Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the buckle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the buckle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the buckle connection pin" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the buckle connection pin" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the coupling groove" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the coupling bump" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the coupling groove" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the buckle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the locking groove" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the locking bump" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the locking groove" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the locking bump" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second fastening member" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the buckle" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the buckle" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the buckle connection pin" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the buckle connection pin" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the coupling groove" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the coupling bump" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the coupling groove" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the buckle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the locking groove" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the locking bump" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the locking groove" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the locking bump" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the fastening member" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the second fastening member" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3198187 in view of Elston US 2648884.
Regarding Claim 1, JP 3198187 discloses a wearing member comprising:
a strap comprising a first strap (53) and a second strap (52); and
a fastening member (1) comprising a first fastener (31) and a second fastener (11),
wherein the first strap is configured to pass through the first fastener including a first magnet (40),
the second strap is fixed to one end of the second fastener including a second magnet (20),
the first fastener and the second fastener are configured to be stacked and coupled to each other (Fig 3).
JP 3198187 does not disclose wherein on a cross section surface with respect to a longitudinal direction of the strap, a normal line with respect to a coupling surface of the first fastener and the second fastener has an angle greater than 90 degrees with a direction of tensile force of the second strap applied to the second fastener.
Elston discloses wherein on a cross section surface with respect to a longitudinal direction of the strap, a normal line with respect to a coupling surface (Elston, 15) of the first fastener and the second fastener (Elston, 16) has an angle greater than 90 degrees with a direction of tensile force of the second strap applied to the second fastener (Elston, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling surface of JP 3198187 to be at an angle greater than 90 degrees with respect to the direction of tensile force of the second strap to add additional frictional force to keep the clasp closed.
Regarding Claim 3, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses wherein a buckle protrusion (JP 3198187, 32) formed on the buckle (JP 3198187, 52) protrudes toward an opposite direction of the second strap on the cross section surface with respect to the longitudinal direction of the strap (JP 3198187, Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 10, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses wherein the second strap is coupled to a hinge portion (JP 3198187, 17) formed on the second fastening member (JP 3198187, Fig 3).
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3198187 in view of Elston US 2648884 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paik et al. KR 20180112147.
Regarding Claim 2, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses wherein the first fastener comprises a buckle (JP 3198187, 35) and a buckle connection pin (JP 3198187, 36).
JP 3198187 in view of Elston does not disclose wherein the buckle connection pin is configured to rotate with respect to the buckle.
Paik et al. discloses wherein the buckle connection pin (Paik, 20) is configured to rotate with respect to the buckle (Paik, 10).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Elston to rotate with respect to the buckle as taught by Paik to allow the strap to go through the buckle more easily.
Regarding Claim 4, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses the invention except wherein a coupling bump is formed on the buckle, a coupling groove is formed on the buckle connection pin, and the coupling bump is configured to be inserted into the coupling groove.
Paik discloses wherein a coupling bump (Paik, 21) is formed on the buckle connection pin, a coupling groove (Paik, 11) is formed on the buckle, and the coupling bump is configured to be inserted into the coupling groove.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the buckle and buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Elston to include a coupling groove and a coupling bump as taught by Paik to easily remove the buckle connection pin when needed.
JP 3198187 in view of Elston as modified by Paik does not disclose wherein the coupling bump is on the buckle and the coupling groove is on the buckle connection pin. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coupling bump on the buckle and the coupling groove on the buckle connection pin, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C).
Regarding Claim 5, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses the invention except wherein the buckle connection pin includes an upper buckle connection portion and a lower buckle connection pin portion, and the coupling groove includes an upper coupling groove and a lower coupling groove.
Paik discloses wherein the buckle connection pin (Paik, 20) includes an upper buckle connection portion and a lower buckle connection pin portion, and the coupling groove (Paik, 11) includes an upper coupling groove and a lower coupling groove (Paik, Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention the buckle and buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Elston to include an upper buckle connection portion and a lower buckle connection pin portion and an upper coupling groove and a lower coupling groove as taught by Paik to easily remove the buckle connection pin when needed.
Regarding Claim 6, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses the invention except wherein a first state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at one end of the coupling groove, and a second state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at another end of the coupling groove.
