Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 11-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raymond et al., US 2016/0061356.
Regarding claim 1, Raymond discloses a cable binder (111) [for vehicles], the cable binder comprising: a body (117) [for attachment to the vehicle]; and a strip (113) [for binding cables] which is fixed to the body (117), wherein the binder further comprises a securing mechanism (115, 129) for closing a part of the binder (111) into a loop [around the cables], wherein the body (117) comprises a mounting protrusion (159) [for insertion into an opening in a wall of a component of the vehicle], wherein the mounting protrusion (159) comprises a poka-yoke element (161; prevents mistake of disengaging the body 117) [for engaging with a complementary poka-yoke element in the vehicle's opening], wherein the poka-yoke element (161) of the mounting protrusion (159) comprises a poka-yoke protrusion (169) and/or a recess [such that the mounting protrusion (159) is mountable into the opening in only one direction of the body with respect to the opening], wherein the mounting protrusion (159) has a fixed end (at its base proximal to a rear surface 155), which is attached to the body (117), a free end (opposite of the fixed end and distal to the surface 155) [for insertion into the opening], and a tapered section (165) adjacent to the free end (see figure 11), wherein the tapered section (165) gets narrower towards the free end (see figure 15B) and is delimited by a back surface (167) [for bracing against the wall of the component when the mounting protrusion (159) is inserted through the opening (203)], wherein the back surface (167) is offset from the free end (see figures 7 and 11), wherein a section (163-1 or 163-2) of the mounting protrusion (159) extending from the back surface (167) towards the fixed end (near 155) is narrower (since 163 and 167 are combined to define a length dimension of 165; figure 7) than the tapered section (165) at its end adjacent to the back surface (167), and wherein the mounting protrusion (159) further comprises a slit (between ends 173-1 and 173-2; see figure 7) dividing the mounting protrusion (159) into at least two mounting protrusion parts (171-1, 171-2) along the mounting protrusion's length (see figure 7 and figure 11), the slit extending from a leading portion (see an annotated figure 11 below) of the tapered section (165) to a point of attachment (see the annotated figure 11) of the mounting protrusion (159) to the body (117), such that the at least two mounting protrusion parts (171-1, 171-2) are spaced apart from each other by the slit (see figure 7 and figure 11), the at least two mounting protrusion parts (171-1, 171-2) being flexible such that they can be moved closer together across the slit (see figure 11) [during insertion into the opening by bending toward each other about their respective point of attachment to the body].
Claim language set in brackets [] set forth above and below in this office action are considered by the examiner to be intended use that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to that of the cable binder, the prior art must only be capable of performing the functional recitations in order to be applicable, and in the instant case, the examiner maintains that the cable tie fastener disclosed by Raymond (US 2016/0061356), Laporte, US 2007/0028426 or Dyer, US 8,726,468, is indeed capable of the intended use statements. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1, wherein the securing mechanism (115) is a zip tie mechanism (comprising the pawl 115 with ratchet teeth 129 of the strip so that the zip tie mechanism is provided).
Regarding claim 6, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1, wherein when viewed in a direction parallel to the length of the mounting protrusion (159), an outer perimeter of the tapered section (165) forms at least a part (having a contribution to forming) of a circle (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1, wherein the back surface (167) is perpendicular to the insertion direction of the mounting protrusion (159) into the opening (203).
Regarding claim 11, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1, wherein the strip comprises an anti-slip structure (127-1, 127-2) placed on the side of the strip (113) [meant for contacting the cables].
Regarding claim 12, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1, wherein each mounting protrusion part (161-1, 161-2) has a cross section when sectioned by a plane parallel to the insertion direction of the mounting protrusion (159) [into the opening], the cross section having a first arm (see 167-1 and 167-2), which is parallel with the insertion direction (figure 12), and a second arm (169-1 or 169-2), which is angled by an acute angle relative to the first arm (167).
Regarding claim 13, Raymond discloses a cable-binding assembly for vehicles comprising: a component (201) for a vehicle, wherein the component (201) comprises a wall with an opening (203); and the cable binder (111) according to claim 1, wherein the opening (203) comprises a poka-yoke element (edges of the opening 203) for engaging with the poka-yoke element (161) of the binder (111) when the body (117) of the binder (111) is mounted by the mounting protrusion (159) into the opening (203).
