Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “discharge a capacitor across a transformer; measure a voltage across the capacitor; and determine a health of the transformer based on the measured voltage.” is unclear. It is not clear how a voltage is determined if the capacitor is discharged. It is not clear when is the voltage measured. Is the voltage measured after discharging the capacitor or before? If as the claim recites, at first discharge the capacitor which has a scope of completely discharging the capacitor (i.e., it's now 0 volts). If the voltage is measured after discharge, it's going to be 0 volts, so it's not clear how this voltage is used to determine transformer health. It is not clear also how the health of the transformer is determined and what steps are used to determine the health of the transformer. Therefore, the claim limitation is not clear. Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Independent claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because of the same reason as stated above for independent claim 1.
Claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of its dependence from claims 1, 9 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Perchlik et al. (Hereinafter, “Perchlik”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170288558 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Perchlik teaches a system (A method can be provided for discharging an output capacitor in an adaptable power supply wherein discharging occurs using the secondary windings of a transformer; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-4; FIG. 3 is a power supply, according to another embodiment, wherein a synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit cooperate to activate a switch so as to discharge an output capacitor through a secondary winding of a transformer; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-5; FIG. 5 is a power supply, according to another embodiment, wherein discharge control circuitry is separated from a synchronous rectifier, and wherein both cooperate to activate a switch so as to discharge an output capacitor through a secondary winding of a transformer; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-5) comprising:
a transformer [360] in Figure 3/ [518] in Figure 5 (a transformer 518; Paragraph [0027] Line 7-8);
a capacitor [342] in Figure 3/ [530] in Figure 5 (an output capacitor 530; Paragraph [0027] Line 9); and
control circuitry [310] in Figure 3 (The power supply circuit 300 includes a microcontroller unit (MCU) 310, but any type of controller or processor can be used, including but not limited to a signal processor, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control and processing logic circuitry; Paragraph [0024] Line 4-8)/ [590] in Figure 5 ( A synchronous rectifier control circuit 590 can be a standard Integrated Circuit (IC), such as the GreenChip synchronous rectifier controller available from NXP®. Such an IC can be used to generate a flyback control signal 592 to turn OFF the switch 540 when the circuit 590 detects a zero crossing in the secondary windings 520; Paragraph [0028] Line 12-18) configured to:
discharge the capacitor [342/530] across the transformer [360/518] (The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342; Paragraph [0024] Line 16-19; The output of the combinatorial logic 580 is a discharge signal 582 that is used to maintain the switch 540 activated during a portion of the flyback mode to discharge the capacitor 530; Paragraph [0028] Line 9-12; 3. The method of paragraph 1 or 2, further including logically combining the activation signal with a flyback control signal from a synchronous rectifier control circuit so as to ensure that the output node is discharged through the secondary winding; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5);
measure a voltage [330/560] across the capacitor [342/530] (Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged; Paragraph [0024] Line 23-25; An output voltage detection circuit 550 can include a voltage divider 552 and a comparator 554. The voltage divider 552 is coupled to an output voltage bus 560 that provides an output of the power supply 500.; Paragraph [0027] Line 10-14; 4. The method of any preceding paragraph, further including monitoring a voltage level on the output node to generate a monitoring signal; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Paragraph [0062]); and
determine a health of the transformer based on the measured voltage (9. The power supply of paragraph 8, wherein the control circuitry includes zero-crossing circuitry that detects when the secondary windings have a threshold voltage and wherein the controlling of the switch is dependent on whether the secondary windings are at or below the threshold voltage; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-6; By determining the voltage of the transformer health is determined; Generally, the current flows from the transformer 180 through the sync FET 170 to charge the capacitor 140. However, the flyback current flows in the opposite direction, sometimes due to voltage spikes or other anomalies. The synchronous rectifier 160 can monitor a voltage level on a secondary winding of the transformer 180 and deactivate the sync FET 170 accordingly so as to prevent any flyback currents from occurring; Paragraph [0004] Line 13-18; Flyback current is determined to determine the voltage spikes or other anomaly because from the fly back current it can be determined if there is any anomaly and therefore by determining the fly back current the health of the transformer is determined).
Regarding claim 2, Perchlik teaches a system,
wherein the control circuitry is configured to:
measure the voltage across the capacitor by measuring a first voltage (block [710] in Figure 7) across the capacitor [530] before the capacitor [530] is discharged and measuring a second voltage across the capacitor after a predetermined amount of time [730]; and determine the health of the transformer based on a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage [740] (In any of the examples herein, methods can be provided for discharging an output capacitor in an adaptable power supply. In process block 710, an output voltage is powered to a first voltage level. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 5, current from the secondary windings 520 can flow in a first direction through the switch 540 to the output capacitor 530. The power supply can operate for any desired duration in association with process block 710. At some point, while operating, the power supply receives a control signal (process block 720) to change the output voltage from the first voltage level to a second, lower voltage level. In one example, the voltage can be changing from 10V to 3V, but any voltage levels can be used. The control signal can be a communication channel received through a cable wherein a protocol is used to determine what voltage level the power supply is switching to, such as is available in USB type-C. Other protocols and standards can be used. Similarly, there can be a plurality of possible voltage levels. Returning to the example of FIG. 5, the adapted voltage control signal 562 can be considered the control signal. In process block 730, a change is detected in voltage in the secondary windings sufficient to initiate a flyback current. The change in voltage can be detected by comparing the voltage across the secondary windings to a reference voltage. For example, in the zero-crossing detection circuit 570 of FIG. 5, the secondary winding voltage 574 is compared to a reference voltage of ground. The flyback current is generally in a direction that is opposite the first direction and is typically undesirable. However, in process block 740, the switch is activated using a discharge signal to allow the flyback current to continue to flow through the secondary windings to discharge the output voltage. If the switch is already activated when the discharge signal becomes active, then activation of the switch includes ensuring that the switch continue to be activated. The switch can be deactivated or opened after the output voltage drops below a threshold level so as to prevent further current to pass through the secondary windings. For example, the output voltage detection circuit 550 of FIG. 5 goes low after the output voltage drops. An offset can be used on the adaptable voltage control 562 to establish the threshold level. It should be noted that if the output voltage is transitioning from a high voltage level to a low voltage level, then the above described method is applied. However, if the output voltage is transitioning from a low voltage level to a high voltage level, then the switch is not activated any differently than a normal synchronous rectifier control circuit. For example, returning to FIG. 5, if the output voltage detection circuit detects that the output is already low, then the discharge signal 582 is never activated. Thus, the switch 540 is only activated for the additional period when the voltage is transitioning from high to low; Paragraph [0031]; Figure 7 shows the steps of determining the first voltage and second voltage then depending on the voltage the flyback current is determined why can be used to determine the health of the transformer).
