DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges claims to priority under 35 U.S.C. 120 or 121 for U.S. application 18647804 to U.S. provisional application serial No. 63498906 filed on 4/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/23/2024 was filed after the filing date of the application on 4/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jull (US 1638122).
Regarding claim 1, Jull teaches a material cutting apparatus comprising:
a frame assembly of 2, 3, 4 and 5) including a first end and a second end (to and bottom end in Figure 2), the frame having a track (assembly of 3 and 4) running between the first end and the second end (see Figure 2);
a vertical support member (assembly of 10, 6 and 9) mounted to the track and extending outwardly from the track (to top in Figure 1), the vertical support member terminating at a vertical support member free end (at the top end of 21, see Figure 1), wherein the vertical support member is configured to travel about the track from the first end to the second end (page 1 lines 41-59), wherein the vertical support member is rotatable about a vertical axis that extends along a length of the vertical support member between the track and the vertical support member free end (about 9, see Figure 2);
a cantilevered arm (assembly 15, 16 and 17) extending outwardly from and normal to the vertical support member, the cantilevered arm terminating at a cantilever free end (end at 41, see Figure 2); and
a cutting head (30) configured to move along the cantilevered arm between the vertical support member and the cantilever free end (see Figure 1), the cutting head including a rotational member configured to physically contact the material during material processing (see Figure 7).
Regarding claim 3, Jull teaches the rotational member is mounted directly below the cantilevered arm (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Jull teaches the rotational member includes a blade (33, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Jull teaches the vertical support member includes radial bellows (9, see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Jull teaches a material cutting apparatus comprising:
a frame (assembly of 2, 3, 4 and 5) including a first end and a second end (top and bottom end in Figure 2), the frame having a track (4 and 5) running between the first end and the second end (se Figure 2);
a vertical support member (assembly of 6, 9, 10 and 11) mounted to the track and extending outwardly from the track (see Figure 2), the vertical support member terminating at a vertical support member free end (top end at 21, see Figure 1), wherein the vertical support member is configured to travel about the track from the first end to the second end (see Figure 2), wherein the vertical support member is rotatable about an axis that extends along a length of the vertical support member between the track and the vertical support member free end (see Figure 2);
a cantilevered arm (assembly of 15, 16 and 17) extending outwardly from and normal to the vertical support member (see Figure 2), the cantilevered arm terminating at a cantilever free end (at end of 41, see Figure 2);
a cutting head (30) including a cutting member (33) configured to move along the cantilevered arm between the vertical support member and the cantilever free end (see Figure 2); and
a modular worktable (A) removably positioned at a first side of the frame, the modular worktable extending in a first direction at least partially along the frame between the first and second ends, the modular worktable extending outwardly away from the frame and normal to the vertical support member (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 21, Jull teaches a cutting apparatus comprising:
a frame (assembly of 2, 3, 4 and 5) including a first end and a second end, the frame having a track running between the first end and the second end (see Figure 2);
a vertical support member (assembly of 6, 9, 10 and 11) mounted to the track and extending outwardly from the track, the vertical support member configured to travel about the track from the first end to the second end (see Figure 2);
a cantilevered arm (assembly of 15, 16 and 17) extending outwardly from and normal to the vertical support member, the cantilevered arm terminating at a cantilever free end (see Figure 2); and
a cutting head (30) configured to move along the cantilevered arm between the vertical support member and the cantilever free end (see Figure 2), the cutting head configured to allow varying a cutting angle of a rotational member relative to the cantilevered arm (see Figure 2), the rotational member configured to physically contact the material during material processing (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122).
Regarding claim 2, Jull further teaches the vertical support member is configured to rotate some degrees about the vertical axis such that the cantilevered arm can extend outwardly from a first side or a second side of the track (see Figure 2 of Jull).
Jull fails to clearly teach 180 degrees.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific range of 180 degrees, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the range of Jull to have the specific range of 180 degrees set forth in the claim, in order to create the desired work range for the end user.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122) in view of Gauli (US20180250781 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Jull teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Jull fails to teach the rotational member includes a routing bit.
Gauli teaches a that a movable frame can carrier many different tool as the cutting operation requires, such as saw tool or routing bit.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jull and change the tool tip from a saw into a routing bit, as taught by Gauli, in order to performed the desired cutting operation (abstract of Gauli).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122) in view of Schlough 735’ (US 6006735).
Regarding claim 6, Jull teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Jull fails to teach the cutting head further includes a waterjet.
Schlough 735’ teaches a cutting frame with a saw and a waterjet cutting head (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jull to add the waterjet, as taught by Schlough 735’, in order for the device to better cut stone material (abstract of Schlough 735’).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122) in view of Harter (US 5582088).
Regarding claim 8, Jull teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Jull fails to teach the cutting head includes rotatable cable guides about a perimeter of the cutting head.
