Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 1A should not be in a frame. Further, Fig. 5 is actually multiple figures which should be identified separately and should not be linked. 37 CFR 1.84(h).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species 1 in the reply filed on 5/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the alleged species differ only in the number and orientation of the flexible or springing members and represent obvious variations of the same core structure and mode of operation. This is not found persuasive because the claimed species are structurally mutually exclusive. A key stem can’t simultaneously have “a sole flexible member” (claims 3/11), and “two flexible members” (claim 4/12); and the design of the flexible member, it can’t exert force “in the same direction” (claim 6/14) and “in opposite direction) claim 5/13) at the same time. Searching for a single or dual flexible members and their orientations would require separate search strategies and different prior arts. For that reasons, claims 3, 5, 11 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim objections
Claims 14-16, line 1, “the two flexible or springing members” lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih (US20130062177).
Regarding claim 1, Shih teaches a keyboard comprising:a plurality of keys 100, each supported with a keyboard switch plate 20 or a PCB 40 and having a keycap 100; each of the keys are in communication with a keyboard switch 140 configured and disposed to bias the keycaps from the keyboard switch plate or PCB; at least one of the keys has a key stem 60 configured and disposed to interface with, and removably hold, one of the keycaps; the key stem extends upwardly from the keyboard switch or a keycap stabilizer and has two or more extensions 64 extending outwardly from a common center; at least one flexible member 64 forms at least one of the extensions; the at least one flexible or springing member is configured and disposed to apply retentive forces on interior surfaces 124 of a keycap stem 120 extending downwardly from the keycap's interior ceiling and to removably hold the keycap with the key stem (Figs. 5-8 and paragraphs 31-33).
Regarding claim 9, Shih teaches a key stem 60 configured and disposed to interface with, and removably hold, a keycap 100; the key stem extends upwardly from a keyboard switch 140 or a keycap stabilizer and has two or more extensions 64 extending outwardly from a common center (the extension flexes outward when it is being attached to the keycap); at least one flexible 64 forms at least one of the extensions; the at least one flexible or springing member is configured and disposed to apply retentive forces on interior surfaces 124 of a keycap stem 120 extending downwardly from the keycap's interior ceiling and to removably hold the keycap with the key stem (Figs. 5-8 and paragraphs 31-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Shih teaches the keyboard wherein the key stem 60 has two extensions disposed about the common center. Shih does not teach the key stem having four extensions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the flexible members and make them fours that are disposed about the common center in a cruciform configuration, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-8, 12, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed keyboard wherein the at least one flexible or springing member comprises two flexible or springing members extending from oppositely disposed extensions.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed keyboard wherein the two flexible or springing members extending from oppositely disposed extensions are disposed to exert forces in the same direction.
Conclusion
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831