Regarding claim 3, Perchlik teaches a system,
wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on a time constant of a current loop comprising the transformer [518] and the capacitor [530] (The timing diagram of FIG. 4 is also an accurate illustration of the timing of the circuit of FIG. 5. More specifically, an output of the OR gate 594 is the same as signal 420, FIG. 4; Paragraph [0027] Line 26-29; a discharge control circuit extends a period of time, shown at 430, that the switch 350 remains activated (i.e., closed or ON) so that the capacitor 342 can discharge. The period of time 430 can be a predetermined period of time or it can be based on monitoring the output voltage bus 330 and when that voltage drops below a threshold, the switch 350 can be deactivated to prevent any further current from passing in a reverse direction through the secondary winding 360; Paragraph [0025] Line 10-18).
Regarding claim 4, Perchlik teaches a system,
wherein: the control circuitry is configured to determine an amount of time that the capacitor takes to fully discharge; and the control circuitry is configured to determine the health of the transformer based on the amount of time that the capacitor takes to fully discharge (FIG. 4 shows an example timing diagram 400 illustrating control of the switch 350 by the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 of FIG. 3. As shown at 410, a synchronous rectifier portion of the circuit 340 activates the switch 350 during a period of time when the capacitor 342 is charging. However, on a falling edge 412, the synchronous rectifier portion desires to prevent a flyback mode wherein current passes through the secondary winding as shown by arrow 370. So as to override the typical operation of the synchronous rectifier portion, a discharge control circuit extends a period of time, shown at 430, that the switch 350 remains activated (i.e., closed or ON) so that the capacitor 342 can discharge. The period of time 430 can be a predetermined period of time or it can be based on monitoring the output voltage bus 330 and when that voltage drops below a threshold, the switch 350 can be deactivated to prevent any further current from passing in a reverse direction through the secondary winding 360; Paragraph [0025]; FIG. 3 is a specific example of a power supply circuit 300 that is used for a USB type-C connector. Notably, the resistor 150, discharge FET 130 and Pass FET of FIG. 1 are not used in the FIG. 3 embodiment. The power supply circuit 300 includes a microcontroller unit (MCU) 310, but any type of controller or processor can be used, including but not limited to a signal processor, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control and processing logic circuitry. The MCU 310 monitors a control line 320 that selects between high or low voltage levels for an output voltage bus 330. The MCU 310 communicates with a combined synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 to indicate a change in voltage levels is occurring. The MCU can also communicate a current state of the output voltage bus 330, so that the circuitry 340 knows whether discharging of the output voltage bus (i.e., the capacitor 342) is required. The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342. There are numerous methods to control the timing. For example, the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 can wait a predetermined period of time after receiving a state change signal from the MCU 310 to keep the FET 350 open. Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged. Still further, the circuit 340 can receive a second signal from the MCU 310 when to open the FET so that discharging no longer occurs. In each of these cases, some period of time is required to allow the switch 350 to stay closed during a flyback mode wherein discharge current is passing through a secondary winding 360 in a direction shown by arrow 370 (labeled “discharge path”). Current passing in this so-called reverse direction is typically undesirable and is prevented using the switch 350. However, in this embodiment, the switch 350 remains activated during the flyback mode so that charge from the capacitor 342 can pass back to the secondary winding 360 and then to the primary winding for storage; Paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Perchlik teaches a system, further comprising:
a plurality of switches [510, CONTROL & 540] in Figure 5,
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: closing a switch [350]/540 to discharge the capacitor across the transformer after a predetermined amount of time has passed after closing the switch, opening the switch and closing a different switch such that the capacitor stops discharging (The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342. There are numerous methods to control the timing. For example, the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 can wait a predetermined period of time after receiving a state change signal from the MCU 310 to keep the FET 350 open. Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged. Still further, the circuit 340 can receive a second signal from the MCU 310 when to open the FET so that discharging no longer occurs. In each of these cases, some period of time is required to allow the switch 350 to stay closed during a flyback mode wherein discharge current is passing through a secondary winding 360 in a direction shown by arrow 370 (labeled “discharge path”). Current passing in this so-called reverse direction is typically undesirable and is prevented using the switch 350. However, in this embodiment, the switch 350 remains activated during the flyback mode so that charge from the capacitor 342 can pass back to the secondary winding 360 and then to the primary winding for storage; Paragraph [0024] Line 14-37; Current is induced in a secondary winding 520 of the transformer and charges an output capacitor 530 with a switch 540 closed to allow a charging current to flow. An output voltage detection circuit 550 can include a voltage divider 552 and a comparator 554. The voltage divider 552 is coupled to an output voltage bus 560 that provides an output of the power supply 500. The comparator 554 has two inputs: a positive input is coupled to an intermediate tap point in the voltage divider 552 to provide an input voltage level that is associated with the output voltage on the voltage bus 560. A second, negative input is an adaptable voltage control signal 562 that indicates whether a voltage level of the power supply 500 is switching to a different voltage level on the output voltage bus 560; Paragraph [0027] Line 8-20).
