DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on -04/26/2024- is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Choe et al KR 20100125144 A et al herein after “Choe”
Regarding claim 1, Choe teaches A processor-implemented method (page 1, Abstract: A device for measuring a magnetic anisotropy constant is provided to stably measure the magnetic anisotropy constant of a magnetic element by measuring an electric signal like the electric resistance or hall voltage of the magnetic element.), comprising:
applying a uniform magnetic field to generate a magnetic space (Page 1, Abstract: A magnetic field generator (100) applies a uniform magnetic field and forms a magnetic space.);
rotating a magnetic body in the magnetic space about a predetermined axis (Page 1, Abstract: A rotating unit (200) rotates a magnetic element around a fixed axis.);
measuring a first resistance value Page 1, Abstract: A data measuring unit (300) measures the resistance of a magnetic element.
Page 7 line 1. At this time, since the current value supplied to the sample 500 can be known, the data converter can convert the measured voltage value into a resistance value using the principle of Ohm's law (V = IR). Therefore, the angle of the external magnetic field through the date measuring unit 300, The resistance value R of the sample 500 can be measured.; Examiner views the resistance measured due to applied electrical current or voltage as a first resistance.
measuring a second resistance value (page 16 line 28, The angle of the external magnetic field, which is an angle formed between the easy axis of magnetization of the magnetic body and the direction of the magnetic field applied to the magnetic body (A data measuring unit measuring a resistance value(R)of the magnetic material according to);
Examiner views the resistance measured due to an angle formed between easy axis of magnetization and direction of external magnetic field applied on the magnetic element or sample as the second resistance.
and
calculating a magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic body, based on the first and second resistance values (page 1 abstract: An operator (400) operates the magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic element.),
Examiner views a magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic body is calculated using the measured resistances as discussed above.
wherein the first resistance value is a measured resistance value of the magnetic body according to a magnetic field sweep in a direction of a magnetization hard axis of the magnetic body (In the first embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2B, anisotropic magnetoresistance was used to measure the magnetic anisotropy constant when the magnetization state of the sample structure 500 was changed from the longitudinal direction to the width direction. Anisotropic magnetoresistance is known as anisotropy magnetoresistance (AMR). The AMR phenomenon refers to a phenomenon in which the electric resistance value changes depending on the direction of the current and the magnetization direction inside the magnetic material. More specifically, when the direction of the current flowing through the magnetic material and the magnetization direction are parallel or anti-parallel, the electrical resistance of the material becomes maximum, and when it becomes vertical, the phenomenon becomes minimum.),
Examiner views the resistance change is measured during the magnetization state of the body is changed (i.e., magnetic field is swept) in a direction where the resistance is changed or maximum (i.e., in unfavorable direction of magnetization or hard axis of the magnetic body)
and
wherein the second resistance value is another measured resistance value of the magnetic body according to an angle of an external magnetic field, the angle of the external magnetic field being an angle formed by a magnetization easy axis of the magnetic body and a direction of the uniform magnetic field applied to the magnetic body (page 2, line 25 Magnetic anisotropy constant measuring device according to the present invention, a magnetic field generating unit for forming a magnetic space by applying a uniform magnetic field.
page 16 line 28, The angle of the external magnetic field, which is an angle formed between the easy axis of magnetization of the magnetic body and the direction of the magnetic field applied to the magnetic body (A data measuring unit measuring a resistance value(R)of the magnetic material according to);
Examiner views the resistance measured due to an angle formed between easy axis of magnetization and direction of uniform external magnetic field applied on the magnetic element or sample.
Claim 11 and 20 are rejected as claim 1 having same claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7-8, 10, 12-15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choe in view of Moon et al KR 20100048803 A herein after “Moon”.
