DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 6/25/2026. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 16, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1 and 3-20 are present for examination.
The objections to claims 1, 8, 19, and 20 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The 35 USC 112 (b) rejections of claims 6, 8, and 16 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 101 rejections of claim 9 are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejections of claims 9 and 10 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 with respect to 35 USC 101 rejections of claims 1, 3-8, 11-14, 19, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “Under Alice/Mayo Step 2A, Prong One, the claims, considered as a whole, are not directed merely to a mathematical concept or mental process…Under Step 2A, Prompt Two, the amended claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The claimed cleaning operation improves the motion-capture data itself by removing, replacing, or adjusting breaching data points so that the cleaned data is physically consistent… the claims do not use a computer merely as a tool to apply an abstract idea; they use a specific computer-implemented motion-capture processing technique to improve the quality and usability of motion-capture data… The claimed conversion into a relational format further confirms that the claims are directed to a technical improvement…the amended claims are analogous to claims directed to a specific improvement in computer functionality or data-processing technology, rather than claims that merely invoke generic computer components to perform an abstract idea.” (See Remarks filed on 6/25/2026, pp. 7-9.)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated in the Non-Final Office Action issued on 1/28/2026, the steps of cleaning the motion capture data and converting the cleaned motion capture data recited in claim 1 and claim 2 (now canceled but its limitations incorporated into the amended claim 1) are either mathematical concepts or mental process. (See Non-Final Rejection issued on 1/28/2026, pp. 2-5.) The Step 2A Prompt Two requires the claim to recite additional elements that can integrate these abstract ideas into practical application. However, the additional elements recited in claim 1 are merely the receiving step and the outputting step. As explained in the 1/28/2026 Non-Final Rejection, the receiving step is merely data gathering and the outputting step is simply output data. Both have been considered as insignificant extra solutions and thus cannot integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more to the abstract ideas. The amended claim 1 also recites “one or more processors of a first computing device” to perform the abstract ideas. However, such processors are recited at such a high level without any details and are simply considered generic computer component that cannot integrate the abstract ideas into practical applications either. The outputting step has been amended to include transmitting data to a second computing device. Again, the transmitting is such a common for outputting data without any details, and the second computing device is recited at such a high level without any details, therefore has been considered as insignificant solution using generic computer components. Therefore, the 35 SUC 101 rejections of claims 1, 3-8, 11-14, 19, and 20 have been maintained.
On the other hand, Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 9 are persuasive as the additional elements recited in claim 9 combined with the abstract ideas can provide improvement to the relevant technology or computer performance. Therefore, claim 9 is eligible.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 6-7, “an artificial intelligence model” should be “the artificial intelligence model”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 6, “metadate” should be “metadata”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-8, 11-14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 III provides a flowchart for the subject matter eligibility test for product and processes. The claim analysis following the flowchart is as follows:
Regarding claim 1, it recites:
A computer implemented method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors of a first computing device, motion capture data comprising a plurality of data points representing the positions of one or more objects over a period of time;
cleaning, by the one or more processors, the motion capture data so as to ensure a consistency of the cleaned motion capture data with a physical constraint, wherein cleaning the motion capture data comprises:
identifying, by the one or more processors, one or more objects represented by one or more data points of the motion capture data;
identifying, by the one or more processors, a physical constraint associated with the identified objects;
determining, by the one or more processors, whether any of the data points representing the identified objects breach the identified physical constraint by comparing one or more data points representing the identified object at different points in time within the motion capture data; and
performing, by the one or more processors, one or more cleaning operations on any data points that are determined to breach the identified physical constraint;
converting, by the one or more processors, the cleaned motion capture data into a relational format; and
outputting, by the one or more processors, the converted motion capture data by transmitting the converted motion capture data to a second computing device.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes. It recites a method, which is a process.
Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or nature phenomenon?
Yes.
The step of cleaning the motion capture data so as to ensure a consistency of the cleaned motion capture data with a physical constraint by identifying one or more objects represented by one or more data points of the motion capture data; identifying a physical constraint associated with the identified objects; determining whether any of the data points representing the identified objects breach the identified physical constraint by comparing one or more data points representing the identified object at different points in time within the motion capture data; and performing one or more cleaning operations on any data points that are determined to breach the identified physical constraint are mental processes and/or mathematical concepts: identifying objects and physical constraints as mental processes since a person can mentally identify the objects and physical constraints, determining whether data points breach the physical constraints by comparing data points at different points in time as mathematical concept involving mathematical relationship and/or mental process of comparing values in a person’s head, and performing cleaning operations on data points as mathematical concepts involving mathematical relationship (removing data points from a data collection under certain mathematical conditions (such as to breach the identified physical constraint).
