DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "110" (in Fig. 11) and "1100" (Fig. 12) have both been used to designate feedback path. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “feed forward path” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims 8 and 26. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 11, line 17, “transducers 106A and 106B” should be “LC filters 106A and 106B”
In page 13, line 25, “transducers 106A and 106B” should be “LC filters 106A and 106B”
In page 14, line 4-5, “transducers 106A and 106B” should be “LC filters 106A and 106B”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims mention that “feed forward path that calculates the differential power of the plurality of channel switching amplifiers”, however, the specification does not clearly define what the feed forward path is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over EDN (LM2896 Car Audio Amplifier Circuit), in view of HESTORE (TDA7377).
Figure I: Figure 1 of EDN annotated by the Examiner and used in the rejection below.
Regarding claim 1, EDN teaches a first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) for driving a first transducer (top SPKR) with a first voltage (output voltage of IC1A) having a first positive polarity and a first negative polarity; and a second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) for driving a second transducer (bottom SPKR) with a second voltage (output of IC1B) having a second positive polarity and a second negative polarity. EDN also teaches a feedback path (4) coupled to the common terminal (node 1) wherein the feedback path (4) is utilized to isolate the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) from each other and ensure a flat frequency response of the system (the isolation of IC1A and IC1B is achieved via capacitors C2, C6, C9 and C11, therefore ensuring flat frequency response of the system); and a signal processor (3) that processes a first input signal (1) from the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A), a second input signal (2) from the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B), and a feedback signal from the feedback path (4) to control a voltage range of the common terminal (node 1).
EDN does not teach a capacitor having a first terminal and a second terminal wherein the first terminal is coupled to a common terminal coupled to the first negative polarity and wherein the second terminal is coupled to a ground.
HESTORE teaches a shared capacitor in page 10 Figure 21. HESTORE teaches a capacitor having a first terminal and a second terminal wherein the first terminal is coupled to a common terminal and the second terminal coupled to a ground and it is obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have opposite polarities of two loads (in this case two SPKRs) connected to each other when the loads are connected in series.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the car audio amplifier taught by EDN to replace the ground connections on the feedback path (ground on either ends of 4) with a shared capacitor connected to ground, as taught by HESTORE, to provide short circuit protection.
Regarding Claim 2, EDN teaches a signal processor (3) receives the first input signal (1), the second input signal (2), and the feedback signal (signal on 4) and wherein the signal processor (3) is configured to modify the first input signal (1) into the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second input signal into the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B)to regulate a common mode signal at the common terminal (node 1).
Regarding claim 3, the common mode signal is a common mode voltage ( the common mode signal of EDN has a common mode voltage evidenced by the 16V notation on the common signal line).
Regarding claim 4, EDN teaches a signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers is a differential power of the first channel switching amplifier and the second channel switching amplifier that drive the first transducer and the second transducer, respectively (the common mode signal or the feedback signal, carried by 4, enter the channel switching amplifier).
Regarding claim 5, EDN teaches the signal processor is further configured to modify the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers (via isolation capacitors C1 and C14) to regulate a common mode signal (signal carried by 4) or the differential power of the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B).
Regarding Claim 6, EDN does not explicitly teach that the plurality of channel switching amplifiers further comprise one or more additional channel switching amplifiers each having respective input signals that isolate the various channel switching amplifiers from each other and ensure a flat frequency response. However, the switching amplifier pair (IC1A and IC1B) with their respective loads (114A and 114B) can be duplicated and incorporated into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the invention by integrating one or more component claim elements contained in the claims (channel switching amplifiers and transducers) into one integrated claim element (signal processor) wherein each component claim element continues to serve the same function. In the integration, each component claim element, would merely have performed the same function as it did previously, and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have recognized that the results of the integration were predictable. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI)(B).
Regarding claim 7, Figure I of EDN above teaches that a signal being driven into the one or more additional channel switching amplifiers (similar to IC1A and IC1B) is a differential power (carried by 4) of the one or more additional channel switching amplifiers that drive the transducers (SPKRs).
Regarding Claim 10, EDN teaches that the signal processor (3) is further configured to modify (via isolation capacitors C1 and C14) a signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers to regulate a common mode signal (carried by 4) or the differential power of the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Claims 17 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over EDN, in view of HESTORE.
Regarding claim 17, EDN teaches a signal processor (3) that receives a first input signal (output of IC1A) from a first channel switching (IC1A) amplifier of a multi-channel amplifier and a second input signal (output of IC1B) from a second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) of the multi-channel amplifier.
EDN does not teach that the first channel switching amplifier and the second channel switching amplifier share a capacitor that has a first terminal coupled to a common terminal that is coupled to a first negative polarity of the first channel switching amplifier and a second positive polarity of the second channel switching amplifier and a second terminal that is coupled to a ground.
HESTORE teaches the first channel switching amplifier and the second channel switching amplifiers share a capacitor that has a first terminal coupled to a common terminal and a second terminal that is coupled to a ground and it is obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have opposite polarities of two loads (in this case two SPKRs) connected to each other when the loads are connected in series.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the car audio amplifier taught by EDN to replace the ground connections on the feedback path (ground on either ends of 4) with a shared capacitor connected to ground, as taught by HESTORE, to provide short circuit protection.
