DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/16/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s remarks, see pages 11-21, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of claim amendments. Thus, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to claims 1-20, have been fully considered, but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current references and current combinations of references being used in the current rejection.
The applicant argues on page 22, “Applicant contends that amended claim 1 is not disclosed in the Demchalk reference. Demchalk does not anticipate claim 1 because it fails to disclose the claimed use of two image-to-text models having different performance levels and tolerance levels to degraded handwriting, nor any generation of a score based on a difference between their outputs that correlates with handwriting degradation, as recited in amended claim 1.” Applicant further argues on page 23, “Demchalk is directed to improving OCR accuracy through output selection, rather than evaluating handwriting degradation via model disagreement as in the present claim, and therefore does not anticipate claim 1 under 35 USC 102. Therefore, Applicant contends that the Demchalk reference does not disclose the features of the claimed invention. Thereby, the claimed invention is not anticipated by the cited reference and is patentable over the cited art.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The prior art DEMCHALK et al. (US 20240212375 A1), herein after referenced as DEMCHALK, was previously used to reject claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102.
The office would like to bring to the applicant’s attention that claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEMCHALK et al. (US 20240212375 A1), herein after referenced as DEMCHALK in view of WANG (US 20180293434 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG in further view of SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), hereinafter referenced as SAMEC.
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the breadth of the claim language, the prior art by DEMCHALK teaches a computer-implemented method (Figs. 3-4, Paragraph [0045] – DEMCHALK discloses FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method 300 for extracting text from a document. Paragraph [0072] – DEMCHALK discloses one or more computer systems 400 may be used, for example, to implement any of the embodiments discussed herein, as well as combinations and sub-combinations thereof.) comprising:
first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a first image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
a handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a second image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model (Fig. 1, #114 called OCR tools, Paragraph [0022]) have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK further discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
Although DEMCHALK further teaches and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0035] – DEMCHALK discloses text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms, or by varying parameters in similar or otherwise identical approaches or algorithms.),
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score;
However, WANG explicitly teaches and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0203] – WANG discloses a range of scores 1310 are associated with a plurality of responses 1320 (illustrated as 1320A and 1320B). Paragraph [0208] – WANG discloses analysis may also determine a score by comparing the two responses and determining a score based on a relative degree of similarity between the correct response and the received responses. For example, when comparing the two responses with the correct response, the system may compare individual lines of the handwritten user input with the expected lines of a typed letter. The response that is closer to the correct response may receive a relatively higher score than the other.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of WANG of having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method wherein having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
DEMCHALK in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
However, SAMEC explicitly teaches and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0599] – SAMEC discloses the severity of agraphia would be understood to be directly related to the number of tasks (instructions provided by the display system for writing particular content) that were not completed. In some embodiments, the display system can compare a user's current results [wherein current results are the first text output] with the user's previous results [wherein previous results are the second text output]. Such comparison may be applied to determine the presence of a neurological condition or to determine the progression of a condition. The display system may interpret handwriting that has become increasingly smaller and/or more illegible over time as an indication of the progression of the disease.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK in view of WANG of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of SAMEC of having and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for assessing handwriting skill by using different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison of data, since both DEMCHALK and SAMEC relate to aspects of text recognition and assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and SAMEC discloses performing the neurological analysis is conducted automatically a plurality of times over a plurality of months, further comprising updating a user neurological profile based on performing the neurological analysis; in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison, it will be appreciated that the sharing of other information regarding users may improve the accuracy of the conclusions drawn from the analyses by allowing additional variables to be considered. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), Paragraph [0346, 0412].
Applicant argues on page 23, “Independent claims 7 and 15 are amended similarly to claim 1, and are believed allowable for the same reasons as discussed above regarding claim 1. The dependent claims incorporate all of the limitations of their base respective claims, and are believed allowable as being dependent on an allowable base claim, as well as for the additional subject matter claimed therein.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive. The prior art DEMCHALK et al. (US 20240212375 A1), herein after referenced as DEMCHALK, was previously used to reject independent claims 7 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102.
The office would like to bring to the applicant’s attention that claims 7 and 15 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEMCHALK et al. (US 20240212375 A1), herein after referenced as DEMCHALK in view of WANG (US 20180293434 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG in further view of SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), hereinafter referenced as SAMEC.