Regarding claim 2, Choe teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the calculating of the magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic body comprises (page 3 line 15, Calculate the magnetic anisotropy (K) of the magnetic material by applying to):
determining a magnetism-based parameter based on the second resistance value (page 9, line 12, The magnetic anisotropy constant calculating unit 400 first measures the measured data. Can be standardized. That is, the measured result is the resistance value (R)and the external magnetic field angle (Since the data can be expressed as a function of), in order to apply to the equation of Equation 3, the measured data is converted to the magnetization angle R and the angle of the external magnetic field ( You need to replace it with data that has a corresponding relationship with).
page 16 line 28, The angle of the external magnetic field, which is an angle formed between the easy axis of magnetization of the magnetic body and the direction of the magnetic field applied to the magnetic body (A data measuring unit measuring a resistance value(R)of the magnetic material according to);
Examiner views the magnetism-based parameter is based on the angle or gradient (which helps in determining the resistance value) determined based on the magnetization easy axis of the magnetic body; and
Choe does not teach determining a saturation parameter based on the first resistance value ;
determining the magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic body based on the saturation parameter and the magnetism-based parameter
Moon teaches determining a saturation parameter based on the first resistance value (page 6, line 18 Reading the magnetization direction of the sample according to the strength of an external magnetic field through the normalized magnetoresistance curve; And calculating the saturation magnetic value Ms and the magnetic anisotropy constant K.2).
Examiner views the magnetic saturation value is calculated based on the magnetoresistance curve (that include first resistance).
determining the magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic body based on the saturation parameter and the magnetism-based parameter (page 6, line 29 In addition, the step of calculating the saturation magnetic value Ms and the magnetic anisotropy constant K is described above in Equation 2 The magnetization direction of the material is considered to be uniform, and the saturation magnetization value of the material and the angle between the magnetization direction and the easy axis of magnetization of the sample are determined by M .sub.s θ and the strength and length of the magnetic field applied from the outside, respectively.).
Examiner views the magnetic anisotropy constant value is determined using saturation value is calculated based on the magnetoresistance curve (that include first resistance) and the magnetism-based parameter that include the direction or angle of magnetization.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Moon in Choe for the purpose of determining a magnetic saturation value based on the resistance so that the magnetic anisotropy constant value is accurately determined using saturation value and magnetism direction and angle.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches the method of claim 2, Moon teaches wherein the determining of the saturation parameter comprises determining the saturation parameter based on a gradient in a section where the first resistance value is unsaturated (page 2 line 2, The present invention relates to a method of measuring the saturation magnetic value and magnetic anisotropy constant of a torque magnetometer by measuring themagneto resistance in measuring the saturation magnetization value and the perpendicular magnetic anisotropy of the fine sample among the magnetic properties of the material.
page 4, line 32 In short, anisotropic magnetoresistance is the magnitude of the electrical resistance depending on the magnetization direction of the material and the direction of the current flowing through the material. Specifically, the resistance value is minimum when the direction of the current and the magnetization direction are perpendicular to each other, and the resistance value is maximum when the direction of the current and the direction of the magnetic field are parallel to each other. The change in the maximum and minimum values of the resistance shows the dependence of cos.sup.2θ shape when the current and magnetization angles are θ .
