DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 4/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 13-23 remain pending in the application. Claims 4-5 and 12 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11, 13-14, 18 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US 20170136617 A1) in view of Fischer (US 20070143955 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lucas teaches a razor handle (see Figure 10) configured to be coupled with a razor cartridge comprising at least one razor blade (1010, see Figure 10), the razor handle comprising:
a handle body (1030) comprising a first opening formed at a first end thereof in a lengthwise direction (see Figure 8 for an example), and a second opening formed at a second end thereof in the lengthwise direction (see Figure 8 for an example);
a head portion (1021) comprising a cartridge coupling portion (at the connection of 1010) at least partially exposed to the outside of the first opening and configured to be coupled with the razor cartridge (see Figure 10), and a head body (like 635 in Figure 8 for the embodiment of Figure 10) extending from the cartridge coupling portion as a continuous structure and accommodated in the handle body through the first opening (see Figure 10, also see Figure 2 for inner connection of 1030); and
a tail portion (1031) comprising a distal end portion at least partially exposed to the outside of the second opening (see Figure 10), and a tail body (like 650 in Figure 8 for the embodiment of Figure 10) extending from the distal end portion and accommodated in the handle body through the second opening (see Figure 10),
wherein the head body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the tail body (head body is detachable from tail body, see Figure 8 for the embodiment of Figure 10), and wherein the tail body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body (head body is detachable from tail body, see Figure 8 for the embodiment of Figure 10), and
the tail body comprises a tail rod extending from the distal end portion.
Lucas fails to teach a connection member separably coupled to the tail rod and detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body.
Fischer teaches a handle including a head portion (9) comprising at least partially exposed to the outside of the first opening, and a head body (20, see Figure 2) extending from the head portion as a continuous structure and accommodated in the handle body (10) through the first opening (see Figure 2); and a tail portion (30) comprising a distal end portion at least partially exposed to the outside of the second opening (see Figure 2), and a tail body (thread on 35, see Figure 2) extending from the distal end portion and accommodated in the handle body through the second opening (see Figure 2), wherein the head body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the tail body (head body is detachable from tail body via connection member, see Figure 2), and wherein the tail body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body (head body is detachable from tail body via connection member, see Figure 2), and the tail body comprises a tail rod (screw on 35, see Figure 2) extending from the distal end portion, a connection member (assembly of 22 and 28) separably coupled to the tail rod and detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lucas and change the inner connection arrangement of the handle, as taught by Fischer, in order to a handle that reduce vibration (abstract of Fischer).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lucas further teaches the head body is separated from at least one of the handle body or the tail body by a force that acts in the lengthwise direction (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lucas further teaches the tail body is separated from at least one of the handle body or the head body by a force that acts in the lengthwise direction (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lucas further teaches the connection member comprises a tail coupling portion to be coupled to the tail rod, and the tail coupling portion comprises an extension rod extending in the lengthwise direction, and a protruding end extending from the extension rod in a direction different from the lengthwise direction (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lucas further teaches the tail rod comprises a protruding end accommodating portion to accommodate the protruding end therein, and a separation preventing portion formed to surround at least a portion of the protruding end accommodated in the protruding end accommodating portion and preventing the protruding end from being separated from the protruding end accommodating portion in the lengthwise direction (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 11, Lucas teaches a razor handle (see Figure 10) configured to be coupled with a razor cartridge comprising at least one razor blade (see Figure 10), the razor handle comprising:
a handle body (1090) comprising a first opening formed at a first end thereof in a lengthwise direction, and a second opening formed at a second end thereof in the lengthwise direction (see Figure 10);
a head portion (1021) comprising a cartridge coupling portion at least partially exposed to the outside of the first opening and configured to be coupled with the razor cartridge (see Figure 10), and a head body extending from the cartridge coupling portion as a continuous structure and accommodated in the handle body through the first opening (see Figure 10); and
a tail portion (1031) comprising a distal end portion at least partially exposed to the outside of the second opening, and a tail body extending from the distal end portion and accommodated in the handle body through the second opening (see Figure 10 and see Figure 8 for the inner portion),
wherein the head body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the tail body (see Figure 10 and see Figure 8 for the inner portion),
wherein the tail body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body (see Figure 10 and see Figure 8 for the inner portion), and
wherein the head body comprises a head rod extending from the cartridge coupling portion (see Figure 10 and see Figure 8 for the inner portion).
