DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Preliminary amendment filed 27 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 12, 17, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species a, FIGs. 2 and 3, claims 1-6, 8-15, 17, 18, and 20 in the reply filed on 27 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search and examination of all the claims may be performed without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because a serious burden exists because the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g. searching different groups/subgroups or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7, 16, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 27 July 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed 26 April 2024 has been fully considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: IMAGE SENSOR MODULE COMPRISING BONDING WIRE ARRANGEMENT WITH SUBSTRATE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17, 18, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 18 recite the limitation, “an optic filter [ ] defining an open region extending into a center of the optic filter.” It is unclear how the optic filter (50) defines an open region (55) that extends into a center of said optic filter. The optic filter (50) is a formed as a single piece and does not have any open regions (55) formed therein. Instead, the optic filter (50) has open regions (55) below, to the sides, and above said optic filter. Moreover, these open regions (55) extend from an edge of the optic filter (50) towards a center of said optic filter. For the purposes of applying art, the open region (55) will be defined as areas below, to the sides, and above the optic filter (50) and to include the adhesive member (30) ([0056]).
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “the open region is at least one of corners of the optical filter.” It is unclear how the open region (55) is at least one of corners of the optical filter (50). As best understood by Examiner, the open region (55) is formed along edges of the optical filter (50) as shown in FIG. 6-8.
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “both vertices.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to which vertices the claim refers.
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 13-15, 17, and 20 are rejected for merely containing the flaws of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10, 11, 13-15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0395396, hereinafter Yoo ‘396) of record.
With respect to claim 1, Yoo ‘396 teaches (FIG. 9) an image sensor module as claimed, comprising:
a reinforcement plate (350) ([0128]);
a substrate (310’) on the reinforcement plate (350), the substrate defining a cavity (313) ([0122]);
an image sensor chip (320) in the cavity (313) and configured to convert externally collected light to an electrical signal ([0122]);
an adhesive member (330) along an upper edge of the image sensor chip (320) ([0076, 0126]);
an optic filter (340) on the adhesive member (330) and defining an open region (areas below, to the sides, and above of the optic filter 340) extending into a center of the optic filter, the optic filter covering an upper surface of the image sensor chip ([0058]); and
a bonding wire (W) of which a first end is connected with the image sensor chip (320) through the adhesive member (330) and a second end is connected with the substrate (310’) ([0126]).
With respect to claim 2, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: the image sensor chip (320) comprises a chip pad (321) on the upper edge, the substrate (310’) comprises a substrate pad (unnumbered, but shown along upper surface of substrate 310’ in FIG. 9) in an area adjacent to the cavity (313), and the bonding wire (W) is configured to electrically connect the image sensor chip and the substrate through a connection to the chip pad by the first end and the substrate pad by the second end ([0064]).
With respect to claim 3, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: a part of the bonding wire (W) is in the open region (areas below, to the sides, and above of the optic filter 340) ([0126]).
With respect to claim 4, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: an uppermost end of the bonding wire (W) is at a lower level than an uppermost surface of the optic filter (340) ([0058, 0126]).
With respect to claim 5, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: an upper surface of the substrate (310’) is at a lower level than an upper surface of the optic filter (340) ([0122, 0126]).
With respect to claim 6, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: the substrate (310’) comprises a first side (top side) and a second side (bottom side) opposite to the first side, and the substrate defining the cavity (313) to have a shape that penetrates from the first side of the substrate to the second side of the substrate ([0122]).
With respect to claim 10, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: a part of the adhesive member (330) is in the open region (areas below, to the sides, and above of the optic filter 340) ([0126]).
With respect to claim 11, Yoo ‘396 teaches (FIGs. 8 and 9) an image sensor module as claimed, comprising:
a reinforcement plate (350) ([0128]);
a substrate (310’) on the reinforcement plate (350), the substrate defining a cavity (313) ([0122]);
an image sensor chip (320) in the cavity (313) and configured to convert externally collected light to an electrical signal ([0122]);
an adhesive member (330) along an upper edge of the image sensor chip (320) ([0076, 0126]);
an optic filter (340) in the cavity (313) and on the adhesive member (330) covering an upper surface of the image sensor chip (320) ([0058]); and
a bonding wire (W) of which a first end is connected with the image sensor chip (320), the bonding wire configured to electrically connect the image sensor chip and the substrate (310’), and a second end is connected with the substrate ([0126]),
the optic filter (340) defining an open region (areas below, to the sides, and above of the optic filter 340) extending into a center of the optic filter, and the first end of the bonding wire (W) is in the open region ([0058, 0126]).
With respect to claim 13, Yoo ‘396 teaches (FIG. 8) wherein: the adhesive member (330) has a ring shape on a plane, with a portion in the open region (areas below, to the sides, and above of the optic filter 340) ([0076, 0126]).