Based on the breadth of the claim language in claim 7, the prior art by DEMCHALK teaches a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0084] – DEMCHALK discloses a tangible, non-transitory apparatus or article of manufacture comprising a tangible, non-transitory computer usable or readable medium having control logic (software) stored thereon may also be referred to herein as a computer program product or program storage device. This includes, but is not limited to, computer system 400, main memory 408, secondary memory 410, and removable storage units 418 and 422, as well as tangible articles of manufacture embodying any combination of the foregoing.),
the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0084] – DEMCHALK discloses such control logic, when executed by one or more data processing devices (such as computer system 400), may cause such data processing devices to operate as described herein.) comprising:
first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a first image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
a handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a second image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model (Fig. 1, #114 called OCR tools, Paragraph [0022]) have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK further discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
Although DEMCHALK further teaches and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0035] – DEMCHALK discloses text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms, or by varying parameters in similar or otherwise identical approaches or algorithms.),
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score;
However, WANG explicitly teaches and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0203] – WANG discloses a range of scores 1310 are associated with a plurality of responses 1320 (illustrated as 1320A and 1320B). Paragraph [0208] – WANG discloses analysis may also determine a score by comparing the two responses and determining a score based on a relative degree of similarity between the correct response and the received responses. For example, when comparing the two responses with the correct response, the system may compare individual lines of the handwritten user input with the expected lines of a typed letter. The response that is closer to the correct response may receive a relatively higher score than the other.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK of having a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of WANG of having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
DEMCHALK in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
However, SAMEC explicitly teaches and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0599] – SAMEC discloses the severity of agraphia would be understood to be directly related to the number of tasks (instructions provided by the display system for writing particular content) that were not completed. In some embodiments, the display system can compare a user's current results [wherein current results are the first text output] with the user's previous results [wherein previous results are the second text output]. Such comparison may be applied to determine the presence of a neurological condition or to determine the progression of a condition. The display system may interpret handwriting that has become increasingly smaller and/or more illegible over time as an indication of the progression of the disease.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK in view of WANG of having a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of SAMEC of having and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for assessing handwriting skill by using different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison of data, since both DEMCHALK and SAMEC relate to aspects of text recognition and assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and SAMEC discloses performing the neurological analysis is conducted automatically a plurality of times over a plurality of months, further comprising updating a user neurological profile based on performing the neurological analysis; in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison, it will be appreciated that the sharing of other information regarding users may improve the accuracy of the conclusions drawn from the analyses by allowing additional variables to be considered. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), Paragraph [0346, 0412].
Based on the breadth of the claim language in claim 15, the prior art by DEMCHALK teaches a computer system comprising a processor (Fig. 4, #400 called computer system, Paragraph [0073] – DEMCHALK discloses computer system 400 may include one or more processors (also called central processing units, or CPUs), such as a processor 404.)
and one or more computer readable storage media (Paragraph [0074] – DEMCHALK discloses removable storage unit 418 may include a computer usable or readable storage device having stored thereon computer software (control logic) and/or data.),
and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0084] – DEMCHALK discloses a tangible, non-transitory apparatus or article of manufacture comprising a tangible, non-transitory computer usable or readable medium having control logic (software) stored thereon may also be referred to herein as a computer program product or program storage device. Such control logic, when executed by one or more data processing devices (such as computer system 400), may cause such data processing devices to operate as described herein.) comprising:
first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a first image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
a handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a second image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model (Fig. 1, #114 called OCR tools, Paragraph [0022]) have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK further discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
Although DEMCHALK further teaches and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0035] – DEMCHALK discloses text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms, or by varying parameters in similar or otherwise identical approaches or algorithms.),
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score;
However, WANG explicitly teaches and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0203] – WANG discloses a range of scores 1310 are associated with a plurality of responses 1320 (illustrated as 1320A and 1320B). Paragraph [0208] – WANG discloses analysis may also determine a score by comparing the two responses and determining a score based on a relative degree of similarity between the correct response and the received responses. For example, when comparing the two responses with the correct response, the system may compare individual lines of the handwritten user input with the expected lines of a typed letter. The response that is closer to the correct response may receive a relatively higher score than the other.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK of having a computer system comprising a processor and one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of WANG of having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system wherein having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer system for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
DEMCHALK in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
However, SAMEC explicitly teaches and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0599] – SAMEC discloses the severity of agraphia would be understood to be directly related to the number of tasks (instructions provided by the display system for writing particular content) that were not completed. In some embodiments, the display system can compare a user's current results [wherein current results are the first text output] with the user's previous results [wherein previous results are the second text output]. Such comparison may be applied to determine the presence of a neurological condition or to determine the progression of a condition. The display system may interpret handwriting that has become increasingly smaller and/or more illegible over time as an indication of the progression of the disease.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK in view of WANG of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of SAMEC of having and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for assessing handwriting skill by using different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison of data, since both DEMCHALK and SAMEC relate to aspects of text recognition and assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and SAMEC discloses performing the neurological analysis is conducted automatically a plurality of times over a plurality of months, further comprising updating a user neurological profile based on performing the neurological analysis; in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison, it will be appreciated that the sharing of other information regarding users may improve the accuracy of the conclusions drawn from the analyses by allowing additional variables to be considered. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), Paragraph [0346, 0412].
Applicant argues on page 25, “Neither reference [i.e., Demchalk & Wang], alone or in combination, teaches or suggests (i) configuring first and second models with different tolerance levels to handwriting variation, (ii) generating a handwriting skill score based on analyzing a difference between their outputs, or (iii) correlating that difference with a degree of degradation of the handwritten input.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the breadth of the claim language, DEMCHALK teaches wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model (Fig. 1, #114 called OCR tools, Paragraph [0022]) have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK further discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
Although DEMCHALK further teaches and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0035] – DEMCHALK discloses text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms, or by varying parameters in similar or otherwise identical approaches or algorithms.),
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score;
However, WANG explicitly teaches and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0203] – WANG discloses a range of scores 1310 are associated with a plurality of responses 1320 (illustrated as 1320A and 1320B). Paragraph [0208] – WANG discloses analysis may also determine a score by comparing the two responses and determining a score based on a relative degree of similarity between the correct response and the received responses. For example, when comparing the two responses with the correct response, the system may compare individual lines of the handwritten user input with the expected lines of a typed letter. The response that is closer to the correct response may receive a relatively higher score than the other. Paragraph [0153] – WANG discloses the model test item may be associated with a plurality of letters to spell a word associated with model test item and the model test response may comprise a digital representation of handwritten user input associated with model test item. Paragraph [0159] – WANG further discloses the model response score may be determined by a relative comparison between multiple model responses and ranking the model responses along a scale. Paragraph [0027] – WANG discloses embodiments of the application may further assess basic skills to understand the language alphabet, letters, and spelling, while incorporating interactions with a user device (e.g., timing, tapping the screen, audio input, etc.) to assess more information than what is provided on a piece of paper.);
DEMCHALK in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
However, SAMEC explicitly teaches and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0599] – SAMEC discloses the severity of agraphia would be understood to be directly related to the number of tasks (instructions provided by the display system for writing particular content) that were not completed. In some embodiments, the display system can compare a user's current results [wherein current results are the first text output] with the user's previous results [wherein previous results are the second text output]. Such comparison may be applied to determine the presence of a neurological condition or to determine the progression of a condition. The display system may interpret handwriting that has become increasingly smaller and/or more illegible over time as an indication of the progression of the disease.).