Examiner views the saturation value of the magnetic body is determined using an angle (i.e., slope or gradient) in an area or section of curve where the resistance value is minimum (i.e., unsaturated)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Moon in Choe for the purpose of determining a magnetic saturation value based on the resistance so that the magnetic anisotropy constant value is accurately determined using unsaturated value of a resistance using magnetism direction and angle of the magnetic material.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches the method of claim 2, Choe teaches wherein the determining of the magnetism-based parameter comprises determining the magnetism-based parameter based on a gradient in a section determined based on the magnetization easy axis of the magnetic body (page 14, line 18, Rotation step (S2) for rotating around a certain axis, a data measuring step (S3) for measuring the resistance value of the magnetic body according to the angle of the external magnetic field, which is the angle between the easy axis of magnetization of the magnetic body and the direction of the magnetic field applied to the magnetic body,)
Examiner views the magnetism base parameter of the magnetic body is determined using an angle (i.e., slope or gradient) in an area or section of curve based on the easy axis of magnetization and the direction of the magnetic field applied to the magnetic body.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches the method of claim 2, Choe teaches further comprising performing the measuring of the second resistance value according to the angle of the external magnetic field in a state in which a magnitude of the external magnetic field is fixed (page 8, line 6, In the actual measurement, as shown in Fig. 4a, the external magnetic field angle(with the intensity H of the external magnetic field fixed at 2780 Oe) ), The resistance value R of the sample 500 was measured.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches the method of claim 1, Choe teaches further comprising performing the measuring of the first resistance value by:
supplying a predetermined current to the magnetic body through electrodes of first both ends of the magnetic body in a direction of the predetermined axis (page 6, line 30 The data measuring unit 300 may include a current supplying unit, a voltage measuring unit, and a data converting unit. As shown in FIG. 2, the current supply unit may be connected to electrodes at both ends of the sample 500, and supply a constant current to the sample 500 through the electrodes at both ends);
Examiner views the current is supplied to the sample or magnetic body at both first points or ends in a direction at a predetermined current flow axis.
measuring, according to the magnetic field sweep, a first voltage value of the magnetic body through electrodes of second both ends of the magnetic body in a direction perpendicular to the predetermined axis (page 6, line 22, For example, the sample 500 may be fixed to be perpendicular to the rotation axis of the rotation part 200, and then rotated 360 degrees about the rotation axis in the anti-parallel direction from a direction parallel to the direction of the external magnetic field.
page 6, line 33 The voltage measuring unit is also connected to the electrodes at both ends of the sample 500, and can measure the voltage of the sample 500 through the electrodes at both ends).
Examiner views the voltage is measured through electrodes of at both ends of samples in a direction perpendicular to the predetermined current flow axis.
and
determining the first resistance value based on a current value supplied to the magnetic body and the measured first voltage value of the magnetic body (page 7, line 1, At this time, since the current value supplied to the sample 500 can be known, the data converter can convert the measured voltage value into a resistance value using the principle of Ohm's law (V =IR).).
Examiner views the resistance of the sample is calculated using the measured voltage according to the supplied current.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches the method of claim 1, Choe teaches further comprising performing the measuring of the second resistance value by: supplying a predetermined current to the magnetic body through electrodes of first both ends of the magnetic body in a direction of the predetermined axis (page 6, line 30 The data measuring unit 300 may include a current supplying unit, a voltage measuring unit, and a data converting unit. As shown in FIG. 2, the current supply unit may be connected to electrodes at both ends of the sample 500, and supply a constant current to the sample 500 through the electrodes at both ends);
Examiner views the current is supplied to the sample or magnetic body at both first points or ends in a direction at a predetermined current flow axis.;
measuring, according to the angle of the external magnetic field, a second voltage value of the magnetic body through electrodes of second both ends of the magnetic body in a direction perpendicular to the predetermined axis (page 3, line 1 measure the voltage value of the magnetic material through the electrodes of both ends of the magnetic material, Angle of external magnetic field ( The voltage measuring unit for measuring the voltage value of the magnetic body according to, and the measured angle of the external magnetic field (
page 11, line 4, The voltage measuring unit is connected to the electrodes 520 of the second both ends that are perpendicular to the electrode 510 of the first both ends, and the angle of the external magnetic field through the electrodes520 of the second both ends.), The Hall voltage (V .sub.H ) can be measured.
Examiner views the voltage is measured through electrodes of at both ends of samples due to angle of the external magnetic field, in a direction perpendicular to the predetermined current flow axis.
determining the second resistance value based on a current value supplied to the magnetic body and the measured second voltage value of the magnetic body (page 3 line 5 The voltage value according to) is the angle of the external magnetic field ( It is preferable to include a data conversion unit for converting into a resistance value (R)according to.).
