Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over FORSTER(US20120293103A1) in view of LEONG(US20100149790A1).
Regarding claim 1, Forster teaches a power tool(Abstract) comprising: a housing(12) including a motor housing portion(part of 12 with motor 14), a front housing portion(part of 12 with output 20 of motor) coupled to the motor housing portion, and a handle portion(portion of housing 12 where it is held) extending from the motor housing portion(Fig. 1, Para[0046-0051]);
a motor(14) supported within the motor housing portion(part of 12 with motor); an output(20) driven by the motor to rotate about an axis, the output extending from the front housing portion(Fig. 1, Para[0046]);
an actuator(114) supported by the handle portion(portion of housing with trigger 102) and configured to control operation of the motor(Figs. 2a-3, 9-10b; Para[0049-0079]);
a circuit board(140) supported within an accommodating region between the actuator(114,102) and the front housing portion(Fig. 3, 19).
Forster is silent a vibration isolator positioned on the circuit board and between the circuit board and the housing.
However, Leong teaches a power tool(10) with a vibration isolator(68) positioned on the circuit board(60) and between the circuit board and the housing(floor 66 of the housing 52)(Fig. 4; Para[0032-0033]).
Leong is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Forster because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Forster wherein a vibration isolator positioned on the circuit board and between the circuit board and the housing, as taught by Leong. One would be motivated to do this in order to absorb vibrations arising from the tool insert, gear transmission, or motor which increases overall efficiency.
Regarding claim 2/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Leong further teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is configured to reduce the transfer of vibration generated by operation of the power tool to the circuit board(Para[0033], configured to absorb vibrations to isolate the circuit board).
Regarding claim 3/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the vibration isolator is made of foam.
However, Forster teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is preferably made of soft, dampening material(Foam). Foam is a well-known species of vibration-damping pad material and would be a mere substitution of know materials.
Regarding claim 4/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Leong further teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is compressed between the circuit board(60) and the housing(52)(Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Leong further teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is adhered to the circuit board(60) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Forster further teaches wherein the circuit board(140) includes a plurality of semi-conductor switching elements(Figs. 9-11; Para[0052-0074).
Regarding claim 7/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Forster further teaches wherein the circuit board(140) extends parallel to the axis (Figs. 3,19; Para[0051-0053).
Regarding claim 8/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Forster further teaches wherein the actuator(102) is a trigger movable in a direction parallel to the axis to vary an operating speed of the motor (Figs. 2-9; Para[0049-0079).
Regarding claim 9/1, Forster in view of Leong teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Forster in view of Leong further teaches wherein the housing(Forster, 12) includes cooperating clamshell halves(Forster, 104a,104b) defining the motor housing portion and the handle portion(Forster, Fig. 1), wherein the clamshell halves(Forster, 104a,104b) define an upper wall of the accommodating region, the upper wall extending adjacent a bottom side of the front housing portion(Forster, Figs. 1-3, 19), and wherein the vibration isolator(68) is compressed between the circuit board(60) and the upper wall(Leong, Figs. 4).
Claim(s) 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over LEONG(US20100149790A1) in view of FORSTER(US20120293103A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Leong teaches a power tool(Para[0003]) comprising: a housing(Para[0028, not shown) including a motor housing portion(motor region), a front housing portion(impact mechanism and output at front) to the motor housing portion, and a handle portion(handle portion for gripping) from the motor housing portion(Fig. 1, Para[0028-0031]);
a motor supported within the motor housing portion(Para[0029], motor disposed within the housing and driving the drivetrain);
an impact mechanism driven by the motor to deliver rotational impacts to an output extending from the front housing portion, the output being rotatable about an axis(Fig. 4, Para[0029-0030], explicitly describes striker, spring, anvil, and hammer mechanism delivering rotational impacts);
a circuit board(60) extending parallel to the axis, the circuit board(60) supported within the housing(cavity 52 of housing) and including a first side facing the impact mechanism(Fig. 4. pcb located in the nose region adjacent the impact mechanism); and a vibration isolator(68) positioned on the first side of the circuit board(60)(Fig. 4).
Leong is silent wherein an actuator supported by the handle portion and configured to control operation of the motor; and a circuit board supported within the housing and including a second side facing the actuator.
However, Forster teaches an actuator(102) supported by the handle portion(portion of housing 12 where it is held) and configured to control operation of the motor(14); and a circuit board(140) supported within the housing and including a second side facing the actuator(102)(Fig. 10b).
Forster is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Leong because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Leong wherein an actuator supported by the handle portion and configured to control operation of the motor; and a circuit board supported within the housing and including a second side facing the actuator, as taught by Forster. One would be motivated to do this in order to protect the circuit board from vibration and impact forces thereby improving durability and reliability.
Regarding claim 11/10, Leong in view of Forster teaches the power tool of claim 1.
Leong further teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is configured to reduce the transfer of vibration generated by operation of the power tool to the circuit board(60)(Para[0033).
