Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 5/1/26 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 11-13, and 16-28 remain pending in the application, of which claims 4, 7, 8, and 17-28 are withdrawn. Some elements from claims 3, 5, and 16 were non-elected (see Applicant’s Response to Election/Restriction filed 5/19/25). As such, the claims being examined are claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11-13, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Krosigk et al. (US 2002/0132740- cited previously) in view of Quintero et al. (US 2018/0079951- cited previously), and further in view of Hull et al. (US 2019/0211658) With respect to independent claim 1, Von Krosigk discloses a treatment fluid for cleaning oil sludges (Abstract and [0001]), comprising: an emulsion of solvent-in-water (Abstract, [0013], [0022], [0028], and [0033]);
a surfactant (Abstract, [0013], and [0031]); and an oxidizer in the water phase (Abstract, [0022], [0028], and [0034]).
Regarding claim 1, Von Krosigk discloses a treatment fluid for “cleaning well bores by removing sludges, muds, mud solids, paraffin and other well drilling residue solids” ([0036]). However, he fails to expressly disclose wherein the treatment fluid “dissolves tar for removal,” as instantly claimed. Quintero recites a treatment fluid for dissolving organic deposits from a wellbore, where the organic deposits include “paraffins, asphaltenes, tar, sludge, schmoo, and combinations” (Abstract and [0022]). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider applying the treatment fluid disclosed by Von Krosigk in a deposit containing tar, as taught by Quintero, since it amounts to nothing more than employing a known technique to a comparable device in a comparable situation, i.e., cleaning organic deposits from well bores, and it therefore would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since it has been taught “[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill... [A] court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR at 1396 Furthermore, in view of the overlapping types of organic deposits disclosed by Von Krosigk and taught by Quintero, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to try the composition disclosed by Von Krosigk for the organic deposits taught by Quintero.
Moreover, since Von Krosigk discloses the same composition as claimed, the material, if exposed to tar would naturally act in the same manner as claimed, i.e., it would be capable of dissolving the tar. If there is any difference between the composition of Von Krosigk and that of the instant claims, the difference would have been minor and obvious insofar as because it has been held "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934). Further regarding claim 1, Von Krogisk discloses wherein the surfactant has a hydrophobic-hydrophilic balance (HLB) of greater than about 12 (Abstract, [0013], and [0031]). (For example, octyl phenol ethoxylate generally has an HLB value between 13 and 14.) Furthermore, obviousness can be shown in a predictable art when a difference between the claimed ranges is virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality. In re Brandt, 886 F. 3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018). The instant specification fails to explicitly establish the instantly claimed HLB as critical and it is unclear if any unexpected results are achieved by using the instantly claimed HLB. In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969)
Further regarding claim 1, Von Krogisk discloses a treatment fluid for treating downhole formations comprising an oxidizer. However, he fails to expressly disclose wherein the oxidizer may be that which is claimed, i.e., “an oxidizer… chosen based on a desired temperature of activation.” Hull teaches a treatment fluid for treating downhole formations comprising an oxidizer, wherein the oxidizer is chosen based on a desired temperature of activation (Abstract and [0056). Replacing the oxidizer disclosed by Von Krosigk with the oxidizer taught by Hull is but a simple substitution of one known equivalent oxidizer for another, performing the same function for the same purpose. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this simple substitution as it has been held “[W]hen a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 US 39, 50-51 (1966)).
With respect to depending claim 2, Von Krosigk discloses wherein the solvent comprises a single solvent or a mixture of solvents (Abstract and [0033]). With respect to depending claim 3, Von Krosigk discloses wherein the solvent comprises xylene, toluene, or any combinations thereof (Abstract and [0033]).
With respect to depending claims 5 and 6, the combination of Von Krosigk and Hull teaches wherein the oxidizer may be a sodium bromate (Abstract and [0056). As noted above, replacing the oxidizer disclosed by Von Krosigk with the oxidizer taught by Hull is but a simple substitution of one known equivalent oxidizer for another, performing the same function for the same purpose. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this simple substitution as it has been held “[W]hen a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.” KSR at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 US 39, 50-51 (1966)). With respect to depending claim 11, Von Krogisk discloses wherein the surfactant is present from “approximately 1 to 40 weight percent” ([0028]). Although silent to wherein the amount of surfactant is “about 0.1 vol % to about 5 vol %,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for a surfactant amount as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
With respect to depending claims 12 and 13, the combination of Von Krosigk and Hull teaches wherein the oxidizer may be sodium bromate (Abstract and [0056]). Since the combination teaches the same composition as claimed (i.e., sodium bromate), the material would naturally act in the same manner as claimed, i.e., it would be active at the temperatures instantly claimed. If there is any difference between the compositions, the difference would have been minor and obvious insofar as because it has been held "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
With respect to depending claim 16, the combination of Von Krosigk and Hull discloses wherein: the solvent comprises xylene (Abstract and [0033]); the surfactant comprises an ethoxylated surfactant (Abstract and [0031]); and the oxidizer comprises sodium bromate (Hull- Abstract and [0056]). Regarding claim 16, Von Krosigk discloses wherein the surfactant may be an ethoxylated nonionic surfactant (Abstract and [0031]). With regard to the materials of the Markush group, the Office considers these as obvious variants to those disclosed by the reference, and, therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively include such materials as the surfactant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “just because one treatment fluid cleans tar deposits from a wellbore does not mean that all treatment fluids accomplish the same end.” The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive. As noted above, in view of the overlapping types of organic deposits disclosed by Von Krosigk and taught by Quintero, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try the composition disclosed by Von Krosigk for the organic deposits taught by Quintero.
Applicant argues that Von Krogisk “does not disclose octyl phenol ethoxylate but does disclose nonyl phenol ethoxylate” and therefore does not anticipate a “HLB of greater than about 12,” as instantly claimed. The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive. Von Krogisk discloses “ethoxylated nonionic surfactants selected from the group consisting of condensation products of ethylene oxide with… octyl phenol or other phenols.” Applicant additionally argues that Von Krogisk “does not appear to place any importance or value on the HLB value of any chosen surfactant. The Examiner points out that although the instant specification recites a range it fails to explicitly establish the instantly claimed HLB as critical and it is unclear if any unexpected results are achieved by using the instantly claimed HLB.
Applicant argues, based on the amendment, that the cited references fail to teach the feature of “wherein the oxidizer is chosen based on a desired temperature of activation.” This argument is moot in view of the newly cited prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AVI T SKAIST/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674