With respect to claim 14, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: the image sensor chip (320) comprises a chip pad (321) on the upper edge, the substrate (310’) comprises a substrate pad (unnumbered, but shown along upper surface of substrate 310’ in FIG. 9) in an area adjacent to the cavity (313), and the first end of the bonding wire (W) is connected to the chip pad and the second end of the bonding wire is connected to the substrate pad ([0064]).
With respect to claim 15, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: the adhesive member (330) is penetrated by the first end of the bonding wire (W) connected to the chip pad (321) ([0126]).
With respect to claim 17, Yoo ‘396 teaches wherein: an uppermost end of the bonding wire (W) is at a level lower than an uppermost end of the optic filter (340) ([0058, 0126]).
With respect to claim 18, Yoo ‘396 teaches (FIG. 9) an image sensor module as claimed, comprising:
a reinforcement plate (350) ([0128]);
a substrate (310’) on the reinforcement plate (350), the substrate defines a cavity (313) and includes a substrate pad (unnumbered, but shown along upper surface of substrate 310’ in FIG. 9) ([0122]);
an image sensor chip (320) in the cavity (313), including a chip pad (321) at an upper edge, and configured to convert externally collected light to an electrical signal ([0064, 0122]);
an adhesive member (330) along the upper edge of the image sensor chip (320) and covering the image sensor chip ([0076, 0126]);
an optic filter (340) on the adhesive member (330) and defining an open region (areas below, to the sides, and above of the optic filter 340) extending into a center of the optic filter, the optic filter covering an upper surface of the image sensor chip ([0058]); and
a bonding wire (W) including a first end connected to the chip pad (321) by penetrating the adhesive member (330) and configured to electrically connect the image sensor chip (320) and the substrate (310’) and a second end connected to the substrate pad (unnumbered, but shown along upper surface of substrate 310’ in FIG. 9) ([0126]),
the first end of the bonding wire (W) is in the open region (areas below, to the sides, and above of the optic filter 340) and exposed by the optic filter (340) (the bonding wire W is exposed by the optic filter because it is formed in the open region, the open region including the adhesive member 330) ([0126]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo ‘396 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eom et al. (Korean Patent Application Publication 10-2021-0091509, hereinafter Eom ‘509) of record.
With respect to claim 8, Yoo ‘396 teaches the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein: the optic filter is in the cavity.
However, Eom ‘509 teaches (FIG. 2) an optic filter (400) in a cavity formed by a substrate (710) to pass light at a predetermined wavelength ([0039]) and to aid in miniaturization the device ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the optic filter of Yoo ‘396 in the cavity as taught by Eom ‘509 to pass light at a predetermined wavelength and to aid in miniaturization the device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo ‘396 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0346627, hereinafter Yamada ‘627).
With respect to claim 9, Yoo ‘396 teaches the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein: the adhesive member comprises a non-conductive adhesive film.
However, Yamada ‘627 teaches an adhesive member (14) comprising a non-conductive adhesive film to protect a bonding wire (6) ([0064]). Further, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the adhesive member of Yoo ‘396 comprising a non-conductive adhesive film as taught by Yamada ‘627 to protect a bonding wire.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo ‘396 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Yamagami (Japanese Kokai Publication 2007-264115, hereinafter Yamagami ‘115).
With respect to claim 12, Yoo ‘396 teaches the device as described in claim 11 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein: on a plane, the open region is at least one of corners of the optical filter and the optical filter defines the open region being a quadrangular shape, and at a distance from both vertices at the at least one of the corners.
However, Yamagami ‘115 teaches (FIG. 2) an optical filter (25) wherein on a plane, an open region (areas around optical filter 25) is at least one of corners of the optical filter and the optical filter defines the open region being a quadrangular shape, and at a distance from both vertices at the at least one of the corners ([0025]) to easily position said optical filter and to speed up attachment work ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the open region of Yoo ‘396 as at least one of corners of the optical filter and the optical filter defines the open region being a quadrangular shape, and at a distance from both vertices at the at least one of the corners as taught by Yamagami ‘115 to easily position said optical filter and to speed up attachment work.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo ‘396 as applied to claim 18 above.
With respect to claim 20, Yoo ‘396 teaches the device as described in claim 18 above, but the cited embodiment of Yoo ‘396 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation further comprising: a lens holder including a plurality of lenses inside and coupled on the substrate.
However, Yoo ‘396 teaches (FIG. 1) an image sensor module comprising a lens holder (100) including a plurality of lenses inside and coupled on a substrate (310) to image an object ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the image sensor module of Yoo ‘396 further comprising: a lens holder including a plurality of lenses inside and coupled on the substrate as taught by Yoo ‘396 to image an object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Seo (Korean Patent Application Publication 10-2013-0137993); Yajima (Korean Patent Application Publication 10-2017-0089266); Kakoiyama et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0149099); and Lee (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0121510) teach image sensor modules comprising a bonding wire through an adhesive member to interconnect an image sensor chip and a substrate.
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893