DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Drawings
The previous drawing objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 10-13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 20210037932 A1, and hereinafter “Min”), in view of Mars et al. (US 12052816 B1, and hereinafter “Mars”), and in further view of Haverinen et al. (US 20180103902 A1, and hereinafter “Haverinen”).
Regarding claim 1, Min teaches a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, Abstract : wearable device) comprising:
a first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : cover member 150);
a second housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 150); and
at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110), the battery including a first surface (top surface in fig 2) facing the first housing and a second surface (bottom surface in fig 2) opposite to the first surface and facing the second housing (fig 2),
wherein the second housing comprises:
a second layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110) coupled to the first housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to the cover member 150).
Min does not teach a first molding layer disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery and having a specified compression rate; and
a second molding layer covering the first molding layer and coupled to the first housing,
wherein the first molding layer is positioned between the first housing and the second molding layer so as not to be visible from the outside of the wearable electronic device, and the first molding layer is disposed to cover the second surface (bottom surface of fig 1c) of the at least one battery and each side surface of the at least one battery.
Mars teaches a first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59, battery 126); and
a second molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) covering the first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 covers the interior region 124) and coupled to the first housing (112 is coupled to 110 col 5 lines 46-48 recite ‘upper enclosure 110 and lower enclosure 112 may be made of metal, ceramics, plastics, combinations thereof, or the like, and may be welded, glued, screwed together’)
wherein the first molding layer (124) is positioned between the first housing (110) and the second molding layer (112) so as not to be visible from the outside of the wearable electronic device (comparing figs 1a, 1c), and the first molding layer is disposed to cover the second surface (bottom surface of fig 1c) of the at least one battery and each side surface of the at least one battery (124 covers 126 from the interior while 110 covers the exterior since the battery lays on top of 124 in fig 1c)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first molding layer and the second molding layer as taught by Mars into Min’s wearable electronic device by adding the interior region between the outer ring member and the cover member. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide additional cover and shell for the battery, and allow the battery and the housing to have matching curvature (Col. 5. Lines 29-59 of Mars).
Min as modified by Mars does not teach a first molding layer having a specified compression rate.
However, Haverinen teaches a first molding layer having a specified compression rate (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 can be molded using a molding technique such as compression molding, which would have a specified compression rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the molding layer having a specified compression rate as taught by Haverinen into Min and Mars combination’s wearable electronic device by molding the enclosures via compression molding. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to manufacture the wearable electronic device using non-ceramic material. Additionally, interchanging one molding technique with another molding technique is known as evidence by Haverinen ([0053-0054] of Haverinen) such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 2, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one battery is disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Mars fig 1c) in a shape having a curvature different from a curvature of the first housing (136, fig 1c) and/or a curvature of the second housing (132 is different from 134, fig 1c, col 5 lines 55-59 recite ‘As can be seen in FIG. 1C, curved battery 126 is characterized by a first radius of curvature 132, and enclosure portion 104 is characterized by a second radius of curvature (an interior radius) 134 and a third radius of curvature (an outer radius) 136’).
Regarding claim 4, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one battery has a curvature corresponding to a curvature of the first housing (Fig. 1B, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : inner layer of enclosure portion 104 has a curvature corresponding to a curvature of the outer layer of enclosure portion 104).
Regarding claim 6, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first housing and/or the second housing has an annular shape (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : cover member 150 and/or outer ring member 110 have an annular shape).
Regarding claim 10, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising at least one cavity provided between the first molding layer and the second molding layer (Mars fig 1c indicates three different radius of curvature 132, 134, 136, which means there is a cavity between the layers, Mars col 5 lines 55-59 recite ‘As can be seen in FIG. 1C, curved battery 126 is characterized by a first radius of curvature 132, and enclosure portion 104 is characterized by a second radius of curvature (an interior radius) 134 and a third radius of curvature (an outer radius) 136’).
Regarding claim 11, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising a substrate (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110) and including at least one electronic element (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185) disposed thereon (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185 are disposed on the circuit unit 170),
wherein the substrate is spaced apart from the at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is spaced apart from the battery 182).
Regarding claim 12, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 11, wherein the substrate comprises a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 comprises flexible printed circuit board (FPCB)).