Harter teaches the cutting head includes rotatable cable guides about a perimeter of the cutting head (58, see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jull to add the waterjet, as taught by Harter, in order for the device to better cut stone material (col. 5 lines 37- col. line 5 of Harter).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122) in view of Guazzoni (Us 20180104850 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jull teaches a material cutting apparatus comprising:
a frame (assembly of 2, 3, 4 and 5) including a first end and a second end, the frame having a track running between the first end and the second end (see Figure 2);
a vertical support member (assembly of 6, 9 10 and 11, see Figure 1) mounted to the track and extending outwardly from the track (see Figure 1), the vertical support member terminating at a vertical support member free end (top end at 21, see Figure 1), wherein the vertical support member is configured to travel about the track from the first end to the second end (see Figure 2), wherein the vertical support member is rotatable about an axis (axis of 9) that extends along a length of the vertical support member between the track and the vertical support member free end (see Figure 2);
a cantilevered arm (assembly of 15, 16 and 17) extending outwardly from and normal to the vertical support member, the cantilevered arm terminating at a cantilever free end (end at 41, see Figure 1);
a cutting head (30) including a cutting member (33) configured to move along the cantilevered arm between the vertical support member and the cantilever free end (see Figure 1).
Jull fails to teach a control arrangement integrally mounted to the first end of the frame.
Guazzoni teaches a cutting device including a cutting from with movable cutting head (45) and a control arrangement (72) integrally mounted to the first end of the frame (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jull to change the manual system into a controlled system, as taught by Guazzoni, in order to better control the cutting process (abstract of Guazzoni).
Regarding claim 10, modified Jull further teaches the control arrangement includes a control panel (as modified, panel on 72, see Figure 1 of Guazzoni).
Regarding claim 11, modified Jull further teaches the control arrangement is attached to the material cutting apparatus using a mount (as modified, panel on 72, see Figure 1 of Guazzoni).
Regarding claim 12, modified Jull further teaches the control arrangement includes a control screen (as modified, panel on 72, see Figure 1 of Guazzoni).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122) in view of Guazzoni (Us 20180104850 A1) and in further view of Schlough 223’ (US 20160207223 A1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Jull further teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 9 above.
Modified Jull fails to teach the control arrangement facilitates remote control of the material cutting apparatus.
Schlough 223’ teaches a cutting device with the control arrangement facilitates remote control of the material cutting apparatus (paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jull to change add the remote control, as taught by Schlough, in order better control the device remotely (paragraph 0029 and 0043 of Schlough 223’).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122) in view of Mantenuto (US 20230037698 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Jull teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 14 above.
Jull fails to teach a second modular worktable is removably positioned at a second side of the frame, the second modular worktable extending in the first direction at least partially along the frame between the first and second ends, the second modular worktable extending outwardly away from the frame and normal to the vertical support member in an opposite direction from the first modular worktable.
Mantenuto teaches a cutting device set with a second modular worktable is removably positioned at a second side of the frame, the second modular worktable extending in the first direction at least partially along the frame between the first and second ends, the second modular worktable extending outwardly away from the frame and normal to the vertical support member in an opposite direction from the first modular worktable (two work table with a tool head in between, see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jull to add the second table for the same tool head, as taught by Mantenuto, in order for the device to performed additional type of work (abstract of Mantenuto).
If there any doubt on the placement of the exact location of the tables, it would also have been obvious to move the table location as needed, since the court have held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jull (US 1638122) in view of Schlough 223’ (US 20160207223 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Jull teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 14 above.
Jull fails to teach the modular worktable further comprises: a table frame; a movable support surface pivotally mounted to the table frame, the support surface configured for supporting the material; a first link extending between the support surface and the table frame, the first link pivotally connected to the support surface at a first end of the first link and pivotally connected to the table frame at a second end of the first link; a second link extending between the support surface and the table frame, the second link pivotally connected to the support surface at a first end of the second link and pivotally connected to the table frame at a second end of the second link; an actuator pivotally connected to the table frame, the actuator being configured to move the support surface between a generally horizontal position and a generally vertical position; and a fluid tank positioned under the support surface.
Schlough 223’ teaches the modular worktable further comprises: a table frame; a movable support surface pivotally mounted to the table frame (see Figure 3), the support surface configured for supporting the material (top of 118); a first link (128) extending between the support surface and the table frame (see Figure 3), the first link pivotally connected to the support surface at a first end of the first link and pivotally connected to the table frame at a second end of the first link (see Figure 6); a second link (130) extending between the support surface and the table frame, the second link pivotally connected to the support surface at a first end of the second link and pivotally connected to the table frame at a second end of the second link (see Figure 6); an actuator (132) pivotally connected to the table frame (see Figure 3), the actuator being configured to move the support surface between a generally horizontal position and a generally vertical position; and a fluid tank (112) positioned under the support surface (see Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jull to add the modular worktable details, as taught by Schlough 223’, in order to better support and handle the loading of material (abstract of Schlough 223’).
Regarding claim 17, modified Jull further teaches the support surface pivots and translates with respect to the table frame when the support surface moves between the generally horizontal position and the generally vertical position (as modified, see Figure 6 of Schlough 223’).
Regarding claim 18, modified Jull further teaches the support surface includes a metallic grid positioned over the fluid tank when the support surface is in the generally horizontal position (as modified, see Figure 4 of Schlough 223’).
Regarding claim 19, modified Jull further teaches the modular worktable includes a pair of first links, a pair of second links, and a pair of actuators (as modified, see Figure 3 of Schlough 223’).
Regarding claim 20, modified Jull further teaches each actuator includes a ram, the rams being pivotally connected to the second links at locations between the first ends and the second ends of each second link (as modified, 144, see Figure 6 of Schlough 223’).
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 1/02/2026