Lucas fails to teach a connection member connected separably coupled to the head rod and detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body and the tail body.
Fischer teaches a handle including a head portion (9) comprising at least partially exposed to the outside of the first opening, and a head body (20, see Figure 2) extending from the head portion as a continuous structure and accommodated in the handle body (10) through the first opening (see Figure 2); and a tail portion (30) comprising a distal end portion at least partially exposed to the outside of the second opening (see Figure 2), and a tail body (thread on 35, see Figure 2) extending from the distal end portion and accommodated in the handle body through the second opening (see Figure 2), wherein the head body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the tail body (head body is detachable from tail body via connection member, see Figure 2), and wherein the tail body is detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body (head body is detachable from tail body via connection member, see Figure 2), and the tail body comprises a tail rod (screw on 35, see Figure 2) extending from the distal end portion, a connection member (assembly of 22 and 28) separably coupled to the tail rod and detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lucas and change the inner connection arrangement of the handle, as taught by Fischer, in order to a handle that reduce vibration (abstract of Fischer).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lucas further teaches the connection member comprises a head coupling portion to couple be coupled with the head rod, and the head coupling portion comprises an extension rod extending in the lengthwise direction, and a protruding end extending from the extension rod in a direction different from the lengthwise direction (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 14, modified Lucas further teaches the head rod comprises a protruding end accommodating portion to accommodate the protruding end therein, and a separation preventing portion formed to surround at least a portion of the protruding end accommodated in the protruding end accommodating portion and preventing the protruding end from being separated from the protruding end accommodating portion in the lengthwise direction (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 18, modified Lucas further teaches the head body comprises a head rod extending from the cartridge coupling portion, and a connection member connected detachably coupled to the head rod and detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body and the tail body, the connection member of the tail body is separated from at least one of the handle body and the head body by a force that acts in the lengthwise direction, and the connection member of the head body is separated from at least one of the handle body or the tail body by a force that acts in the lengthwise direction (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 22, modified Lucas further teaches the coupling between the connection member and the tail rod is not released by force in the lengthwise direction to separate the tail body and at least one the handle body or the head body (as modified by Fischer, see Figure 2 of Fischer).
Regarding claim 23, modified Lucas further teaches a material of the tail rod is different from that of the connection member (as modified by Fischer, a least the material of 28 is different, see Figure 2 and 4 of Fischer).
Claims 8-10, 15-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US 20170136617 A1) in view of Fischer (US 20070143955 A1) and in further view of Perry (US 3795979).
Regarding claims 8, 15 and 21, modified Lucas teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claims 7, 14 and 1.
Modified Lucas fails to teach the protruding end is inserted in or separated from the protruding end accommodating portion in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise direction.
Perry teaches a razor handle including a connection including the protruding end is inserted in or separated from the protruding end accommodating portion in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise direction (protruding end 248, see Figures 11-13).
Modified Lucas differs from the claimed device due to the protruding ends are threads, whereas Perry teaches the protruding end is inserted in or separated from the protruding end accommodating portion in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise direction. Both modified Lucas and Perry teach a connection portion. Such modification will achieve the predictable result of providing securing the cap of the handle, since both connection of modified Lucas and Perry are known for the same purpose in the art. See MPEP § 2143 I. (B). Therefore, it would have been an obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one arrangement for another for the purpose of proving an easy connection.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, modified Lucas teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claims 1 and 11.
