Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 April 2024 had been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 228 (which is used to denote two parts) as well as 206 (as seen in at least fig. 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard et al. (US 2013/0026855; hereinafter ‘Allard’), in view of Rohrbach (US 7,311,526; hereinafter ‘Rohrbach’).
Regarding claim 1, Allard discloses a domestic appliance (10, at least figs. 1 and 7-12) comprising:
a frame comprising a front face (at at least 24; fig. 1) and a rear face (12; as seen in at least fig. 1);
a door (22; at least fig. 1) moveably attached to the frame between an open position and a closed position (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0035]), the door (22); and
an electrical connector assembly (at least 98, 140; as seen in at least figs. 7-12; as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0038-0043]) for supplying an electrical load (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0038]), the electrical connector assembly transitionable between an engaged position and a disengaged position (as seen in at least figs. 7-9; as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0038-0043]), the electrical connector assembly comprising:
a first electrical connector (at least 110: as seen in at least figs. 7-9) disposed at the frame (as seen in the figs.7-9), the first electrical connector comprising a contact pad (at least 110) and teaches a first magnetic element (not shown, but as suggested in at least paragraph [0047]), the contact pad (110) disposed at the front face apart from the door, the first magnetic element coupled to the contact pad (as suggested by paragraph [0047]), the first magnetic element disposed at the rear face, the first magnetic element defining a magnetic field; and
a second electrical connector (also 110disposed at the pin housing, the second electrical connector comprising a second magnetic element floating within the aperture, the second magnetic element in selective engagement with the contact pad (components not shown, but as disclosed with respect to the reed switch [as seen in at least figs. 7-9; as disclosed in at least paragraph [0043]),
wherein the first magnetic element applies a pull force to the second magnetic element to maintain engagement between the second magnetic element and the contact pad in the engaged position as suggested by paragraph [0043]).
Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Allard further teaches the possibility of a variety of engagement means (as taught in at least paragraph [0047]).
Rohrbach teaches a connector including a pin housing, the pin housing comprising a channel defining an aperture therethrough and a second electrical connector disposed at the pin housing, wherein the second electrical connector comprising a second magnetic element floating within the aperture, the second magnetic element in selective engagement with the contact pad (as seen in at least fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s pin housing, the pin housing comprising a channel defining an aperture therethrough and a second electrical connector disposed at the pin housing, wherein the second electrical connector comprising a second magnetic element floating within the aperture, the second magnetic element in selective engagement with Allard’s contact pad.
One would have been motivated to do so to use a connection that is magnetic rather than friction based as it can withstand hundreds of thousands of attachment cycles without the mechanical degradation of traditional plugs.
Regarding claim 2, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. As previously indicated, Allard suggests the use of magnetic elements; however, Allard does not go into specific details about the magnetic elements.
Rohrbach teaches one of the first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprises a permanent magnet and the other of the first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprises a ferromagnetic material (as disclosed in at least column 2, lines 12-20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprising a permanent magnet and the other of the first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprises a ferromagnetic material in Allard’s connector.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Allard, as modified by Rohrbach, discloses the claimed invention as indicated above.
Allard alone does not specifically disclose the details of the second electrical connector.
Rohrbach further teaches the second electrical connector (110; as seen in at least fig.3) further comprises an actuation element (120; fig. 3), wherein the actuation element (120) comprises a first member (124; fig. 3) and a second member (118; fig.3) , wherein the second magnetic element and the channel define a radial gap therebetween (not specifically labeled but clearly seen in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s first member fixed to Allard’s predetermined surface within the door at a pin housing, wherein Rohrbach’s second member is resiliently extended from the first member, and wherein a proximal end of the second magnetic element is coupled to the first member.
One would have been motivated to do so to ensure the proper connection of the pin housing for maximum effectiveness.
Regarding claim 5, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above.
Allard alone does not specifically teach details of a second magnetic element.
Rohrbach teaches the second magnetic element comprises a barrel (124), plunger (120), and a spring (122), wherein the barrel extends from a top end to a bottom end (as seen in at least fig. 3), wherein an opening is defined at the top end, wherein the plunger is mounted within the opening (as seen in at least fig. 3), wherein the spring is positioned within the barrel and the plunger, and wherein the plunger is moveable between a compressed position and a free position via the spring (as seen in at least fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s structure of the second magnetic structure wherein the barrel extends from a top end to a bottom end, wherein an opening is defined at the top end, wherein the plunger is mounted within the opening, wherein the spring is positioned within the barrel and the plunger, and wherein the plunger is moveable between a compressed position and a free position via the spring as Allard’s pin mechanism, as suggested in paragraph [0047].
