6/Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: throughout the claims “fixed frame” should be – fixing frame --. In claim 4, last line, “corresponding to arrange” is poor wording. In claim 6, last line, “is protruded on” should be – protrudes from --. In claim 10, line 4, “a inclined” should be – an inclined --. Each of the claims should be reviewed for similar instances of poor wording. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the admitted prior art (APA – instant Background of the Invention and Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 1, APA substantially discloses the claimed invention, including a socket 2 for using in a power supply 1, the power supply including a housing 10 and at least one contact plate 11, and the socket comprising: a main body 20 having a first opening and a receptacle, wherein the receptacle is communicated with the first opening; a shielding layer 22 covering at least one side of the main body; and a conductive component (the three conductive prongs) passing through the main body and partially disposed in the receptacle. Kuo (front page) discloses the at least one contact plate 12 being bent and extended inwardly from the housing 1 for contacting with the socket 20 to form an electromagnetic shielding assembly, and having at least one protrusion 212 for contacting the at least one contact plate, and to provide APA with this type of structure thus would have been obvious, for better EMI protection.
Regarding claim 2, Kuo discloses the at least one protrusion is a plurality of elongated protruding ribs 212, and is disposed on at least one surface of the shielding layer 21.
Regarding claim 3, Kuo discloses the at least one protrusion is at least one elastic piece 212, and is disposed on at least one surface of the shielding layer 21.
Regarding claim 4, APA discloses the socket 2 further includes a fixing frame 21 which connects to the main body 20 and is arranged around the first opening, and has an inner surface, and when the main body is correspondingly disposed in the housing of the power supply, the fixed frame corresponds to arrange on an outer surface of the housing.
Regarding claim 5, APA discloses the main body 20 includes a first side, a second side, a third side, a fourth side and a fifth side, wherein the first side is opposite to the second side and is connected to the third side and the fourth side, the third side is opposite to the fourth side and is connected to the
first side and the second side, wherein one edges of the first side, the second side, the third side and the fourth side are respectively connected to the fixed frame and perpendicular to the inner surface of the fixed frame, and the opposite edges of the first side, the second side, the third side and the fourth side 212
Regarding claim 6, APA discloses the conductive component includes a first terminal and a second terminal (three terminals are shown), wherein the first terminal is arranged in the receptacle, and the second terminal correspondingly penetrates the fifth side of the main body, and is protruded on the fifth side.
Regarding claim 7, APA (as modified by Kuo) discloses the shielding layer 22 covers the first side of the main body 20, and the at least one protrusion is correspondingly disposed on the shielding layer.
Regarding claim 8, Kuo discloses the shielding layer 21 covers the first side, the second side, the third side and the fourth side of the main body, and the at least one protrusion 212 is correspondingly disposed on the shielding layer covering the first side and the second side.
Regarding claim 9, APA discloses the shielding layer 22 is made of a metal material.
Regarding claims 11-14, the references are applied as above.
Claim(s) 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APA in view of Kuo as applied to claims 9 and 11 above, and further in view of Mellott 2023/0282990.
Mellott (Figure 2) discloses the at least one protrusion includes a plurality of triangular ribs 204, and to form the protrusions of APA (as modified by Kuo) as triangular ribs thus would have been obvious, for good electrical contact with the contact plate.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834