Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/12/2025 was entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeDuc et al. (US 6701913 B1; hereinafter LeDuc) in view of Anyan et al. (US 20150224837 A1; hereinafter Anyan).
Regarding claim 1, LeDuc teaches a reversible swing-arm system (FIG. 1, apparatus 100) comprising: a swing arm (FIG. 3, primary swing arm 340) that pivots at a first end (FIG. 3, the rightmost end of the primary swing arm 340) and includes one or more accessory mounting points (FIG. 3, the pedestal 376) toward a second end (FIG. 3, the rightmost end of the primary swing arm 340); a hitch arm (FIG. 3, support arm 322) couplable with a hitch receiver (FIG. 1, trailer hitch 102) of a vehicle (FIG. 1, vehicle 104) in at least two orientations (FIG. 3, the support arm 322 may be installed right side up or upside down), the hitch arm having an elbow (FIG. 3, the leftmost corner of the support arm 322) that extends to one or more of a left side and a right side of the vehicle when the hitch arm is coupled to the vehicle; and a hinge mechanism (FIG. 3, primary hinge assembly 350) coupled with the swing arm and allowing the swing arm to pivot about an axis (FIG. 3, the axis about which the primary hinge assembly 350 pivots) of rotation formed by the hinge mechanism.
LeDuc fails to teach the hitch arm being separable into two sections at a separation point, the two sections of the hitch arm being coupleable at the separation point in the at least two orientations; and the hinge mechanism being detachably coupleable with at least one of the two sections of the hitch arm in the at least two orientations of the hitch arm.
However, Anyan teaches the hitch arm being separable into two sections at a separation point, the two sections of the hitch arm being coupleable at the separation point in the at least two orientations (FIGS. 6A and 6B); and the hinge mechanism being detachably coupleable with the hitch arm in the at least two orientations of the hitch arm (FIGS. 6A and 6B, the hitch adapter apparatus may be installed in two configurations).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of LeDuc by making it so the assembly may be installed in one of two mirrored configurations, as taught by Anyan, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified LeDuc with these aforementioned teachings of Anyan with the motivation of allowing a user to mount a grill in one of two different configurations based on which is preferable (e.g., based on the user’s handedness).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the swing arm includes: a riser (LeDuc, FIG. 3, outside pedestal gusset 398) at the second end, the riser extending vertically upward when the reversible swing-arm system is mounted to the vehicle in each of the at least two orientations (Anyan, if installed in either configuration, the primary swing arm may still be installed to point upward).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the swing arm includes: the one or more accessory mounting points integrated with the swing arm, the one or more accessory mounting points allowing one or more accessories to be mounted to the swing arm in addition to a device coupled with the swing arm at the riser (FIG. 3, the pedestal 376 allows the cooking device 348 or another device to be installed).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the swing arm includes a hinge coupling portion (FIG. 3, bottom hinge plate 358) at the first end, the hinge coupling portion pivoting about a post (FIG. 3, primary hinge bar 366) integrated in the hinge mechanism and extending upward from the hitch arm when the reversible swing-arm system is mounted to the vehicle in each of the at least two orientations (Anyan, if installed in either configuration, the primary swing arm may still be installed to point upward).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the hitch arm inserts into the hitch receiver of the vehicle at a first end of the hitch arm and detatchably couples with the hinge mechanism at a second end of the hitch arm (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the support arm 322 attaches to the hitch and the hinge at different respective ends).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the elbow of the hitch arm statically maintains the hitch arm in a substantially L-shaped configuration (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the support arm 322 is L-shaped).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the hitch arm includes: a sleeve (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the material surrounding primary hinge hole 334) at an end of the hitch arm into which a portion of the hinge mechanism inserts.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the hinge mechanism includes a first hole (LeDuc, FIG. 3, central hole 354); the sleeve includes a second hole (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the primary hinge hole 334); and the reversible swing-arm system includes a security bolt (LeDuc, FIG. 3, primary hinge bar 366) simultaneously extending through the first hole and the second hole to secure the hinge mechanism to the sleeve.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the sleeve includes a first mounting plate (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the top plate surrounding the primary hinge hole 334) oriented in a substantially perpendicular direction to a length of the sleeve, the first mounting plate detachably coupling with a second mounting plate (LeDuc, FIG. 3, top hinge plate 352) of the hinge mechanism.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the hitch arm includes a tube with a bend forming the elbow (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the corner of the support arm 322 is made of a tube that forms an elbow), the hitch arm including a first end that inserts into the hitch receiver of the vehicle and a second end that is detachably coupleable with the hinge mechanism (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the support arm 322 fits into the hitch at one end and the hinge at the other end); the hinge mechanism is coupled with the swing arm in each of the at least two orientations in a configuration that causes a coupling mechanism of the hinge mechanism to be located vertically lower than the swing arm (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the primary hinge assembly 350 extends about the primary swing arm 340 and therefore underneath it); and the coupling mechanism is coupled with the second end of the hitch arm in each of the at least two orientations (the hinge is connected to the hitch arm in both configurations).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches that the hitch arm includes a tube with a bend forming the elbow (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the corner of the support arm 322 is made of a tube that forms an elbow), the hitch arm including a first end that inserts into the hitch receiver of the vehicle and a second end that is detachably coupleable with the hinge mechanism (LeDuc, FIG. 3, the support arm 322 fits into the hitch at one end and the hinge at the other end).
