DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “real of fake” appears to contain a clerical error. For the purpose of further examination, the limitation has been interpreted as “real [[of]] or fake.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. 101 requires that a claimed invention must fall within one of the four eligible categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and must not be directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception as interpreted by the courts. MPEP 2106. The four eligible categories of invention include: (1) process which is an act, or a series of acts or steps, (2) machine which is an concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices, (3) manufacture which is an article produced from raw or prepared materials by giving to these materials new forms, qualities, properties, or combinations, whether by hand labor or by machinery, and (4) composition of matter which is all compositions of two or more substances and all composite articles, whether they be the results of chemical union, or of mechanical mixture, or whether they be gases, fluids, powders or solids. MPEP 2106(I).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as not falling within one of the four statutory categories of invention because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claims in light of the specification encompasses transitory signals ([0041] of the specification recites that “[t]he computer-readable recording medium may include all types of recording devices in which data that is readable by a computer system is stored. Examples of the computer-readable recording medium may include read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), compact-disc ROM (CD-ROM), a magnetic tape, a floppy disk, an optical data storage device, etc.,” indicating that the transitory media are not excluded). Transitory signals are not within one of the four statutory categories (i.e. non-statutory subject matter). See MPEP 2106(I). Claims directed toward a non-transitory computer readable medium may qualify as a manufacture and make the claim patent-eligible subject matter. MPEP 2106(I). Therefore, amending the claims to recite a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” would resolve this issue.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a feature extraction unit configured to extract,” “a reconstruction unit configured to generate,” “a first training unit configured to train,” “a second training unit configured to train,” and “a discriminator configured to discriminate” in claims 8-10.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the said units have sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the function because they belong to a machine learning system using at least a CPU, GPU, memory, etc.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (“Mixing-AdaSIN: Constructing a De-biased Dataset using Adaptive Structural Instance Normalization and Texture Mixing,” arXiv:2103.14255v2 [eess.IV] 31 Jul 2021), hereinafter referred to as Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a method, performed by an image reconstruction apparatus, of reconstructing an image, the method comprising:
a. extracting, through an encoder configured to extract a structure and a texture form an image, a first structure and a first texture form a first medical image (Kang Abstract: “in medical images”; Kang Fig. 1; pg. 4: “Given a chest CT dataset … feed searched pairs x1i, x2j to an encoder network E that outputs structure and texture features used as input for a generator network G; pg. 5: “To generate a de-biased and texture mixed image, an encoder network E takes as input the sampled image pairs to produce texture and structure features … G takes both features for an image generation and texture transfer”);
b. extracting, through the encoder, a second structure and a second texture of a second medical image (Kang Fig. 1 & pg. 4-5 discussed above); and
c. inputting the first structure of the first medical image and the second texture of the second medical image to a decoder configured to reconstruct an image based on a structure and a texture and generate a third medical image (Kang Fig. 1 & pg. 4-5 discussed above).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the encoder comprises an artificial neural network configured to output a structure comprising a two-dimensional (2D) vector of N channels and a texture comprising one-dimensional (1D) vector of 1 channel, wherein N is a natural number of at least 2, and the decoder comprises an artificial neural network configured to generate an image based on the structure of the 2D vector of the N channels and the texture of the 1D vector of the 1 channel (Kang pg. 5: “the structure feature is a feature with spatial dimensions pooled at an earlier stage of E, whereas the texture feature is an embedding vector obtained following 1 x 1 convolution in the later stages of E … G takes both features for an image generation and texture transfer”).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first medical image and the second medical image are X-ray images (Kang pg. 4: “Given a chest CT dataset” – CT images are computed x-ray images).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches a method of generating an image reconstruction model, the method comprising:
inputting a first medical image to an image reconstruction model comprising an encoder configured to extract a structure and a texture from an image and a decoder configured to reconstruct the image based on the structure and the texture and generate a second medical image (Kang Fig. 1 & pg. 4-5 discussed above);
primarily training the image reconstruction model based on a first loss function indicating an error between the first medical image and the second medical image (Note that the term “primarily” has been interpreted as “firstly” to be consistent with claim 6. Kang pg. 5: “To train the entire framework, we follow the arbitrary style transfer training procedure described in [10]. A VGG19 pre-trained model is used to extract features from the input pairs which is then used in the style Lstyle and content Lcontent losses, respectively”).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the primarily training comprises:
discriminating, through a discriminator configured to distinguish between real or fake, whether the second medical image is real or fake; and training the image reconstruction model by using a discrimination result output by the discriminator and the first loss function (Kang pg. 4: “following standard practice for adversarial-based methods, we also employ a discriminator network D to improve the quality of generation”; Kang pg. 5: “we use an adversarial loss to improve the image generation quality via LGAN(G,D) …The final loss function is defined”; Kang pg. 6: “COVID-19 classification”; Kang pg. 8: “To verify … 1110 CT scans from COVID-10 positive patients”).
