DETAILED ACTION
In response to Amendments/Arguments filed 8/12/2026. Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending. Claims 1, 5, and 6 were amended. Claim 2 was cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 16-18 are dependent upon a cancelled claim. Examiner assumes that claim 7 is dependent upon claim 1. However, it is noted that if claims 16-18 are dependent upon claim 1, the claims are duplicates of claims 8-10. In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner will consider them dependent upon claim 1, however, appropriate treatment of those claims by the Applicant is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murata (JP 2020-097506).
Murata discloses a glass that does not crack. Concerning claims 1, 3-6, 8, 16, and 19, Murata discloses a glass sheet having a composition comprising 71.3 mol% SiO2, 11.9 mol% B2O3, 11.9 mol% Al2O3, 2.5 mol% MgO, and 2.5 mol% Na2O, resulting in a total amount of SiO2, B2O3, and Al2O3 of 95.1 mol% and a total of R2O and RO, wherein R is Li, Na, K, Mg, Ca, Sr, and Ba of 5 mol%, which meets the instant limitations (Table 1, Example 3). Given that the composition is the same as that claimed, the glass sheet of Murata would exhibit the claimed properties and CTE. Regarding claim 7, since the composition of Example 3 in Table 1 does not contain any iron, the limitations of claim 7 are met. Concerning claim 12, the glass sheet is used as part of a window glass, windshield, and the like (para. 0088).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (JP 2020-097506).
Murata discloses the glass composition is used to form sheets and other articles for a variety of different applications (para. 0088). Given that the different applications as disclosed by Murata would require different thicknesses for the glass sheet or article, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce a sheet or article having any thickness, including the claimed thickness for the desired application design requirements.
Claims 9, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (JP 2020-097506) in view of Bhatia et al. (WO 2020/106486).
Murata discloses the above, including the glass sheet is used in producing window glass, and cover glass which is an exterior facing glass (para. 0088). However, Murata is silent to the claimed infrared reflection coating.
Bhatia discloses an automotive window laminate formed from glass ceramic sheets having similar compositions and an interlayer therebetween. With respect to claims 9, 17, and 20, an IR reflecting film can be disposed on or above the glass ceramic sheets as claimed (FIGS. 3-5; para. 0071-0076). The structure as shown by Bhatia allows for reducing IR/NIR transmittance by tuning the transmittance profile (para. 0071). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an IR reflecting coating to the glass sheet of Murata.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (JP 2020-097506) in view of Stiles Basic Glass Guide (Hereafter “Stiles Guide”).
Murata discloses the glass sheet is used in producing window glass, and cover glass which is an exterior facing glass (para. 0088). However, Murata is silent to the claimed laminate.
The Stiles Guide discloses a laminate glass comprising two sheets of glass with an interlayer therebetween, wherein forming the laminate of two sheets, one of which can be a glass sheet as disclosed by Murata and a second glass sheet with an interlayer allows for producing a safety glass for vehicles such as windshields and windows that stay intact after impact (p. 6). As such, for safety purposes, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide an interlayer and second glass sheet to form a glass laminate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-8, filed 8/12/2026, with respect to the art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 103 rejections of the claims under Bressler, Kiczenski, Bhatia have been withdrawn. However, Bhatia is still applicable as shown above as a secondary reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783