Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3, 5, 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and 10 recites the limitation “with both surfaces thereof" in line 7 of the claim. It’s not clear what “surface” are being referred to as neither the electrode assembly or the pouch are described as having surfaces. Each of those parts would have at least two surfaces. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 3 and 12 recites the limitation “the second protection circuit module is…., and is electrically connected to the electrode assembly via the first protection circuit module." in line 5 and 6 of the claim. Regarding claim 5 and 14 recites the limitation "the second protection circuit module is electrically connected to the electrode assembly via the second electrode tab" in line 8 and 9. It’s not clear what via is creating the connection between the second protection circuit module and the electrode assembly, the first protection circuit or the second electrode tab. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 to 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and further in view of LEE et al (US 2020/0335832).
Regarding claim 1, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
Battery cell 120 with an electrode assembly and a casing 123 that accommodates the electrode and includes a terrace 122 from which an electrode tab 121 electrically connected to the electrode assembly protrude. The casing may be a kind of pouch. [0044]. The electrode tab 121 may include first and second electrode tabs 1211 and 1212 with different polarities [0046]. The electrode assembly may be manufactured by forming a stack including positive and negative electrode plates [0045]. FIG 3 shows at least a portion of the electrode tab exposed to outside and a protection circuit module 130 electrically connected to the electrode assembly via the exposed first electrode tab and FIG 2 shows the casing (pouch) wrapping the electrode assembly with both surfaces. The protective circuit module may include: a first sub-protective circuit module adjacent to the terrace; and a second sub-protective circuit module connected to the first sub-protective circuit module and extending in a direction away from the terrace…. and the connection tab may be provided on the second sub-protective circuit module [0016].
Lee’ 7067 is silent about the first and second protection circuit disposed on the other side of the terrace. In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, Lee’ 5832 shows in FIG. 3 a protective circuit module 200 electrically connected to the battery cell via the electrode tabs 120 and arranged on the first surface of the terrace portion and a current breaking device (type of protection circuit module since is configured to limit the charge-discharge current in response to an abnormal state such as overheating [0010]) electrically connected to the protective circuit module and arranged on the second surface of the terrace portion [0008-0009]. The terrace portion T includes a sealing portion TS [0053]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to been motivated to apply this opposed surface arrangement to the respective protection circuit modules of LEE’ 7067 and substituted the current breaking device for a second protection circuit module following the teaches from LEE’ 5832 since the current breaking device is configured like a type of protection circuit module to limit the charge-discharge current in response to an abnormal state such as overheating [0010]. Such substitution would therefore have been a predictable use of a known alternative to achieve the same protective function.
Regarding claim 2, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
FIG 2 shows the pouch comprising a shape of a plate having a thickness, wherein the terrace 122 is disposed at a location in which the terrace divides the thickness of the pouch and a protective circuit module seated on the terrace [0015]. However, the first sub-protective circuit module 130A and the second sub-protective 130B are adjacent to each other, referring to FIG 5.
In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, Lee’ 5832 shows in FIG. 5 a pouch that comprises a shape of a plate having a thickness, wherein the terrace is disposed at a location in which the terrace divides the thickness of the pouch. The current breaking device and the protective module are facing each other with the terrace portion therebetween [0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the arrangement of the protective circuits of LEE’7067 in view of LEE’5832 because according to the disclosure, this arrangement is fundamentally preventing spatial interference between the protective circuit module and the current breaking device, and decreasing the width of the protective circuit module and enabling the battery pack to have a compact structure [0010]. Such rearrangement would not change the operation or function of the protective circuits module and a person ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the modification.
Regarding claim 3, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
Referring FIG. 3, a first sub-protective circuit module 130A connected to the electrode assembly 121 via a connection tab 132 of the first protective circuit electrically connected to the first electrode tab 121A [0051 and 0058]. The protective circuit module 130 may include: a first sub-protective circuit module 130A….; and a second sub-protective circuit module 130B connected to the first sub-protective circuit module 130A [0054]. Referring to FIG. 3, the second electrode tab 121B is electrically connected to the second sub-protective circuit module. Although a connection tab 132 is interposed between the electrode tab and the protective circuit module, the claimed electrical connection is nevertheless provided.
