DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: 1) in paragraph [0137], on line 6, “middle cover 320” should apparently be replaced by --middle cover 430--; and 2) in paragraph [0148], on the penultimate line, “protruding rim 138” should apparently be replaced by --protruding rib 138--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, on the penultimate line, --annular-shaped-- should be inserted before “middle cover” so as to be consistent and of the same scope as the recitation of “an annular-shaped middle cover” on line 3 of the claim. Also, in claim 3, on the last line of the claim, --annular-- should be inserted before “light diffuser” so as to be consistent and of the same scope as the recitation of “an annular light diffuser” on line 5 of the claim.
In claim 4, line 1, “the middle cover and the light diffuser” should be replaced by --the annular-shaped middle cover and the annular light diffuser-- for the same reasons as expressed above with respect to claim 3.
In claim 5, lines 4 and 6, --annular-- should be inserted before “light diffuser” so as to be consistent and of the same scope as the recitation of “an annular light diffuser” on line 2 of the claim.
In claim 6, line 5, --annular-- should be inserted before “light diffuser” for the same reasons as expressed above with respect to claim 5.
In claim 7, lines 2 and 3, --annular-- should be inserted before “light diffuser” for the same reasons as expressed above with respect to claim 5.
In claim 8, line 1, --annular-- should be inserted before “light diffuser” for the same reasons as expressed above with respect to claim 5.
In claim 9, on the penultimate line, --annular-shaped-- should be inserted before “middle cover” for the same reasons as discussed above.
In claim 16, line 2, “humidified” is misspelled before “air”. Also, in claim 16, the last line does not make sense as currently recited. Apparently, the term --between--should be inserted after “formed” to obviate the error.
In claim 17, line 3, “provide” should apparently be replaced by --provided-- for clarity of the claim. Also, in claim 17, the phrase “the first flow discharge path”, bridging lines 3 and 4 of the claim should apparently be replaced by --the first discharge flow path-- to place the phrase in agreement with the recitation on line 2 of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Lev ‘134.
Lev ‘134 (Figs. 2-4, and 6; paragraphs [0025], [0028], [0030], and [0034]) teaches a humidifier that anticipates independent claim 1, having a case (the unnumbered central tower above base 12) having a humidifying device (70) disposed inside the case to generate humidified air, a light source (96) inside the case, the case including an inner shell (84) which defines at least a portion of the discharge flow path through which the humidified air flows, the light being disposed outside of the inner shell (see Fig. 6).
With regard to dependent claim 13, the reference further teaches a discharge pipe (the side walls of recessed area 68) that leads the humidified air from the humidifying device (70) to the shell inlet at the lower surface of the inner shell (84) to communicate the discharge pipe to the discharge flow path.
With respect to claims 17 and 19, the Lev ‘134 reference clearly teaches a humidifier including a case (the unnumbered central tower above base 12), which defines the first discharge flow path through the element (84) within the case, the case having a humidifying device (70) disposed inside the case and below the first discharge flow path to generate humidified air and deliver the humidified air through the discharge flow path, a light source (96) positioned above the humidifying device and emitting light toward the discharge flow path through a light diffuser (102) positioned between the light and first discharge flow path.
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by KR 10-2019-0063522 A.
KR 10-2019-0063522 A (Figs. 2 and 3) teaches a humidifier having a case (100,200) with a humidifying device (350) disposed inside the case to generate humidified air, a light source (120) disposed inside the case and which emits light (see Fig. 3), the case including an inner shell (360) disposed above the humidifying device and defining at least a portion of the discharge flow path through which the humidified air flows, wherein the light source (120) is disposed outside of the inner shell. With regard to dependent claim 16, the reference further discloses a water tank (320) to provide water to the humidifying device and wherein the water tank is positioned radially within the outer dimension of the inner shell and the discharge flow path is formed by the inner shell and water tank.
Claims 1, 2, 13, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by JP 7128599 B1.
JP 7128599 B1 (Figs. 4 and 13; English Machine Translation) teaches a humidifier that anticipates independent claim 1, having a case (22) having a humidifying device (25) disposed inside the case to generate humidified air, a plurality of light sources (26) installed along the circumference of a middle tray (claim 2) within the case (see Fig. 4), the middle tray being disposed between the humidifying device (25) and the inner shell (28) that is included within the case, wherein the inner shell (28) defines at least a portion of the discharge flow path through which the humidified air flows, the light source being disposed outside of the inner shell (see Figs. 4 and 13).
With regard to dependent claim 13, the reference further teaches a discharge pipe (the side walls of the recessed area of humidifying device 25) that leads the humidified air from the humidifying device (25) to the shell inlet at the lower surface of the inner shell (28) to communicate the discharge pipe to the discharge flow path.
With respect to claims 17 and 19, the JP ‘599 reference clearly teaches a humidifier including a case (22), which defines the first discharge flow path through the element (28) within the case, the case having a humidifying device (25) disposed inside the case and below the first discharge flow path to generate humidified air and deliver the humidified air through the discharge flow path, a light source (26) positioned above the recessed bottom of the humidifying device (25) and emitting light toward the discharge flow path through a light diffuser (the transparent bottom of tank 21) positioned between the light and first discharge flow path.
With regard to independent claim 20, JP ‘599 teaches a humidifier wherein the case includes an inner shell (28) and an outer shell (22), which define the discharge flow path, with a humidifying device (25) disposed inside the case and below the discharge flow path to generate humidified air and deliver the humidified air through the discharge flow path, a light source (26) positioned below the inner and outer shells and emitting light toward the discharge flow path through a light diffuser (the transparent bottom of tank 21) positioned between the light and first discharge flow path.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the inner shell having a protruding rib which extends downward from a circumference of the shell inlet and corresponds to the circumference of the discharge pipe, as recited by instant claim 14. Claim 15 would be allowable based upon its dependence on an allowable claim 14.
Claims 3-12, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the middle tray including an annular shaped middle cover forming at least a portion of the outer circumference of the middle tray and covers the plurality of light sources, with an annular light diffuser forming a portion of an inner circumference of the middle tray and covering the plurality of light sources, with the light sources disposed between the middle cover and the light diffuser, as set forth by dependent claim 3. Claim 4, 9, and 10 would be allowable based upon their dependence on an allowable claim 3.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the middle tray including an annular light diffuser that is light transmissive and covers the plurality of light sources, and a middle plate that is disposed adjacent to the center of the annular light diffuser, and on which the inner shell is seated, the light diffuser being coupled to the middle plate, as set forth by dependent claim 5. Claims 6-8, 11, and 12 would be allowable based upon their dependence on an allowable claim 5.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the humidifier of dependent claim 18, including a blower that delivers air to the humidifying device and bypasses air around the humidifying device to provide a humidified air stream through a first discharge flow path and a plain air stream through a second discharge flow path that is radially outside of the first discharge flow path, wherein the light source does not emit light into the second discharge flow path.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/C.S.B/6-17-26
/CHARLES S BUSHEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776