Paik discloses wherein a first state includes a state in which the coupling bump (Paik, 21) is disposed at one end of the coupling groove (Paik, 11), and a second state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at another end of the coupling groove (Paik, Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the buckle and buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Elston to include a coupling bump a first state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at one end of the coupling groove, and a second state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at another end of the coupling groove as taught by Paik to easily remove the buckle connection pin when needed
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3198187 in view of Elston US 2648884 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Laatz US 20150113770.
Regarding Claim 7, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses the claimed invention except wherein at least one locking groove is formed in the first strap, a locking bump is formed on the buckle, and the locking bump is configured to be inserted into the at least one locking groove.
Laatz discloses wherein at least one locking groove (Laatz, 115) is formed in the first strap,
a locking bump (Laatz, 253) is formed on the buckle, and
the locking bump is configured to be inserted into the at least one locking groove (Laatz, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap and buckle of JP 3198187 in view of Elston to include a locking groove and locking bump as taught by Laatz to add an additional level of security to the clasp.
Regarding Claim 8, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses the claimed invention except wherein the locking groove and the locking bump are formed in a triangular shape (Laatz, Fig 3A-4).
Laatz discloses wherein the locking groove and the locking bump are formed in a triangular shape (Laatz, Fig 3A-4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap and buckle of JP 3198187 in view of Elston to include a locking groove and locking bump in a triangular shape as taught by Laatz to add an additional level of security to the clasp.
Regarding Claim 9, JP 3198187 in view of Elston discloses the claimed invention except wherein the locking groove and the locking bump are inclined at a specified angle in a direction in which the first strap and the second strap are arranged together with respect to the fastening member (Laatz, Fig 3A).
Laatz discloses wherein the locking groove and the locking bump are inclined at a specified angle in a direction in which the first strap and the second strap are arranged together with respect to the fastening member (Laatz, Fig 3A).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap and buckle of JP 3198187 in view of Elston to include a locking groove and locking bump at a specified angle as taught by Laatz to add an additional level of security to the clasp.
Claims 11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al US 20240225211 and Elston US 264884.
Regarding Claim 11, JP 3198187 discloses a wearable device comprising:
a fastener (1) comprising a first fastener (31) and a second fastener (11); and
a strap connected to the display assembly, and comprising a first strap (53) connected to the first fixing portion and a second strap (52) connected to the second fixing portion,
wherein the first strap is configured to pass through the first fastener including a first magnet (40),
the second strap is fixed to one end of the second fastener including a second magnet (20),
the first fastener and the second fastener are configured to be stacked and coupled to each other (Fig 3).
JP 3198187 does not disclose a display assembly including a display and comprising a first fixing portion and a second fixing portion
Yang et al. discloses a display assembly (Yang et al. 100) including a display (Yang et al. 200) and comprising a first fixing portion and a second fixing portion (Yang et al. Fig 1);
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the clasp assembly of JP 3198187 to include display assembly, a display, and a first and second fixing portion to utilize the clasp assembly for a watch as well.
JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston does not disclose wherein on a cross section surface with respect to a longitudinal direction of the strap, a normal line with respect to a coupling surface of the first fastener and the second fastener has an angle greater than 90 degrees with a direction of tensile force of the second strap applied to the second fastener.
Elston discloses wherein on a cross section surface with respect to a longitudinal direction of the strap, a normal line with respect to a coupling surface (Elston, 15) of the first fastener and the second fastener (Elston, 16) has an angle greater than 90 degrees with a direction of tensile force of the second strap applied to the second fastener (Elston, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling surface of JP 3198187 to be at an angle greater than 90 degrees with respect to the direction of tensile force of the second strap to add additional frictional force to keep the clasp closed.
Regarding Claim 13, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses wherein a buckle protrusion (JP 3198187, 32) formed on the buckle (JP 3198187, 35) protrudes toward an opposite direction of the second strap on the cross section surface with respect to the longitudinal direction of the strap (JP 3198187, Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 20, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses wherein the second strap is coupled to a hinge portion (JP 3198187, 17) formed on the second fastening member (JP 3198187, Fig 3).
Claims 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al US 20240225211 and Elston US 2648884 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Paik et al. KR 20180112147.
