DETAILED ACTION
This communication is to response to Applicant’s amendment No. 18/647,606 filed on 03/04/20264.
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are currently pending and has been examined. Claims 19-20 are canceled
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed on 04/26/2024 is considered.
The drawings filed on 04/26/2024 are noted.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-13 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
8. Claims 1, 21, 22, and all dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the limitation of: “a computer-implemented method, comprising: obtaining one or more sound reproduction properties of an audio output device that is connected to a video gaming system”.
The limitation of obtaining one or more sound reproduction properties of an audio output device that is connected to a video gaming, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claims preclude the steps from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, claims 1-18 and 21-22 recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite one additional element – using a computer/processor to selected a subset of a plurality of audio components based at least on the obtained sound reproduction properties of the audio output device to perform both obtaining and selecting steps. The computer/processor in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer generating audio output) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
In the instant case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of outputting, to the audio output device, the selected subset of the plurality of audio components. Thus, taken alone, the additional element fails to ensure the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Accordingly, claims 1-18 and 21-22 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-8, 14-16, 18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilbert Scott T. et al. (US PG PUB 2017/0046906).
As per claims 1, 6, 8, 14-16, and 18 Hilbert discloses a gaming system which includes one or more input devices, visual display devices, and information processors. A corresponding audio components of a plurality of presentations are selectively mixed such that the audio component of the primary visual representation is dominant on at least one audio output device (see., abstract), comprising: obtaining one or more sound reproduction properties of an audio output device that is connected to a video gaming system (see., paragraphs 0100, fig 4, specifically the three dimensional (3D) audio effect that can be generated to manipulate sound produced by self-stereo speakers 22. The examiner broadly and reasonably interprets the sound reproduction as the audio effect that has been manipulated); selecting a subset of a plurality of audio components based at least on the obtained sound reproduction properties of the audio out device (see., abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0039, 0083, and 0106, the audio components that correspond to a plurality of visual presentation, audio output devices 395); outputting, to the audio output device, the selected subset of the plurality of audio components (see., abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0106, the plurality of visual presentation is readable as a subset of the plurality of audio components).
As per claim 2, Hilbert discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein each of the plurality of audio components corresponds to an audio asset (see., paragraphs 0114, 0070, and 0124).
As per claim 3, Hilbert discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein the subset of the plurality of audio components comprises a proper subset of the plurality of audio components (see., abstract, paragraphs 0006, and 0106, the plurality of visual presentation is readable as a subset of the plurality of audio components).
As per claim 4, Hilbert discloses the claimed limitations, wherein each of the plurality of audio components are associated with a priority value (see., paragraphs 0037 and 0134); and the subset of the plurality of audio components is selected based at least on the priority value (see., paragraphs 0006 and 0106, the plurality of visual presentation is readable as a subset of the plurality of audio components, quantitative value).
As per claim 5, Hilbert discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein the subset of the plurality of audio components is selected based at least on a priority value threshold that is determined, based on the obtained one or more sound reproduction properties of the audio output device (see., paragraphs 0118, default value or paragraph 0129, step 615, threshold value).
As per claim 7, Hilbert discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein the subset of the plurality of audio components are selected based at least on audio characteristics of the audio components (see., paragraphs 0006 and 0106, the plurality of visual presentation is readable as a subset of the plurality of audio components, quantitative value).
As per claims 21 and 22, Hilbert discloses a gaming system which includes one or more input devices, visual display devices, and information processors. A corresponding audio components of a plurality of presentations are selectively mixed such that the audio component of the primary visual representation is dominant on at least one audio output device (see., abstract), comprising: one or more processors; one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that store instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (see., paragraph 0052); obtaining one or more sound reproduction properties of an audio output device that is connected to a video gaming system (see., paragraphs 0100, fig 4, specifically the three dimensional (3D) audio effect that can be generated to manipulate sound produced by self-stereo speakers 22. The examiner broadly and reasonably interprets the sound reproduction as the audio effect that has been manipulated); selecting a subset of a plurality of audio components based at least on the obtained sound reproduction properties of the audio out device (see., abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0039, 0083, and 0106, the audio components that correspond to a plurality of visual presentation, audio output devices 395); outputting, to the audio output device, the selected subset of the plurality of audio components (see., abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0106, the plurality of visual presentation is readable as a subset of the plurality of audio components).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Hu Kang can be reached on 571 270 1344. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PIERRE E ELISCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715