Regarding claim 9, Perchlik teaches a method (A method can be provided for discharging an output capacitor in an adaptable power supply wherein discharging occurs using the secondary windings of a transformer; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-4; FIG. 3 is a power supply, according to another embodiment, wherein a synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit cooperate to activate a switch so as to discharge an output capacitor through a secondary winding of a transformer; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-5; FIG. 5 is a power supply, according to another embodiment, wherein discharge control circuitry is separated from a synchronous rectifier, and wherein both cooperate to activate a switch so as to discharge an output capacitor through a secondary winding of a transformer; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-5) comprising:
discharging a capacitor [342] in Figure 3/ [530] in Figure 5 (an output capacitor 530; Paragraph [0027] Line 9) across a transformer [360] in Figure 3/ [518] in Figure 5 (a transformer 518; Paragraph [0027] Line 7-8; The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342; Paragraph [0024] Line 16-19; The output of the combinatorial logic 580 is a discharge signal 582 that is used to maintain the switch 540 activated during a portion of the flyback mode to discharge the capacitor 530; Paragraph [0028] Line 9-12; 3. The method of paragraph 1 or 2, further including logically combining the activation signal with a flyback control signal from a synchronous rectifier control circuit so as to ensure that the output node is discharged through the secondary winding; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5);
measuring a voltage [330/560] across the capacitor [342/530] (Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged; Paragraph [0024] Line 23-25; An output voltage detection circuit 550 can include a voltage divider 552 and a comparator 554. The voltage divider 552 is coupled to an output voltage bus 560 that provides an output of the power supply 500.; Paragraph [0027] Line 10-14; 4. The method of any preceding paragraph, further including monitoring a voltage level on the output node to generate a monitoring signal; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Paragraph [0062]); and
determining a health of the transformer based on the measured voltage (9. The power supply of paragraph 8, wherein the control circuitry includes zero-crossing circuitry that detects when the secondary windings have a threshold voltage and wherein the controlling of the switch is dependent on whether the secondary windings are at or below the threshold voltage; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-6; By determining the voltage of the transformer health is determined; Generally, the current flows from the transformer 180 through the sync FET 170 to charge the capacitor 140. However, the flyback current flows in the opposite direction, sometimes due to voltage spikes or other anomalies. The synchronous rectifier 160 can monitor a voltage level on a secondary winding of the transformer 180 and deactivate the sync FET 170 accordingly so as to prevent any flyback currents from occurring; Paragraph [0004] Line 13-18; Flyback current is determined to determine the voltage spikes or other anomaly because from the fly back current it can be determined if there is any anomaly and therefore by determining the fly back current the health of the transformer is determined).
Regarding claim 10, Perchlik teaches a method,
measuring the voltage across the capacitor comprises measuring a first voltage (block [710] in Figure 7) across the capacitor [530] before the capacitor [530] is discharged and measuring a second voltage across the capacitor after a predetermined amount of time [730]; and determine the health of the transformer based on a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage [740] (In any of the examples herein, methods can be provided for discharging an output capacitor in an adaptable power supply. In process block 710, an output voltage is powered to a first voltage level. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 5, current from the secondary windings 520 can flow in a first direction through the switch 540 to the output capacitor 530. The power supply can operate for any desired duration in association with process block 710. At some point, while operating, the power supply receives a control signal (process block 720) to change the output voltage from the first voltage level to a second, lower voltage level. In one example, the voltage can be changing from 10V to 3V, but any voltage levels can be used. The control signal can be a communication channel received through a cable wherein a protocol is used to determine what voltage level the power supply is switching to, such as is available in USB type-C. Other protocols and standards can be used. Similarly, there can be a plurality of possible voltage levels. Returning to the example of FIG. 5, the adapted voltage control signal 562 can be considered the control signal. In process block 730, a change is detected in voltage in the secondary windings sufficient to initiate a flyback current. The change in voltage can be detected by comparing the voltage across the secondary windings to a reference voltage. For example, in the zero-crossing detection circuit 570 of FIG. 5, the secondary winding voltage 574 is compared to a reference voltage of ground. The flyback current is generally in a direction that is opposite the first direction and is typically undesirable. However, in process block 740, the switch is activated using a discharge signal to allow the flyback current to continue to flow through the secondary windings to discharge the output voltage. If the switch is already activated when the discharge signal becomes active, then activation of the switch includes ensuring that the switch continue to be activated. The switch can be deactivated or opened after the output voltage drops below a threshold level so as to prevent further current to pass through the secondary windings. For example, the output voltage detection circuit 550 of FIG. 5 goes low after the output voltage drops. An offset can be used on the adaptable voltage control 562 to establish the threshold level. It should be noted that if the output voltage is transitioning from a high voltage level to a low voltage level, then the above described method is applied. However, if the output voltage is transitioning from a low voltage level to a high voltage level, then the switch is not activated any differently than a normal synchronous rectifier control circuit. For example, returning to FIG. 5, if the output voltage detection circuit detects that the output is already low, then the discharge signal 582 is never activated. Thus, the switch 540 is only activated for the additional period when the voltage is transitioning from high to low; Paragraph [0031]; Figure 7 shows the steps of determining the first voltage and second voltage then depending on the voltage the flyback current is determined why can be used to determine the health of the transformer).
Regarding claim 11, Perchlik teaches a method,
wherein the predetermined amount of time is based on a time constant of a current loop comprising the transformer [518] and the capacitor [530] (The timing diagram of FIG. 4 is also an accurate illustration of the timing of the circuit of FIG. 5. More specifically, an output of the OR gate 594 is the same as signal 420, FIG. 4; Paragraph [0027] Line 26-29; a discharge control circuit extends a period of time, shown at 430, that the switch 350 remains activated (i.e., closed or ON) so that the capacitor 342 can discharge. The period of time 430 can be a predetermined period of time or it can be based on monitoring the output voltage bus 330 and when that voltage drops below a threshold, the switch 350 can be deactivated to prevent any further current from passing in a reverse direction through the secondary winding 360; Paragraph [0025] Line 10-18).