Examiner views the resistance of the sample is calculated using the measured voltage due to an angle of the external magnetic field and the supplied current.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (page 17, line 16, The magnetic anisotropy constant calculating unit).
The calculating unit is viewed to have a stored instruction to perform calculation for magnetic anisotropy.
Claims 12-15, 17, 18 are rejected as 2-5, 7, 8 respectively having same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Choe and Moon in view of Okamura et al JP 2010140586 A herein after “Okamura”.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches the method of claim 1, the combination does not teach wherein the magnetic body, with an in-plane magnetic anisotropy (IMA), comprises an ultra-thin film having a thickness of 1 nanometer (nm) or less.
Okamura teaches wherein the magnetic body, with an in-plane magnetic anisotropy (IMA), comprises an ultra-thin film having a thickness of 1 nanometer (nm) or less (Page 17, line 24. FIG. 8 shows the output voltage of the magnetoresistive effect element with each laminated CoFe film thickness changed. Here, the CoFe film thickness other than the parameter to be changed was set to 0.5 nm…At this time, the film thickness (t) of the laminated CoFe in which an increase in output was observed was in the range of 0.5 <t ≦ 2.0 nm. Further, the increase in output was particularly remarkable when t2 and t3 were increased.
page 18, line 27, FIG. 10 is a conceptual diagram of a recording / reproducing separated type magnetic head for perpendicular recording equipped with a magnetoresistive effect type magnetic head equipped with the magnetoresistive effect element of the present invention… it is a technology that can handle both perpendicular recording and conventional in-plane recording, but it achieves higher recording density especially in combination with the perpendicular magnetic recording head can do.).
Examiner views Magneto resistive effect by in-plane ultra thin magnetic film in a recording device induce a magnetic anisotropy, the thickness of the film can be 0.5 nm (i.e., less than 1 nm).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Okamura into Choe for the purpose of using a magnetic film of thickness less than 1 nm so that a storage capacity of a storage device can be increased and the efficiency of the device can be increased.
Claim 19 is rejected as claim 9 having same claim limitation.
Claim(s) 6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Choe and Moon in view of Jaesung et al “measurement technique of magnetic anisotropy field on patterned magnetic structures” Applied physics 132, 223903 (2022), 08 December 2022, herein after Jaesung.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Choe and Moon teaches the method of claim 5, the combination does not teach wherein the magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic body is obtained by: multiplying the fixed magnitude of the external magnetic field and the second parameter to generate a first value; multiplying the fixed magnitude of the external magnetic field and the first parameter to generate a second value; subtracting the second parameter from the second value to generate a third value; and dividing the first value by the third value.
Jaesung teaches wherein the magnetic anisotropy constant of the magnetic body is obtained by
multiplying the fixed magnitude of the external magnetic field and the second parameter to generate a first value (page 1 in equation 6, βHo is viewed as multiplying the fixed external magnetic field magnitude with second parameter beta. βHo generate first value)
multiplying the fixed magnitude of the external magnetic field and the first parameter to generate a second value ((page 1 in equation 6, αHo is viewed as multiplying the fixed external magnetic field magnitude with first parameter alpha. αHo Generate second value)
subtracting the second parameter from the second value to generate a third value ((page 1 in equation 6, αHo - β is viewed as subtracting the second parameter beta is subtracted from the second value, the result is viewed as third value) ; and dividing the first value by the third value ((page 1 in equation 6, (βHo /(αHo - β)) is viewed as diving the first value by third value.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Jaesung into Choe for the purpose of using mathematical calculation in determining the magnetic anisotropy constant so that the intended device output can be accurately measured.
Claim 16 is rejected as claim 6 having same claim limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iwasaki et al US 5780176 A discusses magnetic anisotropy used in magnetic recording medium.
Taguchi et al US 5361226 A discusses about magnetic thin film memory device that uses magnetic anisotropy.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857