Regarding claim 12/10, Leong in view of Forster teaches the power tool of claim 10.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the vibration isolator is made of foam.
However, Leong teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is preferably made of soft, dampening material(Foam). Foam is a well-known species of vibration-damping pad material and would be a mere substitution of know materials.
Regarding claim 13/10, Leong in view of Forster teaches the power tool of claim 10.
Leong further teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is compressed between the first side of the circuit board(60) and the housing(52)(Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14/10, Leong in view of Forster teaches the power tool of claim 10.
Forster further teaches wherein the circuit board(140) is supported within an accommodating region between the front housing portion and the actuator(1020 (Figs. 3 and 19).
Regarding claim 15/10, Leong in view of Forester teaches the power tool of claim 10.
Forster in view of Leong further teaches wherein the housing(Forster, 12) includes cooperating clamshell halves(Forster, 104a,104b) defining the motor housing portion and the handle portion(Forster, Fig. 1), wherein the clamshell halves(Forster, 104a,104b) define an upper wall of the accommodating region, the upper wall extending adjacent a bottom side of the front housing portion(Forster, Figs. 1-3, 19), and wherein the vibration isolator(68) is compressed between the circuit board(60) and the upper wall(Leong, Figs. 4).
Regarding claim 16/10, Leong in view of Forester teaches the power tool of claim 10.
Leong further teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) covers less than 50% of the first side of the circuit board(60)(Fig. 4, shows that 68 covers less than half of the PCB face area).
Regarding Claim 17, Leong teaches a power tool(Para[0003]) comprising: a housing(Para[0028, not shown) including a motor housing portion(motor region), a front housing portion(impact mechanism and output at front) to the motor housing portion, and a handle portion(handle portion for gripping) from the motor housing portion(Fig. 1, Para[0028-0031]);
a motor supported within the motor housing portion(Para[0029], motor disposed within the housing and driving the drivetrain);
an output driven by the motor to rotate about an axis, the output extending from the front housing portion(Fig. 4, Para[0029-0030], explicitly describes striker, spring, anvil, and hammer mechanism delivering rotational impacts);
a circuit board(60) and a vibration isolator(68) positioned between the circuit board(60) and the upper wall(housing wall)(Fig. 4).
Leong is silent wherein a housing including cooperating clamshell halves defining a motor housing portion and a handle portion extending from the motor housing portion, the housing further including a front housing portion coupled to the clamshell halves; an actuator supported by the handle portion and configured to control operation of the motor; a circuit board supported within an accommodating region between the actuator and the front housing portion, wherein the clamshell halves define an upper wall of the accommodating region, the upper wall extending adjacent a bottom side of the front housing portion.
However, Forster teaches a housing(104) including cooperating clamshell halves(104a,104b) defining a motor housing portion(portion with motor in Fig. 3) and a handle portion(portion from where the tool is held in Fig. 3) extending from the motor housing portion, the housing further including a front housing portion(forward nose in Fig. 3) coupled to the clamshell halves; an actuator(102) supported by the handle portion and configured to control operation of the motor(14); a circuit board(140) supported within an accommodating region between the actuator(102) and the front housing portion(forward nose), wherein the clamshell halves define an upper wall(top of walls above the circuit board) of the accommodating region, the upper wall extending adjacent a bottom side of the front housing portion(upper walls of 104a, 104b extend to front nose on the front housing portion)(Fig. 10b).
Forster is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Leong because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Leong wherein a housing including cooperating clamshell halves defining a motor housing portion and a handle portion extending from the motor housing portion, the housing further including a front housing portion coupled to the clamshell halves; an actuator supported by the handle portion and configured to control operation of the motor; a circuit board supported within an accommodating region between the actuator and the front housing portion, wherein the clamshell halves define an upper wall of the accommodating region, the upper wall extending adjacent a bottom side of the front housing portion, as taught by Forster. One would be motivated to do this in order to protect the circuit board from vibration transmitted through the housing while maintaining compact packaging of the electronic control components.
Regarding claim 18/17, Leong in view of Forester teaches the power tool of claim 17.
Forster further teaches wherein the actuator(102) is a multi-position switch(Figs. 9-11, Para[0049-0051]).
Regarding claim 19/17, Leong in view of Forester teaches the power tool of claim 17.
The combination does not explicitly teach includes foam compressed between the circuit board and the upper wall.
However, Leong teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is preferably made of soft, dampening material(Foam). Foam is a well-known species of vibration-damping pad material and would be a mere substitution of know materials.
Leong further teaches wherein the vibration isolator(68) is compressed between the first side of the circuit board(60) and the upper wall(housing(52)(Fig. 4)).
Regarding claim 20/17, Leong in view of Forester teaches the power tool of claim 17.
Forster further teaches wherein the actuator(102) is a trigger configured to control an operating speed of the motor(14)(Figs. 9-11, Para[0049-0051]).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect. uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834