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches an image reconstruction apparatus comprising the units configured to perform the method described in claim 1 (Kang pg. 6 & refer to the rejection of claim 1 above). Therefore, claim 8 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 1 discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (“Mixing-AdaSIN: Constructing a De-biased Dataset using Adaptive Structural Instance Normalization and Texture Mixing,” arXiv:2103.14255v2 [eess.IV] 31 Jul 2021), in view of Munawar et al. (“Segmentation of Lungs in Chest X-Ray Image Using Generative Adversarial Networks,” IEEE Access Vol. 8, 19 August 2020), hereinafter referred to as Kang and Munawar, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches the method as claimed in claim 4, further comprising:
extracting, through the encoder, a first structure and a first texture of the first medical image; extracting, through the encoder, a second structure and a second texture of a third medical image; inputting the first structure of the first medical image and the second texture of the third medical image to the decoder to generate a fourth medical image (Kang Fig. 1 & pg. 4-5 discussed above); and
secondarily training the image reconstruction model by using a second loss function indicating an error between the third medical image and the fourth medical image (Kang pg. 5 discussed above).
However, Kang does not appear to explicitly each using a patch-based error.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Munawar teaches using a patch-based error (Munawar pg. 153538 right column: “The optimization problem then relies on reducing the L1 loss”; Munawar pg. 153539 right column: “Discriminator’s configurations as either image discriminator or patch discriminator are utilized … the patch discriminator divides the input image to a set of patches and maps each patch to a single scalar output”).
Kang and Munawar are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to medical image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for constructing a de-biased dataset using adaptive structural instance normalization and texture mixing (as taught by Kang) to use a patch-based method (as taught by Munawar) because the combination can discriminate different regions of an image (Munawar pg. 153539 right column).
Regarding claim 7, Kang, in view of Munawar, teaches the method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the secondarily training comprises:
discriminating whether the fourth medical image is real of fake through a discriminator configured to distinguish between real or fake; and training the image reconstruction model by using a discrimination result output by the discriminator and the second loss function (Kang pg. 4-6, & 8 discussed above).
Claim 9 recites the same subject matter as claims 4 and 6, and therefore is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 4 and 6 discussed above.
Claim 10 recites the same subject matter as claims 5 and 7, and therefore is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 5 and 7 discussed above.
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches all corresponding limitations of claim 1 (refer to the rejection of claim 1 discussed above), but does not appear to explicitly teach a computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program for executing the method.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Munawar teaches a computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program for executing the method (Munawar pg. 153540 right column: “All the experiments were performed using a standard PC with Intel core i7 CPU and GeForce GTX 1080 GPU with 8 GB memory”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for constructing a de-biased dataset using adaptive structural instance normalization and texture mixing (as taught by Kang) to use a computer-readable medium (as taught by Munawar) because the combination is more convenient and allows the algorithm to be stored on a memory and automatically executed by a processor of the computer rather than being manually written each time.
Claim 12 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 4 and 11 discussed above.
Conclusion
/Soo Shin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667 571-272-9753
soo.shin@uspto.gov