DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 08/05/26 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 06/15/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. 20220022236) in view of Horn et al. (U.S. 20220408440).
For claim 1, Li et al. disclose a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a first network node, a first message, wherein the first message indicates a UE capability related to peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) or tone reservation (TR) technology (at least Fig. 3, [0019], [0093], [0144], [0156], [0171] and [0325]. Transmitting, to a base station, an indication of a tone reservation capability for an uplink transmission by the UE. The tone reservation capability of the UE comprising a power amplification class, a number of antenna elements, a number of radio frequency chains, a number of multiple-input multiple-output layers, a maximum power reduction value, or any combination thereof.)
receiving, from the first network node, a second message including information related to using TR technology (at least [0004], [0160] and [0261]-[0262]. The UE may receive, from a base station, DCI indicating a set of allocated resources that the UE is to utilize for tone reservation.);
identifying information associated with reserved tones based on the information related to using TR technology, wherein the information associated with reserved tones includes at least one of proportion, number, or position of reserved tones (at least [0160], [0261]-[0262] and [0176]-[0177]. The UE may identify, from the set of allocated resources, a first set of tones for transmitting a data signal and a second set of tones for transmitting a peak-reduction signal, the first set of tones being different from the second set of tones.);
determining an uplink signal based on the information associated with reserved tones (at least [0160], [0261]-[0263] and [0176]-[0177]. The UE may transmit the data signal on the first set of tones and the peak-reduction signal on the second set of tones based on the DCI.); and
transmitting, to the first network node, the uplink signal (at least [0160], [0261]-[0263] and [0176]-[0177]. The UE may transmit the data signal on the first set of tones and the peak-reduction signal on the second set of tones based on the DCI.) However, Li al. do not disclose TR preparation time.
In the same field of endeavor, Horn et al. disclose identifying TR preparation time and information associated with reserved tones based on the information related to using TR technology, wherein the information associated with reserved tones includes at least one of proportion, number, or position of reserved tones; determining an uplink signal based on the information associated with reserved tones and the TR preparation time; and transmitting, to the first network node, the uplink signal (at least [0115] and [0120]. Receiving, from a base station, an indication to transmit tone reservation signaling, configured to reduce a peak-to-average-power-ratio for one or more of the UE or the base station, on one or more subcarriers outside of an allocated bandwidth that is allocated for an uplink communication scheduled for the UE; and transmitting, to the base station, signaling that includes the uplink communication within the allocated bandwidth and the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers. The indication to transmit the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers comprises one or more indications of: one or more resource elements for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers, one or more subbands for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers, or one or more power parameters for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Li et al. as taught by Horn et al. for purpose of reducing a peak-to-average-power-ratio for one or more of the UE or the base station.
For claim 2, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Li et al. disclose wherein the information associated with reserved tones is identified based on at least one of: transmission bandwidth, sub-carrier spacing, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), carrier waveform, power class, or resource block (RB) allocation mode (at least Fig. 3, [0019]-[0020], [0142], [0148], [0157]-[0158], [0170]-[0171], and [0325]. Transmitting, to a base station, an indication of a tone reservation capability for an uplink transmission by the UE. The tone reservation capability of the UE comprising a power amplification class, a number of antenna elements, a number of radio frequency chains, a number of multiple-input multiple-output layers, a maximum power reduction value, or any combination thereof. Base station 210 may allocate a number of tones (e.g., 100 tones) for the transmission of OFDM signals from the UEs 205, and each of the tones may be modulated according to a modulation scheme such as QPSK, BPSK, 16-QAM, or any other modulation scheme.)
For claim 3, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Horn et al. disclose wherein the determining of the uplink signal is required to satisfy the TR preparation time (at least [0115] and [0120]. Receiving, from a base station, an indication to transmit tone reservation signaling, configured to reduce a peak-to-average-power-ratio for one or more of the UE or the base station, on one or more subcarriers outside of an allocated bandwidth that is allocated for an uplink communication scheduled for the UE; and transmitting, to the base station, signaling that includes the uplink communication within the allocated bandwidth and the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers. The indication to transmit the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers comprises one or more indications of: one or more resource elements for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers, one or more subbands for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers, or one or more power parameters for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers.)
For claim 4, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Horn et al. disclose the TR preparation time is related to at least one of: transmission bandwidth, sub-carrier spacing, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), carrier waveform, power class, or RB allocation mode (at least [0115] and [0120]. Receiving, from a base station, an indication to transmit tone reservation signaling, configured to reduce a peak-to-average-power-ratio for one or more of the UE or the base station, on one or more subcarriers outside of an allocated bandwidth that is allocated for an uplink communication scheduled for the UE; and transmitting, to the base station, signaling that includes the uplink communication within the allocated bandwidth and the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers. The indication to transmit the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers comprises one or more indications of: one or more resource elements for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers, one or more subbands for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers, or one or more power parameters for transmitting the tone reservation signaling on the one or more subcarriers.)
For claim 5, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Li et al. disclose wherein transmission power of the uplink signal is determined based on a parameter related to maximum power reduction (MPR) (at least Fig. 3, [0019]-[0020], [0142], [0148], [0157]-[0158], [0170]-[0171], and [0325]. Transmitting, to a base station, an indication of a tone reservation capability for an uplink transmission by the UE. The tone reservation capability of the UE comprising a power amplification class, a number of antenna elements, a number of radio frequency chains, a number of multiple-input multiple-output layers, a maximum power reduction value, or any combination thereof. Base station 210 may allocate a number of tones (e.g., 100 tones) for the transmission of OFDM signals from the UEs 205, and each of the tones may be modulated according to a modulation scheme such as QPSK, BPSK, 16-QAM, or any other modulation scheme. The DCI 215 may indicate a specific RNTI that indicates the allocated set of spare tones to the UEs at a given time. The base station 210 may send a message (e.g., via RRC or RMSI) that the UEs 205 are to monitor for the specific RNTI in addition to a different UE-specific RNTI. The specific RNTI may indicate, to the UEs 205, a number of resource blocks or a set of allocated resources that may be used for transmitting the spare tones.)
