DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 21-35) in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged. A supplemental election of species b.ii. (Fig. 11), c.iv. (Fig. 12), and d.ix. (Fig. 15) was made in an interview on 07/30/2026.
Claims 36-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 21-35 are currently under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 30, and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 21 and 31, the recitations of “the tissue sample holder is in” should instead read –the tissue sample holder in--.
Regarding claim 30, the recitation of “claim 21, the sample” should instead read –claim 21, wherein the sample--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control module” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 27, the recitation of “further configured to one or more calcifications” is unclear because of an apparent missing word. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as configured to detect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-26, 28, 29, and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2014/0039343 (“Mescher”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0163414 (“Lee”).
Regarding claim 21, Mescher teaches [a] biopsy system (Abstract, Fig. 1, system 2), comprising: (a) a biopsy device (Fig. 1, device 10), wherein the biopsy device includes: (i) a body (Fig. 1, probe 100 and holster 200), (ii) a needle (Fig. 1, needle 110), (iii) a cutter, the needle extending from the body to collect tissue samples using the cutter (Fig. 5, cutter 150, ¶ 0095), … and (v) a tissue sample holder, …, the tissue sample holder being configured to receive tissue samples … (Figs. 9-11, tissue sample holder 300, ¶ 0106); and (b) a control module, wherein the control module is in communication with the biopsy device (¶ 0121, Fig. 22B, a microcontroller – also see Fig. 1, control module 400).
Mescher does not appear to explicitly teach (iv) a sample analyzer including a gate and a detector, the gate being configured to selectively arrest movement of a tissue sample within the sample analyzer for analysis using the detector, wherein the tissue sample holder is in communication with the sample analyzer, the tissue sample holder being configured to receive tissue samples after analysis by the sample analyzer (although the tissue sample holder does store samples at the end of travel).
Lee teaches a biopsy device that incorporates a gate and detector as a sample analyzer (Figs. 6a and 6b, valve V and electrical signal inspector 410 in relation to storage 290 – also see ¶¶s 0026, 0027, 0120, etc.), the gate being configured to selectively arrest movement of a tissue sample within the analyzer for analysis (¶ 0147), the analyzer being in communication with a tissue sample holder (storage 290 itself and/or the end of the pneumatic line as shown in Fig. 4b and described in ¶ 0124) for storage after analysis (¶ 0113).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sample analyzer of Lee into Mescher, including before or with the tissue sample holder, for the purpose of being able to evaluate characteristics of the sample (Lee: ¶¶s 0027, 0082, 0120, etc.).
Regarding claim 22, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches the gate being configured to transition between an open and closed position to selectively arrest a tissue sample before transport to the tissue sample holder (Lee: ¶ 0147, opening necessary to receive the flow, and closing necessary to prevent reverse-flow).
Regarding claim 23, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches the analyzer further including a sample lumen (Lee: Fig. 6a, receiving the sample into storage 290), the detector being in communication with the control module (Mescher: ¶ 0121, it would have been obvious to use the microcontroller to control this aspect of the device as well), the detector protruding into the sample lumen (Lee: Fig. 6a, physical contact necessary for use of the electrodes – also see Lee: ¶ 0019, obvious to use different heights for the purpose of interrogating different sized samples), the sample lumen being in communication with the cutter to receive a tissue sample therein (receiving a sample as in Lee: Fig. 6a).
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 23, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches the detector including a pair of bioimpedance electrodes, a portion of each bioimpedance electrode extending into the sample lumen to physically contact a tissue sample received in the sample lumen, the pair of bioimpedance electrodes being in communication with the control module, the control module being configured to measure an impedance associated with the tissue sample using the pair of bioimpedance electrodes (Lee: Fig. 6a, showing a pair – also see ¶ 0120, describing impedance).
Regarding claim 26, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 24, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches the pair of bioimpedance electrodes being in communication with the control module, the control module being configured to generate a measured impedance associated with the tissue sample using the pair of bioimpedance electrodes, the control module being further configured to identify one or more properties of the tissue sample using the measured impedance (Lee: ¶¶s 0008, 0082, 0097, etc., characteristics of the tissue based on impedance).
Regarding claim 28, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 24, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches a portion of each bioimpedance electrode of the pair of bioimpedance electrodes being exposed to an exterior of the sample analyzer (Lee: Fig. 6a, the conductive portions leading to signal transmitter 411 and signal receiver 412).
Regarding claim 29, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 24, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches a portion of each bioimpedance electrode of the pair of bioimpedance electrodes being exposed to an exterior of the sample analyzer to define a communication portion of each bioimpedance electrode, the communication portion of each bioimpedance electrode being configured to engage a portion of the body to communicate electrical current with the body (Lee: Fig. 6a, the conductive portions leading to signal transmitter 411 and signal receiver 412).