Applicant argues on page 24, “Applicant submits that the dependent claims incorporate all of the limitations of their respective base claims, and are believed allowable as being dependent on an allowable base claim, as well as for the additional subject matter claimed therein. Additionally, the secondary reference do not remedy the deficiencies of the cited primary reference as discussed above regarding claim 1, and thus are believed allowable as being dependent on an allowable base claim.” Applicant further argues on page 26, “Applicant believes, in good faith, that the paper submitted herein provides a complete response to the Office Action replying to all outstanding issues, and that the present application/case is in condition for allowance. Therefore, in view of the foregoing, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration, withdrawal of all rejections, and allowance of all pending claims in due course.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive base on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below. The office respectfully encourages the applicant to further amend the claims to overcome the prior arts of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10, 13, 14-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEMCHALK et al. (US 20240212375 A1), herein after referenced as DEMCHALK in view of WANG (US 20180293434 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG in further view of SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), hereinafter referenced as SAMEC.
Regarding claim 1, DEMCHALK teaches a computer-implemented method (Figs. 3-4, Paragraph [0045] – DEMCHALK discloses FIG. 3 is a flowchart illustrating a method 300 for extracting text from a document. Paragraph [0072] – DEMCHALK discloses one or more computer systems 400 may be used, for example, to implement any of the embodiments discussed herein, as well as combinations and sub-combinations thereof.) comprising:
first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a first image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
a handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a second image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model (Fig. 1, #114 called OCR tools, Paragraph [0022]) have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK further discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
Although DEMCHALK further teaches and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0035] – DEMCHALK discloses text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms, or by varying parameters in similar or otherwise identical approaches or algorithms.),
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score;
However, WANG explicitly teaches and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0203] – WANG discloses a range of scores 1310 are associated with a plurality of responses 1320 (illustrated as 1320A and 1320B). Paragraph [0208] – WANG discloses analysis may also determine a score by comparing the two responses and determining a score based on a relative degree of similarity between the correct response and the received responses. For example, when comparing the two responses with the correct response, the system may compare individual lines of the handwritten user input with the expected lines of a typed letter. The response that is closer to the correct response may receive a relatively higher score than the other.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of WANG of having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method wherein having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
DEMCHALK in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
However, SAMEC explicitly teaches and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0599] – SAMEC discloses the severity of agraphia would be understood to be directly related to the number of tasks (instructions provided by the display system for writing particular content) that were not completed. In some embodiments, the display system can compare a user's current results [wherein current results are the first text output] with the user's previous results [wherein previous results are the second text output]. Such comparison may be applied to determine the presence of a neurological condition or to determine the progression of a condition. The display system may interpret handwriting that has become increasingly smaller and/or more illegible over time as an indication of the progression of the disease.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK in view of WANG of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of SAMEC of having and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced computer implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison of data, since both DEMCHALK and SAMEC relate to aspects of text recognition and assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and SAMEC discloses performing the neurological analysis is conducted automatically a plurality of times over a plurality of months, further comprising updating a user neurological profile based on performing the neurological analysis; in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison, it will be appreciated that the sharing of other information regarding users may improve the accuracy of the conclusions drawn from the analyses by allowing additional variables to be considered. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), Paragraph [0346, 0412].