LEE’7067 is silent about the connection circuit board. In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, LEE’ 5832 teaches the protective circuit module 200 may include a circuit board 200a…, and a plurality of circuit elements 210 mounted on the circuit board 200a, referring to FIG 4 and FIG. 5 [0046]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to implement a connection circuit board like the circuit board 200a of LEE’5832 in the system of LEE’7067 to facilitate the electrical connection between the respective protective components and the battery terminals. The connection circuit board provides a known and predictable circuit board connection arrangement, thereby simplifying the wiring and providing a compact and organized electrical connection between the components.
Regarding claim 5, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
The electrode tab 121 may include first and second electrode tabs 1211 and 1212 having different polarities such as positive or negative. The first and second electrode tabs 1211 and 1212 may protrude outward from a side of the battery cell 120 and may be electrically connected to the protective circuit module 130 [0046 and 0067]. Referring to FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, the first electrode tab 121A is electrically connected to the first protective circuit module and the second electrode tab 121B is electrically connected to the second sub-protective circuit module. Although a connection tab 132 is interposed between the electrode tab and the protective circuit module, the claimed electrical connection is nevertheless provided.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and LEE et al (US 2020/0335832) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 9356262).
Regarding claim 4, combination doesn’t teach:
A terrace comprising at least one hollow portion or a connection circuit board through the hollow.
In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, Kim teaches a protection circuit module with a cable for electrically connecting the battery pack to an external device, and the frame has a through-hole that is formed corresponding to the cable to guide the cable to the outside of the battery pack [Col. 2, ln 11-15]. It would be obvious to modify the terrace to have at least one hollow because according to the teaches from LEE’7067 and LEE’5832 in view of Kim. LEE’7067 teaches a first and second protection circuit and LEE’ 5832 teaches a circuit board as part of the connection member. Kim teaches proving a connection through-hole in the battery pack structure to accommodate and guide an electrical connection associated with the protection circuit module. A person ordinary skill in the art would been motivated to modify the arrangement of LEE’7067 and LEE’5832 to provide an opening or hollow portion in the terrace through which the connection circuit board extends, as taught Kim, facilitating passage and routing of the connection circuit board while maintaining the electrical connection between the first and second protection circuit module.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and LEE et al (US 2020/0335832) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al (US 2016/0141594).
Regarding claim 7 and 8, combination doesn’t teach:
The first protection circuit module comprises at least one integrated circuit (IC), and wherein the integrated circuit is configured to block a current of the battery based on at least one of a charge level of the battery or a current magnitude of the battery or wherein the second protection circuit module comprises at least one transistor circuit.
LEE’5832 teaches the current breaking device 150 may include a variable resistor [0058]. In the same field of endeavor, battery, Hwang teaches the battery protection circuit devices may further include a protection integrated circuit (IC), field effect transistors (FETs), and one or more passive devices [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to provide the first protective circuit with the protection integrated circuit (IC) because Hwang provides this integration to perform battery protection. Incorporating the IC into the first protection circuit module would provide a known control mechanism for monitoring the battery conditions and controlling battery current. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to provide the second protection circuit module with the resistor taught by LEE’5832 because the resistor used in the current breaking device is used to suppress charge-discharge current depending on the temperature of the battery cell 100 [0058]. The modification would have involved the use of a known component for its known purpose and would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and LEE et al (US 2020/0335832) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang et al (US 2010/0092805).
Regarding claim 6, combination doesn’t teach:
A cover disposed to cover an area, in which the terrace is formed, in at least a partial area of the pouch, wherein an area inside the cover is divided into a first area and a second area by the terrace, wherein the first protection circuit module is disposed in the first area, and wherein the second protection circuit module is disposed in the second area.