One would have been motivated to do so to support Allard’s suggestion of a pin housing.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Allard further discloses the contact pad (110) is a plurality of contact pads (as seen in at least figs. 7-9) which are attached to the front face of the frame apart from the door (as seen in at least figs. 7-9).
However, Allard does not specifically disclose wherein each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements is positioned at the rear face of the frame or wherein the aperture defined through the channel is a plurality of apertures defined through the channel, wherein the second magnetic element is a second plurality of magnetic elements, wherein each second magnetic element of the second plurality of magnetic elements is extended through an aperture of the plurality of aperture, and wherein each second magnetic element of the second magnetic elements is in selective operative engagement with each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements to motive each second magnetic element between an engaged position and the disengaged position.
Rohrbach teaches wherein each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements is positioned at the rear face of the frame or wherein the aperture defined through the channel is a plurality of apertures defined through the channel, wherein the second magnetic element is a second plurality of magnetic elements, wherein each second magnetic element of the second plurality of magnetic elements is extended through an aperture of the plurality of aperture, and wherein each second magnetic element of the second magnetic elements is in selective operative engagement with each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements to motive each second magnetic element between an engaged position and the disengaged position (as disclosed in at least column 4, line 52-column 5, line 60).
One would have been motivated to provide the further modification as suggested by Rohrbach to Allard’s device as the structural arrangement provides a secure pin housing and connection.
Regarding claim 8, Allard discloses a power supply positioned within the frame, the power supply in electrical communication with the first electrical connector to provide electric power to the first electrical connector (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Allard, whilst teaching the use of pins and magnets, does not specifically disclose magnet portion.
Rohrbach teaches a power consuming element in electrical communication with the second magnetic element (as seen in at least figs. 3-7 and the associated text), wherein in the engaged position the electrical connector assembly supplies an electrical load from the power supply to the power consuming element (as disclosed in at least column 7, lines 11-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to, based on the above modifications, to connect Allard’s power supply to Rohrbach’s magnetic elements as modified above.
One would have been motivated to do so to complete the circuit to provide electricity to the refrigerator components.
Regarding claim 10, Allard discloses a refrigerator (10, at least figs. 1 and 7-12) comprising:
a cabinet comprising a front frame (at at least 24, 12; fig. 1);
a door (22; at least fig. 1) moveably attached to the frame between an open position and a closed position (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0035]), the door (22); and
an electrical connector assembly (at least 98, 140; as seen in at least figs. 7-12; as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0038-0043]) for supplying an electrical load (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0038]), the electrical connector assembly comprising:
a first electrical connector (at least 110: as seen in at least figs. 7-9) disposed at the front frame (as seen in the figs.7-9), the first electrical connector comprising a contact pad (at least 110) and teaches a first magnetic element (not shown, but as suggested in at least paragraph [0047]), the contact pad (110) attached to a front frame apart from the door, the first magnetic element coupled to the contact pad (as suggested by paragraph [0047]), the first magnetic element disposed at the rear face, the first magnetic element defining a magnetic field; and
a second electrical connector (also 110) disposed at the pin housing, the second electrical connector comprising a second magnetic element floating within the aperture, the second magnetic element in selective operative engagement with the contact pad (components not shown, but as disclosed with respect to the reed switch [as seen in at least figs. 7-9; as disclosed in at least paragraph [0043]),
wherein the first magnetic element to motivate the second magnetic element to maintain engagement between the second magnetic element and the contact pad in the disengaged position with the contact pad (as suggested by paragraph [0043]).
Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Allard further teaches the possibility of a variety of engagement means (as taught in at least paragraph [0047]).
Rohrbach teaches a connector including a pin housing, the pin housing comprising a channel defining an aperture therethrough and a second electrical connector disposed at the pin housing, wherein the second electrical connector comprising a second magnetic element floating within the aperture, the second magnetic element in selective engagement with the contact pad (as seen in at least fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s pin housing, the pin housing comprising a channel defining an aperture therethrough and a second electrical connector disposed at the pin housing, wherein the second electrical connector comprising a second magnetic element floating within the aperture, the second magnetic element in selective engagement with Allard’s contact pad.
