DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112—New Matter
Claims 7, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 has been amended to recite “a felt cone saturated with the dental polishing paste”; claims 13 and 14 have been amended to recite “the dental polishing paste further comprises lithium disilicate”. These amendments require ingredients unintended for the claimed dental polishing paste. Nowhere in the instant specification is there support for adding lithium disilicate to the dental polishing paste or combining the paste with a felt cone saturated with the dental polishing paste, as ingredients. Lithium disilicate is disclosed as part of the ceramic to be polished by the dental polishing paste (see Summary at p. 3, lines 7-14); and the felt cone is the means by which the dental polishing paste is applied to the teeth (see p. 4, line 3). Accordingly, the amendments of claims 7, 13, and 14 constitute new matter, insofar as they are not supported by the specification as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claim(s) 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herman (EP 2883532, pub. 2015).
Herman teaches, “A diamond, precious or semi-precious dust polishing agent for home use and professional use in the care of natural tooth enamel and dental veneers comprised of a quantity of diamond dust coated with a lubricant in conjunction with a paste for carrying the lubricant coated diamond precious or semi-precious non-toxic abrasive dust, this dust being made of particles of a size comprised between 500 nanometers and 5 nanometers” (Abstract).
Since the particles are taught to fall with in 500 and 5 nanometers, it would have been obvious for the diamond particles to have a mean particle size of 5 to 25 nm, as per claims 17, 20-23.
“The present invention is based upon the discovery that when a dentifrice component and an abrasive containing dentifrice component which abrasive is retained within the composition, are combined and applied to the surface of the teeth, an enhanced whitening effect is obtained, when the teeth are brushed, as a result of the combined presence of the carrier and abrasive ingredients” (p. 3, para. [0017]).
“Preferably, an advantageous concentration of coated diamond dust, in relation to the volume of toothpaste, is comprised between (about) 10% and (about) 20%, preferably of about 15% of the overall volume of the composition (or agent)” (p. 4, para. [0020]).
“In the practice of the present invention, the dentifrice components in which the abrasive diamond dust material is included is generally prepared using a vehicle which contains water, humectant, surfactant and thickener” (p. 4, para. [0032]; clm. 18), wherein the humectant is “glycerine” (p. 5, para. [0033]), which may be present “in the range of (about) 10% to (about) 80% by weight” (Id. para. [0034]); wherein the surfactant is “sodium lauryl sulfate” (Id. para. [0036]); wherein the thickener can be “xanthan gum” and “sodium carboxymethyl cellulose” (cellulose gum) (Id. para. [0035]). The compositions may further comprise calcium carbonate (below), tetrasodium pyrophosphate insofar as the reference teaches “tetra alkali metal and ammonium pyrophosphate and tripolyphosphate salts” (p. 7, para. [0052]), and “sodium saccharin” (below).
The prior art teaches specific embodiments below:
(p. 5-6, Examples 1 through 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to provide a dental composition comprising between 60 to 90% glycerin, 7.5 to 17.5 wt% diamond inorganic nanoparticles having ament particle size of 5 to 25 nm, and an additive (e.g. water) in view of Herman et al.
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as it does not require the claimed amount glycerin; however, it would have been obvious to provide glycerin withing the claimed range since the prior art teaches adding glycerin as humectant within the range of about 10 to 80% by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05).
2) Claim(s) 8, 19, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herman (EP 2883532, pub. 2015) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Joziak et al., (EP 2996669, pub. 2017).
Herman, which is taught above, differs from claims 8, 19, 22 insofar as it does not teach pumice, sodium monofluorophosphate, nor benzyl alcohol.
Joziak et al. teaches oral care compositions comprising pumice and calcium carbonate (Ti). The composition “provides enhanced cleaning attributes, while maintaining low abrasivity, and which can also optionally assist in the prevention or reduction of tooth sensitivity, in particular in a hypersensitivity treatment” (p. 2, para. [0012]).
The compositions of Joziak et al. further comprise “sodium monofluorophosphate” for anti-cavity benefits (p. 6, para. [0059]) as well as “benzyl alcohol” (p. 9, Table 3, Ex. 2-4).
“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)” (see MPEP 2144.07).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add pumice, sodium monofluorophosphate, and benzyl alcohol to the compositions of Herman based on their suitability for their intended use in oral care formulations as taught by Joziak et al. The artisan would have been further motivated to add the ingredients based in the advantage of providing enhanced cleaning attributes, while maintaining low abrasivity, and optionally assisting in the prevention or reduction of tooth sensitivity, as taught by Joziak et al.
Since the paste of Herman is generally prepared using a vehicle which contains water, humectant, surfactant and thickener (p. 4, para. [0032]), it would have been obvious for the compositions to consist of 60-90% glycerin; 7.5-17.5 diamond nanoplatelets, calcium carbonate, water, sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium monofluorophosphate, cellulose gum, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, benzyl alcohol, sodium saccharin, and xanthan gum, as per claim 22.