Regarding claim 12, Perchlik teaches a method,
determining an amount of time that the capacitor takes to fully discharge; wherein determining the health of the transformer based on the amount of time that the capacitor takes to fully discharge (FIG. 4 shows an example timing diagram 400 illustrating control of the switch 350 by the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 of FIG. 3. As shown at 410, a synchronous rectifier portion of the circuit 340 activates the switch 350 during a period of time when the capacitor 342 is charging. However, on a falling edge 412, the synchronous rectifier portion desires to prevent a flyback mode wherein current passes through the secondary winding as shown by arrow 370. So as to override the typical operation of the synchronous rectifier portion, a discharge control circuit extends a period of time, shown at 430, that the switch 350 remains activated (i.e., closed or ON) so that the capacitor 342 can discharge. The period of time 430 can be a predetermined period of time or it can be based on monitoring the output voltage bus 330 and when that voltage drops below a threshold, the switch 350 can be deactivated to prevent any further current from passing in a reverse direction through the secondary winding 360; Paragraph [0025]; FIG. 3 is a specific example of a power supply circuit 300 that is used for a USB type-C connector. Notably, the resistor 150, discharge FET 130 and Pass FET of FIG. 1 are not used in the FIG. 3 embodiment. The power supply circuit 300 includes a microcontroller unit (MCU) 310, but any type of controller or processor can be used, including but not limited to a signal processor, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control and processing logic circuitry. The MCU 310 monitors a control line 320 that selects between high or low voltage levels for an output voltage bus 330. The MCU 310 communicates with a combined synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 to indicate a change in voltage levels is occurring. The MCU can also communicate a current state of the output voltage bus 330, so that the circuitry 340 knows whether discharging of the output voltage bus (i.e., the capacitor 342) is required. The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342. There are numerous methods to control the timing. For example, the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 can wait a predetermined period of time after receiving a state change signal from the MCU 310 to keep the FET 350 open. Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged. Still further, the circuit 340 can receive a second signal from the MCU 310 when to open the FET so that discharging no longer occurs. In each of these cases, some period of time is required to allow the switch 350 to stay closed during a flyback mode wherein discharge current is passing through a secondary winding 360 in a direction shown by arrow 370 (labeled “discharge path”). Current passing in this so-called reverse direction is typically undesirable and is prevented using the switch 350. However, in this embodiment, the switch 350 remains activated during the flyback mode so that charge from the capacitor 342 can pass back to the secondary winding 360 and then to the primary winding for storage; Paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 14, Perchlik teaches a method, further comprising:
closing a switch to discharge the capacitor across the transformer; and
after a predetermined amount of time has passed after closing the switch, opening the switch and closing a different switch such that the capacitor stops discharging (The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342. There are numerous methods to control the timing. For example, the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 can wait a predetermined period of time after receiving a state change signal from the MCU 310 to keep the FET 350 open. Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged. Still further, the circuit 340 can receive a second signal from the MCU 310 when to open the FET so that discharging no longer occurs. In each of these cases, some period of time is required to allow the switch 350 to stay closed during a flyback mode wherein discharge current is passing through a secondary winding 360 in a direction shown by arrow 370 (labeled “discharge path”). Current passing in this so-called reverse direction is typically undesirable and is prevented using the switch 350. However, in this embodiment, the switch 350 remains activated during the flyback mode so that charge from the capacitor 342 can pass back to the secondary winding 360 and then to the primary winding for storage; Paragraph [0024] Line 14-37; Current is induced in a secondary winding 520 of the transformer and charges an output capacitor 530 with a switch 540 closed to allow a charging current to flow. An output voltage detection circuit 550 can include a voltage divider 552 and a comparator 554. The voltage divider 552 is coupled to an output voltage bus 560 that provides an output of the power supply 500. The comparator 554 has two inputs: a positive input is coupled to an intermediate tap point in the voltage divider 552 to provide an input voltage level that is associated with the output voltage on the voltage bus 560. A second, negative input is an adaptable voltage control signal 562 that indicates whether a voltage level of the power supply 500 is switching to a different voltage level on the output voltage bus 560; Paragraph [0027] Line 8-20).
Regarding claim 17, Perchlik teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having non-transitory computer-readable instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by a processor (MCU [310] in Figure 3) (The power supply circuit 300 includes a microcontroller unit (MCU) 310, but any type of controller or processor can be used, including but not limited to a signal processor, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control and processing logic circuitry; Paragraph [0024] Line 4-8)/ [590] in Figure 5 (A synchronous rectifier control circuit 590 can be a standard Integrated Circuit (IC), such as the GreenChip synchronous rectifier controller available from NXP®. Such an IC can be used to generate a flyback control signal 592 to turn OFF the switch 540 when the circuit 590 detects a zero crossing in the secondary windings 520; Paragraph [0028] Line 12-18) (A method can be provided for discharging an output capacitor in an adaptable power supply wherein discharging occurs using the secondary windings of a transformer; Paragraph [0009] Line 1-4; FIG. 3 is a power supply, according to another embodiment, wherein a synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit cooperate to activate a switch so as to discharge an output capacitor through a secondary winding of a transformer; Paragraph [0014] Line 1-5; FIG. 5 is a power supply, according to another embodiment, wherein discharge control circuitry is separated from a synchronous rectifier, and wherein both cooperate to activate a switch so as to discharge an output capacitor through a secondary winding of a transformer; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-5), cause the processor to:
discharge a capacitor [342] in Figure 3/ [530] in Figure 5 (an output capacitor 530; Paragraph [0027] Line 9) across a transformer [360] in Figure 3/ [518] in Figure 5 (a transformer 518; Paragraph [0027] Line 7-8) (The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342; Paragraph [0024] Line 16-19; The output of the combinatorial logic 580 is a discharge signal 582 that is used to maintain the switch 540 activated during a portion of the flyback mode to discharge the capacitor 530; Paragraph [0028] Line 9-12; 3. The method of paragraph 1 or 2, further including logically combining the activation signal with a flyback control signal from a synchronous rectifier control circuit so as to ensure that the output node is discharged through the secondary winding; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-5);
measure a voltage [330/560] across the capacitor [342/530] (Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged; Paragraph [0024] Line 23-25; An output voltage detection circuit 550 can include a voltage divider 552 and a comparator 554. The voltage divider 552 is coupled to an output voltage bus 560 that provides an output of the power supply 500; Paragraph [0027] Line 10-14; 4. The method of any preceding paragraph, further including monitoring a voltage level on the output node to generate a monitoring signal; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3; Paragraph [0062]); and
determine a health of the transformer based on the measured voltage (9. The power supply of paragraph 8, wherein the control circuitry includes zero-crossing circuitry that detects when the secondary windings have a threshold voltage and wherein the controlling of the switch is dependent on whether the secondary windings are at or below the threshold voltage; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-6; By determining the voltage of the transformer health is determined; Generally, the current flows from the transformer 180 through the sync FET 170 to charge the capacitor 140. However, the flyback current flows in the opposite direction, sometimes due to voltage spikes or other anomalies. The synchronous rectifier 160 can monitor a voltage level on a secondary winding of the transformer 180 and deactivate the sync FET 170 accordingly so as to prevent any flyback currents from occurring; Paragraph [0004] Line 13-18; Flyback current is determined to determine the voltage spikes or other anomaly because from the fly back current it can be determined if there is any anomaly and therefore by determining the fly back current the health of the transformer is determined).
