DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 6/25/2026. Claims 1, 5, 9, 13, 18 are amended and claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recites “wherein a sum of the weights [of the light based on color information of a first light] is 100%”. The term “100%” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “100%” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no algorithmic solution to determining the measure of 100% and there is no clear, non-trivial meaning of the phrase. For example, if the light source consisted of red light at 1mW and blue light at 1mW, then one could say the sum of those power weights is 100%. Analogously, were the respective optical powers increased to 2mW then the sum of the power weights remains 100%. Adding a green light source of 1mW would trivially change the weights, but the sum of the powers would remain 100% of the output power. In other words, as percent necessarily relates to a measurement value, the claims do not provide sufficient context for determining the claimed sum with definite metes and bounds. In the 6/25/2026 Remarks, Applicant points to Table 2 and [0188] of the originally-filed Specifications to evidence the claimed “weights”. These weights are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, even assuming en arguendo that the claimed weights were weighted currents, the phrase “sum of the weights is 100%” remains indefinite without clarifying that the sum of currents is constant while the weights are adjusted. For the purpose of examination, “weights” are understood to merely require a relationship and the claimed “sum of the weights is 100%” is a trivial limitation that remains true for any combination/relationship/weights. Dependent claims 2-8 and 10-20 are rejected as failing to cure the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub. 2018/0352164 to Higuchi, et al. (hereinafter Higuchi).
Regarding claim 1, Higuchi discloses an apparatus, comprising: a light source system (light source 220, Figs. 3-6) configured to emit light of at least two colors (blue laser 201B, red laser 201R, green laser 201G, Fig. 4) and adjust weights of the light based on the color information of a first light, weights are within a first threshold of preset weights, and herein a sum of the weights is 100% (“the control system 250 corrects the brightness of a display image displayed by the HUD 200 in such a manner as to maintain white balance”, Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0125]); a light splitting system (dichroic mirrors 204B, 204R, 204G, Fig. 4) configured to: split the light into a first light (light to power monitoring photodiode 206, Figs. 3-6) and a second light (light to lens 205, Figs. 3-6); propagate the first light (Figs. 1-6); and propagate the second light (Figs. 1-6); a modulator (optical scanning apparatus 208, Fig. 3, 5-6) configured to: receive the second light (Figs. 3); and modulate the second light to obtain image light that carries image information (“scanning light L′ two-dimensionally deflected by scanning operation of the mirror of the optical scanning device 208 is reflected by the free-curved mirror 209 so that distortion is corrected. The light of which the distortion has been corrected is condensed onto the micro-lens array 210 and renders the intermediate image”; [0037]); and a sensing system (power monitoring PD 206, Fig. 3-6; [0033],[0036]) configured to: receive the first light; and obtain the color information (“the control system 250 corrects the brightness of a display image displayed by the HUD 200 in such a manner as to maintain white balance”, Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0082]).
Note: A sum of a subset of color values in white balancing may always be considered a sum of 100% for that time, regardless of total luminance.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 19, Higuchi discloses a processing component configured to: receive the color information from the sensing system (“the control system 250 corrects the brightness of a display image displayed by the HUD 200 in such a manner as to maintain white balance”, Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0082]) ; and generate a control signal based on the color information, wherein the control signal is configured to adjust the weights (“the control system 250 updates the corresponding light intensity table 253t (step S7)”; Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0082]); and a light emitting component configured to adjust, based on the control signal, the weights (Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 20, Higuchi discloses the processing component is further configured to: determine a color coordinate of the image light based on the color information (“the control system 250 corrects the brightness of a display image displayed by the HUD 200 in such a manner as to maintain white balance”, Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0082]); and generate the control signal when a difference between the color coordinate and a preset target color coordinate is greater than a second threshold (“the control system 250 updates the corresponding light intensity table 253t (step S7)”; Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Higuchi discloses a transflective part, wherein either the first light is transmitted from the transflective part and the second light is reflected from the transflective part (Fig. 4), or the first light is reflected from the transflective part and the second light is transmitted from the transflective part.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Higuchi discloses a first light source configured to emit red light; a second light source configured to emit blue light; and a third light source configured to emit green light (Fig. 4; [0033]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Higuchi discloses a first dichroic mirror (dichroic mirror 204G, Fig. 4) configured to: reflect the blue light from the second light source; and transmit the green light from the third light source; and a second dichroic mirror (dichroic mirror 204G, Fig. 4)configured to: reflect the red light from the first light source; transmit the green light; and transmit the blue light ([0035]-[0036]). The dichroic mirror 204G reflects and transmits all three colors.
Regarding claim 8, Higuchi discloses the preset weights indicate an operating mode of a vehicle, and wherein the operating mode is one of: a snow mode; a rain mode; a sunny mode; a nighttime mode; or a daytime mode ([0033]-[0034], [0070]-[0071],[0075]-[0119]). This language limits a configuration of the light source system indirectly and does not require a particular structure limitation on any particular component thereof. Accordingly, it is understood that a light source system capable of white balance is configured to perform the claimed function.
Regarding claim 9, Higuchi discloses a system (Figs. 3-6), comprising: an apparatus, (see above) and a spatial light amplification system (convex mirror 209, projection mirror 211 and windscreen 302, Fig. 3) configured to amplify an image corresponding to the image light.
Regarding claim 16, Higuchi discloses the light source system is further configured to adjust a brightness of the light (“the control system 250 updates the corresponding light intensity table 253t (step S7)”; Fig. 7A; [0071],[0075]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 17, Higuchi discloses the spatial light amplification system comprises any one or any combination of the following: at least one curved reflective mirror; and at least one cylindrical mirror (convex mirror 209, projection mirror 211 and windscreen 302, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Higuchi discloses a vehicle (Fig. 1-3), comprising: a display system (Figs. 3-6), an apparatus (above), and a windshield configured to reflect the image light (Figs. 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, as applied to Claims 1 and 9, and further in view of JP 2007079402 to Fujinawa (hereinafter Fujinawa; cited by Applicant).
Higuchi discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose the light splitting system comprises a polarizing beam splitter, wherein either the first light is P-polarized light and the second light is S-polarized light, or the first light is S-polarized light and the second light is P-polarized light.
Fujinawa discloses the light splitting system comprises a polarizing beam splitter, wherein either the first light is P-polarized light and the second light is S-polarized light, or the first light is S-polarized light and the second light is P-polarized light (Abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to split by polarization as taught by Fujinawa with the system as disclosed by Higuchi. The motivation would have been to control light emission amount through the system (see full disclosure).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 11 of the Remarks, Applicant argues “Higuchi’s control system 250 corrects a brightness of a display image, not weights of a light based on color information of a first light”. Higuchi discloses a control process loop for adjusting light intensity tables for red, green, and blue light sources, for example, in a white balance process using either an environment light sensor (150) or forward shooting camera (110) as a factor in the process. This teaching anticipates the claimed adjustment of weights based on a first light in which a sum of weights if 100%. In other words, the white balancing using Higuchi’s light intensity tables is not a process by which intensity is adjusted monolithically. Further, Applicant argues “the specification clearly distinguishes between weights and brightness”. Examiner agrees, in part, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a display brightness is composed of a summation of brightness of individual sources and the relationship between the brightness of individual sources is reasonably construed as “weight”. Higuchi does not merely disclose adjusting brightness such that all sources are modified in a same way, but rather individually controls light sources to adjust the intensity for the purpose of controlling a perceived intensity by viewers. Higuchi discloses neither means nor process whereby display brightness is changed without changing individual light source brightness. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand this to be a process of white balancing, in part, and anticipatory of the claimed weights.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872