DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 4/28/26. By virtue of this amendment, claims 1-13 are currently presented in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In remark filed on 4/28/26. Applicant’s argument that, “Zhu fails to disclose "the proximity detection circuit performs detection for electrical information of the first coil antenna, and generates first information in a case that the electrical information indicates that a distance between the first coil antenna and a second coil antenna of a target apparatus is less than a preset distance; wherein the electrical information comprises at least one of frequency or pulse duration" recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagree, Zhu et al disclose the proximity detection circuit (figure 1, 44) performs detection for electrical information of the first coil antenna (NFC antenna 34 or 36 which includes coil(50) or coil(51) paragraph [26]), and generates first information in a case that the electrical information indicates that a distance between the first coil antenna (50) and a second coil antenna(51) of a target apparatus is less than a preset distance(the capacitance sensing circuit 44 senses proximity of the adjacent NFC device 60, as well as other objects as shown in paragraph [25] and wherein the electrical information comprises at least one of frequency(see figure 1, paragraph [0031], the NFC control circuit 40 includes an NFC antenna tuning circuit 82 coupled between the NFC transceiver 32 and the antenna switch circuit 42. The NFC antenna tuning circuit 82 provides different amplitude and phase modulated transmit signals in the reader mode, and different load modulation signals in the card emulation mode to the respective NFC antenna 34, 36. The NFC antenna tuning circuit 82 also provides proper coupling between the NFC antennas 34, 36 and the NFC transceiver receive ports REC and AC2 and paragraph [31] for An EMC/EMI filter 84 is coupled between the NFC antenna tuning circuit 82 and the NFC transceiver 32. The EMC/EMI filter 84 is typically a low pass filter to reduce harmonics and out-of-phase noise of an NFC signal transmitted at 13.56 MHz).
For the reason above, amended claim 1 does not distinguish over Zhu et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (US Pub. No: 2014/0187153).
With respect to claim 1, Zhu et al disclose an electronic device (figure 1, a mobile wireless communication device(20)), comprising a proximity detection circuit(a capacitance sensing circuit (44),paragraphs [29] for capacitance values detecting proximity of the adjacent NFC device (60)(the NFC device (60) is directly to corresponded to the “target apparatus”; a first coil antenna(34) as shown in figure 1), a driving circuit(NFC control circuit 40 which includes a plurality of circuits such as dynamic NFC antenna tuning circuit(82)) an antenna switch(42)), wherein a first terminal of the proximity detection circuit (44) is electrically connected to the first coil antenna(34), a second terminal of the proximity detection circuit(44) is electrically connected to the processor(46)(paragraphs [27-30]), the processor(46) is further electrically connected to a first terminal of the driving circuit(the dynamic NFC antenna tuning circuit(82) an antenna switch(42)) which includes an input ports or wires or line signals or cables of the dynamic NFC antenna tuning circuit(82) and the antenna switch(42))(figure 1)), and a second terminal of the driving circuit (output ports or wires or lines or cables of the dynamic NFC antenna tuning circuit(82)) an antenna switch(42)) is electrically connected to the first coil antenna(34)(figure 1) ; wherein the proximity detection circuit (44) performs detection for electrical information of the first coil antenna(34)(paragraph [29] shows the capacitance values detecting proximity of the adjacent NFC device 60) and generates first information in a case that the electrical information indicates that a distance(mm) between the first coil antenna(34) and a second coil antenna(36) of a target apparatus(60) is less than a preset distance(30 mm is corresponded to “preset distance”)(paragraph [40] shows when the distance is over 30 mm as indicated at point 106, the AC1 voltage slowly drops when the distance increases); and in a case of having received the first information(capacitance values), the processor(46) sends control information corresponding to the first information to the driving circuit(82,42), so as to trigger the driving circuit to transmit, through the first coil antenna(34), a functional signal corresponding to the target apparatus(60)(figure 1) and also see figure 4, method step 124, wherein the claimed "control information" may be corresponded to the control signals fed by the processor 46 to the NFC control circuit 40, in order to select which of the two antennas 34/36 to use for communicating with the adjacent NFC device 60 ( figure 5, method step 158), to adjust the dynamic antenna tuning circuit(82)) and figure 4, methods step120), and accordingly perform the exchange of communication / functional signals with said adjacent NFC device 60.Paragraphs [44-51].
With respect to claim 2, Zhu et al disclose wherein the electronic device further comprises a near field communication (NFC) function module(figure 1 for NFC device(30) which includes NFC transceiver circuit (32), NFC antenna tuning circuit(82), NFC signal rectification circuit(88)…etc)); a first terminal of the NFC function module is electrically connected to the processor(46); a second terminal of the NFC function module(the NFC transceiver(32) )is electrically connected to an NFC coil antenna (34 or 36) through an NFC tuning circuit(82); and the second terminal of the NFC function module (32) )comprises a first receiving port and a second receiving port(input sand outputs of ports or line signal or wires or cables as shown in figure 1); wherein a path between the first terminal of the NFC function module and a target receiving port (CS1-CSG) used for forming the proximity detection circuit(44), the target receiving port(CS1-CSG) being one of the first receiving port and the second receiving port)(figure 1).
