DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–10 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0363973 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 19 December 2024 and 19 August 2024 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
FIGS. 5–8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY CELL INCLUDING ARRESTER LUG BUNDLE SANDWICHED BETWEEN CONTACT ELEMENT AND CELL TERMINAL AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
FIGS. 4–8 are described as showing a comparative example in paragraph [0020]. FIGS. 1–4 are used to illustrate a battery according to the invention (e.g., [0018]); and FIGS. 5–8 are used to illustrate a battery cell according to a comparative example. FIGS. 5–8 should be described as showing a comparative example in paragraph [0020].
Reference character 12 is used to designate a length in paragraph [0021] of the PG-Pub of the instant application (i.e., US 2024/0363973 A1). Reference character l2 is used to designate a length. This error in the PG-Pub of the instant application is an artifact of the optical character recognition process used. This error is brought to the attention of the applicant in order to ensure this artifact does not persist in any patent originating from this application.
Reference character B1 is referred to as a bending point in paragraph [0024]. Reference character B1 is used to designate a first bending point; and reference character B2 is used to designate a second bending point. Reference character B1 should be referred to as a first bending point in paragraph [0024].
Reference character B1 is referred to as a bending point in paragraph [0027]. Reference character B1 is used to designate a first bending point; and reference character B2 is used to designate a second bending point. Reference character B1 should be referred to as a first bending point in paragraph [0027].
Reference character 11 is used to designate a component length in paragraph [0028] of the PG-Pub of the instant application (i.e., US 2024/0363973 A1). Reference character l1 is used to designate a component length. This error in the PG-Pub of the instant application is an artifact of the optical character recognition process used. This error is brought to the attention of the applicant in order to ensure this artifact does not persist in any patent originating from this application.
Reference character 5 is referred to as arrester lugs in paragraph [0029]. Reference character 2 is used to designate arrester lugs; and reference character 5 is used to designate an arrester lug bundle. Reference character 2 should be used to designate arrester lugs in paragraph [0029].
Reference character 25 is referred to as a mounting gap in paragraph [0029]. Reference character 24 is used to designate a mounting gap; and reference character 25 is used to designate a sheet layer. Reference character 24 should be used to designate a mounting gap in paragraph [0029].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the casing" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a contact element that is electrically contactable with a cell terminal.” Claim 1 is directed to a battery cell including product-by-process limitations. It is unclear if the battery cell requires the contact element to be electrically contacted with the cell terminal.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “substantially right angles.” The term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation “substantially right angles” is indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “arrester lug bundle” in line 7. Claim 1 has previously recited the limitation “an arrester bundle” in line 5. It is unclear if “arrester lug bundle” recited in line 7 is further limiting or referencing “an arrester bundle” recited in line 5.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cell case back" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “rigidly formed.” The term “rigidly” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rigidly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation “rigidly formed” is indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “designed to be flexible.” The term “flexible” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “flexible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation “designed to be flexible” is indefinite.
Claims 2–4 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–4 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the laterally outer arrester lug ends" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the arrester lug ends" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 6 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the bending axis/bending point" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the flexible arrester lugs" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8 and 9 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 8 and 9 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “an arrester bundle.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “an arrester bundle.” It is unclear if “an arrester bundle” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “an arrester bundle” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “arrester bundle.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a contact element.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a contact element.” It is unclear if “a contact element” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “a contact element” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “contact element.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a cell terminal.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a cell terminal.” It is unclear if “a cell terminal” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “a cell terminal” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “cell terminal.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a composite.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a composite.” It is unclear if “a composite” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “a composite” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “composite.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “substantially right angles.” The term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation “substantially right angles” is indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a cell stack stacking direction.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a cell stack stacking direction.” It is unclear if “a cell stack stacking direction” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “a cell stack stacking direction” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “cell stack stacking direction.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “an open cell casing opening.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “an open cell casing opening.” It is unclear if “an open cell casing opening” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “an open cell casing opening” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “open cell casing opening.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a mounting gap.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a mounting gap.” It is unclear if “a mounting gap” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “a mounting gap” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “mounting gap.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a wall element.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a wall element.” It is unclear if “a wall element” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “a wall element” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “wall element.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a bending process.” Claim1 has previously recited the limitation “a battery cell according to claim 1” and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a bending process.” It is unclear if “a bending process” recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing “a bending process” recited in claim 1. Claim 1 provides antecedent basis for the term “bending process.” However, claim 10 does not include “the” or “said” indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “particularly rigidly formed.” The term “particularly rigidly” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “particularly rigidly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation “particularly rigidly formed” is indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “particularly flexible in nature.” The term “flexible” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “particularly flexible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation “particularly flexible in nature” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishihara et al. (JP 2017-004846 A, hereinafter Nishihara).
