DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hita et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0356163 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 13 (Currently amended); Hita discloses a power control device (FIG. 3), method and program in an electric construction machine (Hybrid construction machine (¶ 3) equipped with a plurality of joint components (3, 12D, 12E, 12F; FIG. 1) and an electric power source (Electricity storage device 31, FIG. 2) that supplies power to a plurality of electric drive units (plural electric actuators ¶ 5) that drive the plurality of joint components (12F, 12E; FIG. 2), comprising:
a drive information acquisition unit that acquires drive information of the plurality of electric drive units (Revolving base requiring output calculation portion 43A, Boom-raising base requiring output calculating portion 43B, Other base requiring output calculating portion 43C; FIG. 9);
an identification unit that identifies the operation performed by the electric construction machine by the plurality of joint components based on the drive information (44A, 44B and 44C; FIG. 10); and
a determination unit that determines power to be supplied to the plurality of electric drive units in accordance with the identified operation of the electric construction machine (Output for Revolving electric motor and Boom cylinder, FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Hita discloses the power control device, wherein the drive information is at least one of an operation command received by an operation unit of the electric construction machine and a drive command for each of the plurality of electric drive units (operator can actively select mode configuration ¶ 19), and wherein
the identification unit identifies the operation performed by the electric construction machine based on the correspondence between the operation and the drive information stored in a storage unit and the acquired drive information (Operator mode selection ¶ 63 and engine control dial operable by operator ¶ 64).
Regarding claim 3, Hita discloses the power control device, wherein the joint component is at least one of a lower traveling body that can travel on the ground, an upper rotating body that is rotatably attached to the lower traveling body, a boom capable of being raised and lowered that is attached to the upper rotating body, an arm that is bendably attached to the boom, and a bucket that is bendably attached to the arm (3, 12; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently amended), Hita discloses the power control device, wherein the operation of the electric construction machine is a traveling operation (operating state of the traveling operation of the lower traveling structure ¶ 42), and wherein the determination unit determines that more power is supplied to the electric drive unit that drives the lower traveling body than power supplied to the electric drive units that drive the upper rotating body, the boom, the arm, and the bucket (43E, 43F; FIG. 9).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently amended), Hita discloses the power control device, wherein the operation of the electric construction machine is a rotating operation, and wherein
the determination unit determines that more power is supplied to the electric drive unit that drives the upper rotating body than power supplied to the electric drive units that drive the lower traveling body, the boom, the arm, and the bucket (43E, FIG. 9; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently amended), Hita discloses the power control device, wherein the operation of the electric construction machine is at least one of a digging operation, a rotating and loading operation, a trench digging operation (Excavating operation ¶¶ 39, 42), and a ground leveling operation using the boom, the arm, and the bucket, and wherein the determination unit determines that more power is supplied to the electric drive units that drive the boom, the arm, and the bucket than power supplied to the electric drive unit that drives the lower traveling body (¶¶ 49-51).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently amended), Hita discloses the power control device, further comprising:
a power demand acquisition unit that acquires power demand of each of the plurality of electric drive units (FIGS. 7 and 9); and
an available power acquisition unit that acquires at least one of a charge rate and a dischargeable amount of a battery as available power, wherein the determination unit determines the power to be supplied to the plurality of electric drive units in accordance with the identified operation of the electric construction machine when the total of the power demand exceeds the available power (Discharge power limit value based on battery storage rate SOC, FIG. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hita et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0356163 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawaguchi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0121940 A1).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently amended), Hita teaches the power control device, wherein each of the electric drive units includes a motor that generates rotational power (Motor generator output, FIG. 8).
Hita is silent to wherein the drive information includes at least one of a rotation speed of each of the motors and a current command value of the motor. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kawaguchi teaches a control apparatus for a hybrid construction machine configured with electric drive system including a generator, battery and a rotation sensor for detecting rotation speed of the electric swinging motor (¶ 38).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric drive units including a motor taught by Hita to wherein the drive information includes at least one of a rotation speed of each of the motors and a current command value of the motor as taught by Kawaguchi to enhance fuel efficiency strategies (¶ 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663