One would have been motivated to do so to use a connection that is magnetic rather than friction based as it can withstand hundreds of thousands of attachment cycles without the mechanical degradation of traditional plugs.
Regarding claim 11, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. As previously indicated, Allard suggests the use of magnetic elements; however, Allard does not go into specific details about the magnetic elements.
Rohrbach teaches one of the first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprises a permanent magnet and the other of the first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprises a ferromagnetic material (as disclosed in at least column 2, lines 12-20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprising a permanent magnet and the other of the first magnetic element and second magnetic element comprises a ferromagnetic material in Allard’s connector.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Allard, as modified by Rohrbach, discloses the claimed invention as indicated above.
Allard alone does not specifically disclose the details of the second electrical connector.
Rohrbach further teaches the second electrical connector (110; as seen in at least fig.3) further comprises an actuation element (120; fig. 3), wherein the actuation element (120) comprises a first member (124; fig. 3) and a second member (118; fig.3) , wherein the second magnetic element and the channel define a radial gap therebetween (not specifically labeled but clearly seen in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s first member fixed to Allard’s predetermined surface within the door at a pin housing, wherein Rohrbach’s second member is resiliently extended from the first member, and wherein a proximal end of the second magnetic element is coupled to the first member.
One would have been motivated to do so to ensure the proper connection of the pin housing for maximum effectiveness.
Regarding claim 14, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above.
Allard alone does not specifically teach details of a second magnetic element.
Rohrbach teaches the second magnetic element comprises a barrel (124), plunger (120), and a spring (122), wherein the barrel extends from a top end to a bottom end (as seen in at least fig. 3), wherein an opening is defined at the top end, wherein the plunger is mounted within the opening (as seen in at least fig. 3), wherein the spring is positioned within the barrel and the plunger, and wherein the plunger is moveable between a compressed position and a free position via the spring (as seen in at least fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Rohrbach’s structure of the second magnetic structure wherein the barrel extends from a top end to a bottom end, wherein an opening is defined at the top end, wherein the plunger is mounted within the opening, wherein the spring is positioned within the barrel and the plunger, and wherein the plunger is moveable between a compressed position and a free position via the spring as Allard’s pin mechanism, as suggested in paragraph [0047].
One would have been motivated to do so to support Allard’s suggestion of a pin housing.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Allard further discloses the contact pad (110) is a plurality of contact pads (as seen in at least figs. 7-9) which are attached to the front face of the frame apart from the door (as seen in at least figs. 7-9).
However, Allard does not specifically disclose wherein each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements is positioned at the rear face of the frame or wherein the aperture defined through the channel is a plurality of apertures defined through the channel, wherein the second magnetic element is a second plurality of magnetic elements, wherein each second magnetic element of the second plurality of magnetic elements is extended through an aperture of the plurality of aperture, and wherein each second magnetic element of the second magnetic elements is in selective operative engagement with each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements to motive each second magnetic element between an engaged position and the disengaged position.
Rohrbach teaches wherein each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements is positioned at the rear face of the frame or wherein the aperture defined through the channel is a plurality of apertures defined through the channel, wherein the second magnetic element is a second plurality of magnetic elements, wherein each second magnetic element of the second plurality of magnetic elements is extended through an aperture of the plurality of aperture, and wherein each second magnetic element of the second magnetic elements is in selective operative engagement with each first magnetic element of the first plurality of magnetic elements to motive each second magnetic element between an engaged position and the disengaged position (as disclosed in at least column 4, line 52-column 5, line 60).
One would have been motivated to provide the further modification as suggested by Rohrbach to Allard’s device as the structural arrangement provides a secure pin housing and connection.
Regarding claim 17, Allard discloses a power supply positioned within the frame, the power supply in electrical communication with the first electrical connector to provide electric power to the first electrical connector (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, Allard discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Allard, whilst teaching the use of pins and magnets, does not specifically disclose magnet portion.
Rohrbach teaches a power consuming element in electrical communication with the second magnetic element (as seen in at least figs. 3-7 and the associated text), wherein in the engaged position the electrical connector assembly supplies an electrical load from the power supply to the power consuming element (as disclosed in at least column 7, lines 11-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to, based on the above modifications, to connect Allard’s power supply to Rohrbach’s magnetic elements as modified above.
One would have been motivated to do so to complete the circuit to provide electricity to the refrigerator components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as disclosing other magnetic connectors for domestic appliances.
/LEAH MACCHIAROLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831