The step of converting the cleaned motion capture data into a relational format is a mathematical concept because it involves mathematical operations of changing data format.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No.
The step of receiving motion capture data comprising a plurality of data points representing the positions of one or more objects over a period of time is an additional element but an insignificant extra solution of data gathering.
The step of outputting the converted motion capture data by transmitting the converted motion capture data to a second computing device is an additional element but an insignificant extra solution of outputting data.
The one or more processors of a first computing device and the second computing device are additional elements but described at such high level without details, and thus have been considered as generic computer components that cannot be considered as particular machines.
Therefore, there are no additional elements that can integrate the abstract ideas into practical application.
Therefore, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements in the claim are merely insignificant extra solutions.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
As discussed above, the additional elements recited in the claim are merely insignificant extra solutions.
Therefore, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding claim 3, it depends from claim 1 and further recites wherein the one or more cleaning operations comprises, for each data point that breaches the identified physical constraint, deleting the data point, replacing the data point, or adjusting the data point such that the adjusted data point no longer breaches the identified physical constraint.
The step of deleting, replacing, or adjusting data points can be considered mathematical concept because it involves mathematical operations of deleting or replacing data point from a mathematical data set/collection or changing the data point value to be consistent with the physical constraint.
Therefore, it does not recite additional elements that can integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 4, it depends from claim 1 and further recites wherein the identified physical constraint is one of: a length of an object; a size of an object; a shape of an object; a relative position or orientation of two or more objects; and a speed or acceleration of an object.
The physical constraints recited in claim 4 are mathematical values of physical constraint and do not introduce additional elements into the claim.
Therefore, it does not recite additional elements that can integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 5, it depends from claim 1 and further recites wherein determining whether any of the data points representing the identified object breach the identified physical constraint comprises: determining a threshold value associated with the identified physical constraints; and determining whether any of the data points representing the identified object exceed the threshold value.
The steps of determining can be considered as either mathematical concepts or mental process because they can be performed as mathematical calculations/relationships or mentally by a person.
Therefore, it does not recite additional elements that can integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 6, it depends from claim 5 and further recites wherein the motion capture data comprises a number of frames, and wherein the threshold value is one of: a distance between two data points or an angle formed between three data points within a single frame; and a distance moved by at least one data point equivalent to a threshold translation distance of the identified objects or a threshold rotation of the identified objects between two frames.
These limitations merely limit the motion capture data in the data gathering and the threshold value recited in the abstract idea of mathematical concepts/mental process, which are not additional elements that can integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 7, it depends from claim 5 and further recites wherein the threshold value is based on at least one of the identified object and the identified physical constraint associated with that object.
These limitations merely limit the threshold value recited in the abstract idea of mathematical concepts/mental process, which are not additional elements that can integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 8, it depends from claim 3 and further recites wherein either or both of: adjusting the data point such that the adjusted data point no longer breaches the identified physical constraints is performed by an artificial intelligence model; and wherein identifying the one or more objects represented by the one or more data points of the motion capture data is performed by an artificial intelligence model.
The claim recites artificial intelligence models, such as a neural network or machine learning model to perform the adjusting the data point or identifying the one or more objects. The artificial intelligence models can be considered as an additional elements but recited in such a high level that can only be considered as a generic computer component. Therefore, it does not integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 11, it depends from claim 1 and further recites wherein the motion capture data comprises optical tracking data.
This limitation is merely limiting the data in the insignificant extra solution of data gathering. Therefore, it does not integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 12, it depends from claim 1 and further recites wherein the motion capture data comprises a point cloud.
This limitation is merely limiting the data in the insignificant extra solution of data gathering. Therefore, it does not integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 13, it depends from claim 1 and further recites wherein the converted motion capture data is output in a database.
This limitation is merely limiting the destination of data output, which is still considered as insignificant extra solution. Therefore, it does not integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 14, it depends from claim 1 and further recites wherein converting the motion capture data into a relational format includes inserting a file handle at predetermined intervals throughout the motion capture data.