Regarding claim 13, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising a substrate (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110) and comprises at least one electronic element (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185) disposed thereon (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : sensor unit 171, power unit 180, communication module 181, switch 183, and control unit 185 are disposed on the circuit unit 170),
wherein the substrate is disposed between at least a portion of the battery and the first housing (Fig. 2, [0065] of Min : circuit unit 170 is disposed between at least a portion of the battery 182 and the cover member 150).
Regarding claim 16, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first molding layer comprises a flame-retardant material (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : enclosure 104 which includes the lower enclosure 112 can be made of silicone).
Regarding claim 19, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second molding layer comprises epoxy (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : enclosure 104 which includes the lower enclosure 112 can be made of epoxy).
Regarding claim 20, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second housing comprises an annular opening at a center thereof (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : outer ring member 110 comprises an annular opening at a center thereof), and
wherein the wearable electronic device is configured to be worn on a finger through the annular opening (Fig. 2, [0044-0046] of Min : outer ring member 110 of ring-type wearable device 100 has a diameter sufficient to be fitted to the finger of the user).
Claim(s) 3, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination as applied above, in view of Maric (US 20210333823 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1,
comprising a support member (Mars 130, fig 1c) disposed between the at least one battery and the second molding layer (Mars 112, fig 1c), wherein the support member includes a plate-shaped material disposed inside the first molding layer (Mars col 5 lines 51-52 recite ‘interconnects 130 may be produced (a first assembly 152) and placed within a mold’).
However Mars fails to specifically teach that the plate-shaped material is metal
Maric teaches a plate-shaped material is metal ([0071] recites ‘metal antenna structures (wire, metal foil, structural metal members, sheet metal parts, and/or other conductive antenna structures forming antenna structures 126) can be embedded in polymer that forms support structure 50, as shown in FIG. 11 (e.g., one or more shots of polymer for support structure 50 may be molded over conductive antenna structures 126)’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Maric into the device of Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen in the above manner for the purpose of having an antenna.
Claim 8. Min teaches a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, Abstract : wearable device) comprising:
a first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : cover member 150);
a second housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 150);
at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110),
wherein the second housing comprises:
a second layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110) coupled to the first housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to the cover member 150).
Min does not teach a first molding layer disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery and having a specified compression rate; and
a second molding layer covering the first molding layer and coupled to the first housing; and
a support member disposed between the at least one battery and the second molding layer, wherein the support member includes a plate-shaped metal material disposed inside the first molding layer
Mars teaches a first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59, battery 126); and
a second molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) covering the first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 covers the interior region 124) and coupled to the first housing (112 is coupled to 110 col 5 lines 46-48 recite ‘upper enclosure 110 and lower enclosure 112 may be made of metal, ceramics, plastics, combinations thereof, or the like, and may be welded, glued, screwed together’)
a support member (Mars 130, fig 1c) disposed between the at least one battery and the second molding layer (Mars 112, fig 1c), wherein the support member includes a plate-shaped material disposed inside the first molding layer (Mars col 5 lines 51-52 recite ‘interconnects 130 may be produced (a first assembly 152) and placed within a mold’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first molding layer and the second molding layer as taught by Mars into Min’s wearable electronic device by adding the interior region between the outer ring member and the cover member. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide additional cover and shell for the battery, and allow the battery and the housing to have matching curvature (Col. 5. Lines 29-59 of Mars).
Min as modified by Mars does not teach a first molding layer having a specified compression rate.
However, Haverinen teaches a first molding layer having a specified compression rate (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 can be molded using a molding technique such as compression molding, which would have a specified compression rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the molding layer having a specified compression rate as taught by Haverinen into Min and Mars combination’s wearable electronic device by molding the enclosures via compression molding. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to manufacture the wearable electronic device using non-ceramic material. Additionally, interchanging one molding technique with another molding technique is known as evidence by Haverinen ([0053-0054] of Haverinen) such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
However Min, Mars and Haverinen fails to specifically teach that the plate-shaped material is metal
Maric teaches a plate-shaped material is metal ([0071] recites ‘metal antenna structures (wire, metal foil, structural metal members, sheet metal parts, and/or other conductive antenna structures forming antenna structures 126) can be embedded in polymer that forms support structure 50, as shown in FIG. 11 (e.g., one or more shots of polymer for support structure 50 may be molded over conductive antenna structures 126)’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Maric into the device of Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen in the above manner for the purpose of having an antenna.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination as applied above, in view of Howard et al. (US 20230327255 A1, and hereinafter “Howard”).