In the same field of endeavor, secondary battery, Jang teaches in FIG. 1 a cover 1300a and 1300b located above the protection circuit module 1200 (first protection circuit module 1210 and second protection circuit module 1220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to implement a cover to the embodiments of LEE’ 5832 following the taught by Jang. A cover disposed to cover a first area and a second area, wherein the first protection circuit module is disposed in the first area, and wherein the second protection circuit module is disposed in the second area will provide protection to the protective circuits from external contact and environment with an electrical insulation. Covering both protective circuits would also provide a common protective structure for the components while maintaining the protective function of the circuits.
Regarding claim 9, combination doesn’t teach:
The first protection circuit module comprises a first printed circuit board, wherein the second protection circuit module comprises a second printed circuit board, and wherein the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board are spaced apart from each other.
LEE’5832 teaches in FIG. 4 the protective may include a circuit board 200a and a plurality of circuit elements 210 mounted on the circuit board. In the same field of endeavor, battery, Jang teaches the first protection circuit module, and the second protection circuit module may each include a printed circuit board [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to provide a printed circuit board in each of the protective circuit modules following the teaches from KR’ 2102 because according to LEE’ 5832 this printed circuit board (circuit board 200a) can be used to form the protection circuit, see FIG. 4, such embodiments provide a known substrate for mounting and electrically interconnecting the respective protection circuit module.
This incorporation of the printed circuit board would facilitate the electrical connection and assembly of, while at providing a compact and organized circuit arrangement. Such modification would have been the use of a known structure for its established function and would have yielded predictable results.
Since the embodiment used on LEE’5832 for the first protection circuit and the current breaking device are spaced apart from each other is the modification for the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to understand that first printed circuit board and the second circuit board would be spaced apart from each other.
Claim(s) 10 to 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and further in view of LEE et al (US 2020/0335832).
Regarding claim 10, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
Battery cell 120 with an electrode assembly and a casing 123 that accommodates the electrode and includes a terrace 122 from which an electrode tab 121 electrically connected to the electrode assembly protrude. The casing may be a kind of pouch. [0044]. The electrode tab 121 may include first and second electrode tabs 1211 and 1212 with different polarities [0046]. The electrode assembly may be manufactured by forming a stack including positive and negative electrode plates [0045]. FIG 3 shows at least a portion of the electrode tab exposed to outside and a protection circuit module 130 electrically connected to the electrode assembly via the exposed first electrode tab and FIG 2 shows the casing (pouch) wrapping the electrode assembly with both surfaces. The protective circuit module may include: a first sub-protective circuit module adjacent to the terrace; and a second sub-protective circuit module connected to the first sub-protective circuit module and extending in a direction away from the terrace…. and the connection tab may be provided on the second sub-protective circuit module [0016].
LEE’ 7067 is silent about the first and second protection circuit disposed on the other side of the terrace. In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, LEE’ 5832 shows in FIG. 3 a protective circuit module 200 electrically connected to the battery cell via the electrode tabs 120 and arranged on the first surface of the terrace portion and a current breaking device (type of protection circuit module since is configured to limit the charge-discharge current in response to an abnormal state such as overheating [0010]) electrically connected to the protective circuit module and arranged on the second surface of the terrace portion [0008-0009]. The terrace portion T includes a sealing portion TS [0053]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to been motivated to apply this opposed surface arrangement to the respective protection circuit modules of LEE’ 7067 and substituted the current breaking device for a second protection circuit module following the teaches from LEE’ 5832 since the current breaking device is configured like a type of protection circuit module to limit the charge-discharge current in response to an abnormal state such as overheating [0010]. Such substitution would therefore have been a predictable use of a known alternative to achieve the same protective function.