This limitation is merely limiting the relational format that the motion capture data is converted to, therefore is still part of the mathematical concept of data format conversion. Therefore, it does not recite additional elements that can integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1 but also recites non-transitory computer-readable medium, a computer system comprising one or more processors. These limitations can be considered as additional elements but generic computer elements. Therefore, they do not integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1 but also recites a computer system comprising one or more processors and non-transitory computer-readable medium. These limitations can be considered as additional elements but generic computer elements. Therefore, they do not integrate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-8, 11-14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 9 recites additional elements that add a specific relational data-formatting and metadata-output mechanism that provide improvements to the processing, storage, and transmission of motion-capture data, as argued by Applicant’s (see Remarks filed on 6/25/2026, pp. 9-10). Therefore, it integrates the abstract ideas into practical application and is eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 is thus eligible as well.
Claim 15 recites generating a visual representation of the event from the received converted motion capture data, which can be considered as an additional element that improves the visual representation of the event to be consistent with physical constraint. Therefore, it integrates the abstract ideas into practical application and is eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 16-18 depend from claim 15 are thus eligible as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 11-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. 20100285877 A1 to Corazza in view of US Patent Publication No. 20070200854 A1 to Gordon et al.
Regarding claim 1, Corazza discloses A computer implemented method (Corazza, Abstract) comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors of a first computing device, motion capture data comprising a plurality of data points representing the positions of one or more objects over a period of time (Corazza, FIG. 2, showing a back-end server receiving motion data from a console/PC/Device, para. [0028], disclosing performing markerless motion capture by the optical device and data acquisition device, and streaming to a server, para. [0030], disclosing using a time of flight camera to perform markerless motion capture, para. [0034], disclosing the data acquisition device forwards to the server raw motion data characterized by joint center points specified in terms of x, y, z coordinates and/or joint rotation parameters, para. [0039], disclosing receiving raw motion capture data from a data acquisition device, indicating the Console/PC/Device and/or the server in FIG. 2 can correspond to a first computing device having one or more processors, the raw motion capture data can be obtained by a time of flight camera over a period of time and can correspond to the received motion capture data comprising joint center points as a plurality of data points representing the positions of one or more joints corresponding to objects);
cleaning, by the one or more processors, the motion capture data so as to ensure a consistency of the cleaned motion capture data with a physical constraint (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the received motion capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g. to avoid ground floor penetration), and collision detection (e.g. legs crossing), indicating the Console/PC/Device in FIG. 2 and/or the server can correspond to a first computing device having one or more processors, the pre-processing can correspond to cleaning the motion capture data to ensure the consistency of the cleaned motion capture data with a physical constraint), wherein cleaning the motion capture data comprises:
identifying, by the one or more processors, one or more objects represented by one or more data points of the motion capture data (Corazza, para. [0034], disclosing raw motion data characterized by joint center points specified in terms of x, y, z coordinates and/or joint rotation parameters, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating the joints can correspond to one or more objects represented by the data points of the raw motion capture data being identified to check if the anatomical and physical constraints are satisfied or not by the Console/PC/Device and/or the server having the one or more processors);
identifying, by the one or more processors, a physical constraint associated with the identified objects (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating the joint limits can correspond to a physical constraint associated with the corresponding joints as the identified objects);
determining, by the one or more processors, whether any of the data points representing the identified objects breach the identified physical constraint (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating the joint limits can correspond to a physical constraint associated with the corresponding joints as the identified objects, and checking if the anatomical and physical constraints are satisfied or not can correspond to determining whether the joints corresponding to any of the data points representing the joints as the identified objects breach the joint limits as the identified physical constraint); and
performing, by the one or more processors, one or more cleaning operations on any data points that are determined to breach the identified physical constraint (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating the joint limits can correspond to a physical constraint associated with the corresponding joints as the identified objects, and checking if the anatomical and physical constraints are satisfied or not can correspond to determining whether the joints corresponding to any of the data points representing the joints as the identified objects breach the joint limits as the identified physical constraint, and correcting the raw motion data can correspond to performing one or more cleaning operations on any data points that are determined to breach the identified physical constraint);
converting, by the one or more processors, the cleaned motion capture data into a relational format (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the motion data is then converted into a hierarchical motion of a 3D character model using a quaternion formulation, para. [0040], disclosing following the pre-processing, performing high level mapping of the received motion data to a high-level descriptor of the motion, para. [0041], disclosing generating a low level descriptor of the animation by mapping the input motion data structure to a 3D character model, the high level and low level interaction are combined to provide the final motion data that is used to animate the 3D character model, para. [0042], disclosing the finalized motion data in the form of a quaternion based representation of the motion, indicating final motion data can correspond to the converted motion capture data being converted into a relational format (in the form of a quaternion based representation of the motion, with a hierarchical motion of a 3D character model, high-level and low-level mapping), using the pre-processed motion capture data as the cleaned motion capture data); and
outputting, by the one or more processors, the converted motion capture data by transmitting the converted motion capture data to a second computing device (Corazza, para. [0042], disclosing the finalized motion data can be streamed to the data acquisition device and other data acquisition devices and/or to a dedicated display device so that its game engine client can render and display the animation).