Regarding claim 5, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen does not teach wherein the at least one battery is attached to at least a portion of the first housing via an adhesive member.
However, Howard teaches wherein the at least one battery is attached to at least a portion of the first housing via an adhesive member (Fig. 2, [0042] : battery cell 204 attaches to the housing 206 via adhesive 210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the adhesive as taught by Howard into Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination’s wearable electronic device by attaching the battery to the enclosure via an adhesive. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to improve the stability of the electronic device, and ensure the battery stays in place.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination as applied above, in view of Gui et al. (CN 216250941 U, employing the previously provided machine translation, and hereinafter “Gui”).
Regarding claim 17, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen does not teach wherein the compression rate is in a range of 10 % to 50 %.
However, Gui teaches wherein the compression rate is in a range of 10 % to 50 % (Fig. 2, Lines 62-75 : control film 2 has a compression rate of 10% - 80%, and can be in rage of 10% - 50%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate compression rate as taught by Gui into Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination’s wearable electronic device by using the control film as the interior region. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide support for the battery, and limit the traversing of the battery without damaging the battery through compression (Lines 76-92 of Gui).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination as applied above, in view of Burke (US 20230078486 A1, and hereinafter “Burke”).
Regarding claim 18, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1.
Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen does not teach wherein the first molding layer comprises polyurethane foam.
However, Burke teaches wherein the first molding layer (Fig. 2, [0021], [0040] : plastic member 30 of battery housing 1) comprises polyurethane foam (Fig. 2, [0021], [0040] : plastic member 30 can include or consist of polyurethane foam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate polyurethane foam as taught by Burke into Min, Mars, and Haverinen combination’s wearable electronic device by adding polyurethane foam to the enclosure. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide insulation near the battery, and ensure the different structural elements are embedded in the plastic member ([0019-0021], [0047] of Burke). Additionally, interchanging plastic with a polyurethane foam is known as evidence by Burke ([0021] of Burke) such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US 20210037932 A1, and hereinafter “Min”), in view of Mars et al. (US 12052816 B1, and hereinafter “Mars”), and in further view of Haverinen et al. (US 20180103902 A1, and hereinafter “Haverinen”).
Regarding claim 1, Min teaches a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, Abstract : wearable device) comprising:
a first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : cover member 150);
a second housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 and inner ring member 130) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the first housing (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] : outer ring member 110 is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 150); and
at least one battery (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : battery 182 is disposed between the cover member 150 and the outer ring member 110), the battery including a first surface (top surface in fig 2) facing the first housing and a second surface (bottom surface in fig 2) opposite to the first surface and facing the second housing (fig 2),
wherein the second housing comprises:
a second molding layer (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : inner ring member 130) coupled to the first housing (Fig. 2, [0049-0052] : inner ring member 130 is coupled to the cover member 150).
Min does not teach a first molding layer disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery and having a specified compression rate; and
a second molding layer covering the first molding layer,
wherein the first molding layer is positioned between the first housing and the second molding layer so as not to be visible from the outside of the wearable electronic device, and the first molding layer is disposed to cover all perimeter edges of the at least one battery
Mars teaches a first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) disposed to be at least partially in contact with the at least one battery (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59, battery 126); and
a second molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104) covering the first molding layer (Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 : lower enclosure 112 covers the interior region 124) and coupled to the first housing (112 is coupled to 110 col 5 lines 46-48 recite ‘upper enclosure 110 and lower enclosure 112 may be made of metal, ceramics, plastics, combinations thereof, or the like, and may be welded, glued, screwed together’)
wherein the first molding layer (124) is positioned between the first housing (110) and the second molding layer (112) so as not to be visible from the outside of the wearable electronic device (comparing figs 1a, 1c), and the first molding layer is disposed to cover the second surface (bottom surface of fig 1c) of the at least one battery and each side surface of the at least one battery (124 covers 126 from the interior while 110 covers the exterior since the battery lays on top of 124 in fig 1c)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first molding layer and the second molding layer as taught by Mars into Min’s wearable electronic device by adding the interior region between the outer ring member and the cover member. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to provide additional cover and shell for the battery, and allow the battery and the housing to have matching curvature (Col. 5. Lines 29-59 of Mars).