Regarding claim 18, Perchlik teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to:
measure t a first voltage (block [710] in Figure 7) across the capacitor [530] before the capacitor [530] is discharged and measure a second voltage across the capacitor after a predetermined amount of time [730]; and determine the health of the transformer based on a difference between the first voltage and the second voltage [740] (In any of the examples herein, methods can be provided for discharging an output capacitor in an adaptable power supply. In process block 710, an output voltage is powered to a first voltage level. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 5, current from the secondary windings 520 can flow in a first direction through the switch 540 to the output capacitor 530. The power supply can operate for any desired duration in association with process block 710. At some point, while operating, the power supply receives a control signal (process block 720) to change the output voltage from the first voltage level to a second, lower voltage level. In one example, the voltage can be changing from 10V to 3V, but any voltage levels can be used. The control signal can be a communication channel received through a cable wherein a protocol is used to determine what voltage level the power supply is switching to, such as is available in USB type-C. Other protocols and standards can be used. Similarly, there can be a plurality of possible voltage levels. Returning to the example of FIG. 5, the adapted voltage control signal 562 can be considered the control signal. In process block 730, a change is detected in voltage in the secondary windings sufficient to initiate a flyback current. The change in voltage can be detected by comparing the voltage across the secondary windings to a reference voltage. For example, in the zero-crossing detection circuit 570 of FIG. 5, the secondary winding voltage 574 is compared to a reference voltage of ground. The flyback current is generally in a direction that is opposite the first direction and is typically undesirable. However, in process block 740, the switch is activated using a discharge signal to allow the flyback current to continue to flow through the secondary windings to discharge the output voltage. If the switch is already activated when the discharge signal becomes active, then activation of the switch includes ensuring that the switch continue to be activated. The switch can be deactivated or opened after the output voltage drops below a threshold level so as to prevent further current to pass through the secondary windings. For example, the output voltage detection circuit 550 of FIG. 5 goes low after the output voltage drops. An offset can be used on the adaptable voltage control 562 to establish the threshold level. It should be noted that if the output voltage is transitioning from a high voltage level to a low voltage level, then the above described method is applied. However, if the output voltage is transitioning from a low voltage level to a high voltage level, then the switch is not activated any differently than a normal synchronous rectifier control circuit. For example, returning to FIG. 5, if the output voltage detection circuit detects that the output is already low, then the discharge signal 582 is never activated. Thus, the switch 540 is only activated for the additional period when the voltage is transitioning from high to low; Paragraph [0031]; Figure 7 shows the steps of determining the first voltage and second voltage then depending on the voltage the flyback current is determined why can be used to determine the health of the transformer).
Regarding claim 19, Perchlik teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to:
determine an amount of time that the capacitor takes to fully discharge; and determine the health of the transformer based on the amount of time that the capacitor takes to fully discharge (FIG. 4 shows an example timing diagram 400 illustrating control of the switch 350 by the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 of FIG. 3. As shown at 410, a synchronous rectifier portion of the circuit 340 activates the switch 350 during a period of time when the capacitor 342 is charging. However, on a falling edge 412, the synchronous rectifier portion desires to prevent a flyback mode wherein current passes through the secondary winding as shown by arrow 370. So as to override the typical operation of the synchronous rectifier portion, a discharge control circuit extends a period of time, shown at 430, that the switch 350 remains activated (i.e., closed or ON) so that the capacitor 342 can discharge. The period of time 430 can be a predetermined period of time or it can be based on monitoring the output voltage bus 330 and when that voltage drops below a threshold, the switch 350 can be deactivated to prevent any further current from passing in a reverse direction through the secondary winding 360; Paragraph [0025]; FIG. 3 is a specific example of a power supply circuit 300 that is used for a USB type-C connector. Notably, the resistor 150, discharge FET 130 and Pass FET of FIG. 1 are not used in the FIG. 3 embodiment. The power supply circuit 300 includes a microcontroller unit (MCU) 310, but any type of controller or processor can be used, including but not limited to a signal processor, microprocessor, ASIC, or other control and processing logic circuitry. The MCU 310 monitors a control line 320 that selects between high or low voltage levels for an output voltage bus 330. The MCU 310 communicates with a combined synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 to indicate a change in voltage levels is occurring. The MCU can also communicate a current state of the output voltage bus 330, so that the circuitry 340 knows whether discharging of the output voltage bus (i.e., the capacitor 342) is required. The circuitry 340 can then control a switch 350, shown as a FET, so as to remain open for a period of time necessary to discharge the capacitor 342. There are numerous methods to control the timing. For example, the synchronous rectifier and discharge control circuit 340 can wait a predetermined period of time after receiving a state change signal from the MCU 310 to keep the FET 350 open. Alternatively, the circuit 340 can monitor the output voltage bus 330 to determine when the capacitor 342 is discharged. Still further, the circuit 340 can receive a second signal from the MCU 310 when to open the FET so that discharging no longer occurs. In each of these cases, some period of time is required to allow the switch 350 to stay closed during a flyback mode wherein discharge current is passing through a secondary winding 360 in a direction shown by arrow 370 (labeled “discharge path”). Current passing in this so-called reverse direction is typically undesirable and is prevented using the switch 350. However, in this embodiment, the switch 350 remains activated during the flyback mode so that charge from the capacitor 342 can pass back to the secondary winding 360 and then to the primary winding for storage; Paragraph [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perchlik ‘558 A1 in view of Smith in the US Patent Number US 5206800 A.
Regarding claim 5, Perchlik teaches a system,
wherein the control circuitry [590] is configured to determine the health of the transformer [518] (9. The power supply of paragraph 8, wherein the control circuitry includes zero-crossing circuitry that detects when the secondary windings have a threshold voltage and wherein the controlling of the switch is dependent on whether the secondary windings are at or below the threshold voltage; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-6; By determining the voltage of the transformer health is determined; Generally, the current flows from the transformer 180 through the sync FET 170 to charge the capacitor 140. However, the flyback current flows in the opposite direction, sometimes due to voltage spikes or other anomalies. The synchronous rectifier 160 can monitor a voltage level on a secondary winding of the transformer 180 and deactivate the sync FET 170 accordingly so as to prevent any flyback currents from occurring; Paragraph [0004] Line 13-18; Flyback current is determined to determine the voltage spikes or other anomaly because from the fly back current it can be determined if there is any anomaly and therefore by determining the fly back current the health of the transformer is determined).