However, Corazza does not expressly disclose determining, by the one or more processors, whether any of the data points representing the identified objects breach the identified physical constraint by comparing one or more data points representing the identified object at different points in time within the motion capture data.
On the other hand, Gordon discloses determining, by the one or more processors, whether any of the data points representing the identified objects breach the identified physical constraint by comparing one or more data points representing the identified object at different points in time within the motion capture data (Gordon, para. [0030], disclosing receiving motion capture volume data comprising a beat, which includes a sequence of data frames, each frame represents a 3-D volume with points representing markers, para. [0031], disclosing tagged frames as key frames and untagged frames between keyframes constitute gaps, para. [0032], disclosing analyzing the body data of the keyframes to verify that moving markers (i.e., points) are moving in a valid manner, de-labeling points that fail stretch analysis (i.e., that are moving invalidly), para. [0033], disclosing providing “near real-time” analysis and knowledge of how markers stretch over time, para. [0034], disclosing receiving frames comprising the beat including keyframes and gap frames, using various parameters including a modeled skeleton, velocity prediction, knowledge of valid joint angles, and constraint space in the actor’s body model to label body points of the beat frames and interpolating the motion of the skeleton between keyframes to aid in estimating its position and velocity in the intervening gap frames, para. [0043], disclosing body model template includes constraint spaces describing valid relationships between the markers that drive a bone and the offsets, distances, and stretches of the markers in relation to that bone when the body is in different poses (e.g., at different joint angles), and runs through each frame of the volume data and fits the body points of the actor to the templates, indicating verifying moving markers (points) are moving in a valid manner and de-labeling points that fail stretch analysis (i.e., that are moving invalidly) can correspond to determining whether any of the data points representing the identified objects breach the identified physical constraint by comparing one or more data points representing the identified object at different points in time within the motion capture data as the moving markers moving validly or not requires comparing the markers at different points of time to determine whether the movements are valid or not where moving invalidly can correspond to breaching the identified physical constraint).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza and Gordon. The suggestion/motivation would have been for labeling motion capture data points for improved identification, as suggested by Gordon (see Gordon, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more cleaning operations comprises, for each data point that breaches the identified physical constraint, deleting the data point, replacing the data point, or adjusting the data point such that the adjusted data point no longer breaches the identified physical constraint (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating correcting the raw motion data to enforce the anatomical and physical constraints can correspond to adjusting the data point such that the adjusted data point no longer breaches the identified physical constraint).
Regarding claim 4, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the identified physical constraint is one of: a length of an object; a size of an object; a shape of an object; a relative position or orientation of two or more objects; and a speed or acceleration of an object (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating the joint limits and/or legs crossing can correspond to a relative position or orientation of two or more objects (the relative positions and/or orientations of the joints and/or the legs will indicate whether the joint limits being satisfied or whether the legs are crossed).
Regarding claim 8, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 3, wherein either or both of: adjusting the data point such that the adjusted data point no longer breaches the identified physical constraints is performed by an artificial intelligence model (Corazza, para. [0035], disclosing the server system process the motion capture data from the data acquisition devices to generate motion data, para. [0036], disclosing the server system interprets the motion data in a manner similar to the interpretation of instructions from a game controller, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating correcting the raw motion data to enforce the anatomical and physical constraints can correspond to adjusting the data point such that the adjusted data point no longer breaches the identified physical constraint, and the server system can correspond to an artificial intelligence model because it is a system that can interpret the motion capture data and process it); and wherein identifying the one or more objects represented by the one or more data points of the motion capture data is performed by an artificial intelligence model (Corazza, para. [0034], disclosing raw motion data characterized by joint center points specified in terms of x, y, z coordinates and/or joint rotation parameters, para. [0035], disclosing the server system process the motion capture data from the data acquisition devices to generate motion data, para. [0036], disclosing the server system interprets the motion data in a manner similar to the interpretation of instructions from a game controller, para. [0039], disclosing the received capture data is pre-processed to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, if the anatomical and physical constraints are not satisfied, then the raw motion data can be corrected using techniques including but not limited to joint limits, automatic Inverse Kinematics editing (e.g., to avoid ground floor generation), and collision detection (e.g., legs crossing), indicating the joints can correspond to one or more objects represented by the data points of the raw motion capture data being identified to check if the anatomical and physical constraints are satisfied or not, and the server system performing such actions can correspond to an artificial intelligence model because it is a system that can interpret the motion capture data and process it).