Min as modified by Mars does not teach a first molding layer having a specified compression rate.
However, Haverinen teaches a first molding layer having a specified compression rate (Fig. 1, [0037-0040], [0053-0054] : molded body part 102 can be molded using a molding technique such as compression molding, which would have a specified compression rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the molding layer having a specified compression rate as taught by Haverinen into Min and Mars combination’s wearable electronic device by molding the enclosures via compression molding. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to manufacture the wearable electronic device using non-ceramic material. Additionally, interchanging one molding technique with another molding technique is known as evidence by Haverinen ([0053-0054] of Haverinen) such that it would be a mere obvious selection of an art recognized equivalence for the same purpose (MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 3, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1,
comprising a support member (Min 110, fig 2; Mars 130, fig 1c) disposed between the at least one battery and the second molding layer (Min 130, fig 2; Mars 112, fig 1c), wherein the support member includes a plate-shaped metal material (Min [0051] recites ‘110 may be configured of a metal material’) disposed inside the first molding layer (Mars col 5 lines 51-52 recite ‘interconnects 130 may be produced (a first assembly 152) and placed within a mold’).
Regarding claim 7, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising a support member (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : outer ring member 110) disposed between the at least one battery and the second molding layer (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min : outer ring member 110 is disposed between the battery 182 and the inner ring member 130).
Regarding claim 9, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 7, wherein the support member (Min 110, fig 2) is disposed between the first molding layer and the second molding layer (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min, and Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : outer ring member 110 will be disposed between the lower surface of interior region 124 and the inner ring member 130) and is attached to an outer surface of the first molding layer (Fig. 2, [0044-0045] of Min, and Fig. 1C, Col. 5, Lines 29-59 of Mars : outer ring member 110 will be attached to the outer surface of the interior region 124).
Regarding claim 10, Min as modified by Mars and Haverinen teaches the wearable electronic device of claim 1, comprising at least one cavity provided between the first molding layer and the second molding layer (Mars fig 1c indicates three different radius of curvature 132, 134, 136, which means there is a cavity between the layers, Mars col 5 lines 55-59 recite ‘As can be seen in FIG. 1C, curved battery 126 is characterized by a first radius of curvature 132, and enclosure portion 104 is characterized by a second radius of curvature (an interior radius) 134 and a third radius of curvature (an outer radius) 136’).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 allowed.
With respect to claims 14-15, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in independent claim 14 and at least in part because of claimed limitations:
wherein the first molding layer comprises a first soft molding layer disposed between the at least one battery and the substrate, and a second soft molding layer disposed between the at least one battery and the second housing
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 14 are believed to render said claim 14 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
3. None of the cited references teach nor suggest the above noted limitations of claim 14 in combination with the remaining limitations.
The closest prior arts of recorded were provided in the office action(s). In examiners opinion the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Applicant argues in response to the first rejection of claim 1:
‘However, as shown in Fig. 1C of Mars, the "interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104" is not "disposed to cover the second surface of the at least one battery and each side surface of the at least one battery," as recited in claim 1. As shown in Fig. 1C at least two sides surface illustrated in Fig. 1C are not covered by "interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104."’
In response to the second rejection Applicant argues:
‘However, as discussed above, the "interior region 124 of lower enclosure 112 which is part of molded material 104" is not "disposed to cover the second surface of the at least one battery and each side surface of the at least one battery," as recited in claim 1’
Mars do teach these limitations as shown in the rejections above. Mars fig 1c shows an exploded view, however in the finished product the battery is covered by molded material 104 as shown in figs 1a, 1b. Fig 1c shows that the battery is covered from the bottom, sides and the top. Figs 1a, 1b present that the battery is hidden from view (covered).
Applicant further argues against the third rejection, however that rejection is withdrawn. After further consideration, Mars is found to teach the limitations of claim 10.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS R BURTNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841