Regarding claim 14, Raymond discloses the cable-binding assembly according to claim 13, wherein the back surface (a step on 167) is parallel with a surface (a tip end on 175) of the body (117) to which the mounting protrusion (159) is attached (see figure 6), wherein a distance between the back surface (of 167) and the surface of the body (117) to which the mounting protrusion (159) is attached is equal to a thickness (see figure 13) of the wall (201) containing the opening (203).
Regarding claim 16, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least two mounting protrusion parts (171-1, 171-2) includes a first arm (161-1) and a second arm (161-2), the first arm (161-1) extending parallel to an insertion direction (figure 12) of the mounting protrusion (159), the second arm (161-2) being bendable relative to the first arm (161-1).
Regarding claim 17, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 16, wherein the poka-yoke protrusion (169) and/or recess comprises, for each of the least two mounting protrusion parts (171-1, 171-2), an asymmetrical tab (a step; 169-1) extending from the first arm (161-1) of the mounting protrusion part (171-1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raymond et al., US 2016/0061356.
Regarding claim 3, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1, wherein the binder is made of an inexpensive plastic material or a wide variety of alternative materials. Raymond does not explicitly disclose the plastic material containing a glass filler. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider the plastic material having glass filler, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 15, Raymond discloses the assembly according to claim 13 for an automotive (vehicle) panel to retain a group of electrical wires. Raymond does not explicitly disclose the automotive (vehicle) panel is specifically a vehicle lamp. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is known in the art for a vehicle lamp to comprise an automotive panel for its electrical wirings. It would have been obvious to a person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider the assembly of claim 13 for a vehicle lamp since the automotive panel would be present for mounting electrical wiring for the lamp.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raymond et al., US 2016/0061356 in view of Laporte, US 2007/0028426.
Regarding claim 9, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1 except for wherein the strip (113) comprises at least one groove [for fitting at least part of a perimeter of a cable], wherein the groove extends across the whole width of the strip (113) and is placed on the side of the strip (113) [meant for contacting the cables].
Laporte teaches a cable tie wherein the strip (12) comprises at least one groove (28, 18) [for fitting at least part of a perimeter of a cable], wherein the groove (28, 18) extends across the whole width (see figure 1) of the strip (12) and is placed on the side of the strip (12) [meant for contacting the cables]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strip of Raymond to include at least one groove as taught by Laporte so that the cable can be aligned with said groove when bundled within the loop of the cable binder.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raymond et al., US 2016/0061356 in view of Dyer, US 8,726,468.
Regarding claim 10, Raymond discloses the cable binder according to claim 1 except for wherein the body (117) comprises two ribs [for squeezing cables], wherein the ribs are inside of the loop [when the binder (111) is closed into a loop around the cables] and both ribs extend along the inner perimeter of the loop perpendicularly [to the direction of cables bound by the loop].
Dyer teaches a cable binder (100) wherein the body (150) comprises two ribs (160, 162) [for squeezing cables], wherein the ribs (160, 162) are inside of the loop (see figure 1C) [when the binder (100) is closed into a loop around the cables (see figure 1C)] and both ribs (160, 162) extend along the inner perimeter of the loop perpendicularly (see figures 1B and 1C) [to the direction of cables bound by the loop]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body (117) of Raymond to include ribs as taught by Dyer in order to provide an enhanced grip for the cables and a dampening feature on said cables.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the first and second wings (161-1, 161-2) are equated with the claimed mounting protrusions parts of claim 1. The argument is found not persuasive in view of the rejection set forth in the last Office action mailed on January 28, 2026 (page 3, line 16) wherein said protrusion parts were identified as elements 171-1, 171-2 of Raymond (US 2016/0061356). It is the Examiner’s position that the “parts” (171-1, 171-2) meet the claimed requirements such that the slit (the spacing between ends 173-1 and 173-2) divides the mounting protrusion (165) into the two parts (171-1, 171-2) along the protrusion’s length (of 165) as rejected above.
Conclusion
/R.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677