Regarding claim 11, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the motion capture data comprises optical tracking data (Corazza, para. [0030], disclosing performing remote markerless motion capture using an optical device, which is a sensor or sensors using to capture motion of the performer, the optical device can be a single 3D camera such as a time of flight camera, indicating then motion capture data can be captured by the optical device of time of flight camera as optical tracking data).
Regarding claim 12, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the motion capture data comprises a point cloud (Corazza, para. [0034], disclosing raw motion data characterized by joint center points specified in terms of x, y, z coordinates and/or joint rotation parameters, indicating the joint centers points can correspond to a point cloud).
Regarding claim 13, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the converted motion capture data is output in a database (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing the motion data is then converted into a hierarchical motion of a 3D character model using a quaternion formulation, para. [0040], disclosing following the pre-processing, performing high level mapping of the received motion data to a high-level descriptor of the motion, para. [0041], disclosing generating a low level descriptor of the animation by mapping the input motion data structure to a 3D character model, the high level and low level interaction are combined to provide the final motion data that is used to animate the 3D character model, para. [0042], disclosing the finalized motion data in the form of a quaternion based representation of the motion, Gordon, para. [0025], disclosing outputting files, saving those filed, and updating a motion capture database, indicating final motion data can correspond to the converted motion capture data being converted into a relational format (in the form of a quaternion based representation of the motion, with a hierarchical motion of a 3D character model, high-level and low-level mapping), using the pre-processed motion capture data as the cleaned motion capture data, and the final motion data can be output in a motion capture database). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza and Gordon. The suggestion/motivation would have been for labeling motion capture data points for improved identification, as suggested by Gordon (see Gordon, para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the steps of receiving motion capture data, cleaning the motion capture, converting the cleaned motion capture data into a relational format, and outputting the converted motion capture data are performed at by a first computer system (Corazza, para. [0039], disclosing receiving motion capture data from a data acquisition device and pre-processing the data to enforce anatomical and physical constraints, and converted the data into hierarchical motion, para. [0040], disclosing mapping the motion data to a high-level descriptor, para. [0041], disclosing mapping then motion data to low level descriptor, para. [0042], disclosing generating finalized motion data, then streaming to the data acquisition device, indicating the receiving, cleaning, converting and streaming as outputting are performed by the system performing these processes as the first computer system), the method further comprising, at a second computer system: receiving the output converted motion capture data (Corazza, para. [0042], disclosing generating finalized motion data, then streaming to the data acquisition device, indicating the finalized motion data as the output converted motion data is received at the data acquisition device as the second computer); and generating a visual representation of the event from the received converted motion capture data (Corazza, para. [0042], disclosing generating finalized motion data, then streaming to the data acquisition device, so that its game engine client can render and display the animation, indicating the rendering the animation can correspond to generating a visual representation of the event from the finalized motion data as the received converted motion capture data).
Regarding claim 16, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the output converted motion capture data is received over a network, wherein the network is the internet (Corazza, para. [0042], disclosing generating finalized motion data, then streaming to the data acquisition device, FIG. 2, showing motion capture device connected to back-end server through Internet).
Regarding claim 18, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the motion capture data comprises 3D positional data (Corazza, para. [0034], disclosing raw motion data characterized by joint center points specified in terms of x, y, z coordinates and/or joint rotation parameters); and wherein generating a visual representation of the event comprises generating a 3D visual representation of the event (Corazza, para. [0042], disclosing generating finalized motion data, then streaming to the data acquisition device, so that its game engine client can render and display the animation, para. [0043], disclosing the rendered 3D character animations are displayed to the performer, para. [0045], disclosing a data acquisition device receiving motion data for rendering of 3D character animation).
