DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 05/20/2026.
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0219699) in view of Ross et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0107537).
Response to Argument
35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the recited communication between a vehicle and a cloud server cannot be performed in the human mind and that therefore the claims would not fall within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See Applicant Remarks page 9.
The Examiner has considered the arguments presented and respectfully disagrees. The mere recitation of a “cloud server” does not integrate the steps of the claim into practical application. First, the “cloud server” is recited at a high level of generality and merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements using a generic or general-purpose information processing environment, i.e. a computer. As written, data is merely transmitted to the cloud server as a means of data output, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the claim into practical application, and the claim recites steps that may be performed reasonably in the human mind as a mental process.
The Applicant further argues that the claim is integrated into a practical application because it contributes to an improved technical solution of a practical problem “as described in the specification.” Specifically, that the claimed invention provides improved stability and reliability of the vehicle in a navigation process. See Applicant Remarks page 10.
The Examiner has considered the arguments presented and respectfully disagrees. First, In Berkheimer v. HP INC., 881 F. 3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the federal circuit held that improvements are only considered “to the extent they are captured in the claims.” Berkheimer at 1369. As written, the claims do not expressly teach or require the improvement of the technological environment. For example, the claims do not recite the alleged “improved stability and reliability.” Rather, the claims merely encompass steps to be performed, and reciting the “cloud server” and the “inertial measurement unit” at a high level to “apply” the steps to a generic computing environment. Therefore, the claims are not integrated into a practical application for teaching an improved technical solution.
For these reasons, the Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the combination of Ahn and Ross does not teach or suggest the “transmitting ... to a cloud server” and “receiving ... from the cloud server” steps. See Applicant Remarks page 11. Specifically, the Applicant argues that Ahn refers to a pose state estimator and that “[i]n contrast to the features of claim 1 as presently amended, Ahn does not teach or suggest that the pose state estimator transmits pose information of a vehicle at a first moment to a cloud server, and receives first pose information of the vehicle at a second moment from the cloud server.
The Examiner has considered the arguments presented and respectfully disagrees. First, the Applicant appears to merely conclude that the cited references do not disclose the claimed elements without producing contrary evidence establishing that the reference being relied on would not enable a skilled artisan to produce the recited limitations. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Even if contrary evidence is provided, Ahn expressly discloses that the memory 214 can store data 216 and instructions 218 which can be executed by the processor 212 to cause the vehicle autonomy system 202 to perform operations, such that the memory may be a cloud-based storage system or storage network. See Ahn in at least ¶ 93. Also see at least ¶ 96 disclosing that the instructions 824, which are of the cloud-based storage system or storage network, can further be transmitted or received over a communications network 826 using a transmission medium via the network interface device 820 utilizing any one of a number of well-known transfer protocols (e.g., HTTP). Further, Ahn discloses estimating the pose of the vehicle at various times based on previous vehicle poses and motion sensor data, see at least ¶ 62 and Fig. 4. Therefore, Ahn, taken alone or in combination with Ross, does at least teach or suggest that the pose state estimator transmits pose information of a vehicle at a first moment to a cloud server, and receives first pose information of the vehicle at a second moment from the cloud server.
For these reasons, the Examiner maintains the prior art rejection. Additional citations from within the prior art have been provided for further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1
Claim 1. A method for data processing, wherein the method is applied to a vehicle, the vehicle comprises one or more sensors and a computing device, and the method comprises:
transmitting, by the computing device and to a cloud server, pose information of the vehicle at a first moment
receiving, by the computing device and from the cloud server, first pose information of the vehicle at a second moment, wherein the first pose information of the vehicle at the second moment is determined based on pose information of the vehicle at the first moment, and wherein the first model is a pose estimation model from the first moment to the second moment;
obtaining, by the computing device, data collected by the one or more sensors; sensors, wherein the one or more sensors includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU); and
determining, by the computing device and using a first filter, second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on both the received first pose information from the cloud server and the data collected by the one or more sensors.
101 Analysis - Step 1: Statutory category – Yes
The claim recites a method including at least one step. The claim falls within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03.
101 Analysis - Step 2A Prong one evaluation: Judicial Exception – Yes – Mental processes
In Step 2A, Prong one of the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance (PEG), a claim is to be analyzed to determine whether it recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Office submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitutes judicial exceptions in terms of “mental processes” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations can be “performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
The claim recites the limitation of determining, ... using a first filter, second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on both the received first pose information from the cloud server and the data collected by the one or more sensors.