Regarding claim 11, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
FIG 2 shows the pouch comprising a shape of a plate having a thickness, wherein the terrace 122 is disposed at a location in which the terrace divides the thickness of the pouch and a protective circuit module seated on the terrace [0015]. However, the first sub-protective circuit module 130A and the second sub-protective 130B are adjacent to each other, referring to FIG 5.
In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, Lee’ 5832 shows in FIG. 5 a pouch that comprises a shape of a plate having a thickness, wherein the terrace is disposed at a location in which the terrace divides the thickness of the pouch. The current breaking device and the protective module are facing each other with the terrace portion therebetween [0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the arrangement of the protective circuits of LEE’7067 in view of LEE’5832 because according to the disclosure, this arrangement is fundamentally preventing spatial interference between the protective circuit module and the current breaking device, and decreasing the width of the protective circuit module and enabling the battery pack to have a compact structure [0010]. Such rearrangement would not change the operation or function of the protective circuits module and a person ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the modification.
Regarding claim 12, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
Referring FIG. 3, a first sub-protective circuit module 130A connected to the electrode assembly 121 via a connection tab 132 of the first protective circuit electrically connected to the first electrode tab 121A [0051 and 0058]. The protective circuit module 130 may include: a first sub-protective circuit module 130A….; and a second sub-protective circuit module 130B connected to the first sub-protective circuit module 130A [0054]. A connection member 160 may be added for electrical connection therebetween [0064]. Referring to FIG. 3, the second electrode tab 121B is electrically connected to the second sub-protective circuit module. Although a connection tab 132 is interposed between the electrode tab and the protective circuit module, the claimed electrical connection is nevertheless provided.
LEE’7067 is silent about the connection via printed circuit board (PCB). In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, LEE’ 5832 teaches the current breaking device 150 and the protective circuit module 200, and a connection member 160 may be added for electrical connection therebetween. The protective circuit module 200 may include a circuit board 200, a conductive pattern (not shown) formed on the circuit board 200a, and a plurality of circuit elements 210 mounted on the circuit board 200a, referring to FIG 4 and FIG. 5 [0046]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to implement a printed circuit board (PCB) like the circuit board 200a of LEE’5832 in the system of LEE’7067 to facilitate the electrical connection between the respective protective components and the battery terminals. The circuit board disclosed by LEE’5832 includes a conductive pattern formed on the circuit board and a plurality of circuit elements, such components correspondents to a printed circuit board, which conventionally includes conductive wiring patterns. Thus, implementing the disclosed circuit board as a printed circuit board would have been a predictable and known implementation of the disclosed circuit board.
Regarding claim 14, LEE’ 7067 teaches:
The electrode tab 121 may include first and second electrode tabs 1211 and 1212 having different polarities such as positive or negative. The first and second electrode tabs 1211 and 1212 may protrude outward from a side of the battery cell 120 and may be electrically connected to the protective circuit module 130 [0046 and 0067]. Referring to FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, the first electrode tab 121A is electrically connected to the first protective circuit module and the second electrode tab 121B is electrically connected to the second sub-protective circuit module. Although a connection tab 132 is interposed between the electrode tab and the protective circuit module, the claimed electrical connection is nevertheless provided.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and LEE et al (US 2020/0335832) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 9356262).
Regarding claim 13, combination doesn’t teach:
A terrace comprising at least one hollow portion or a connection circuit board through the hollow.
In the same field of endeavor, battery pack, Kim teaches a protection circuit module with a cable for electrically connecting the battery pack to an external device, and the frame has a through-hole that is formed corresponding to the cable to guide the cable to the outside of the battery pack [Col. 2, ln 11-15]. It would be obvious to modify the terrace to have at least one hollow because according to the teaches from LEE’7067 and LEE’5832 in view of Kim. LEE’7067 teaches a first and second protection circuit and LEE’ 5832 teaches a circuit board (same as a printed circuit board due to the conductive pattern (not shown) formed [0046]) as part of the connection member. Kim teaches proving a connection through-hole in the battery pack structure to accommodate and guide an electrical connection associated with the protection circuit module. A person ordinary skill in the art would been motivated to modify the arrangement of LEE’7067 and LEE’5832 to provide an opening or hollow portion in the terrace through which the connection circuit board extends, as taught Kim, facilitating passage and routing of the connection circuit board while maintaining the electrical connection between the first and second protection circuit module.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and LEE et al (US 2020/0335832) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hwang et al (US 2016/0141594).