Regarding claim 19, it recites similar limitations of claim 1 but in a non-transitory computer-readable medium form. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 19. In addition, Corazza discloses a computer and a remote server, which include one or more processors and memory (see Corazza, para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, it recites similar limitations of claim 1 but in a computer system form. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 19. In addition, Corazza discloses a computer and a remote server, which include one or more processors and memory (see Corazza, para. [0032]).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corazza in view of Gordon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 115937255 A to Li et al.
Regarding claim 5, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1. However, Corazza or Gordon does not expressly disclose wherein determining whether any of the data points representing the identified object breach the identified physical constraint comprises: determining a threshold value associated with the identified physical constraints; and determining whether any of the data points representing the identified object exceed the threshold value.
On the other hand, Li discloses wherein determining whether any of the data points representing the identified object breach the identified physical constraint comprises: determining a threshold value associated with the identified physical constraints (Li, Translation, para. [n0114], disclosing different joints having different degrees of rotational freedom, different rotational angle ranges, so there are joint rotational degree of freedom constraints and rotation angle range constraints, joint constraints can be used to determine whether inertial motion capture data exceeds the normal range of motion of human joints, thereby elimination abnormal data, indicating the normal range of motion of human joints can correspond to a threshold value associated with the joint constraints as the identified physical constraints, and can be determined so that whether the joints corresponding to any of the data points representing the human joints as the identified object breach the joint constraints as the identified physical constraint); and determining whether any of the data points representing the identified object exceed the threshold value (Li, Translation, para. [n0114], disclosing different joints having different degrees of rotational freedom, different rotational angle ranges, so there are joint rotational degree of freedom constraints and rotation angle range constraints, joint constraints can be used to determine whether inertial motion capture data exceeds the normal range of motion of human joints, thereby elimination abnormal data, indicating determining whether inertial motion capture data exceeds the normal range of motion of human joints can correspond to determining whether the human joints corresponding to any of the data points representing the human joint as the identified object exceed the normal range as the threshold value).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza in view of Gordon and Li. The suggestion/motivation would have been for constructing a human kinematic model that conforms to the basic movement characteristics of the human body, as suggested by Li (see Li, Translation, para. [n0112]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Corazza, Gordon, and Li discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the motion capture data comprises a number of frames (Corazza, para. [0007], disclosing the motion capture data has frame rate, indicating the motion capture data comprises a number of frames. Also, Li, Translation, para. [n0114], disclosing different joints having different degrees of rotational freedom, different rotational angle ranges, so there are joint rotational degree of freedom constraints and rotation angle range constraints, joint constraints can be used to determine whether inertial motion capture data exceeds the normal range of motion of human joints, thereby elimination abnormal data, indicating the motional capture data comprises a number of frames so that the joints have a rotational angle between two frames), and wherein the threshold value is one of: a distance between two data points or an angle formed between three data points within a single frame; and a distance moved by at least one data point equivalent to a threshold translation distance of the identified objects or a threshold rotation of the identified objects between two frames (Li, Translation, para. [n0114], disclosing different joints having different degrees of rotational freedom, different rotational angle ranges, so there are joint rotational degree of freedom constraints and rotation angle range constraints, joint constraints can be used to determine whether inertial motion capture data exceeds the normal range of motion of human joints, thereby elimination abnormal data, indicating the normal rotational angle ranges can correspond to the threshold rotation of the joints as the identified objects between two frames). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza in view of Gordon and Li. The suggestion/motivation would have been for constructing a human kinematic model that conforms to the basic movement characteristics of the human body, as suggested by Li (see Li, Translation, para. [n0112]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Corazza, Gordon, and Li discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the threshold value is based on at least one of the identified object and the identified physical constraint associated with that object (Li, Translation, para. [n0114], disclosing different joints having different degrees of rotational freedom, different rotational angle ranges, so there are joint rotational degree of freedom constraints and rotation angle range constraints, joint constraints can be used to determine whether inertial motion capture data exceeds the normal range of motion of human joints, thereby elimination abnormal data, indicating the normal rotational angle ranges can correspond to the threshold value based on the joints as the at least one of the identified object and the rotational angle range constraint corresponding to the identified physical constraint associated with the joint as that object). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza in view of Gordon and Li. The suggestion/motivation would have been for constructing a human kinematic model that conforms to the basic movement characteristics of the human body, as suggested by Li (see Li, Translation, para. [n0112]).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corazza in view of Gordon as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US Patent Publication No. 20150099252 A1 to Anderson et al.