This limitation, as drafted, is a simple process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of “by the computing device,” “by the computing device,” and “by the computing device.” That is, besides these elements, nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by the computing device,” “by the computing device and using a first model,” and “by the computing device” elements, the claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Specifically, the claim encompasses a person using the observed pose information at a later time to mentally determine a first pose information at a first moment, such as visually determining where the vehicle is traveling from. The person may alternatively perform the determination using a simple equation, which is a model, with the aid of pen and paper, and similarly performing the determination for second pose information at another later time, and filtering the data by, for example, only manually selecting relevant information. As a further example, the person may perform the navigation process by providing a list or a physical map of navigation steps for the vehicle based on a known second pose information. The mere recitation of “by the computing device,” “by the computing device and using a first model,” and “by the computing device and using a first filter” does not take the claim limitations out of the mental process grouping.
Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
101 Analysis - Step 2A Prong two evaluation: Practical Application - No
In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element or step of obtaining, by the computing device, data collected by the one or more sensors.
The obtaining step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of data gathering), and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The vehicle comprising one or more sensors is also recited at a high level of generality and merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements using a generic or general-purpose vehicle processing environment, i.e. a computer.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis - Step 2B evaluation: Inventive concept - No
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the receiving steps and the displaying step were considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background recites that the sensors are all conventional sensors mounted on the vehicle, and the specification does not provide any indication that the vehicle controller is anything other than a conventional computer within a vehicle. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 8
Claim 8. An apparatus for data processing, comprising:
at least one processor; and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the following operations;
transmitting, to a cloud server, pose information of a vehicle at a first moment;
receiving, from the cloud server, first pose information of the vehicle at a second moment, wherein the first pose information of the vehicle at the second moment is determined based on pose information of the vehicle at a first moment by using a first model, wherein the first model is a pose estimation model from the first moment to the second moment, and wherein the first model includes a vehicle-based kinematic model;
obtaining data collected by one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU); and
determining second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on both the received first pose information from the cloud server and the data collected by the one or more sensors by using a first filter.
101 Analysis - Step 1: Statutory category – Yes
The claim recites a method including at least one step. The claim falls within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03.
101 Analysis - Step 2A Prong one evaluation: Judicial Exception – Yes – Mental processes
In Step 2A, Prong one of the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance (PEG), a claim is to be analyzed to determine whether it recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Office submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitutes judicial exceptions in terms of “mental processes” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations can be “performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)
The claim recites the limitation of determining second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on both the received first pose information from the cloud server and the data collected by the one or more sensors by using a first filter.
This limitation, as drafted, is a simple process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, the claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Specifically, the claim encompasses a person using the observed pose information at a later time to mentally determine a first pose information at a first moment, such as visually determining where the vehicle is traveling from. The person may alternatively perform calculations using a known kinematic model for a given vehicle, with the aid of pen and paper, and similarly performing the determination for second pose information at another later time, and filtering the data by, for example, only manually selecting relevant information.
Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
101 Analysis - Step 2A Prong two evaluation: Practical Application - No
In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites additional element or step of:
at least one processor; and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the following operations;
transmitting, to a cloud server, pose information of a vehicle at a first moment;
receiving, from the cloud server, first pose information of the vehicle at a second moment, wherein the first pose information of the vehicle at the second moment is determined based on pose information of the vehicle at a first moment by using a first model, wherein the first model is a pose estimation model from the first moment to the second moment, and wherein the first model includes a vehicle-based kinematic model;
obtaining data collected by one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU); and
The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of obtaining information), and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The “at least one processor,” “one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor,” and “a cloud server” are also recited at a high level of generality and merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements using a generic or general-purpose vehicle processing environment, i.e. a computer.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis - Step 2B evaluation: Inventive concept - No
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the receiving steps and the displaying step were considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background recites that the sensors are all conventional sensors mounted on the vehicle, and the specification does not provide any indication that the vehicle controller is anything other than a conventional computer within a vehicle. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 15
Independent claim 15 recites similar limitations to those contained in claim 8 and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the same rationale provided above. The additional elements “at least one processor,” “one or more memories,” “data interface,” and “the one or more memories are coupled to the at least one processor through the data interface and store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor,” are recited at a high level of generality and merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements using a generic or general-purpose vehicle processing environment, i.e. a computer. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of the independent claims.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0219699) in view of Ross et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0107537).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a method for data processing, wherein the method is applied to a vehicle, the vehicle comprises one or more sensors and a computing device (Ahn ¶ 14 discloses “localizers and pose state estimator are executed by a processor unit or processor units of a computing device or system, such as a computing device or system located at the vehicle. Localizers generate pose estimates from remote sensor data”), and the method comprises:
transmitting, by the computing device and to a cloud server, pose information of the vehicle at a first moment; (Ahn discloses a set or sequence of instructions can be executed to cause a machine to perform the disclosed operations, see ¶ 12, wherein the instructions and data are executable from one or more server computing machines and cloud-based storage systems, see ¶¶ 86 and 93, which one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize includes a cloud server, and wherein ¶ 96 discloses that the “instructions 824 can further be transmitted or received over a communications network 826 using a transmission medium via the network interface device 820,” wherein the data includes “vehicle poses provided by the pose system 230 to place the vehicle 200 at a particular location,” see ¶ 37)
receiving, by the computing device and from the cloud server, first pose information of the vehicle at a second moment (Ahn ¶¶ 41-43 discloses a prediction system 204 to estimate a second moment, that “considers one or more vehicle poses generated by the pose system 230 and/or reference data 226” and includes “a machine-learned trajectory development model,” wherein “The vehicle autonomy system 202 includes one or more computing devices, such as the computing device 211, that may implement all or parts of the ... prediction system 204.” Also see Fig. 4 depicting receiving pose information for at least a second moment [i.e., first pose information of the vehicle at a second moment]), wherein the first pose information of the vehicle at the second moment is determined based on pose information of the vehicle at the first moment and a first model, and (Ahn ¶ 14 discloses generating a vehicle pose for a set of time stamps, which includes a second moment, such that the “pose state estimator generates the vehicle pose based at least in part on a previous vehicle pose,” see ¶ 19, wherein the pose estimation uses a “a Kalman filter or similar algorithm,” see ¶ 19. Also see Fig. 4.)
