DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/2024, 12/16/2024, and 07/02/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11-13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 20210037932 A1, and hereinafter “Min”), in view of Mars et al. (US 12052816 B1, and hereinafter “Mars”), and in further view of Haverinen et al. (US 20180103902 A1, and hereinafter “Haverinen”).
Regarding claim 1, Min teaches a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, Abstract : wearable device) comprising:
a first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : cover member 150);
a second housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 150); and
at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110),
wherein the second housing comprises:
a second layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110) coupled to the first housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to the cover member 150).
Min does not teach a first molding layer disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery and having a specified compression rate; and
a second layer covering the first layer.
However, Mars teaches a first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : interior region 124 is disposed to be at least partially in contact with the battery 126); and
a second molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) covering the first layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 covers the interior region 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first molding layer and the second molding layer as taught by Mars into Min’s wearable electronic device by adding the interior region between the outer ring member and the cover member. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide additional cover and shell for the battery, and allow the battery and the housing to have matching curvature (Col. 5. Lines 29-59 of Mars).
Min as modified by Mars does not teach a first molding layer having a specified compression rate.
However, Haverinen teaches a first molding layer having a specified compression rate (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 can be molded using a molding technique such as compression molding, which would have a specified compression rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the molding layer having a specified compression rate as taught by Haverinen into Min and Mars combination’s wearable electronic device by molding the enclosures via compression molding. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to manufacture the wearable electronic device using non-ceramic material. Additionally, interchanging one molding technique with another molding technique is known as evidence by Haverinen ([0053-0054] of Haverinen) such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 2, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first molding layer is disposed to not be visible from the outside (Fig. 1A, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : interior region 124 is disposed to not be visible from the outside).
Regarding claim 3, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first molding layer is disposed to overlap the battery and to cover all of the battery (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : interior region 124 is disposed to overlap the battery 126 and to cover all of the battery 126).
Regarding claim 4, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the battery has a curvature corresponding to a curvature of the first housing (Fig. 1B, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : inner layer of enclosure portion 104 has a curvature corresponding to a curvature of the outer layer of enclosure portion 104).
Regarding claim 6, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first housing and/or the second housing has an annular shape (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : cover member 150 and/or outer ring member 110 have an annular shape).
Regarding claim 11, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising a substrate (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110) and including at least one electronic element (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185) disposed thereon (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185 are disposed on the circuit unit 170),
wherein the substrate is spaced apart from the battery (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is spaced apart from the battery 182).
Regarding claim 12, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 11, wherein the substrate comprises a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 comprises flexible printed circuit board (FPCB)).
Regarding claim 13, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising a substrate (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110) and comprises at least one electronic element (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185) disposed thereon (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185 are disposed on the circuit unit 170), wherein the substrate is disposed between at least a portion of the battery and the first housing (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is disposed between at least a portion of the battery 182 and the cover member 150).
Regarding claim 16, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first molding layer comprises a flame-retardant material (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : enclosure 104 which includes the lower enclosure 112 can be made of silicone).
Regarding claim 19, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second molding layer comprises epoxy (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : enclosure 104 which includes the lower enclosure 112 can be made of epoxy).
Regarding claim 20, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second housing comprises an annular opening at a center thereof (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : outer ring member 110 comprises an annular opening at a center thereof), and
wherein the wearable electronic device is configured to be worn on a finger through the opening (Fig. 2, [0044-0046] of Min : outer ring member 110 of ring-type wearable device 100 has a diameter sufficient to be fitted to the finger of the user).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination as applied above, in view of Howard et al. (US 20230327255 A1, and hereinafter “Howard”).
Regarding claim 5, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen does not teach wherein the battery is attached to at least a portion of the first housing via an adhesive member.
However, Howard teaches wherein the battery is attached to at least a portion of the first housing via an adhesive member (Fig. 2, [0042] : battery cell 204 attaches to the housing 206 via adhesive 210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the adhesive as taught by Howard into Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination’s wearable electronic device by attaching the battery to the enclosure via an adhesive. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to improve the stability of the electronic device, and ensure the battery stays in place.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination as applied above, in view of Gui et al. (CN 216250941 U, employing the provided machine translation, and hereinafter “Gui”).
Regarding claim 17, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen does not teach wherein the compression rate is in a range of 10 % to 50 %.
However, Gui teaches wherein the compression rate is in a range of 10 % to 50 % (Fig. 2, Lines 62-75 : control film 2 has a compression rate of 10% - 80%, and can be in rage of 10% - 50%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate compression rate as taught by Gui into Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination’s wearable electronic device by using the control film as the interior region. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide support for the battery, and limit the traversing of the battery without damaging the battery through compression (Lines 76-92 of Gui).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination as applied above, in view of Burke (US 20230078486 A1, and hereinafter “Burke”).
Regarding claim 18, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen does not teach wherein the first molding layer comprises polyurethane foam.