However, Perchlik fails to teach that the control circuitry is further configured to determine the health of the transformer based on the measured voltage by: determining a magnetizing inductance of the transformer; and determining whether the magnetizing inductance is less than a reference magnetizing inductance by more than a predetermined amount.
Smith teaches DC-to-DC switching power converters which transfer power from a source supply at a given voltage potential to a destination load at a different voltage potential. In particular, the invention relates to the control of energy in transformers of DC-to-DC forward converters (Column 1 Line 12-17), wherein
the control circuitry is further configured to determine the health of the transformer based on the measured voltage by: determining a magnetizing inductance of the transformer; and determining whether the magnetizing inductance is less than a reference magnetizing inductance by more than a predetermined amount (In a real transformer, the magnetizing current can be electrically modeled by a phantom inductor coupled in parallel with the primary winding of an ideal transformer, as shown by inductor 1023. This is because the magnetizing current is proportional to the time integral of the voltage appearing across the primary winding of the transformer. The inductance value L.sub. M of the phantom modeling inductor 1023 is set to a value representative of the core reluctance of transformer 1020, as well known in the transformer art; Column 6 Line 68 & Column 7 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to reduce the power dissipation during switching events, thereby increasing the power-conversion efficiency, to reduce this power dissipation while providing manufacturing modularity, simplicity, flexibility, and reliability, to block this loading by the secondary circuit, to regulate the converter's output voltage, which provides a comparatively modular, simple, flexible, and reliable control means for operating the converter.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Perchlik in view of Smith, because Smith teaches to determine a magnetizing inductance of the transformer reduces the power dissipation during switching events, thereby increasing the power-conversion efficiency, reduces this power dissipation while providing manufacturing modularity, simplicity, flexibility, and reliability (Column 2 Line 47-52), blocks this loading by the secondary circuit, regulates the converter's output voltage, which provides a comparatively modular, simple, flexible, and reliable control means for operating the converter (Column 3 Line 8-13).
Regarding claim 7, Perchlik fails to teach a system, wherein the control circuitry is configured to close the switch by applying a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal to the switch and wherein a duty cycle or a frequency of the PWM signal is based on a current rating of the switch.
Smith teaches DC-to-DC switching power converters which transfer power from a source supply at a given voltage potential to a destination load at a different voltage potential. In particular, the invention relates to the control of energy in transformers of DC-to-DC forward converters (Column 1 Line 12-17), wherein
the control circuitry is configured to close the switch by applying a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal to the switch and wherein a duty cycle or a frequency of the PWM signal is based on a current rating of the switch (Switch control means 600 in Figure 11 comprises an input port 601 for receiving a pulse-width modulated (PWM) duty-cycle signal, an output port 610 for providing a control signal for primary switch means S.sub.PR (540 or 140), an output port 611 for providing a control signal for first switch means S.sub.1 (530 or 130), and an output port 612 for providing a control signal for second switch means S.sub.2 (550 or 150). The input PWM duty-cycle signal to port 601 may be generated by means well known to the power-supply switching art and an illustration of such means is not necessary in order to understand the present invention and enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the present invention. For example, the signal applied to port 601 may be generated by the UC1825 High Speed PWM Controller integrated circuit manufactured by Unitrode Integrated Circuits Corporation. The UC1825 Controller compares the voltage of the load, such as load 174 in FIG. 6, against a predetermined target value and varies the duty cycle of its PWM output signal so as to keep the voltage of the load at the target value; Column 31 Line 32-52). The purpose of doing so is to keep the voltage of the load at the target value.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Perchlik in view of Smith, because Smith teaches to close the switch by applying a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal to the switch keeps the voltage of the load at the target value (Column 31 Line 51-52).
Regarding claim 13, Perchlik teaches a method,
wherein determining the health of the transformer [518] (9. The power supply of paragraph 8, wherein the control circuitry includes zero-crossing circuitry that detects when the secondary windings have a threshold voltage and wherein the controlling of the switch is dependent on whether the secondary windings are at or below the threshold voltage; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-6; By determining the voltage of the transformer health is determined; Generally, the current flows from the transformer 180 through the sync FET 170 to charge the capacitor 140. However, the flyback current flows in the opposite direction, sometimes due to voltage spikes or other anomalies. The synchronous rectifier 160 can monitor a voltage level on a secondary winding of the transformer 180 and deactivate the sync FET 170 accordingly so as to prevent any flyback currents from occurring; Paragraph [0004] Line 13-18; Flyback current is determined to determine the voltage spikes or other anomaly because from the fly back current it can be determined if there is any anomaly and therefore by determining the fly back current the health of the transformer is determined).
However, Perchlik fails to teach that determining the health of the transformer based on the measured voltage by: determining a magnetizing inductance of the transformer; and determining whether the magnetizing inductance is less than a reference magnetizing inductance by more than a predetermined amount.
Smith teaches DC-to-DC switching power converters which transfer power from a source supply at a given voltage potential to a destination load at a different voltage potential. In particular, the invention relates to the control of energy in transformers of DC-to-DC forward converters (Column 1 Line 12-17), wherein
determining the health of the transformer based on the measured voltage by: determining a magnetizing inductance of the transformer; and determining whether the magnetizing inductance is less than a reference magnetizing inductance by more than a predetermined amount (In a real transformer, the magnetizing current can be electrically modeled by a phantom inductor coupled in parallel with the primary winding of an ideal transformer, as shown by inductor 1023. This is because the magnetizing current is proportional to the time integral of the voltage appearing across the primary winding of the transformer. The inductance value L.sub. M of the phantom modeling inductor 1023 is set to a value representative of the core reluctance of transformer 1020, as well known in the transformer art; Column 6 Line 68 & Column 7 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to reduce the power dissipation during switching events, thereby increasing the power-conversion efficiency, to reduce this power dissipation while providing manufacturing modularity, simplicity, flexibility, and reliability, to block this loading by the secondary circuit, to regulate the converter's output voltage, which provides a comparatively modular, simple, flexible, and reliable control means for operating the converter.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Perchlik in view of Smith, because Smith teaches to determine a magnetizing inductance of the transformer reduces the power dissipation during switching events, thereby increasing the power-conversion efficiency, reduces this power dissipation while providing manufacturing modularity, simplicity, flexibility, and reliability (Column 2 Line 47-52), blocks this loading by the secondary circuit, regulates the converter's output voltage, which provides a comparatively modular, simple, flexible, and reliable control means for operating the converter (Column 3 Line 8-13).