Regarding claim 2, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0175] – WANG discloses the user interface may receive interactions in response to providing the first test item, including handwritten user input. Digital representations of the handwritten user input may be transmitted by the assessment application 1004 back to the content management servers 102 dynamically or at a predetermined time associated with the assessment.),
the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0069] – WANG discloses a user can receive content from the content distribution network 100 and can, subsequent to receiving that content, provide a response to the received content. In some embodiments, for example, the received content can comprise one or several questions, prompts, or the like, and the response to the received content can comprise an answer to those one or several questions, prompts, or the like.),
the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0145] – WANG discloses the assessment processor 904 may generate text, images, audio, video, or other digital data to initiate and interaction from the user. The data may comprise a test item associated with an assessment. In some examples, the assessment processor 904 may receive one or more responses to the provided test item as part of the assessment.);
third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0204] – WANG discloses the system may receive a plurality of responses 1320 that are compared with an alphabet, letters, or other characters.),
the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0226] – WANG discloses in illustration 1500, the content management server 102 may receive a digital representation of handwritten user input 1510. The content management server 102 may determine the X-coordinate and Y-coordinate and generate a feature set from the derivatives of these values. One or more scores may be generated for individual characters or words overall, in order to generate a word prediction based on character level hypothesis and/or the scores. Once the word is predicted as the test response, the word may be submitted for scoring purposes.);
and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score (Fig. 18, Paragraph [0261] – WANG discloses at 1808, the first response score may be compared with a threshold. For example, the content management server 102 may compare the first response score determined from the automated handwriting assessment method with a spelling accuracy threshold value and/or a letter accuracy threshold value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method wherein further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 5, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0219] – WANG discloses at 1410, one or more scores may be generated. The one or more scores may comprise each state's observation score, a ground truth model score, or a test response in association with the handwritten user input.),
wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0187] – WANG discloses a model response score may be determined, in some examples, by a human assessor or in-house annotator.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method wherein further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 6, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0063] – WANG discloses the user profile data store 301 can further include information identifying one or several user skill levels. In some embodiments, these one or several user skill levels can identify a skill level determined based on past performance by the user interacting with the content delivery network 100, and in some embodiments, these one or several user skill levels can identify a predicted skill level determined based on past performance by the user interacting with the content delivery network 100 and one or several predictive models.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer-implemented method comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method wherein further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 7, DEMCHALK teaches a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0084] – DEMCHALK discloses a tangible, non-transitory apparatus or article of manufacture comprising a tangible, non-transitory computer usable or readable medium having control logic (software) stored thereon may also be referred to herein as a computer program product or program storage device. This includes, but is not limited to, computer system 400, main memory 408, secondary memory 410, and removable storage units 418 and 422, as well as tangible articles of manufacture embodying any combination of the foregoing.),
the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0084] – DEMCHALK discloses such control logic, when executed by one or more data processing devices (such as computer system 400), may cause such data processing devices to operate as described herein.) comprising:
first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a first image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
a handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a second image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model (Fig. 1, #114 called OCR tools, Paragraph [0022]) have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK further discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
Although DEMCHALK further teaches and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0035] – DEMCHALK discloses text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms, or by varying parameters in similar or otherwise identical approaches or algorithms.),
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score;
However, WANG explicitly teaches and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0203] – WANG discloses a range of scores 1310 are associated with a plurality of responses 1320 (illustrated as 1320A and 1320B). Paragraph [0208] – WANG discloses analysis may also determine a score by comparing the two responses and determining a score based on a relative degree of similarity between the correct response and the received responses. For example, when comparing the two responses with the correct response, the system may compare individual lines of the handwritten user input with the expected lines of a typed letter. The response that is closer to the correct response may receive a relatively higher score than the other.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK of having a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of WANG of having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
DEMCHALK in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
However, SAMEC explicitly teaches and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0599] – SAMEC discloses the severity of agraphia would be understood to be directly related to the number of tasks (instructions provided by the display system for writing particular content) that were not completed. In some embodiments, the display system can compare a user's current results [wherein current results are the first text output] with the user's previous results [wherein previous results are the second text output]. Such comparison may be applied to determine the presence of a neurological condition or to determine the progression of a condition. The display system may interpret handwriting that has become increasingly smaller and/or more illegible over time as an indication of the progression of the disease.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK in view of WANG of having a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of SAMEC of having and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for assessing handwriting skill by using different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison of data, since both DEMCHALK and SAMEC relate to aspects of text recognition and assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and SAMEC discloses performing the neurological analysis is conducted automatically a plurality of times over a plurality of months, further comprising updating a user neurological profile based on performing the neurological analysis; in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison, it will be appreciated that the sharing of other information regarding users may improve the accuracy of the conclusions drawn from the analyses by allowing additional variables to be considered. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), Paragraph [0346, 0412].
Regarding claim 8, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer program product of claim 7,
DEMCHALK further teaches wherein the stored program instructions are stored in a computer readable storage device in a data processing system (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0078] – DEMCHALK discloses removable storage unit 418 may include a computer usable or readable storage device having stored thereon computer software (control logic) and/or data.),
and wherein the stored program instructions are transferred over a network from a remote data processing system (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0080] – DEMCHALK discloses computer system 400 may further include a communication or network interface 424. Communication interface 424 may enable computer system 400 to communicate and interact with any combination of external devices, external networks, external entities, etc. (individually and collectively referenced by reference number 428). For example, communication interface 424 may allow computer system 400 to communicate with external or remote devices 428 over communications path 426, which may be wired and/or wireless (or a combination thereof), and which may include any combination of LANs, WANs, the Internet, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer program product of claim 7,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0175] – WANG discloses the user interface may receive interactions in response to providing the first test item, including handwritten user input. Digital representations of the handwritten user input may be transmitted by the assessment application 1004 back to the content management servers 102 dynamically or at a predetermined time associated with the assessment.),
the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0069] – WANG discloses a user can receive content from the content distribution network 100 and can, subsequent to receiving that content, provide a response to the received content. In some embodiments, for example, the received content can comprise one or several questions, prompts, or the like, and the response to the received content can comprise an answer to those one or several questions, prompts, or the like.),
the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0145] – WANG discloses the assessment processor 904 may generate text, images, audio, video, or other digital data to initiate and interaction from the user. The data may comprise a test item associated with an assessment. In some examples, the assessment processor 904 may receive one or more responses to the provided test item as part of the assessment.);
third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0204] – WANG discloses the system may receive a plurality of responses 1320 that are compared with an alphabet, letters, or other characters.),
the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0226] – WANG discloses in illustration 1500, the content management server 102 may receive a digital representation of handwritten user input 1510. The content management server 102 may determine the X-coordinate and Y-coordinate and generate a feature set from the derivatives of these values. One or more scores may be generated for individual characters or words overall, in order to generate a word prediction based on character level hypothesis and/or the scores. Once the word is predicted as the test response, the word may be submitted for scoring purposes.);
and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score (Fig. 18, Paragraph [0261] – WANG discloses at 1808, the first response score may be compared with a threshold. For example, the content management server 102 may compare the first response score determined from the automated handwriting assessment method with a spelling accuracy threshold value and/or a letter accuracy threshold value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer program product comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer program product for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 13, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer program product of claim 7,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0219] – WANG discloses at 1410, one or more scores may be generated. The one or more scores may comprise each state's observation score, a ground truth model score, or a test response in association with the handwritten user input.),
wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0187] – WANG discloses a model response score may be determined, in some examples, by a human assessor or in-house annotator.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer program product comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer program product for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 14, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer program product of claim 7,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0063] – WANG discloses the user profile data store 301 can further include information identifying one or several user skill levels. In some embodiments, these one or several user skill levels can identify a skill level determined based on past performance by the user interacting with the content delivery network 100, and in some embodiments, these one or several user skill levels can identify a predicted skill level determined based on past performance by the user interacting with the content delivery network 100 and one or several predictive models.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer program product comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer program product for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 15, DEMCHALK teaches a computer system comprising a processor (Fig. 4, #400 called computer system, Paragraph [0073] – DEMCHALK discloses computer system 400 may include one or more processors (also called central processing units, or CPUs), such as a processor 404.)