However, Burke teaches wherein the first molding layer (Fig. 2, [0021], [0040] : plastic member 30 of battery housing 1) comprises polyurethane foam (Fig. 2, [0021], [0040] : plastic member 30 can include or consist of polyurethane foam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate polyurethane foam as taught by Burke into Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination’s wearable electronic device by adding polyurethane foam to the enclosure. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide insulation near the battery, and ensure the different structural elements are embedded in the plastic member ([0019-0021], [0047] of Burke). Additionally, interchanging plastic with a polyurethane foam is known as evidence by Burke ([0021] of Burke) such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 20210037932 A1, and hereinafter “Min”), in view of Mars et al. (US 12052816 B1, and hereinafter “Mars”), and in further view of Haverinen et al. (US 20180103902 A1, and hereinafter “Haverinen”).
Regarding claim 1, Min teaches a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, Abstract : wearable device) comprising:
a first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : cover member 150);
a second housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 and inner ring member 130) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 150); and
at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110),
wherein the second housing comprises:
a second molding layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : inner ring member 130) coupled to the first housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : inner ring member 130 is coupled to the cover member 150).
Min does not teach a first molding layer disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery and having a specified compression rate; and
a second molding layer covering the first layer.
However, Mars teaches a first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : interior region 124 is disposed to be at least partially in contact with the battery 126); and
second molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) covering the first layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 covers the interior region 124)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first molding layer and the second molding layer as taught by Mars into Min’s wearable electronic device by adding the interior region between the outer ring member and the cover member. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide additional cover and shell for the battery, and allow the battery and the housing to have matching curvature (Col. 5. Lines 29-59 of Mars).
Min as modified by Mars does not teach a first molding layer having a specified compression rate.
However, Haverinen teaches a first molding layer having a specified compression rate (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 can be molded using a molding technique such as compression molding, which would have a specified compression rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the molding layer having a specified compression rate as taught by Haverinen into Min and Mars combination’s wearable electronic device by molding the enclosures via compression molding. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to manufacture the wearable electronic device using non-ceramic material. Additionally, interchanging one molding technique with another molding technique is known as evidence by Haverinen ([0053-0054] of Haverinen) such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 7, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising a support member (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : outer ring member 110) disposed between the battery and the second molding layer (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : outer ring member 110 is disposed between the battery 182 and the inner ring member 130).
Regarding claim 9, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 7, wherein the support member is disposed between the first molding layer and the second molding layer (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min, and Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : outer ring member 110 will be disposed between the lower surface of interior region 124 and the inner ring member 130) and is attached to the outer surface of the first molding layer (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min, and Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : outer ring member 110 will be attached to the outer surface of the interior region 124).
Claim(s) 1, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 20210037932 A1, and hereinafter “Min”), in view of Haverinen et al. (US 20180103902 A1, and hereinafter “Haverinen”).
Regarding claim 1, Min teaches a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, Abstract : wearable device) comprising:
a first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : cover member 150);
a second housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 and inner ring member 130) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 150); and
at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110),
wherein the second housing comprises:
a first layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110) disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110 is disposed to be at least partially in contact with at least one battery 182); and
a second layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : inner ring member 130) covering the first layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : inner ring member 130 covers the outer ring member 110) and coupled to the first housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110, and inner ring member 130 are coupled to the cover member 150).
Min does not teach a first molding layer having a specified compression rate; and
a second molding layer.
However, Haverinen teaches a first molding layer (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 made of moldable ceramic material and non-ceramic material) having a specified compression rate (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 can be molded using a molding technique such as compression molding, which would have a specified compression rate); and
a second molding layer (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 made of moldable ceramic material and non-ceramic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the molding layers having a specified compression rate as taught by Haverinen into Min’s wearable electronic device by molding the enclosures via compression molding. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be able to manufacture the wearable electronic device using various materials ranging from non-ceramic material to ceramic material ([0038-0039] of Haverinen).
Regarding claim 10, Min as modified by Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising at least one cavity (Fig. 2, [0049], [0058] of Min : openings 112a-c, openings 132a-c) provided between the first molding layer and the second molding layer (Fig. 2, [0049], [0058] of Min : openings 112a-c, openings 132a-c are between the outer ring member 110 and inner ring member 130).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 8, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the wearable electronic device as recited in the combined subject matter of base claims and/or intervening claim(s), and at least in part, because recites the limitations: the wearable electronic device of claim 7, wherein the support member includes a plate-shaped metal material disposed inside the first molding layer.
In regards to claims 14-15, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the wearable electronic device as recited in the combined subject matter of base claims and/or intervening claim(s), and at least in part, because recites the limitations: the wearable electronic device of claim 13, wherein the first molding layer comprises a first soft molding layer disposed between the battery and the substrate, and a second soft molding layer disposed between the battery and the second housing.
The closest prior arts of recorded were provided in the office action(s). In examiners opinion the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/KEON NMN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841