Regarding claim 1, Nishihara discloses a battery cell (10, [0021]) comprising:
a cell stack (12, [0021]);
a cell casing (14) in which the cell stack (11) is arranged (FIG. 1, [0021]),
wherein an intermediate battery cell product (FIG. 9, [0067]) is formed during a process for manufacturing the battery cell (10, [0067]),
in which the cell stack (10) is arranged inside the casing (14) and an arrester bundle (36) formed from arrester lugs (25) of the cell stack (12, [0025]) is extended with a contact element (40) that is electrically contactable with a cell terminal (61) of the battery cell (10, [0031]),
wherein a composite formed of arrester lug bundle (36) and contact element (40) at substantially right angles to a cell stack stacking direction (L, [0067]), protrudes from an open cell casing opening (14a, [0075]), and
wherein, in an assembled state, the composite formed of arrester lug bundle (36) and contact element (40) is positioned in a bending process in a mounting gap between the cell stack (11) and a wall element (15) or in the cell case back (14), which closes the cell casing opening (14a, [0075]), and
wherein, during the bending process, the contact element (40), which is rigidly formed, remains undeformed so as to be not bent, and only the arrester lugs (25), which are designed to be flexible are deformed during the bending process (FIG. 5, [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the contact element (40) is connected to the cell terminal (61), which is part of the wall element (15, [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the contact element (40, 51) is constructed in two parts from a base sheet part (40) and a separate additional sheet part (51, [0031]), and
wherein the base sheet part (40) is connected to the cell terminal (61, [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the base sheet part (40) together with the additional sheet part (51) form a weld point or an ultrasonic weld point (W, [0029]), in which the arrester lug bundle (36) is welded between the additional sheet part (51) and the base sheet part (40, FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the arrester lugs (25) protrude laterally from the cell stack (12, [0067]), and/or
wherein the laterally outer arrester lug ends (25) are compacted in a pre-fixing step to form the arrester lug bundle (36) in which the arrester lug ends (25) are stacked on top of each other without gaps (FIG. 10, [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein, in an area between the cell stack (12) and the arrester lug bundle (36) at a transition to the arrester lug bundle (36), the arrester lugs (25) define a bending axis or bending point around which the arrester lug bundle (36) is folded into the mounting gap during the bending process (FIG. 5, [0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein a U-fold is made during the bending process, in which the contact element (51) is folded around the bending axis/bending point (FIG. 5, [0033]), and/or
wherein the contact element (40, 51) is positioned in the mounting gap by deforming/bending the flexible arrester lugs (25, [0076]).
