DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 and 19-22 in the reply filed on 7/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites the steps of receiving a first and second data stream and generating a combined analyte measurement based on a received first analyte measurement and a received second analyte measurement.
The limitation of generating a combined analyte measurement based on a received first analyte measurement and a received second analyte measurement, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a computing device” and first and second analyte monitoring device, the claims are direct to concepts relating to organizing information in a way that can be performed mentally or analogous to human mental work and nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the processor, communications interface and output language, “generating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually calculating combined data points. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of obtaining first and second digital data from the first and second analyte detectors. These analyte monitoring devices involve mere data gathering and amount to insignificant extra-solutional activity, specifically pre-solutional activity. Additionally, computing device is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, the dependent claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept and well-understood, routine and conventional activity is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is not patent eligible.
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Part of the claimed system is an analyte sensor worn by the patient which encompasses the human body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites that the second analyte measurements contribute more at the end of the period than at the end of the period. It is presumed that this was meant to be the opposite of claim 7 and say the second analyte measurement is weight more towards the end of the overlap period than at the beginning of the overlap period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 19, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamath et al. US 2012/0277566.
Regarding claim 1, 19 and 21, Kamath discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a computing device and during an overlap period, a first data stream of first analyte measurements from a first analyte sensor worn by a user ([FIG.21][¶417-424] the device receives data from a first continuous analyte sensor);
receiving, at the computing device and during the overlap period, a second data stream of second analyte measurements from a second analyte sensor worn by the user, the first data stream and the second data stream received concurrently during the overlap period ([FIG.21][¶417-424] the device also receives data from a reference analyte sensor during the same time period and the reference sensor can be another continuous analyte sensor like in FIG. 1);
generating a combined analyte measurement based on the first analyte measurements and the second analyte measurements ([FIG.21][¶419-425,452-454] the two sensor data streams are used to determine a calibration function to determine blood glucose concentrations); and
outputting, on a display of the computing device, the combined analyte measurement ([¶452-454] the determinations are displayed).
Regarding claim 2 and 22, Kamath discloses generating the combined analyte measurement comprises:
applying a first weight to the first analyte measurements received from the first analyte sensor;
applying a second weight to the second analyte measurements received from the second analyte sensor ([¶419] the two data analyte measurements can be weighted); and
generating the combined analyte measurement based on the weighted first analyte measurements and the weighted second analyte measurements ([FIG.21][¶419-425,452-454] the two sensor data streams are used to determine a calibration function to determine blood glucose concentrations).
Regarding claim 5, Kamath discloses generating the combined analyte measurement comprises determining a sum of the weighted first analyte measurements and the weighted second analyte measurements ([¶419] a weighted average can be used which is summing the measurements and dividing).
Regarding claim 6, Kamath discloses the generating the combined analyte measurement comprises generating a weighted average of the first analyte measurements and the second analyte measurements ([¶419] weighted average).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath et al. US 2012/0277566.
Regarding claim 3, Kamath discloses the first weight is relatively larger towards a beginning of the overlap period and relatively smaller towards an end of the overlap period ([¶138] the second sensor or newer sensor requires a stabilization period so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to rely more heavily on the sensors readings of the first sensor that has established stability).
Regarding claim 4, Kamath discloses the second weight is relatively smaller towards a beginning of the overlap period and relatively larger towards an end of the overlap period ([¶138] the second sensor or newer sensor requires a stabilization period so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to rely more heavily on the sensors readings of the first sensor that has established stability).
Regarding claim 7, Kamath discloses the first analyte measurements contribute more towards the combined analyte measurement towards a beginning of an overlap period than at an end of the overlap period ([¶138] the second sensor or newer sensor requires a stabilization period so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to rely more heavily on the sensors readings of the first sensor that has established stability).
Regarding claim 8, Kamath discloses the second analyte measurements contribute more towards the combined analyte measurement towards an end of an overlap period than at an end of the overlap period ([¶138] the second sensor or newer sensor requires a stabilization period so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to rely more heavily on the sensors readings of the first sensor that has established stability).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath et al. US 2012/0277566 further in view of Cosentino et al. US 2015/0106124.
Regarding claim 9, Kamath does not specifically disclose the generating the combined analyte measurement further comprises: determining which of the first analyte measurements and the second analyte measurements are more accurate; and outputting the more accurate analyte measurements. Cosentino teaches a similar glucose monitoring device that determines accuracy of the received signals and displays based on the determination of high and low accuracy ([¶43-45] the system determines a level of accuracy and then either displays only more accurate readings or readings can be displayed with their accuracy level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Kamath with the accuracy determinations of Cosentino in order to improve calculations and further processing ([¶55-57]).
Regarding claim 10, Cosentino teaches the less accurate analyte measurements are not output ([¶43-45,55-57]).
Regarding claim 11, Cosentino teaches the less accurate analyte measurements are output concurrently with the more accurate analyte measurements, and wherein the less accurate analyte measurements include an indication that they are less accurate ([¶43-45,55-57] the accuracy levels can be shown with the data or the readings are sorted based on their accuracy groupings).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath et al. US 2012/0277566 further in view of Belliveau et al. US 2018/0182491.
Regarding claim 20, Kamath discloses overlapping the sensors ([¶147] apply a second sensor and remove a first sensor) but does not specify that it provides instructions. Belliveau teaches the overlap system is further configured to :prior to the overlap period, output a notification on the display of the computing device instructing the user to apply the second analyte monitoring device; and during the overlap period, output a second notification on the display of the computing device instructing the user to remove the first analyte monitoring device ([¶245] the system can provide instructions for removal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to combine the device of Kamath with the instructions of Belliveau in order to allow the user to change the sensors without needing a health care provider ([¶429]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791