wherein the first model is a pose estimation model from the first moment to the second moment; (Ahn ¶ 19 discloses “the pose state estimator may implement a Kalman filter or similar algorithm,” such that “the pose state estimator generates vehicle poses for the vehicle over different time stamps.” Also see Ahn Fig. 4.)
obtaining, by the computing device (Ahn ¶ 14), data collected by the one or more sensors; (Ahn ¶ 14 discloses “Localizers generate pose estimates from remote sensor data,” also see ¶ 13 “the pose system also receives motion sensor data from one or more motion sensors that sense the motion of the vehicle”)
sensors, wherein the one or more sensors includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU); and (Ahn in at least ¶ 27 discloses that the pose system 130 receives remote sensor data to generate pose estimates which are provided to pose state estimator 138, which also receives motion sensor data from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 139)
Ahn does not expressly disclose:
determining, by the computing device and using a first filter, second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first pose information and the data; and
performing, by the computing device, a navigation process for the vehicle based on the second pose information.
However, Ross discloses:
determining, by the computing device and using a first filter, second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first pose information and the data; and (Ross ¶ 81 discloses “each position update provides an additional observation that can be used as an input to the error correction component 124 (e.g., a Kalman Filter or similar estimation algorithm)” wherein “both a first location determination component and a second location determination component can be configured and operated to send estimated current positions to the error correction component” based on a Kalman filter linear dynamic model, also see ¶ 81, such that “with the Kalman filter 226, can estimate a current location of the train 200 based on a known starting position and measurements of the direction and velocity of the train 200 over time [i.e., a second pose information],” see ¶ 101. Also see Fig. 1 depicting using the sensor data to determine second location information)
performing, by the computing device, a navigation process for the vehicle based on the second pose information. (Ross ¶ 69 discloses “Upon currently operating a vehicle (e.g., vehicle 100) about a current predetermined path, the trusted accident avoidance control system 120, and particularly a tachometer operating as one of the first or second location determination components 122-1 or 122-2, can be operated
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the determination of pose information of Ahn with using a first filter and a computing device to determine second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first pose information and the data, as disclosed by Ross, with reasonable expectation of success, to provide the most accurate and reliable velocity management of the vehicle 100 at any given time as it travels along the predetermined path (Ross ¶ 93), and to minimize statistical error of a final estimate (Ross ¶ 81), rendering the limitation to be an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 2, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the first pose information of the vehicle at the second moment is determined based on an initial state transition matrix of the vehicle at the first moment, and the initial state transition matrix of the vehicle at the first moment is determined based on the pose information of the vehicle at the first moment and the first model. (Ahn ¶ 14 discloses that reference data relates sensor data with pose as a table [i.e., a matrix], wherein the pose state estimator receives pose estimates to generate a vehicle pose for a set of time stamps, which includes a second moment, see Fig. 4, such that “the pose state estimator generates the vehicle pose based at least in part on a previous vehicle pose and/or motion sensor data,” see ¶ 19, which may include an “initial vehicle pose,” see ¶ 20. Also see ¶ 61 disclosing generating vehicle poses for various time stamps based on a “Kalman filter or other model” affected by previous vehicle poses.)
determining the first pose information based on the initial state transition matrix. (Ahn ¶ 14 discloses generating “pose estimates from ... reference data,” wherein the reference data is arranged in a table [i.e., a matrix])
Regarding claim 3, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining first covariance information of the vehicle at the second moment based on covariance information of the vehicle at the first moment and the first model; and (Ahn ¶ 22 discloses estimating a covariance indicator for the first pose estimate, wherein estimating a pose state includes executing a Kalman filter or other model that considers covariance indicators for the previous vehicle poses, see ¶ 61.)
determining second covariance information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first covariance information and the data. (Ahn ¶ 22 discloses estimating a covariance indicator for a second pose estimate, wherein estimating a pose state includes executing a Kalman filter or other model that considers covariance indicators for the previous vehicle poses, see ¶ 61.)
