.).
Regarding claim 20, Kne teaches the method of claim 17:
further comprising receiving, from the access point and after receiving a first physical layer protocol data unit, a second physical layer protocol data unit comprising second data for the first computing device (Kne, fig. 4 and fig. 13, [0064]-[0071], [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0120]: See above for paragraph [0116]. [0065] By providing the MU-RTS frame, these communication techniques may improve communication performance in a WLAN that includes the second electronic device and the third electronic device. Moreover, the communication techniques may increase flexibility when communicating in the WLAN. Notably, the communication techniques may allow an MU-RTS frame to be transmitted to an SST station, the SST station may be able to respond to the MU-RTS frame, and an MU-CTS frame may be provided even when the whole channel is not idle. Furthermore, the MU-RTS may concurrently communicate RTS frames to a non-SST station and an SST station. Consequently, the communication techniques may improve the user experience and customer satisfaction when using the electronic device, the second electronic device and/or the third electronic device.)
Conclusion
/F.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468