DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the application filed on 4/26/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Panter et al. (US 20240427362).
Regarding claim 1: Panter et al. a power conversion circuit (i.e. figures 1A and 2), comprising:
a first input circuit (i.e. 110), configured to receive a first input voltage (i.e. VSUP1) through a first input terminal (i.e. terminal of 110);
a second input circuit (i.e. circuit includes 218, 220, 222, 224), configured to receive a second input voltage (i.e. VSUP2) through a second input terminal (i.e. terminal of 108),
wherein the first input voltage (i.e. VSUP1) is higher than the second input voltage (i.e. VSUP2) (i.e. ¶ 22-24);
a linear regulator (i.e. 106), configured to receive the first input voltage (i.e. VSUP1) or the second input voltage (i.e. VSUP2) to output an output voltage (i.e. VOUT_LDO);
a switch (i.e. 126 or 128), having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled (i.e. electrically coupled) to the first input circuit (i.e. 110), and the second terminal is coupled (i.e. electrically coupled) to the second input circuit (i.e. 108) and the linear regulator (i.e. 106); and
a switch control circuit (i.e. control circuit of 1A and 2), configured to output a control signal (i.e. from 116) to open the switch (i.e. 126 or 128) when receiving the second input voltage (i.e. VSUP2) that reaches a predetermined level (i.e. predetermined threshold), so that the first input circuit (i.e. 110) is disconnected (i.e. switch 126 OFF) from the linear regulator (i.e. 106), and the linear regulator (i.e. 106) outputs the output voltage (i.e. VOUT_LDO) according to the second input voltage (i.e. VSUP2) (i.e. ¶ 22-24 and 29-32).
Regarding claim 8: (i.e. figures 1A and 2) wherein the linear regulator is a low dropout linear regulator (i.e. 106).
Regarding claim 10: (i.e. figures 1A and 2) wherein when the second input voltage (i.e. VSUP2) is interrupted or has not reached the predetermined level (i.e. predetermined threshold), the switch control circuit short-circuits (i.e. control circuit of 1A and 2) the switch (i.e. 126 or 128) to reconnect the first input circuit (i.e. terminal of 110) and the linear regulator (i.e. 106), so that the linear regulator (i.e. 106) outputs the output voltage (i.e. VOUT_LDO) according to the first input voltage (i.e. VSUP1) (i.e. ¶ 22-24 and 29-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panter et al. (US 20240427362) in view of Kayama (US 20140145504).
Regarding claim 2: Panter et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose a voltage conversion circuit, configured to convert the first input voltage into the second input voltage, and output the second input voltage to the switch control circuit.
Kayama disclose circuit a voltage conversion circuit (i.e. figure 5), configured to convert the first input voltage (i.e. Vin) into the second input voltage (i.e. voltage at DDOUT2), and output the second input voltage (i.e. DDOUTT2) to the switch control circuit (i.e. provide to circuit R3, MP2, MP3 of circuit 12141).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Panter et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Kayama to employ a high-efficiency DC-DC converter to generate an almost constant DC voltage.
Regarding claim 3: Panter et al. disclose (i.e. figures 1A and 2) wherein the switch control circuit comprises: a test circuit (i.e. circuit includes 226), configured to output an enable signal (i.e. Rep_Sup2) when determining that the second input voltage (i.e. VSUP2) has reached the predetermined level (i.e. predetermined threshold); and a control circuit (i.e. control circuit of 1A and 2), configured to receive the enable signal (i.e. Rep_Sup2) and output the control signal (i.e. from 116) (i.e. ¶ 38-42).
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panter et al. (US 20240427362) in view of Huang (US 20110127984).
Regarding claim 7: Panter et al. discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first input circuit is a first diode, wherein an anode of the first diode is configured as the first input terminal, and a cathode of the first diode is coupled to the first terminal of the switch; and the second input circuit is a second diode, wherein an anode of the second diode is configured as the second input terminal, and a cathode of the second diode is coupled to the second terminal of the switch.
Huang discloses a circuit (i.e. figure 2) comprising the first input circuit is a first diode (i.e. D1), wherein an anode of the first diode is configured as the first input terminal (i.e. terminal of D1), and a cathode of the first diode (i.e. D1) is coupled to the first terminal of the switch (i.e. Q1); and the second input circuit is a second diode (i.e. D2), wherein an anode of the second diode is configured as the second input terminal (i.e. terminal of D2), and a cathode of the second diode is coupled to the second terminal of the switch (i.e. Q1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Panter et al.’s invention with the circuit as disclose by Huang to provide efficient power management capability.
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panter et al. (US 20240427362) in view of Yannaguchi (US 6060789).
Regarding claim 9: Panter et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose a third input circuit, configured to receive a third input voltage through a third input terminal, wherein the first input voltage is higher than the third input voltage, and the third input voltage is higher than the second input voltage.
Yannaguchi disclose a power supply (i.e. figure 2) comprising a third input circuit (i.e. circuit for 203), configured to receive a third input voltage (i.e. from 203) through a third input terminal, wherein the first input voltage (i.e. from 201) is higher than the third input voltage (i.e. from 203), and the third input voltage (i.e. from 203) is higher than the second input voltage (i.e. 204) (i.e. voltage from 201 is 5V, the series voltage from battery 203 and 204 is 6 V total. Overtime the voltage from battery 204 may be lower than the voltage 203. Therefore, the first input voltage is higher than the third input voltage and the third input voltage is higher than the second input voltage) (i.e. Col. 5 through 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Panter et al.’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Yannaguchi so that the voltage of an external power source for the portable device can be supplied to the portable device without causing dissipation of the built-in batteries if the voltage of the external power source for the portable device, although lower than the voltage of the built-in batteries, is not lower than a fixed level.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838