DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claims: 1 – 6; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1 & 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new secondary reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0120561 A1; pub. Apr. 21, 2022) in view of Fruh et al. (US 2018/0319951 A1; pub. Nov.8, 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. disclose: An X-ray apparatus for analyzing three-dimensional nanostructures, comprising: an X-ray source for emitting X-ray (para. [0010]), wherein the X-ray has a wavelength greater than or equal to 0.154 nm (para. [0010]); an X-ray reflector configured to reflect the X-ray onto a sample surface of a sample (para. [0010]); and an X-ray detector configured to collect reflected X-ray reflected by the sample surface of the sample (para. [0010]), wherein the reflected X-ray comprises a plurality of scattered X-rays (para. [0010]), the X-ray detector collects a plurality of scattered intensities (para. [0010]).
Liu et al. disclose: a plurality of scattering angles of the plurality of scattered X-ray and analyzes structural information of the sample based on at least one of the plurality of scattered intensities and the plurality of scattering angles.
In a similar field of endeavor Fruh et al. disclose: a plurality of scattering angles of the plurality of scattered X-ray and analyzes structural information of the sample based on at least one of the plurality of scattered intensities and the plurality of scattering angles (para. [0326]) motivated by the benefits for determining the size and shape of nanostructures (Fruh et al. para. [0326]).
In light of the benefits for improving the focus beam on the detector as taught by Fruh et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu et al. with the teachings of Fruh et al.
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al. disclose: the X-ray has a wavelength greater than 0.154 nm (para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al. disclose: an incident slit disposed between the X-ray reflector and the sample, wherein the X-ray from the X-ray source passes through the incident slit to the sample surface of the sample after the X-ray from the X-ray source is reflected by the X-ray reflector (fig.1A item 200, para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. disclose: the reflected X-ray comprises specularly reflected X-ray, and the X-ray detector collects reflected X-ray intensity of the reflected X-ray and removes intensity of the specularly reflected X-ray from the reflected X-ray intensity (para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. and Fruh et al. disclose: A method for analyzing three-dimensional nanostructures, comprising: emitting X-ray by an X-ray source; reflecting the X-ray onto a sample surface of a sample by an X- ray reflector; collecting reflected X-ray reflected by the sample surface of the sample by an X-ray detector, wherein the reflected X-ray comprises a plurality of scattered X-rays; and analyzing structural information of the sample based on at least one of a plurality of scattered intensities and a plurality of scattering angles of the plurality of scattered X-ray (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. disclose: the X-ray has a wavelength greater than or equal to 0.154 nm (para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al. disclose: the plurality of scattered X-ray correspond to the plurality of scattering angles, and the plurality of scattering angles are different from each other (para. [0040], [0042]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0120561 A1; pub. Apr. 21, 2022) in view of Fruh et al. (US 2018/0319951 A1; pub. Nov.8, 2018) and further in view of Dikopoltsev et al. (US 11,181,490 B2; pub. Nov. 23, 2021).
Regarding claim 3, the combined references are silent about: a multi-axis moving device configured to control the X-ray detector to move along at least one of an X direction, a Y direction and a Z direction.
In a similar field of endeavor Dikopoltsev et al. disclose: a multi-axis moving device configured to control the X-ray detector to move along at least one of an X direction, a Y direction and a Z direction (col.26 L42-51) motivated by the benefits for improving the focus beam on the detector (Dikopoltsev et al. col.26 L46-47).
In light of the benefits for improving the focus beam on the detector as taught by Dikopoltsev et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu et al. and Fruh et al. with the teachings of Dikopoltsev et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0120561 A1; pub. Apr. 21, 2022) in view of Fruh et al. (US 2018/0319951 A1; pub. Nov.8, 2018) and further in view of Tanigaki et al. (US 2025/0204164 A1; pub. Jun. 19, 2025).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: the reflected X-ray comprises specularly reflected X-ray, and method further comprises: collecting reflected X-ray intensity of the reflected X-ray by the X-ray detector; collecting intensity of the specularly reflected X-ray by the X-ray detector; and removing the intensity of the specularly reflected X-ray from the reflected X-ray intensity of the reflected X-ray.
In a similar field of endeavor Tanigaki et al. disclose: the reflected X-ray comprises specularly reflected X-ray, and method further comprises: collecting reflected X-ray intensity of the reflected X-ray by the X-ray detector; collecting intensity of the specularly reflected X-ray by the X-ray detector; and removing the intensity of the specularly reflected X-ray from the reflected X-ray intensity of the reflected X-ray (para. [0284] teaches specular reflection contributes to glariness therefore should be reduced) motivated by the benefits for improved image quality (Tanigaki et al. para. [0284]).
In light of the benefits for improved image quality as taught by Tanigaki et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Liu et al. and Fruh et al. with the teachings of Tanigaki et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884