3) Claim(s) 17-18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priyadarsini et al. (Journal of Oral Biology and Craniofacial Research, 2017) in view of Herman (EP 2883532, pub. 2015).
Priyadarsini et al. is teaches, “Nanotechnology is used in the dental field as nano dentistry” (Abstract) and identifies “Zirconia” as a type of nanoparticle used in dentistry that “[r]educes bacterial adhesion to the tooth surface, provide protection against dental caries, effective polishing agent” (p. 64, Table 3). “Nanomaterials are used in tooth paste . . .” (p. 64, Conclusion).
Priyadarsini et al. does not teach a particle size for the zirconia nanoparticles, or the contents of the toothpaste.
Herman teaches, “A diamond, precious or semi-precious dust polishing agent for home use and professional use in the care of natural tooth enamel and dental veneers comprised of a quantity of diamond dust coated with a lubricant in conjunction with a paste for carrying the lubricant coated diamond precious or semi-precious non-toxic abrasive dust, this dust being made of particles of a size comprised between 500 nanometers and 5 nanometers” (Abstract).
“The present invention is based upon the discovery that when a dentifrice component and an abrasive containing dentifrice component which abrasive is retained within the composition, are combined and applied to the surface of the teeth, an enhanced whitening effect is obtained, when the teeth are brushed, as a result of the combined presence of the carrier and abrasive ingredients” (p. 3, para. [0017]).
“Preferably, an advantageous concentration of coated diamond dust, in relation to the volume of toothpaste, is comprised between (about) 10% and (about) 20%, preferably of about 15% of the overall volume of the composition (or agent)” (p. 4, para. [0020]).
“In the practice of the present invention, the dentifrice components in which the abrasive diamond dust material is included is generally prepared using a vehicle which contains water, humectant, surfactant and thickener” (p. 4, para. [0032]; clm. 18), wherein the humectant is “glycerine” (p. 5, para. [0033]), which may be present “in the range of (about) 10% to (about) 80% by weight” (Id. para. [0034]); wherein the surfactant is “sodium lauryl sulfate” (Id. para. [0036]); wherein the thickener can be “xanthan gum” and “sodium carboxymethyl cellulose” (cellulose gum) (Id. para. [0035]). The compositions may further comprise calcium carbonate (below), tetrasodium pyrophosphate insofar as the reference teaches “tetra alkali metal and ammonium pyrophosphate and tripolyphosphate salts” (p. 7, para. [0052]), and “sodium saccharin” (below).
The prior art teaches specific embodiments below:
(p. 5-6, Examples 1 through 3).
“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)” (see MPEP 2144.07).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to provide for the toothpaste of Priyadarsini et al. between 60 to 90% glycerin, 7.5 to 17.5 wt% zirconia inorganic nanoparticles having ament particle size of 5 to 25 nm, and an additive (e.g. water) in view of Herman et al. The artisan would have been motivated to provide the ingredients, their concentrations, and particle sizes based on the art recognized suitability for known ingredients, their concentrations and sizes of nanomaterials for toothpaste formulations, as taught by Herman.
4) Claim(s) 8, 19, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priyadarsini et al. (Journal of Oral Biology and Craniofacial Research, 2017) and Herman (EP 2883532, pub. 2015) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Joziak et al., (EP 2996669, pub. 2017).
The combination of Priyadarsini et al. and Herman, which is taught above, differs from claims 8, 19, 23 insofar as it does not teach pumice, sodium monofluorophosphate, nor benzyl alcohol.
Joziak et al. teaches oral care compositions comprising pumice and calcium carbonate (Ti). The composition “provides enhanced cleaning attributes, while maintaining low abrasivity, and which can also optionally assist in the prevention or reduction of tooth sensitivity, in particular in a hypersensitivity treatment” (p. 2, para. [0012]).
The compositions of Joziak et al. further comprise “sodium monofluorophosphate” for anti-cavity benefits (p. 6, para. [0059]) as well as “benzyl alcohol” (p. 9, Table 3, Ex. 2-4).
“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)” (see MPEP 2144.07).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add pumice, sodium monofluorophosphate, and benzyl alcohol to the compositions of Priyadarsini et al. based on their suitability for their intended use in oral care formulations as taught by Joziak et al. The artisan would have been further motivated to add the ingredients based in the advantage of providing enhanced cleaning attributes, while maintaining low abrasivity, and optionally assisting in the prevention or reduction of tooth sensitivity, as taught by Joziak et al.
Since the paste of Herman is generally prepared using a vehicle which contains water, humectant, surfactant and thickener (p. 4, para. [0032]), it would have been obvious for the compositions to consist of 60-90% glycerin; 7.5-17.5 zirconia nanoparticles, calcium carbonate, water, sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium monofluorophosphate, cellulose gum, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, benzyl alcohol, sodium saccharin, and xanthan gum.
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612