and one or more computer readable storage media (Paragraph [0074] – DEMCHALK discloses removable storage unit 418 may include a computer usable or readable storage device having stored thereon computer software (control logic) and/or data.),
and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0084] – DEMCHALK discloses a tangible, non-transitory apparatus or article of manufacture comprising a tangible, non-transitory computer usable or readable medium having control logic (software) stored thereon may also be referred to herein as a computer program product or program storage device. Such control logic, when executed by one or more data processing devices (such as computer system 400), may cause such data processing devices to operate as described herein.) comprising:
first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a first image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
a handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0033] – DEMCHALK discloses in 310, document downloader 112 accesses a document for processing. Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK further discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114 [wherein one or more OCR tools 114 is a second image-to-text model]. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114.),
the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0018] – DEMCHALK discloses OCR system 110 is a system for performing OCR on documents. The documents can be in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF), scanned images of text, or other formats that are not necessarily stored in a machine-readable format.),
wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model (Fig. 1, #114 called OCR tools, Paragraph [0022]) have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK further discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0048] – DEMCHALK discloses in 320, text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Each set of text is extracted using a different OCR tool from OCR tools 114. In some embodiments, each OCR tool is selected based on using a different type of text extraction algorithm. For example, in some embodiments, an OCR tool extracts text by analyzing the contents of images in the document, such as PDF images.);
wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – DEMCHALK discloses document OCR system 110 has OCR tools 114. Each OCR tool in OCR tools 114 is a different OCR tool configured to use a different algorithm or technique to perform OCR on documents. In some embodiments, the differences in OCR tools 114 include that the OCR tools are for specific types of documents, specific speed of performing OCR, or variations of similar OCR algorithms. Paragraph [0049] – DEMCHALK further discloses two or more different OCR tools 114 are used by text extractor 116 to extract the text from the document. In some embodiments, the two or more different OCR tools are selected based on expected formats or contents of the documents from which text is being extracted.),
Although DEMCHALK further teaches and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0013] – DEMCHALK discloses different OCR tools are available to perform the OCR of the documents, with each OCR tool using its own algorithm or approach to performing OCR. Different OCR tools run faster or slower, provide higher or lower quality text extraction, are customized for specific applications, or vary in other ways. Paragraph [0035] – DEMCHALK discloses text extractor 116 extracts sets of text from the document using one or more OCR tools 114. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms, or by varying parameters in similar or otherwise identical approaches or algorithms.),
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score;
However, WANG explicitly teaches and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0203] – WANG discloses a range of scores 1310 are associated with a plurality of responses 1320 (illustrated as 1320A and 1320B). Paragraph [0208] – WANG discloses analysis may also determine a score by comparing the two responses and determining a score based on a relative degree of similarity between the correct response and the received responses. For example, when comparing the two responses with the correct response, the system may compare individual lines of the handwritten user input with the expected lines of a typed letter. The response that is closer to the correct response may receive a relatively higher score than the other.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK of having a computer system comprising a processor and one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of WANG of having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system wherein having and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer system for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
DEMCHALK in view of WANG fail to explicitly teach and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
However, SAMEC explicitly teaches and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image (Fig. 11, Paragraph [0599] – SAMEC discloses the severity of agraphia would be understood to be directly related to the number of tasks (instructions provided by the display system for writing particular content) that were not completed. In some embodiments, the display system can compare a user's current results [wherein current results are the first text output] with the user's previous results [wherein previous results are the second text output]. Such comparison may be applied to determine the presence of a neurological condition or to determine the progression of a condition. The display system may interpret handwriting that has become increasingly smaller and/or more illegible over time as an indication of the progression of the disease.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK in view of WANG of having a computer system comprising a processor and one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, wherein the first image-to-text model and the second image-to-text model have different tolerance levels with respect to handwriting in the handwritten image, the second analyzing resulting in a second text output corresponding to the handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score; wherein the second image-to-text model has a higher performance level than the first image-to-text model, and the second image-to-text model has a higher tolerance to degraded handwriting, with the teachings of SAMEC of having and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system and wherein the difference between the first text output and the second text output is indicative of degradation of the handwriting in the handwritten image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain an enhanced method for assessing handwriting skill by using different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison of data, since both DEMCHALK and SAMEC relate to aspects of text recognition and assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and SAMEC discloses performing the neurological analysis is conducted automatically a plurality of times over a plurality of months, further comprising updating a user neurological profile based on performing the neurological analysis; in addition to providing an improved basis for comparison, it will be appreciated that the sharing of other information regarding users may improve the accuracy of the conclusions drawn from the analyses by allowing additional variables to be considered. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), Paragraph [0346, 0412].