Regarding claim 15, Perchlik fails to teach a method, wherein closing the switch comprising applying a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal to the switch and wherein a duty cycle or a frequency of the PWM signal is based on a current rating of the switch.
Smith teaches DC-to-DC switching power converters which transfer power from a source supply at a given voltage potential to a destination load at a different voltage potential. In particular, the invention relates to the control of energy in transformers of DC-to-DC forward converters (Column 1 Line 12-17),
wherein closing the switch comprising applying a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal to the switch and wherein a duty cycle or a frequency of the PWM signal is based on a current rating of the switch. (Switch control means 600 in Figure 11 comprises an input port 601 for receiving a pulse-width modulated (PWM) duty-cycle signal, an output port 610 for providing a control signal for primary switch means S.sub.PR (540 or 140), an output port 611 for providing a control signal for first switch means S.sub.1 (530 or 130), and an output port 612 for providing a control signal for second switch means S.sub.2 (550 or 150). The input PWM duty-cycle signal to port 601 may be generated by means well known to the power-supply switching art and an illustration of such means is not necessary in order to understand the present invention and enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the present invention. For example, the signal applied to port 601 may be generated by the UC1825 High Speed PWM Controller integrated circuit manufactured by Unitrode Integrated Circuits Corporation. The UC1825 Controller compares the voltage of the load, such as load 174 in FIG. 6, against a predetermined target value and varies the duty cycle of its PWM output signal so as to keep the voltage of the load at the target value; Column 31 Line 32-52). The purpose of doing so is to keep the voltage of the load at the target value.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Perchlik in view of Smith, because Smith teaches to close the switch by applying a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal to the switch keeps the voltage of the load at the target value (Column 31 Line 51-52).
Regarding claim 20, Perchlik teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor [590] to:
determine the health of the transformer [518] (9. The power supply of paragraph 8, wherein the control circuitry includes zero-crossing circuitry that detects when the secondary windings have a threshold voltage and wherein the controlling of the switch is dependent on whether the secondary windings are at or below the threshold voltage; Paragraph [0063] Line 1-6; By determining the voltage of the transformer health is determined; Generally, the current flows from the transformer 180 through the sync FET 170 to charge the capacitor 140. However, the flyback current flows in the opposite direction, sometimes due to voltage spikes or other anomalies. The synchronous rectifier 160 can monitor a voltage level on a secondary winding of the transformer 180 and deactivate the sync FET 170 accordingly so as to prevent any flyback currents from occurring; Paragraph [0004] Line 13-18; Flyback current is determined to determine the voltage spikes or other anomaly because from the fly back current it can be determined if there is any anomaly and therefore by determining the fly back current the health of the transformer is determined).
However, Perchlik fails to teach that the processor is further configured to determine the health of the transformer based on the measured voltage by: determine a magnetizing inductance of the transformer; and determine whether the magnetizing inductance is less than a reference magnetizing inductance by more than a predetermined amount.
Smith teaches DC-to-DC switching power converters which transfer power from a source supply at a given voltage potential to a destination load at a different voltage potential. In particular, the invention relates to the control of energy in transformers of DC-to-DC forward converters (Column 1 Line 12-17), wherein
the control circuitry is further configured to determine the health of the transformer based on the measured voltage by: determine a magnetizing inductance of the transformer; and determine whether the magnetizing inductance is less than a reference magnetizing inductance by more than a predetermined amount (In a real transformer, the magnetizing current can be electrically modeled by a phantom inductor coupled in parallel with the primary winding of an ideal transformer, as shown by inductor 1023. This is because the magnetizing current is proportional to the time integral of the voltage appearing across the primary winding of the transformer. The inductance value L.sub. M of the phantom modeling inductor 1023 is set to a value representative of the core reluctance of transformer 1020, as well known in the transformer art; Column 6 Line 68 & Column 7 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to reduce the power dissipation during switching events, thereby increasing the power-conversion efficiency, to reduce this power dissipation while providing manufacturing modularity, simplicity, flexibility, and reliability, to block this loading by the secondary circuit, to regulate the converter's output voltage, which provides a comparatively modular, simple, flexible, and reliable control means for operating the converter.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Perchlik in view of Smith, because Smith teaches to determine a magnetizing inductance of the transformer reduces the power dissipation during switching events, thereby increasing the power-conversion efficiency, reduces this power dissipation while providing manufacturing modularity, simplicity, flexibility, and reliability (Column 2 Line 47-52), blocks this loading by the secondary circuit, regulates the converter's output voltage, which provides a comparatively modular, simple, flexible, and reliable control means for operating the converter (Column 3 Line 8-13).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perchlik ‘558 A1 in view of Pamulaparthy et al. (Hereinafter, “Pamulaparthy”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170115335 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Perchlik fails to teach a system, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to, in response to determining that the transformer has poor health: generate a notification indicating the poor health of the transformer; and operate a dual active bridge converter comprising the transformer based on the poor health of the transformer.