Regarding claim 9, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1, wherein converting the cleaned motion capture data into a relational format comprises extracting metadata (Corazza, para. [0040], disclosing following the pre-processing, a high level mapping of the received motion data to a high-level descriptor of the motion is performed, meta-data information is extracted from the motion, the meta-data can include the results of a classifier that identifies similar motion in a pre-existing library of animations).
However, Corazza or Gordon does not expressly disclose extracting metadata into a metadata file, and wherein the method further comprises outputting the metadata file with the converted motion capture data.
On the other hand, Anderson discloses extracting metadata into a metadata file, and wherein the method further comprises outputting the metadata file with the converted motion capture data (Anderson, FIG. 4A, showing recording and editing movement interface, para. [0058], disclosing the author can create and modify the movement, create key frames, identify parameters for the movement, para. [0059], disclosing the author can save the current movement as one or more media files and plain-text files containing time-stamped motion capture and keyframe metadata, indicating the time-stamped motion capture and keyframe metadata can be extracted into plain-text files, and the edited movement can correspond to converted motion capture data, the metadata file is output with the saved movement data as the converted motion capture data).
Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza in view of Gordon with Anderson. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow a user to create and share training content, as suggested by Anderson (see Anderson, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Corazza, Gordon, and Anderson discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the motion capture data is divided into a plurality of frames (Corazza, para. [0007], disclosing the motion capture data has frame rate, indicating the motion capture data is divided into a plurality of frames. Also, Gordon, para. [0030], disclosing motion capture data includes a sequence data frames, Anderson, para. [0056], disclosing the keyframe marker illustrate one or more keyframes for the recorded movement, para. [0058], disclosing the author can create and modify the movement, create key frames, identify parameters for the movement), and wherein extracting metadata into a metadata file comprises extracting metadata consistent across at least some of the plurality of frames into the metadate file (Anderson, para. [0059], disclosing the author can save the current movement as one or more media files and plain-text files containing time-stamped motion capture and keyframe metadata, indicating the keyframe metadata is consistent across the keyframes corresponding to at least sone of the plurality of frames into metadata file); and wherein extracting metadata into a metadata file comprises extracting metadata consistent across each of the plurality of frames into the metadata file (Gordon, para. [0035], disclosing resulting frames including keyframes and gap frames having verified labeled body points, indicating the body points across each of the plurality of frames are consistent, Anderson, para. [0059], disclosing the author can save the current movement as one or more media files and plain-text files containing time-stamped motion capture and keyframe metadata, indicating the metadata is consistent across each of the plurality of frames into metadata file). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza and Gordon. The suggestion/motivation would have been for labeling motion capture data points for improved identification, as suggested by Gordon (see Gordon, para. [0005]). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza in view of Gordon with Anderson. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow a user to create and share training content, as suggested by Anderson (see Anderson, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1. However, Corazza or Gordon does not expressly disclose wherein converting the motion capture data into a relational format includes inserting a file handle at predetermined intervals throughout the motion capture data.
On the other hand, Anderson discloses inserting a file handle at predetermined intervals throughout the motion capture data (Anderson, para. [0056], disclosing specifying keyframes and corresponding important joints within the movement, indicating specifying the keyframes and important joints can correspond to inserting file handles indicating the keyframes and/or important joints at user determined timeline corresponding to predetermined intervals (predetermined by the user/author) throughout the recorded movement data as the motion capture data). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza in view of Gordon with Anderson. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow a user to create and share training content, as suggested by Anderson (see Anderson, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Corazza in view of Gordon discloses the method of claim 1. However, Corazza or Gordon does not expressly disclose wherein the output converted motion capture data is received over a cellular connection.
On the other hand, Anderson discloses the output converted motion capture data is received over a cellular connection (Anderson, para. [0025], disclosing a computer system 100 may be a mobile phone, para. [0030], disclosing system 100 can communicate with other systems via an electronic communication network and may include wired or wireless communication, para. [0033], disclosing scene rendering maybe provided from a server computer similar to system 100, para. [0037], disclosing movement training system 200 may implement computer system 100, para. [0039]-[0040], disclosing capturing video of movement information, indicating the movement data corresponding to the output converted motion capture data can be sent from/to other system 100, and it can be received over a cellular connection when the systems are implemented by mobile phones). Before the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine Corazza in view of Gordon with Anderson. The suggestion/motivation would have been to allow a user to create and share training content, as suggested by Anderson (see Anderson, para. [0024]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIXIA DU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611