Modified Lucas fails to teach the connection member comprises an elastic coupling portion detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body, and at least one of the handle body and the head body comprises a locking protrusion to be detachably coupled to the elastic coupling portion.
Perry teaches a razor handle including the connection member comprises an elastic coupling portion detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body, and at least one of the handle body and the head body comprises a locking protrusion to be detachably coupled to the elastic coupling portion (protruding end 248, see Figures 11-13).
Modified Lucas differs from the claimed device due to the protruding ends are threads, whereas Perry teaches elastic coupling portion. Both modified Lucas and Perry teach a connection portion. Such modification will achieve the predictable result of providing securing the cap of the handle, since both connection of modified Lucas and Perry are known for the same purpose in the art. See MPEP § 2143 I. (B). Therefore, it would have been an obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one arrangement for another for the purpose of proving an easy connection.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, modified Lucas teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claims 1 and 11.
Modified Lucas fails to teach the connection member comprises a pair of elastic coupling portions extending toward the head body, and an elastic connecting portion connecting the pair of elastic coupling portions, the tail rod comprises an accommodating portion to accommodate the elastic connecting portion therein, and a separation preventing portion to prevent the elastic connecting portion accommodated in the accommodating portion from being separated from the accommodating portion in the lengthwise direction, and at least one of the handle body or the head body comprises a locking protrusion detachably coupled to the pair of elastic coupling portions.
Perry teaches a razor handle including the connection member comprises a pair of elastic coupling portions extending toward the head body, and an elastic connecting portion connecting the pair of elastic coupling portions, the tail rod comprises an accommodating portion to accommodate the elastic connecting portion therein, and a separation preventing portion to prevent the elastic connecting portion accommodated in the accommodating portion from being separated from the accommodating portion in the lengthwise direction, and at least one of the handle body or the head body comprises a locking protrusion detachably coupled to the pair of elastic coupling portions (protruding end 248, see Figures 11-13).
Modified Lucas differs from the claimed device due to the protruding ends are threads, whereas Perry teaches elastic coupling portion. Both modified Lucas and Perry teach a connection portion. Such modification will achieve the predictable result of providing securing the cap of the handle, since both connection of modified Lucas and Perry are known for the same purpose in the art. See MPEP § 2143 I. (B). Therefore, it would have been an obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one arrangement for another for the purpose of proving an easy connection.
Regarding claim 19, modified Lucas teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 18.
Modified Lucas fails to teach the connection member of the tail body comprises a first elastic coupling portion detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body, at least one of the handle body or the head body comprises a first locking protrusion detachably coupled to the first elastic coupling portion, the connection member of the head body comprises a second elastic coupling portion detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the tail body, at least one of the handle body or the tail body comprises a second locking protrusion detachably coupled to the second elastic coupling portion.
Perry teaches a razor handle including the connection member of the tail body comprises a first elastic coupling portion detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the head body, at least one of the handle body or the head body comprises a first locking protrusion detachably coupled to the first elastic coupling portion, the connection member of the head body comprises a second elastic coupling portion detachably coupled to at least one of the handle body or the tail body, at least one of the handle body or the tail body comprises a second locking protrusion detachably coupled to the second elastic coupling portion (protruding end 248, see Figures 11-13).
Modified Lucas differs from the claimed device due to the protruding ends are threads, whereas Perry teaches elastic coupling portion. Both modified Lucas and Perry teach a connection portion. Such modification will achieve the predictable result of providing securing the cap of the handle, since both connection of modified Lucas and Perry are known for the same purpose in the art. See MPEP § 2143 I. (B). Therefore, it would have been an obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one arrangement for another for the purpose of proving an easy connection.
Regarding claim 20, modified Lucas further teaches the first elastic coupling portion and the second elastic coupling portion are detachably coupled to the first locking protrusion and the second locking protrusion, respectively, while overlapping each other inside the handle body (as modified by Perry, see Figures 11-13 of Perry).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 and 13-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 5/15/2026