Regarding claim 8, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein in the intermediate battery cell product, the contact element (40) connected to the cell terminal (61) is smaller in cross-section than the wall element (15, [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Nishihara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein, in the intermediate battery cell product, the contact element (40) is formed by an offset within a wall element (15) circumferential edge (FIG. 5, ,
which lies on an opening edge of the cell casing opening (14a) when assembled, so that the contact element (40) is positioned in the mounting gap inside the casing (14) without interference contours and without deformation (FIG. 5, [0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Nishihara discloses a method for manufacturing a battery cell, the battery cell comprises a cell stack (12, [0021]); a cell casing (14) in which the cell stack (11) is arranged (FIG. 1, [0021]), wherein an intermediate battery cell product (FIG. 9, [0067]) is formed during a process for manufacturing the battery cell (10, [0067]), in which the cell stack (10) is arranged inside the casing (14) and an arrester bundle (36) formed from arrester lugs (25) of the cell stack (12, [0025]) is extended with a contact element (40) that is electrically contactable with a cell terminal (61) of the battery cell (10, [0031]), wherein a composite formed of arrester lug bundle (36) and contact element (40) at substantially right angles to a cell stack stacking direction (L, [0067]), protrudes from an open cell casing opening (14a, [0075]), and wherein, in an assembled state, the composite formed of arrester lug bundle (36) and contact element (40) is positioned in a bending process in a mounting gap between the cell stack (11) and a wall element (15) or in the cell case back (14), which closes the cell casing opening (14a, [0075]), and wherein, during the bending process, the contact element (40), which is rigidly formed, remains undeformed so as to be not bent, and only the arrester lugs (25), which are designed to be flexible are deformed during the bending process (FIG. 5, [0075]), the method comprising:
arranging the cell stack (11) in the cell casing (14, [0076]),
forming the intermediate battery cell product (FIG. 9, [0067]) during the process of manufacturing the battery cell (10), in which the cell stack (11) is arranged inside the casing (14) and an arrester bundle (36) formed from arrester lugs (25) of the cell stack (11) is extended with a contact element (40), which is electrically contacted with a cell terminal (61) of the battery cell (10, [0031]),
such that a composite formed of arrester lug bundle (36) and contact element (40) at substantially right angles to a cell stack stacking direction (L) protrudes from an open cell casing opening (14a, [0067]);
positioning, during an assembly, the composite formed of arrester lug bundle (36) and contact element (40), in a mounting gap between the cell stack (11) and a wall element (15) or the cell case back (14), which closes the cell casing opening (14a, [0076]); and
during a bending process, the contact element (40), which is particularly rigidly formed, remains undeformed so as to be not bent, and such that only the arrester lugs (25), which are particularly flexible in nature, are deformed during the bending process (FIG. 5, [0075]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (US 2020/0403214 A1) discloses a battery cell (100) comprising a cell stack (10, [0038]); a cell casing in which the cell stack (10) is arranged (see housing, [0039]), wherein an intermediate battery cell product (FIG. 2, [0053]) is formed during a process for manufacturing the battery cell (100), in which the cell stack (10) is arranged inside the casing and an arrester bundle (11) formed from arrester lugs of the cell stack (10) is extended with a contact element (50) that is electrically contactable with a cell terminal (403) of the battery cell (100, [0068]), wherein a composite formed of arrester lug bundle (11) and contact element (50) at substantially right angles to a cell stack stacking direction (FIG. 1, [0068]), protrudes from an open cell casing opening (see housing, [0042]), and wherein, in an assembled state, the composite formed of arrester lug bundle (11) and contact element (50) is positioned in a bending process in a mounting gap between the cell stack (10) and a wall element (30) or in the cell case back, which closes the cell casing opening (FIG. 6, [0039]), and wherein, during the bending process, the contact element (50), which is rigidly formed, remains undeformed so as to be not bent, and only the arrester lugs (11), which are designed to be flexible are deformed during the bending process (FIG. 3, [0058]).
Takabayashi (US 2019/0305286 A1) discloses a battery cell (100) comprising a cell stack (110); a cell casing (120) in which the cell stack (110) is arranged (FIG. 1, [0024]), wherein an intermediate battery cell product is formed during a process for manufacturing the battery cell (100, [0061]), in which the cell stack (110) is arranged inside the casing (120) and an arrester bundle (118) formed from arrester lugs (118) of the cell stack (110) is extended with a contact element (116a) that is electrically contactable with a cell terminal (141) of the battery cell (100, [0053]), wherein a composite formed of arrester lug bundle (118) and contact element (116a) at substantially right angles to a cell stack stacking direction (FIG. 3, [0044]), protrudes from an open cell casing opening (FIG. 3, [0049]), and wherein, in an assembled state, the composite formed of arrester lug bundle (118) and contact element (116a) is positioned in a bending process in a mounting gap between the cell stack (110) and a wall element (130) or in the cell case back, which closes the cell casing opening (FIG. 1, [0024]), and wherein, during the bending process, the contact element (116a), which is rigidly formed, remains undeformed so as to be not bent, and only the arrester lugs (118(, which are designed to be flexible are deformed during the bending process (FIG. 1, [0070]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725