Pamulaparthy teaches systems and methods for monitoring and diagnosing transformer health (Paragraph [0002] Line),
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to, in response to determining that the transformer has poor health: generate a notification indicating the poor health of the transformer (The transformer health data generated in the diagnostic apparatus 175 can be transmitted by the diagnostic apparatus 175 in the form of one or more transformer health related signals and/or control signals to other elements such as a display unit (not shown) or an alarm unit (not shown) via a line 117, for example. Some examples of signals transmitted by the diagnostic apparatus 175 will be described below in further detail. The diagnostic apparatus 175 is also configured to allow a user (not shown) to communicate with the diagnostic apparatus 175 via a communications link 119 in order to provide the diagnostic apparatus 175 with various kinds of operating instructions and/or to access various types of information/data associated with the diagnostic apparatus 175; Paragraph [0025]);
and operate a dual active bridge converter (analog to digital converter and digital to analog converter as the dual active bridge converter) comprising the transformer based on the poor health of the transformer (The diagnostic apparatus 175 can further include one or more analog-to-digital converters and digital-to-analog converters. For example, the analog-to-digital converter 220 can be used to convert a current measurement, provided by one of the input interfaces in an analog form into a digital current measurement value that can be processed by the processor 255. Conversely, the digital-to-analog converter 245 can be used to convert various types of digital information that can be provided by the processor 255 to the digital-to-analog converter 245, into an analog output signal that can be transmitted out of the diagnostic apparatus 175 via the output interface 280, for example. One or more relays, such as a relay 260, can be used for various types of switching purposes; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to predict a future event, a cause of a future event, and/or a type of a future event, such as a failure, of the power transformer generate and/or schedule a maintenance request to repair the power transformer, log it as an event in database, and raise alarm/caution/warning prior to an occurrence of the predicted future event.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Perchlik in view of Pamulaparthy, because Pamulaparthy teaches to generate a notification indicating the poor health of the transformer predicts a future event, a cause of a future event, and/or a type of a future event, such as a failure, of the power transformer generate and/or schedule a maintenance request to repair the power transformer, log it as an event in database, and raise alarm/caution/warning prior to an occurrence of the predicted future event (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Perchlik fails to teach a method, further comprising, in response to determining that the transformer has poor health: generating a notification indicating the poor health of the transformer; and operating a dual active bridge converter comprising the transformer based on the poor health of the transformer.
Pamulaparthy teaches systems and methods for monitoring and diagnosing transformer health (Paragraph [0002] Line),
further comprising, in response to determining that the transformer has poor health: generating a notification indicating the poor health of the transformer; (The transformer health data generated in the diagnostic apparatus 175 can be transmitted by the diagnostic apparatus 175 in the form of one or more transformer health related signals and/or control signals to other elements such as a display unit (not shown) or an alarm unit (not shown) via a line 117, for example. Some examples of signals transmitted by the diagnostic apparatus 175 will be described below in further detail. The diagnostic apparatus 175 is also configured to allow a user (not shown) to communicate with the diagnostic apparatus 175 via a communications link 119 in order to provide the diagnostic apparatus 175 with various kinds of operating instructions and/or to access various types of information/data associated with the diagnostic apparatus 175; Paragraph [0025]);
and operating a dual active bridge converter (analog to digital converter and digital to analog converter as the dual active bridge converter) comprising the transformer based on the poor health of the transformer (The diagnostic apparatus 175 can further include one or more analog-to-digital converters and digital-to-analog converters. For example, the analog-to-digital converter 220 can be used to convert a current measurement, provided by one of the input interfaces in an analog form into a digital current measurement value that can be processed by the processor 255. Conversely, the digital-to-analog converter 245 can be used to convert various types of digital information that can be provided by the processor 255 to the digital-to-analog converter 245, into an analog output signal that can be transmitted out of the diagnostic apparatus 175 via the output interface 280, for example. One or more relays, such as a relay 260, can be used for various types of switching purposes; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to predict a future event, a cause of a future event, and/or a type of a future event, such as a failure, of the power transformer generate and/or schedule a maintenance request to repair the power transformer, log it as an event in database, and raise alarm/caution/warning prior to an occurrence of the predicted future event.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Perchlik in view of Pamulaparthy, because Pamulaparthy teaches to generate a notification indicating the poor health of the transformer predicts a future event, a cause of a future event, and/or a type of a future event, such as a failure, of the power transformer generate and/or schedule a maintenance request to repair the power transformer, log it as an event in database, and raise alarm/caution/warning prior to an occurrence of the predicted future event (Paragraph [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vinciarelli (US 20040183513 A1Low-loss Transformer-coupled Gate Driver- [0002] This invention relates to the field of electrical power conversion and more particularly to distributed electronic power conversion systems. [0128] Steady state operation is explained with reference to FIG. 9 and the waveforms of FIG. 10. The primary switches 58 and 60 may be MOSFET devices (or alternative devices, e.g., GaAs power switches), which, as illustrated in FIG. 11, may comprise a body diode 122 and parasitic capacitance 120. Signals delivered to the gate terminal 124 of the MOSFET (by the switch controller 130) control the conductivity of the MOSFET channel (currents in the body diode 122 and parasitic capacitance 120 are not under control of the gate terminal). The storage capacitor 56 is sufficiently large so that the voltage across it is essentially constant and equal to V.sub.out throughout each converter operating cycle. Voltage drops in switches and diodes, when conducting, are assumed to be zero for part of this analysis. The turns ratio of the transformer, which is the number of secondary turns divided by the number of primary turns, is N.sub.s/N.sub.p. The input voltage, V.sub.in, is assumed to be constant. As used herein, the terms "closed," "ON" and "enabled," as applied to a switch, mean that the switch is enabled to conduct current which it could otherwise block and the terms "open," "OFF" and "disabled" mean that a switch is not ON. As defined herein, the term "duty cycle," as applied to a switch in a switching power converter, is defined as the fraction of the converter operating cycle during which the switch is enabled. [0129] In steady state operation, the average value of V.sub.c will be nominally V.sub.in/2 (i.e., one half of the SAC input voltage, V.sub.in). The converter uses a series of converter operating cycles (e.g., converter operating cycle t.sub.0-t.sub.4 in FIG. 10) to convert power from the input for delivery to the output. During each power transfer interval (e.g., time periods t.sub.0 to t.sub.1 and t.sub.2 to t.sub.3 in FIG. 10) the resonant circuit is driven (by primary switches 58, 60) with an equivalent voltage source equal essentially to V.sub.in/2. A short energy-recycling interval may follow each power transfer interval to allow recycling of energy stored in capacitive elements and a reduction in switching losses. As shown in FIG. 10, the converter operating cycles have a period (i.e., the converter operating period, T.sub.op=t.sub.4-t.sub.o), that is nominally greater than the characteristic resonant period, T.sub.R=2.pi.*sqrt(C.sub.R*L.sub.R), in an amount equal to the sum of the durations of the energy-recycling intervals-However Vinciarelli does not disclose measure a voltage across the capacitor; and determine a health of the transformer based on the measured voltage.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858