Regarding claim 16, LeDuc teaches a hitch-mountable system (FIG. 1, apparatus 100) comprising: a swing-arm system including: a swing arm (FIG. 3, primary swing arm 340) that pivots at a first end (FIG. 3, the rightmost end of the primary swing arm 340) and includes one or more accessory mounting points (FIG. 3, the pedestal 376) toward a second end (FIG. 3, the rightmost end of the primary swing arm 340); a hitch arm (FIG. 3, support arm 322) couplable with a hitch receiver (FIG. 1, trailer hitch 102) of a vehicle (FIG. 1, vehicle 104)in at least two orientations (FIG. 3, the support arm 322 may be installed right side up or upside down), the hitch arm having an elbow (FIG. 3, the leftmost corner of the support arm 322) that extends to one or more of a left side and a right side of the vehicle when the hitch arm is coupled to the vehicle; and a hinge mechanism (FIG. 3, primary hinge assembly 350) coupled with the swing arm and allowing the swing arm to pivot about an axis of rotation (FIG. 3, the axis about which the primary hinge assembly 350 pivots) formed by the hinge mechanism; and one or more accessories coupled with the swing-arm system at the one or more accessory mounting points, the one or more accessories including one or more of a storage container, a grill (FIG. 3, cooking device 348), a camp kitchen, and a horizontal platform forming a table.
LeDuc fails to teach the hitch arm being separable into two sections at a separation point, the two sections of the hitch arm being coupleable at the separation point in the at least two orientations; and the hinge mechanism being detachably coupleable with the hitch arm in the at least two orientations of the hitch arm.
However, Anyan teaches the hitch arm being separable into two sections at a separation point, the two sections of the hitch arm being coupleable at the separation point in the at least two orientations (FIGS. 6A and 6B); and the hinge mechanism being detachably coupleable with the hitch arm in the at least two orientations of the hitch arm (FIGS. 6A and 6B, the hitch adapter apparatus may be installed in two configurations).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of LeDuc by making it so the assembly may be installed in one of two mirrored configurations, as taught by Anyan, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified LeDuc with these aforementioned teachings of Anyan with the motivation of allowing a user to mount a grill in one of two different configurations based on which is preferable (e.g., based on the user’s handedness).
Claim(s) 11, 12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeDuc and Anyan as applied to claims 1-10, 13, and 16-20 above, and further in view of Peterson et al. (US 5683157 A; hereinafter Peterson).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan fails to teach a storage container coupled with a vertical riser of the swing arm, the storage container including a case and a lid (FIG. 3, the main box 12 and the sink 14, which acts as a lid).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of LeDuc by making it so the grill is replaced by the multi-purpose assembly of Peterson, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified LeDuc with these aforementioned teachings of Peterson with the motivation of allowing a user to wash items, store food, and a number of other things in addition to cooking.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of LeDuc, Anyan, and peterson teaches an accessory module inserted into the case of the storage container, the accessory module including a burner (“In this position kitchen 10 is fully functional to support a common two-burner stove”) and a sink basin (FIG. 3, sink 14).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of LeDuc and Anyan teaches a vertical riser (LeDuc, FIG. 3, column 384) of the swing arm, the one or more accessory mounting points including the vertical riser.
The combination of LeDuc and Anyan fails to teach a platform, one or more side tables slidably coupled with the platform, the one or more side tables sliding under the platform in a storage position and sliding horizontally out from under the platform in a deployed position.
However, Peterson teaches a platform (FIG. 3, table 18); one or more side tables slidably coupled with the platform, the one or more side tables sliding under the platform in a storage position and sliding horizontally out from under the platform in a deployed position (FIG. 3, the tray 56, which may slide out).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of LeDuc by making it so the grill is replaced by the multi-purpose assembly of Peterson, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified LeDuc with these aforementioned teachings of Peterson with the motivation of allowing a user to wash items, store food, and a number of other things in addition to cooking.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of LeDuc, Anyan, and Peterson teaches that the one or more side tables include an integrated gas burner (“In this position kitchen 10 is fully functional to support a common two-burner stove”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, on pages 10-12, the Applicant argues that LeDuc and Anyan do not teach a hitch arm separable into two sections at a separation point, the sections being coupleable at the separation point in at least two orientations. However, the Examiner respectfully notes that FIGS. 6A and 6B of Anyan do in fact show this. The members of assembly 100 may be separated from one another at a central joint and reoriented in multiple ways.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C WEINERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762