For claim 6, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 5. Li et al. disclose wherein the parameter related to MPR is determined based on at least one of: transmission bandwidth, sub-carrier spacing, MCS, carrier waveform, power class, or RB allocation mode (at least Fig. 3, [0019]-[0020], [0142], [0148], [0157]-[0158], [0170]-[0171], and [0325]. Transmitting, to a base station, an indication of a tone reservation capability for an uplink transmission by the UE. The tone reservation capability of the UE comprising a power amplification class, a number of antenna elements, a number of radio frequency chains, a number of multiple-input multiple-output layers, a maximum power reduction value, or any combination thereof. Base station 210 may allocate a number of tones (e.g., 100 tones) for the transmission of OFDM signals from the UEs 205, and each of the tones may be modulated according to a modulation scheme such as QPSK, BPSK, 16-QAM, or any other modulation scheme. The DCI 215 may indicate a specific RNTI that indicates the allocated set of spare tones to the UEs at a given time. The base station 210 may send a message (e.g., via RRC or RMSI) that the UEs 205 are to monitor for the specific RNTI in addition to a different UE-specific RNTI. The specific RNTI may indicate, to the UEs 205, a number of resource blocks or a set of allocated resources that may be used for transmitting the spare tones.)
For claim 7, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 5. Li et al. disclose wherein the parameter related to MPR includes at least one of: a second MPR value, or a second MPR offset value, and wherein the second MPR value or the second MPR offset value are related to PAPR processing (at least [0157]. The base station 210 may further identify UEs 205 with a greater amount of PAPR, and may schedule the data transmission and peak-cancellation transmissions based on different UE capabilities (e.g., PA class, number of antenna elements, number of radio frequency (RF) chains, a number of MIMO layers, MPR, etc.).
For claim 8, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Li et al. disclose wherein the first message further comprises at least one of a class parameter related to PAPR processing or information on a parameter related to MPR (at least [0157]. The base station 210 may further identify UEs 205 with a greater amount of PAPR, and may schedule the data transmission and peak-cancellation transmissions based on different UE capabilities (e.g., PA class, number of antenna elements, number of radio frequency (RF) chains, a number of MIMO layers, MPR, etc.).
For claim 9, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Li et al. disclose receiving, from the first network node, a third message, wherein the third message includes at least one of: class parameter indication related to PAPR processing, class parameter indication related to MPR, parameter indication related to PAPR processing, or parameter indication related to MPR (at least [0157]. The base station 210 may further identify UEs 205 with a greater amount of PAPR, and may schedule the data transmission and peak-cancellation transmissions based on different UE capabilities (e.g., PA class, number of antenna elements, number of radio frequency (RF) chains, a number of MIMO layers, MPR, etc. The UE transmits its capability to the base station over the first message; and receives DCI from the base station over the second message. The Examiner notes that the second message and the third message are same message).
For claim 10, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 9. Li et al. disclose wherein the second message and the third message are same message (at least [0157]. The base station 210 may further identify UEs 205 with a greater amount of PAPR, and may schedule the data transmission and peak-cancellation transmissions based on different UE capabilities (e.g., PA class, number of antenna elements, number of radio frequency (RF) chains, a number of MIMO layers, MPR, etc. The Examiner notes that the second message and the third message are same message).
For claim 12, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 9. Li et al. disclose identifying a class parameter related to PAPR processing based on the third message (at least [0157]. The base station 210 may further identify UEs 205 with a greater amount of PAPR, and may schedule the data transmission and peak-cancellation transmissions based on different UE capabilities (e.g., PA class, number of antenna elements, number of radio frequency (RF) chains, a number of MIMO layers, MPR, etc. The Examiner notes that the second message and the third message are same message).
For claim 13, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. disclose the method of claim 9. Li et al. disclose identifying a parameter related to MPR based on the third message, for uplink signal transmission (at least [0157]. The base station 210 may further identify UEs 205 with a greater amount of PAPR, and may schedule the data transmission and peak-cancellation transmissions based on different UE capabilities (e.g., PA class, number of antenna elements, number of radio frequency (RF) chains, a number of MIMO layers, MPR, etc. The Examiner notes that the second message and the third message are same message).
For claim 14, the claim has features which similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 15, the claim has features similar to claim 5. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 5.
For claim 16-18, the claims have features similar to claims 7-9. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason in claims 7-9.
For claim 19, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 20, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. 20220022236) in view of Horn et al. (U.S. 20220408440) and further in view of Kung et al. (U.S. 20230180148).
For claim 11, the combination of Li et al. and Horn et al. do not disclose method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, from the first network node, a reconfigured third message.
In the same field of endeavor, Kung et al. disclose receiving, from the first network node, a reconfigured third message (at least Fig. 11 and [0047]. NW-A may provide a reconfiguration message 1120 to the UE in response to the capability change information 1110. The reconfiguration message 1120 may be a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (e.g., RRCReconfiguration). The UE may perform (e.g., apply) a reconfiguration in response to the reconfiguration message 1120.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Li et al. as taught by Kung et al. for purpose of applying and/or configuring at least one of a TX chain, a resource, a cell, a SCG, etc. associated with NW-A.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644