Regarding claim 16, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer system of claim 15,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image (Fig. 10, Paragraph [0175] – WANG discloses the user interface may receive interactions in response to providing the first test item, including handwritten user input. Digital representations of the handwritten user input may be transmitted by the assessment application 1004 back to the content management servers 102 dynamically or at a predetermined time associated with the assessment.),
the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0069] – WANG discloses a user can receive content from the content distribution network 100 and can, subsequent to receiving that content, provide a response to the received content. In some embodiments, for example, the received content can comprise one or several questions, prompts, or the like, and the response to the received content can comprise an answer to those one or several questions, prompts, or the like.),
the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0145] – WANG discloses the assessment processor 904 may generate text, images, audio, video, or other digital data to initiate and interaction from the user. The data may comprise a test item associated with an assessment. In some examples, the assessment processor 904 may receive one or more responses to the provided test item as part of the assessment.);
third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0204] – WANG discloses the system may receive a plurality of responses 1320 that are compared with an alphabet, letters, or other characters.),
the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image (Fig. 15, Paragraph [0226] – WANG discloses in illustration 1500, the content management server 102 may receive a digital representation of handwritten user input 1510. The content management server 102 may determine the X-coordinate and Y-coordinate and generate a feature set from the derivatives of these values. One or more scores may be generated for individual characters or words overall, in order to generate a word prediction based on character level hypothesis and/or the scores. Once the word is predicted as the test response, the word may be submitted for scoring purposes.);
and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score (Fig. 18, Paragraph [0261] – WANG discloses at 1808, the first response score may be compared with a threshold. For example, the content management server 102 may compare the first response score determined from the automated handwriting assessment method with a spelling accuracy threshold value and/or a letter accuracy threshold value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer system comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system wherein further comprising: receiving a second handwritten image, the second handwritten image generated in response to a first prompt, the first prompt comprising a portion of text to handwrite; third analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the second handwritten image, the third analyzing resulting in a third text output corresponding to the second handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the third text output and the portion of text, a second handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer system for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 19, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer system of claim 15,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0219] – WANG discloses at 1410, one or more scores may be generated. The one or more scores may comprise each state's observation score, a ground truth model score, or a test response in association with the handwritten user input.),
wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human (Fig. 14, Paragraph [0187] – WANG discloses a model response score may be determined, in some examples, by a human assessor or in-house annotator.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer system comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system wherein further comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and a fifth text output corresponding to the handwritten image, a handwriting skill score, wherein the fifth text output comprises an analysis of the handwritten image produced by a human.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer system for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Regarding claim 20, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer system of claim 15,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
However, WANG explicitly teaches further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0063] – WANG discloses the user profile data store 301 can further include information identifying one or several user skill levels. In some embodiments, these one or several user skill levels can identify a skill level determined based on past performance by the user interacting with the content delivery network 100, and in some embodiments, these one or several user skill levels can identify a predicted skill level determined based on past performance by the user interacting with the content delivery network 100 and one or several predictive models.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer system comprising: generating, by analyzing a difference between the first text output and the second text output, a handwriting skill score, with the teachings of WANG of having further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system wherein further comprising: generating, by comparing the handwriting skill score to a previous handwriting skill score, a skill trend.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer system for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and WANG relate to systems and methods for text extraction and writing assessment, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and WANG discloses systems, methods, and devices to provide a digital assessment of a user's handwriting to assess the user's knowledge of a language, and infer objective scores or scale for real-time analysis of a plurality of user devices. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and WANG (US 20180293434 A1), Paragraph [0026, 0028].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEMCHALK et al. (US 20240212375 A1), herein after referenced as DEMCHALK in view of WANG (US 20180293434 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG in further view of SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), hereinafter referenced as SAMEC in further view of SLINKOWSKY (US 20220301376 A1), hereinafter referenced as SLINKOWSKY.
Regarding claim 9, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer program product of claim 7,
DEMCHALK further teaches wherein the stored program instructions are stored in a computer readable storage device in a server data processing system (Fig. 1, paragraph [0021] – DEMCHALK discloses data storage 135 is a server, computer, hard drive, or other non-transitory storage system designed to store data, such as some or all of a set of documents to be processed by document OCR system 110.),
and wherein the stored program instructions are downloaded in response to a request over a network to a remote data processing system for use in a computer readable storage device associated with the remote data processing system (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0079] – DEMCHALK discloses secondary memory 410 may include other means, devices, components, instrumentalities or other approaches for allowing computer programs and/or other instructions and/or data to be accessed by computer system 400. Such means, devices, components, instrumentalities or other approaches may include, for example, a removable storage unit 422 and an interface 420. See also Paragraph [0080].),
DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC fail to explicitly teach further comprising: program instructions to meter use of the program instructions associated with the request; and program instructions to generate an invoice based on the metered use.
