DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The election has been treated as an election without traverse because no statement was made indicating whether the election was made with or without traverse. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-11, in the reply filed on March 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen (PGPub 2004/0065507 cited in IDS) in view of Wilson (PGPub 2018/0119338 cited in IDS) and Balthes (PGPub 2003/0087572 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Jacobsen teaches a method for manufacturing a hemp-based building product or material (Abstract; [0032]- discussing hemp), the method comprising:
forming a hemp-based multilayer structure [0020], including
a first film layer ([0020]- (b) a first synthetic polymeric film layer),
applying a hemp strand layer to the first film layer ([0020]- (c) batt; [0031]-[0032]- insulative fibers of batt; [0032]- discussing hemp),
applying a filler material layer to the hemp strand layer ([0020]- (c) batt; [0031]-[0032]- synthetic binder fibers of batt; [0031]- binder fibers can be added to a web of insulative fibers during the batt-forming step),
applying a second film layer to the filler material layer ([0020]- (d) second synthetic polymeric film layer);
pressing the formed hemp-based multilayer structure ([0046]-[0047]- heated nip roller press and heat the composite); and
heating the formed hemp-based multilayer structure ([0046]-[0047]- heated nip roller press and heat the composite).
Jacobsen teaches the layers are adhered to each other [0020] but does not specify applying a first, second, and third solution to respective layers wherein the subsequent layer is applied to the previous layer with the corresponding solution.
Wilson teaches an alternative method of forming a hemp-based building product or material (Abstract) wherein the hemp fibers are soaked in adhesive solution (Fig. 7; [0034]) in order to improve hardness of natural hemp [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jacobsen to include soaking the hemp fibers in adhesive as taught by Wilson with reasonable expectation of success to improve hardness of natural hemp [0011] thus meeting the instant limitations of applying a second solution to the hemp strand layer and applying a filler material layer to the hemp strand layer with the second solution.
Balthes teaches an alternative method of forming a hemp-based [0007] composite (Abstract) wherein adhesive is applied between each layer [0077] to create a sufficient bond between layers of the composite [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Jacobsen and Wilson to include applying adhesive between each layer of the composite as taught by Balthes with reasonable expectation of success to create a sufficient bond between layers of the composite [0077] thus meeting the instant limitations of applying a first solution to a first film layer, applying a hemp strand layer to the first film layer with the first solution, applying a third solution to the filler material layer, and applying a second film layer to the filler material layer with the third solution.
Regarding Claim 2, Jacobsen further teaches at least one of the first film layer and the second film layer comprises a vinyl polymer or a paper layer [0040].
Regarding Claim 3, Jacobsen further teaches applying at least one additional filler material layer before applying the second film layer ([0020]- scrim sheet).
Regarding Claim 7, Balthes further teaches the first solution comprises a tacky solution ([0077]- discussing adhesives).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Wilson further teaches the second solution comprises an adhesive solution wherein the adhesive solution comprises a bioadhesive ([0034]- Agricultural based adhesives may include but are not limited to; soy, hemp, wheat or flower).
Regarding Claim 10, Bathes further teaches the third solution comprises an adhesive solution ([0077]- discussing adhesives).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen (PGPub 2004/0065507 cited in IDS) in view of Wilson (PGPub 2018/0119338 cited in IDS) and Balthes (PGPub 2003/0087572 cited in IDS) and Lavoie (PGPub 2006/0148363).
Regarding Claim 4, Jacobsen, Wilson and Balthes do not specify applying at least one additional hemp strand layer.
Lavoie teaches an alternative method of forming a hemp-based [0012] composite (Abstract) comprising a plurality of layers of lignocellulosic strands [0004] in order to achieve a desired composite strength [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Jacobsen, Wilson, and Balthes to include a plurality of layers of lignocellulosic strands as taught by Lavoie with reasonable expectation of success to achieve a desired composite strength [0005] thus meeting the instant limitation of applying at least one additional hemp strand layer.
Regarding Claim 5, Lavoie further teaches the at least one additional hemp strand layer comprises hemp fiber strands oriented at an angle with respect to hemp fiber strands in the hemp strand layer ([0005]- discussing oriented strands) in order to achieve a desired composite strength [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Jacobsen, Wilson, and Balthes to include oriented layers of lignocellulosic strands as taught by Lavoie with reasonable expectation of success to achieve a desired composite strength [0005].
Regarding Claim 6, Lavoie further teaches the angle is about 90-degrees ([0010]- discussing cross directionally oriented strands).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen (PGPub 2004/0065507 cited in IDS) in view of Wilson (PGPub 2018/0119338 cited in IDS) and Balthes (PGPub 2003/0087572 cited in IDS) and Wescott et al (PGPub 2005/0222358 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 11, Balthes does not specify a type of adhesive being used to comprise a bioadhesive.
Wescott teaches an alternative adhesive for use in the preparation of composites (Abstract) wherein the adhesive solution is a bioadhesive [0101] in order to utilize a lower volatility adhesive with lower costs [0101].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Jacobsen, Wilson, and Balthes to include a bioadhesive as taught by Wescott with reasonable expectation of success to utilize a lower volatility adhesive with lower costs [0101].
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 3/27/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748