Regarding claim 16 and 17, combination doesn’t teach:
The first protection circuit module comprises at least one integrated circuit (IC), and wherein the integrated circuit is configured to block a current of the battery based on at least one of a charge level of the battery or a current magnitude of the battery or wherein the second protection circuit module comprises at least one transistor circuit.
LEE’5832 teaches the current breaking device 150 may include a variable resistor [0058]. In the same field of endeavor, battery, Hwang teaches the battery protection circuit devices may further include a protection integrated circuit (IC), field effect transistors (FETs), and one or more passive devices [0010]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to provide the first protective circuit with the protection integrated circuit (IC) because Hwang provides this integration to perform battery protection. Incorporating the IC into the first protection circuit module would provide a known control mechanism for monitoring the battery conditions and controlling battery current. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to provide the second protection circuit module with the resistor taught by LEE’5832 because the resistor used in the current breaking device is used to suppress charge-discharge current depending on the temperature of the battery cell 100 [0058]. The modification would have involved the use of a known component for its known purpose and would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US 2020/0067067) and LEE et al (US 2020/0335832) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Jang et al (2010/0092805).
Regarding claim 15, combination doesn’t teach:
A cover disposed to cover an area, in which the terrace is formed, in at least a partial area of the pouch, wherein an area inside the cover is divided into a first area and a second area by the terrace, wherein the first protection circuit module is disposed in the first area, and wherein the second protection circuit module is disposed in the second area.
In the same field of endeavor, secondary battery, Jang in FIG. 1 teaches a cover 1300a and 1300b located above the protection circuit module 1200 (first protection circuit module 1210 and second protection circuit module 1220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to implement a cover to the embodiments of LEE’ 5832 following the taught by Jang. A cover disposed to cover a first area and a second area, wherein the first protection circuit module is disposed in the first area, and wherein the second protection circuit module is disposed in the second area will provide protection to the protective circuits from external contact and environment with an electrical insulation. Covering both protective circuits would also provide a common protective structure for the components while maintaining the protective function of the circuits.
Regarding claim 18, combination doesn’t teach:
The first protection circuit module comprises a first printed circuit board, wherein the second protection circuit module comprises a second printed circuit board, and wherein the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board are spaced apart from each other.
LEE’5832 teaches in FIG. 4 the protective may include a circuit board 200a and a plurality of circuit elements 210 mounted on the circuit board. In the same field of endeavor, battery, Jang teaches the first protection circuit module and the second protection circuit module may each include a printed circuit board [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to provide a printed circuit board in each of the protective circuit modules following the teaches from KR’ 2102 because according to LEE’ 5832 this printed circuit board (circuit board 200a) can be used to form the protection circuit, see FIG. 4, such embodiments provide a known substrate for mounting and electrically interconnecting the respective protection circuit module.
This incorporation of the printed circuit board would facilitate the electrical connection and assembly of, while at providing a compact and organized circuit arrangement. Such modification would have been the use of a known structure for its established function and would have yielded predictable results.
Since the embodiment used on LEE’5832 for the first protection circuit and the current breaking device are spaced apart from each other is the modification for the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to understand that first printed circuit board and the second circuit board would be spaced apart from each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR (20210074002 A), KR (20090104583 A), Park (US 2012/0052331), CHOI et al (US 2020/0144677), LEE et al (US 2019/0173134)
/ Nicolas Rosa / Examiner / Art Unit 1741 /
08/25/2026
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741