Regarding claim 4, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein:
before the determining second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first pose information and the data, the method further comprises: obtaining a first calibration result, wherein the first calibration result comprises at least one of an online calibration result or an offline calibration result; and (Ahn ¶ 88 discloses that “the architecture 800 may operate in the capacity of either a server or a client machine in server-client network environments [i.e., online],” such that the pose estimator receives a pose estimate in step 304, see Fig. 3, before determining a pose for a next time stamp in step 306, wherein “The localizer finds the best-fit x/y/yaw projection by identifying the x/y/yaw projection with the lowest overall error [i.e., calibration result].” One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that receiving the pose estimate is a calibration result because calibration merely includes adjusting precisely, see Merriam-Webster “calibrate,” which is disclosed by Ahn in finding the best-fit projection.)
the determining second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first pose information and the data comprises: performing error compensation on the data based on the first calibration result to obtain error-compensated data; and (Ahn ¶ 19 discloses that the “pose state estimator generates the vehicle pose based at least in part on a previous vehicle pose,” such that “The localizer selects the roll/pitch/height projection that minimizes the error [i.e., performing error compensation] between the ground intensity data and the ground reflectivity map to find a best-fit roll/pitch/height projection,” see ¶ 75)
the second pose information based on the first pose information and the error-compensated data. (Ahn ¶ 19 discloses that the “pose state estimator generates the vehicle pose based at least in part on a previous vehicle pose,” the pose estimation being performed by a first and second localizer which select “the roll/pitch/height projection that minimizes the error [i.e., error compensation] between the ground intensity data and the ground reflectivity map to find a best-fit roll/pitch/height projection,” see ¶ 75)
Regarding claim 5, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein:
the first calibration result comprises one or more of a wheel speed scale coefficient, a zero offset, or a lever arm parameter. (Ahn ¶ 27 discloses “The pose state estimator 138 also receives motion sensor data from one or more motion sensors such as, for example, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 139”)
Regarding claim 6, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein:
before the performing error compensation on the data based on the first calibration result, the method further comprises: performing a check on the data, wherein the check comprises one or more of a rationality check or a cross-check. (Ahn ¶ 74 discloses correlating the points to ground point data [i.e., performing a check on the data including a cross-check] such that the correlated data would describe an error, also see ¶ 76 disclosing determining a covariance indicator based on the errors.)
Regarding claim 7, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the determining second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first pose information and the data (Ahn ¶ 19) comprises: performing an optimal estimation based on the first pose information and the data to obtain the second pose information. (Ahn ¶ 7 discloses that the pose estimates are generated by pose localizers, wherein the localizers finds the best-fit [i.e., performing an optimal estimation] x/y/yaw projection by identifying the x/y/yaw projection with the lowest overall error.)
Regarding claim 8, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses at least one processor (Ahn ¶ 14); and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 1 (Ahn ¶ 51). Ross further discloses “a vehicle-based kinematic model” (Ross ¶ 81 “The statistical “optimal estimation algorithm” (i.e. Kalman Filter) then applies a linear dynamic model (which models the kinematic dynamic process)”.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the determination of pose information of Ahn with using a first filter and a kinematic model to determine second pose information of the vehicle at the second moment based on the first pose information and the data, as disclosed by Ross, with reasonable expectation of success, to minimize statistical error of a final estimate (Ross ¶ 81) and smooths out statistical errors from the sequence of incoming measurements (Ross ¶ 99), rendering the limitation to be an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 9, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 2 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 2 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 3 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 3 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 4 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 4 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 12, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 5 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 5 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 13, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 6 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 7 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 7 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 15, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses at least one processor (Ahn ¶ 14); one or more memories (Ahn ¶ 51); and a data interface (Ahn ¶ 51), wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 1 (Ahn ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 16, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 2 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 2 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 17, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 3 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 3 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 18, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 4 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 4 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 19, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 5 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 5 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Regarding claim 20, Ahn in combination with Ross discloses the parallel limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Ahn further discloses one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform the operations disclosed by parent claim 6 (Ahn ¶¶ 14 and 51).
Conclusion
Loianno et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 10,037,028) discloses a system for controlling a micro aerial vehicle may include one or more sensors, a state estimation module in communication with the one or more sensors, the state estimation module being configured to generate an estimated pose of the micro aerial vehicle based on inputs from the one or more sensors, and a position controller in communication with the state estimation module and configured to communicate attitude commands to an attitude controller of the micro aerial vehicle.
/STEPHANIE T SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662