Regarding claim 31, Mescher teaches [a] biopsy device (Fig. 1, device 10), comprising: (a) a body (Fig. 1, probe 100 and holster 200), (b) a needle (Fig. 1, needle 110), (c) a cutter, the needle extending from the body to collect tissue samples using the cutter (Fig. 5, cutter 150, ¶ 0095), … and (e) a tissue sample holder, …, the tissue sample holder being configured to receive tissue samples … (Figs. 9-11, tissue sample holder 300, ¶ 0106).
Mescher does not appear to explicitly teach (d) a sample analyzer including a gate and one or more electrodes, the gate being configured to selectively arrest movement of a tissue sample within the sample analyzer for analysis using the one or more electrodes, wherein the tissue sample holder is in communication with the sample analyzer, the tissue sample holder being configured to receive tissue samples after analysis by the sample analyzer (although the tissue sample holder does store samples at the end of travel).
Lee teaches a biopsy device that incorporates a gate and one or more electrodes as a sample analyzer (Figs. 6a and 6b, valve V and electrical signal inspector 410 in relation to storage 290 – also see ¶¶s 0026, 0027, 0097 (electrodes for determining characteristics such as impedance), 0120, etc.), the gate being configured to selectively arrest movement of a tissue sample within the analyzer for analysis (¶ 0147), the analyzer being in communication with a tissue sample holder (storage 290 itself and/or the end of the pneumatic line as shown in Fig. 4b and described in ¶ 0124) for storage after analysis (¶ 0113).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sample analyzer of Lee into Mescher, including before or with the tissue sample holder, for the purpose of being able to evaluate characteristics of the sample (Lee: ¶¶s 0027, 0082, 0120, etc.).
Regarding claim 32, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 31, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches the sample analyzer being integrated into a portion of the tissue sample holder (Lee: as shown in Fig. 6a).
Regarding claim 33, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 31, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches a portion of the sample analyzer defining a cutter passage configured to slidably receive a portion of the cutter, the one or more electrodes being in communication with the cutter passage (Lee: as shown in Fig. 6a, the lumen defining a cutter passage that interfaces with the cutter 150 of Mescher (Fig. 5, ¶ 0095)).
Regarding claim 34, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 31, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches a portion of the sample analyzer defining a cutter passage configured to slidably receive a portion of the cutter, the one or more electrodes including a pair of electrodes, the pair of electrodes extending parallel relative to each other through a portion of the cutter passage (Lee: as shown in Fig. 6a, the lumen defining a cutter passage that interfaces with the cutter 150 of Mescher (Fig. 5, ¶ 0095); Lee: Fig. 6a also shows a pair of parallel electrodes).
Regarding claim 35, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 31, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches the cutter, the sample analyzer, and the tissue sample holder being aligned along a common axis (Mescher: Fig. 5; Lee: Fig. 6a).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mescher-Lee in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0180273 (“Nair”).
Regarding claim 27, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 24, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee further teaches the pair of bioimpedance electrodes being in communication with the control module (as above), the control module being configured to generate a measured impedance associated with the tissue sample using the pair of bioimpedance electrodes (as above), but does not appear to explicitly teach the control module being further configured to one or more calcifications disposed within the tissue sample using the measured impedance.
Nair teaches that impedance properties can distinguish different types of plaques, including calcified plaques (¶¶s 0127, 0200).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the detected impedance to determine calcification, as in Nair, for the purpose of being able to detect and distinguish plaques (Nair: ¶ 0127).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mescher-Lee in view of US Patent Application Publication 2011/0208087 (“Trezza II”).
Regarding claim 30, Mescher-Lee teaches all the features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above. Mescher-Lee does not appear to explicitly teach the sample analyzer includes a tissue window, the tissue window being disposed within the body of the biopsy device and being sealed relative to an exterior of the biopsy device
Trezza II teaches making portions of probe 200 and transport tube 226 transparent, or incorporating windows therein (¶ 0051).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a tissue window into the sample analyzer of the combination, as in Trezza II, for the purpose of enabling a user to confirm sample capture and transport (Trezza II: ¶ 0051).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,905,404 in view of Mescher, Lee, Nair, and/or Trezza II. Claim 1 teaches all features except for those made up by Mescher, Lee, Nair, and/or Trezza II as outlined above.
Claims 21-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,998,179 in view of Mescher, Lee, Nair, and/or Trezza II. Claim 1 teaches all features except for those made up by Mescher, Lee, Nair, and/or Trezza II as outlined above.
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791