Regarding claim 19, EDN teaches a method, in a system having a plurality of channel switching amplifiers (IC1A and IC1B) including a first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) for driving a first transducer (top SPKR) with a first voltage having a first positive polarity and a first negative polarity and a second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) for driving a second transducer (bottom SPKR) with a second voltage having a second positive polarity and a second negative polarity. EDN also teaches the method comprising: isolating, with a feedback path (4) coupled to the common terminal (node 1), the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) from each other to ensure a flat frequency response of the system (the isolation is achieved via capacitors C2, C6, C9 and C11, therefore ensuring flat frequency response of the system);); and controlling a voltage range of the common terminal (node 1) by processing a first input signal from the first channel switching amplifier, a second input signal from the second channel switching amplifier, and a feedback signal.
EDN does not teach a capacitor having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to a common terminal coupled to the first negative polarity and the second positive polarity and wherein the second terminal is coupled to a ground. HESTORE teaches a shared capacitor in page 10 Figure 21.
HESTORE teaches a capacitor having a first terminal and a second terminal wherein the first terminal is coupled to a common terminal and the second terminal coupled to a ground and it is obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to have opposite polarities of two loads (in this case two SPKRs) connected to each other when the loads are connected in series.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the car audio amplifier taught by EDN to incorporate a shared capacitor taught by HESTORE to provide short circuit protection.
Regarding claim 20, EDN teaches receiving the first input signal (1) , the second input signal (2), and the feedback signal (into 3); and modifying the first input signal into the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second input signal into the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) to regulate a common mode signal (carried by 4) at the common terminal (node 1).
Regarding claim 21, EDN teaches that the common mode signal is a common mode voltage ( the common mode signal of EDN has a common mode voltage evidenced by the 16V notation on the common signal line).
Regarding claim 22, EDN teaches a signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers is a differential power (common mode signal carried by 4) of the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) that drive the first transducer (top SPKR) and the second transducer (bottom SPKR), respectively.
Regarding claim 23, EDN teaches modifying the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers (1,2 and 4 driven into 3) to regulate a common mode signal or the differential power (signal carried by 4) of the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B).
Regarding Claim 24, EDN does not explicitly teach a method where the plurality of channel switching amplifiers further comprise one or more additional channel switching amplifiers each having respective input signals that isolate the various channel switching amplifiers from each other and ensure a flat frequency response. However, the switching amplifier pair (IC1A and IC1B) with their respective loads (114A and 114B) can be duplicated and incorporated into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the invention by integrating one or more component claim elements contained in the claims (channel switching amplifiers and transducers) into one integrated claim element (signal processor) wherein each component claim element continues to serve the same function. In the integration, each component claim element, would merely have performed the same function as it did previously, and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have recognized that the results of the integration were predictable. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI)(B).
Regarding claim 25, Figure I above teaches that a signal being driven into the one or more additional channel switching amplifiers (similar to IC1A and IC1B) is a differential power (carried by 4) of the one or more additional channel switching amplifiers that drive the transducers (SPKRs).
Regarding claim 28, EDN teaches that the signal processor (3) is further configured to modify (via isolation capacitors C1 and C14) a signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers to regulate a common mode signal (carried by 4) or the differential power of the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 35 EDN teaches receiving a first input signal (1) from a first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) of a multi-channel amplifier and a second input signal (2) from a second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) of the multi-channel amplifier. EDN also teaches modifying the first input signal (1) into the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second input signal (2) into the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) to regulate a common mode (carried by 4) signal at the common terminal (node 1). EDN also teaches modifying the first input signal (1) into the first channel switching amplifier (IC1A) and the second input signal (2) into the second channel switching amplifier (IC1B) to regulate a common mode signal (carried by 4) at the common terminal (node 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11-16, 18, 27, 29 – 34, and 36 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 9:
The prior art references do not teach a differential filter that receives a return control signal from the signal processor and that operates to calculate the differential power of the plurality of channel switching amplifiers
Regarding Claim 11:
The prior art references do not teach that the signal processor is further configured to modify the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by compression to a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers
Regarding Claim 12:
The prior art references do not teach that the signal processor is further configured to modify the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by expansion to a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 13:
The prior art references do not teach that the signal processor is further configured to modify the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by modifying one or more filters on a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 16:
The prior art references do not teach that the signal processor is further configured to modify the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by adding signals into a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 18:
The prior art references do not teach that the common voltage signal is a voltage in a voltage range or a current in a current range for the common terminal and is modified to improve an efficiency of the multi-channel amplifier.
Regarding Claim 27:
The prior art references do not teach a method comprising calculating, with a differential filter that receives a return control signal, the differential power of the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 29:
The prior art references do not teach a method comprising modifying the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by compression to a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 30:
The prior art references do not teach a method comprising modifying the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by expansion to a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 31:
The prior art references do not teach a method comprising modifying the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by modifying one or more filters on a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 32:
The prior art references do not teach a method comprising a channel switching amplifier that has low frequency signals, adding one or more high frequency signals for regulating the common mode signal.
Regarding Claim 34:
The prior art references do not teach a method comprising modifying the signal being driven into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers by adding signals into a playback signal into the plurality of channel switching amplifiers.
Regarding Claim 36:
The prior art references do not teach a method comprising modifying the common mode signal, wherein the common mode signal is a voltage in a voltage range or a current in a current range for the common terminal and is modified to improve an efficiency of the multi-channel amplifier.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Yasuda (US-20070024364-A1) teaches one common terminal and the output terminals of left and right channels
Johnson (US-6181796-B1) teaches a capacitor connected at a node that is between two transducers
Kato (US-4982435-A) teaches an automatic loudness control circuit
Norgaard (US-4443889-A) teaches left and right channel signals with a common or ground reference conductor
Rorbaek (US-3251942-A) teaches a circuit for adding artificial reverberation to a signal comprising two amplifier channels having substantially the same amplifying factor
Conclusion
/AHMED RAYEED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/Jessica Han/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843