However, SLINKOWSKY explicitly teaches further comprising: program instructions to meter use of the program instructions associated with the request; and program instructions to generate an invoice based on the metered use (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0074] – SLINKOWSKY discloses the program instructions are stored in a computer-readable storage medium in a server data processing system, and downloaded over a network to a remote data processing system for use in a computer-readable storage medium associated with the remote data processing system, and further comprise program instructions to meter usage of computer usable code in response to a request for the usage, and generate one or more invoices based on the metered usage.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions executable by a processor, with the teachings of SLINKOWSKY of having further comprising: program instructions to meter use of the program instructions associated with the request; and program instructions to generate an invoice based on the metered use.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein further comprising: program instructions to meter use of the program instructions associated with the request; and program instructions to generate an invoice based on the metered use.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer program product for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and SLINKOWSKY disclose computer-readable storage mediums storing program instructions, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and SLINKOWSKY discloses systems, methods, and/or computer program products for digital data record authentication that eliminate or minimize likelihood of hacking, tampering, corrupting and misappropriating of votes and voting data associated with digital voting transactions, and further comprise program instructions to meter usage of computer usable code in response to a request for the usage, and generate one or more invoices based on the metered usage. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and SLINKOWSKY (US 20220301376 A1), Paragraph [0024, 0055].
Claims 3, 4, 11, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEMCHALK et al. (US 20240212375 A1), herein after referenced as DEMCHALK in view of WANG (US 20180293434 A1), hereinafter referenced as WANG in further view of SAMEC (US 20200312038 A1), hereinafter referenced as SAMEC in further view of MALVIYA (US 20240362937 A1), hereinafter referenced as MALVIYA.
Regarding claim 3, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC fail to explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
However, MALVIYA explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0059] – MALVIYA discloses at operation 202, the text recognition platform 106 can obtain an image file.),
the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – MALVIYA discloses the visual data set can comprise information corresponding to one image file or a related collection of image files (e.g., medical records, a set of images associated with a particular healthcare provider). The visual data set can include handwritten items, hand-drawn items, stylus-written items, stylus-drawn items, photographs, diagrams, and so forth.);
fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0030] – MALVIYA discloses FIG. 1C shows an example prompt 190, including a query 192 and an associated output 194 generated by the text recognition platform in accordance with some implementations of the present technology.);
and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score (Fig. 3C, Paragraph [0097] – MALVIYA discloses a region proposal network 356a or 356b can include a convolutional neural network that predicts object bounds and objectness scores (scores that measure how well various locations and classes of objects, such as characters and sequences, are identified at various positions within an image).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of MALVIYA of having further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method wherein further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and MALVIYA relate to systems and methods for text extraction and recognition, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and MALVIYA discloses systems, methods, and computer-readable media for a text recognition platform that can pre-process information in image files to improve accuracy in response to prompts (e.g., user prompts) that seek to extract specific information from image files; the platform can improve the robustness of its text recognition technique(s) and capture characters and text in a variety of conditions. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and MALVIYA (US 20240362937 A1), Paragraph [0016, 0018].
Regarding claim 4, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC further in view of MALVIYA teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3,
DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC fail to explicitly teach wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
However, MALVIYA explicitly teaches wherein the object comprises a geometric shape (Fig. 3C, Paragraph [0094] – MALVIYA discloses the region encoder 120 can accept the input image 346 and extract features from the input image 346 in a prompt-dependent manner through the feature extractor 350a and the feature extractor 350b. Paragraph [0095] – MALVIYA further discloses the feature extractor can include extraction of features (e.g., geometric or other features within the image).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC further in view of MALVIYA of having a computer-implemented method comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, with the teachings of MALVIYA of having wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer-implemented method wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer-implemented method for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and MALVIYA relate to systems and methods for text extraction and recognition, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and MALVIYA discloses systems, methods, and computer-readable media for a text recognition platform that can pre-process information in image files to improve accuracy in response to prompts (e.g., user prompts) that seek to extract specific information from image files; the platform can improve the robustness of its text recognition technique(s) and capture characters and text in a variety of conditions. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and MALVIYA (US 20240362937 A1), Paragraph [0016, 0018].
Regarding claim 11, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer program product of claim 7,
DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC fail to explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
However, MALVIYA explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0059] – MALVIYA discloses at operation 202, the text recognition platform 106 can obtain an image file.),
the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – MALVIYA discloses the visual data set can comprise information corresponding to one image file or a related collection of image files (e.g., medical records, a set of images associated with a particular healthcare provider). The visual data set can include handwritten items, hand-drawn items, stylus-written items, stylus-drawn items, photographs, diagrams, and so forth.);
fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0030] – MALVIYA discloses FIG. 1C shows an example prompt 190, including a query 192 and an associated output 194 generated by the text recognition platform in accordance with some implementations of the present technology.);
and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score (Fig. 3C, Paragraph [0097] – MALVIYA discloses a region proposal network 356a or 356b can include a convolutional neural network that predicts object bounds and objectness scores (scores that measure how well various locations and classes of objects, such as characters and sequences, are identified at various positions within an image).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer program product comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of MALVIYA of having further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer program product for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and MALVIYA relate to systems and methods for text extraction and recognition, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and MALVIYA discloses systems, methods, and computer-readable media for a text recognition platform that can pre-process information in image files to improve accuracy in response to prompts (e.g., user prompts) that seek to extract specific information from image files; the platform can improve the robustness of its text recognition technique(s) and capture characters and text in a variety of conditions. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and MALVIYA (US 20240362937 A1), Paragraph [0016, 0018].
