DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/26/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
4. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,064. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations are transparently found in the U.S. Patent No. 12,004,064 with obvious wording variations as shown in the following table.
U.S. Patent No. 12,004,064
Application No. 18/647,799
1. A method for receiving Bluetooth packets and correcting error bits therein, performed by a processing unit, comprising: receiving a plurality of Bluetooth packets from radio frequency (RF) signal;
1. A method for receiving Bluetooth packets and correcting error bits therein, performed by a processing unit, comprising: receiving a plurality of Bluetooth packets from radio frequency (RF) signal;
verifying a unique synthesized packet with a first checksum thereof when the unique synthesized packet can be generated from the Bluetooth packets;
verifying a unique synthesized packet with a first checksum thereof when the unique synthesized packet can be generated from the Bluetooth packets;
generating a plurality of synthesized packet candidates according to at least one inconsistent bit between the Bluetooth packets and verifying each synthesized packet candidate with a second checksum thereof when the unique synthesized packet cannot be generated from the Bluetooth packets;
and transmitting a synthesized packet to a program module for an application when the unique synthesized packet or any of the synthesized packet candidates passes the verification as the synthesized packet.
and transmitting a synthesized packet to a program module for an application when the unique synthesized packet passes the verification as the synthesized packet.
U.S. Patent No. 12,004,064 Application No. 18/647,799
2-3, 5-10, 12-16 and 18-20. 2-3, 5-10, 12-16 and 18-20.
Consider claims 4, 11 and 17, U.S. Patent No. 12,004,064 teaches all limitations of claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16 and 18-20 except does not explicitly teaches wherein a total number of the Bluetooth packets is greater than 2.
However, Zopf (U.S. PUB. 2021/0058190) teaches wherein a total number of the Bluetooth packets is greater than 2 (page 1 [0015] i.e., The data packets transmitted from the transmitter 101 to the receiver 102 can be Bluetooth® packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention was made to use, wherein a total number of the Bluetooth packets is greater than 2, in order to use retransmissions to achieve a reliable communication link between a transmitter and a receiver of the wireless communications systems.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zopf (U.S. PUB. 2021/0058190) and further in view of Jamieson et al. (U.S. PAT. 8,386,892, hereinafter, “Jamieson”).
Consider claim 1, Zopf teaches a method for receiving Bluetooth packets (page 1 [0014]) and correcting error bits (page 1 [0017]) therein, performed by a processing unit, comprising: receiving a plurality of Bluetooth packets from radio frequency (RF) signal (page 1 [0014]); verifying a unique synthesized packet with a first checksum thereof when the unique synthesized packet can be generated from the Bluetooth packets (fig. 1, page 3 [0046]).
Zopf does not explicitly show that transmitting a synthesized packet to a program module for an application when the unique synthesized packet passes the verification as the synthesized packet.
In the same field of endeavor, Jamieson teaches transmitting a synthesized packet to a program module for an application when the unique synthesized packet passes the verification as the synthesized packet (col. 10, lines 3-16)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention was made to use, transmitting a synthesized packet to a program module for an application when the unique synthesized packet passes the verification as the synthesized packet, as taught by Jamieson, in order for providing partial packet recovery for wireless networks.
Consider claim 2, Zopf further teaches activating a retransmission operation when the verification of the unique synthesized packet fails (page 1 [0012]).
Consider claim 3, Zopf further teaches determining whether the unique synthesized packet can be generated by performing a majority decision on an inconsistent bit between the Bluetooth packets (page 2 [0017]).
Consider claim 4, Zopf further teaches wherein a total number of the Bluetooth packets is greater than 2 (page 1 [0014]).
Consider claim 5, Zopf further teaches establishing a connection-oriented isochronous channel with a transmitter, wherein the connection-oriented isochronous channel uses a logical transport of a Low Energy Connected Isochronous Stream (LE-CIS), and setting a framed parameter of the LE-CIS as an unframed data packet data unit (PDU); and receiving the Bluetooth packets from the transmitter on the LE-CIS (page 1 [0015] i.e., A Bluetooth® network may be a wireless network that includes network devices which communicate using radio frequencies, protocols, standards, data formats, etc., that have been defined by the Bluetooth® Special Interest Group (Bluetooth® SIG)).
Consider claim 6, Zopf further teaches establishing a connectionless isochronous channel with a transmitter, wherein the connectionless isochronous channel uses a logical transport of a Low Energy Broadcast Isochronous Stream (LE-BIS), and setting a framing parameter of the LE-BIS as an unframed data packet data unit (PDU); and receiving the Bluetooth packets from the transmitter on the LE-BIS (page 1 [0015] i.e., A Bluetooth® network may be a wireless network that includes network devices which communicate using radio frequencies, protocols, standards, data formats, etc., that have been defined by the Bluetooth® Special Interest Group (Bluetooth® SIG)).
Consider claim 7, Zopf further teaches establishing a synchronous connection oriented (SCO)/enhanced synchronous connection oriented (eSCO) link with a transmitter; and receiving the Bluetooth packets from the transmitter on the SCO/eSCO link (page 1 [0015] i.e., A Bluetooth® network may be a wireless network that includes network devices which communicate using radio frequencies, protocols, standards, data formats, etc., that have been defined by the Bluetooth® Special Interest Group (Bluetooth® SIG)).
Consider claim 8, the subject-matter of independent claim 8 relates to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein program code that, when loaded and executed by a processing unit, cause the processing unit to perform a method with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 1. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 1 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 8.
Consider claim 9, the previous rejections of claim 2 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 9.
Consider claim 10, the previous rejections of claim 3 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 10.
Consider claim 11, the previous rejections of claim 4 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 11.
Consider claim 12, the previous rejections of claim 5 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 12.
Consider claim 13, the previous rejections of claim 6 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 13.
Consider claim 14, the previous rejections of claim 7 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 14.
Consider claim 15, the subject-matter of independent claim 15 relates to an apparatus with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 1. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 1 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 15.
Consider claim 16, the previous rejections of claim 3 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 16.
Consider claim 17, the previous rejections of claim 4 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 17.
Consider claim 18, the previous rejections of claim 5 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 18.
Consider claim 19, the previous rejections of claim 6 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 19.
Consider claim 20, the previous rejections of claim 7 apply mutatis mutandis to corresponding claim 20.
Conclusion
7. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop_________ (Explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/TUAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649