With respect to claim 5, Zhu et al disclose wherein the electrical information comprises at least one of voltage (figure 1, “the capacitance value” is determined based on the voltage values measured between the terminals (CS1-CSG) paragraph [41]), frequency, and pulse duration.
With respect to claim 6, Zhu et al disclose a signal processing method, applied to an electronic device(figure 1, 10) comprising a proximity detection circuit(44), a first coil antenna(34) and a driving circuit(antenna switch(42)), and the method comprising: generating first information in a case that electrical information(capacitance values) of the first coil antenna(34) detected by the proximity detection circuit (44) indicates that a distance(mm) between the first coil antenna(34) and a second coil antenna (36)of a target apparatus(60) is less than a preset distance(paragraph [29] shows a switch 42 based on the received signal strength of a received signal from the adjacent NFC device 60, and the capacitance values detecting proximity of the adjacent NFC device 60: a distance to the NFC device antenna 62 and paragraph [30] shows the processor 46 advantageously selects one or more of the NFC antennas 50, 52 to improve interfacing with the NFC device antenna 62 in the adjacent NFC device 60 and the reading distance can vary significantly between large and small size NFC device antennas and paragraph [40] shows when the distance is over 30 mm as indicated at point 106, the AC1 voltage slowly drops when the distance increases) and obtaining control information(the processor (46) for receiving strength signal as shown in figure 1) and corresponding to the first information and triggering, based on the control information(capacitance values), the driving circuit(Dynamic NFC antenna (82) and switch antenna42)) to transmit, through the first coil antenna(34), a functional signal corresponding to the target apparatus(60). Also see figure 4, method step 124, wherein the claimed "control information" may be corresponded to the control signals fed by the processor 46 to the NFC control circuit 40, in order to select which of the two antennas 34/36 to use for communicating with the adjacent NFC device 60 ( figure 5, method step 158), to adjust the dynamic antenna tuning circuit(82)) and figure 4, methods step120), and accordingly perform the exchange of communication / functional signals with said adjacent NFC device 60.Paragraphs [44-51].
With respect to claim 7, Zhu et al disclose wherein the obtaining the control information (capacitance values) corresponding to the first information comprises: obtaining basic information of the target apparatus (60); and generating, based on the first information, control information corresponding to the basic information. Figure 1.
With respect to claim 8, Zhu et al disclose a signal processing apparatus, applied to an electronic device (figure 1, a mobile wireless communication device(20)) comprising a proximity detection circuit(44)(paragraph [25]), a first coil antenna (34)(paragraph [26]) and a driving circuit(82,42) (paragraph [31]), and the apparatus comprising: a generating module configured to generate first information in a case that electrical information(capacitance values) of the first coil antenna(34) detected by the proximity detection circuit(44) indicates that a distance between the first coil antenna (34) and a second coil antenna(36) of a target apparatus(60) is less than a preset distance(30 mm)(paragraph [29] shows a switch 42 based on the received signal strength of a received signal from the adjacent NFC device 60, and the capacitance values detecting proximity of the adjacent NFC device 60: a distance to the NFC device antenna 62 and paragraph [30] shows the processor 46 advantageously selects one or more of the NFC antennas 50, 52 to improve interfacing with the NFC device antenna 62 in the adjacent NFC device 60 and the reading distance can vary significantly between large and small size NFC device antennas and paragraph [40] shows when the distance is over 30 mm as indicated at point 106, the AC1 voltage slowly drops when the distance increases); and a processing module (46) configured to obtain control information (capacitance values)corresponding to the first information and trigger, based on the control information, the driving circuit(82 and 42) to transmit, through the first coil antenna(34), a functional signal corresponding to the target apparatus(60).Paragraphs [44-51].
With respect to claim 9, Zhu et al disclose, wherein the processing module (46) comprises: an obtaining unit configured to obtain basic information of the target apparatus (60), paragraphs [30]; and a generating unit configured to generate, based on the first information, control information corresponding to the basic information. Paragraphs [34,37,41,44].
With respect to claim 10, Zhu et al disclose in figures 4-5, programing and steps for non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium has a program or instructions stored thereon; the program or instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the steps of the signal processing method according to claim 6. Paragraphs [42-51].
With respect to claim 11, Zhu et al disclose in figures 4-5, programing and steps wherein when obtaining the control information corresponding to the first information, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform: obtaining basic information of the target apparatus; and generating, based on the first information, control information corresponding to the basic information. Paragraphs [42-51].
With respect to claim 12, Zhu et al disclose a chip, (figure 1) comprising a processor (46) and a communication interface, wherein the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions to implement the steps of the signal processing method according to claim 6. Figures 4-5, paragraphs [42-51].
With respect to claim 13 Zhu et al disclose wherein when obtaining the control information corresponding to the first information, the processor is configured to implement: obtaining basic information of the target apparatus; and generating, based on the first information, control information corresponding to the basic information. Figures 4-5, paragraphs [42-51].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844