DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and a phosphate based flame retardant , claims 1-3 , 5-10 and 17-19 in the reply filed on 2October 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 and 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by . "Encapsulation of flame retardants for application in lithium-ion batteries", Huang et al., Journal of Power Sources, 2017, pp. 82-90, vol. 338 (Huang), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement .
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Huang teaches a microcapsule comprises a core containing a triphenyl phosphate flame retardant, and a polymer shell prepared from urea, resorcinol and formaldehyde (p83, 2.2 and p84, 3.1), which meets the claimed flame retardant and polymer shell, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the microcapsule is formed from the reaction of 2.5 g urea, 0.25 g resorcinol and 6.3 g formaldehyde (p83, 2.2), i.e., 0.0416 mole urea, 0.21 mole of formaldehyde and 0.00227 mole of resorcinol, which is equivalent to about 93 mole of formaldehyde units (formula mass 30) and 18 mole of urea units (formula mass 60) per 1 mole of resorcinol unit (formula mass 110) calculated by the examiner, which meets the claimed relative content of formaldehyde and urea, respectively.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Huang discloses that the capsule has a diameter of about 2-12 µm and a thickness of about 75nm (3.1), which meets the claimed size and thickness, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches the microcapsules prepared with the same procedure using the same reagents, each in the same respective amount and under the same reaction conditions (i.e., pH and temperature as instantly disclosed (Huang, 2.2; instant disclosure, [0173]-[0176]), thus the same chemical structure of linear urea-resorcinol chains crosslinked by formaldehyde derived units as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
The teachings of Huang are set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the microcapsule is prepared from 5.5 mL triphenyl phosphate (2.2), i.e., 6.49 g calculated by the examiner based on a density of 1.18g/mL of triphenyl phosphate, 2.5 g urea, 0.25 g resorcinol and 6.3 g formaldehyde (p83, 2.2) , thus the amount of triphenyl phosphate core is about 42 wt. % based on the total weight of the microcapsule, estimated by the examiner , i.e. (6.49/(6.49+0.25+2.5+6.3)), which abuts the claimed range.
It has been held that when the difference between a claimed invention and the prior art is the range or value of a particular variable, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 Titanium Metals Corp of Am v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed Cir 1985).
Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. See MPEP 2144.05, In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Aller, 220 F2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and In re Hoeschele, 406 F2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-3 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2014/0199599A1(Yu) in view of CN 115000516 (Gao), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claims 1-3, 17 and 19, Yu teaches a lithium secondary battery comprises a battery case, repeatedly stacked cathodes and anodes and an electrolyte impregnated therein (Fig. 1 and [0056]).
Yu teaches that the electrolyte comprises an organic solvent, a lithium salt and a flame retardant([0011]), wherein the flame retardant comprises a phosphate ester based compound ([0030]).
Yu does not teach the claimed microcapsule flame retardant.
Gao teaches micro-encapsulated flame retardant can be added to the electrolyte solution of a lithium secondary battery to provide controlled smart release of the flame retardant therefore improve flame retarding efficiency ([0017], [0029] and [0030]), wherein the microcapsule flame retardant is prepared from a polyphosphate based flame retardant, urea, resorcinol and formaldehyde ([0009]), which meets the claimed phosphate based flame retardant, the microcapsule core and terpolymer shell, respectively.
At the time the invention was made it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the microcapsule flame retardant of Gao in the electrolyte solution of Yu. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teachings of Gao that to do so would provide controlled smart release of the flame retardant and improve flame retarding efficiency ([0017]).
Regarding claim 18, Yu further teaches that the flame retardant may be included in an appropriate amount depending on a kind thereof and a desired battery characteristic ([0034]), thus the amount of the flame retardant is a result effective variable and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the amount of the microcapsule flame retardant of Gao in order to obtain a workable product.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/ Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766