Regarding Claim 12, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses wherein the first fastener comprises a buckle (JP 3198187, 35) and a buckle connection pin (JP 3198187, 36)
JP 3198187 in view of Something and Elston does not disclose wherein the buckle connection pin is configured to rotate with respect to the buckle.
Paik et al. discloses the buckle connection pin (Paik, 20) is configured to rotate with respect to the buckle(Paik, 10).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the the buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston to rotate with respect to the buckle as taught by Paik to allow the strap to go through the buckle more easily.
Regarding Claim 14, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses the invention except wherein a coupling bump is formed on the buckle, a coupling groove is formed on the buckle connection pin, and the coupling bump is configured to be inserted into the coupling groove.
Paik discloses wherein a coupling bump (Paik, 21) is formed on the buckle connection pin, a coupling groove (Paik, 11) is formed on the buckle, and the coupling bump is configured to be inserted into the coupling groove.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the buckle and buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston to include a coupling groove and a coupling bump as taught by Paik to easily remove the buckle connection pin when needed.
JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston as modified by Paik does not disclose wherein the coupling bump is on the buckle and the coupling groove is on the buckle connection pin. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coupling bump on the buckle and the coupling groove on the buckle connection pin, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C).
Regarding Claim 15, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses the invention except wherein the buckle connection pin includes an upper buckle connection portion and a lower buckle connection pin portion, and the coupling groove includes an upper coupling groove and a lower coupling groove.
Paik discloses wherein the buckle connection pin (Paik, 20) includes an upper buckle connection portion and a lower buckle connection pin portion, and the coupling groove (Paik, 11) includes an upper coupling groove and a lower coupling groove (Paik, Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention the buckle and buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston to include an upper buckle connection portion and a lower buckle connection pin portion and an upper coupling groove and a lower coupling groove as taught by Paik to easily remove the buckle connection pin when needed.
Regarding Claim 16, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses the invention except wherein a first state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at one end of the coupling groove, and a second state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at another end of the coupling groove.
Paik discloses wherein a first state includes a state in which the coupling bump (Paik, 21) is disposed at one end of the coupling groove (Paik, 11), and a second state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at another end of the coupling groove (Paik, Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the buckle and buckle connection pin of JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston to include a coupling bump a first state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at one end of the coupling groove, and a second state includes a state in which the coupling bump is disposed at another end of the coupling groove as taught by Paik to easily remove the buckle connection pin when needed
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al US 20240225211and Elston US 2648884 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Laatz US 20150113770.
Regarding Claim 17, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses the invention except wherein at least one locking groove is formed in the first strap, a locking bump is formed on the buckle, and the locking bump is configured to be inserted into the at least one locking groove.
Laatz discloses wherein at least one locking groove (Laatz, 115) is formed in the first strap,
a locking bump (Laatz, 253) is formed on the buckle, and
the locking bump is configured to be inserted into the at least one locking groove (Laatz, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap and buckle of JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston to include a locking groove and locking bump as taught by Laatz to add an additional level of security to the clasp.
Regarding Claim 18, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses the invention except wherein the locking groove and the locking bump are formed in a triangular shape.
Laatz discloses wherein the locking groove (Laatz, 115) and the locking bump (Laatz, 253) are formed in a triangular shape (Laatz, Fig 3A-4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap and buckle of JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston to include a locking groove and locking bump in a triangular shape as taught by Laatz to add an additional level of security to the clasp.
Regarding Claim 19, JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston discloses the invention except wherein the locking groove and the locking bump are inclined at a specified angle in a direction in which the first strap and the second strap are arranged together with respect to the fastening member.
Laatz discloses wherein the locking groove (Laatz, 115) and the locking bump (Laatz, 253) are inclined at a specified angle in a direction in which the first strap and the second strap are arranged together with respect to the fastening member (Laatz, Fig 3A).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap and buckle of JP 3198187 in view of Yang et al and Elston to include a locking groove and locking bump at a specified angle as taught by Laatz to add an additional level of security to the clasp.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu CN 107149220 discloses a watch band clasp with magnets. Greenberg US 9101185 discloses a clasp with magnets.
/ANNA S RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677