Regarding claim 12, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC further in view of MALVIYA teach the computer program product of claim 11,
DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC fail to explicitly teach wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
However, MALVIYA explicitly teaches wherein the object comprises a geometric shape (Fig. 3C, Paragraph [0094] – MALVIYA discloses the region encoder 120 can accept the input image 346 and extract features from the input image 346 in a prompt-dependent manner through the feature extractor 350a and the feature extractor 350b. Paragraph [0095] – MALVIYA further discloses the feature extractor can include extraction of features (e.g., geometric or other features within the image).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC further in view of MALVIYA of having a computer program product comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, with the teachings of MALVIYA of having wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer program product wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer program product for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and MALVIYA relate to systems and methods for text extraction and recognition, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and MALVIYA discloses systems, methods, and computer-readable media for a text recognition platform that can pre-process information in image files to improve accuracy in response to prompts (e.g., user prompts) that seek to extract specific information from image files; the platform can improve the robustness of its text recognition technique(s) and capture characters and text in a variety of conditions. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and MALVIYA (US 20240362937 A1), Paragraph [0016, 0018].
Regarding claim 17, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC teach the computer system of claim 15,
DEMCHALK fails to explicitly teach further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
However, MALVIYA explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0059] – MALVIYA discloses at operation 202, the text recognition platform 106 can obtain an image file.),
the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0022] – MALVIYA discloses the visual data set can comprise information corresponding to one image file or a related collection of image files (e.g., medical records, a set of images associated with a particular healthcare provider). The visual data set can include handwritten items, hand-drawn items, stylus-written items, stylus-drawn items, photographs, diagrams, and so forth.);
fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image (Fig. 1C, Paragraph [0030] – MALVIYA discloses FIG. 1C shows an example prompt 190, including a query 192 and an associated output 194 generated by the text recognition platform in accordance with some implementations of the present technology.);
and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score (Fig. 3C, Paragraph [0097] – MALVIYA discloses a region proposal network 356a or 356b can include a convolutional neural network that predicts object bounds and objectness scores (scores that measure how well various locations and classes of objects, such as characters and sequences, are identified at various positions within an image).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC of having a computer system comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image, with the teachings of MALVIYA of having further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system wherein further comprising: receiving a third handwritten image, the third handwritten image generated in response to a second prompt, the second prompt comprising an object to hand draw; fourth analyzing, using the first image-to-text model, the third handwritten image, the fourth analyzing resulting in a fourth text output corresponding to the third handwritten image; and generating, by analyzing a difference between the fourth text output and the object, a third handwriting skill score.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer system for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and MALVIYA relate to systems and methods for text extraction and recognition, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and MALVIYA discloses systems, methods, and computer-readable media for a text recognition platform that can pre-process information in image files to improve accuracy in response to prompts (e.g., user prompts) that seek to extract specific information from image files; the platform can improve the robustness of its text recognition technique(s) and capture characters and text in a variety of conditions. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and MALVIYA (US 20240362937 A1), Paragraph [0016, 0018].
Regarding claim 18, DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC further in view of MALVIYA teach the computer system of claim 17,
DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC fail to explicitly teach wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
However, MALVIYA explicitly teaches wherein the object comprises a geometric shape (Fig. 3C, Paragraph [0094] – MALVIYA discloses the region encoder 120 can accept the input image 346 and extract features from the input image 346 in a prompt-dependent manner through the feature extractor 350a and the feature extractor 350b. Paragraph [0095] – MALVIYA further discloses the feature extractor can include extraction of features (e.g., geometric or other features within the image).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of DEMCHALK and WANG in view of SAMEC further in view of MALVIYA of having a computer system comprising: first analyzing, using a first image-to-text model having a first performance level, a handwritten image, the first analyzing resulting in a first text output corresponding to the handwritten image; second analyzing, using a second image-to-text model having a second performance level, the handwritten image, with the teachings of MALVIYA of having wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
Wherein having DEMCHALK’s computer system wherein the object comprises a geometric shape.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a computer system for assessing handwriting skill by using one or more OCR tools wherein each OCR tool may differ in how it extracts the text, such as using completely different approaches or algorithms to extract writing from images with improved accuracy, since both DEMCHALK and MALVIYA relate to systems and methods for text extraction and recognition, wherein DEMCHALK discloses systems, methods and computer program products for extracting text from the same document using different OCR tools, comparing the extracted text to identify the best extracted text from the different tools based on certain metrics or characteristics of the extracted text, wherein the text extraction further includes error correction tailored for known OCR errors that are not typically fixed by spellchecker software, improving the quality of the extracted text, and MALVIYA discloses systems, methods, and computer-readable media for a text recognition platform that can pre-process information in image files to improve accuracy in response to prompts (e.g., user prompts) that seek to extract specific information from image files; the platform can improve the robustness of its text recognition technique(s) and capture characters and text in a variety of conditions. Please see DEMCHALK (US 20240212375 A1), Paragraph [0035, 0048], and MALVIYA (US 20240362937 A1), Paragraph [0016, 0018].
Examiner Remarks
In claims 7, 8, 9, and 15, examiner understands “computer readable storage media” to be a non-transitory unit and not a signal per se, as disclosed in the applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0030] – “A computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se, such as radio waves or other freely propagating electromagnetic waves, electromagnetic waves propagating through a waveguide, light pulses passing through a fiber optic cable, electrical signals communicated through a wire, and/or other transmission media. As will be understood by those of skill in the art, data is typically moved at some occasional points in time during normal operations of a storage device, such as during access, de-fragmentation or garbage collection, but this does not render the storage device as transitory because the data is not transitory while it is stored.”
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
PATZER et al. (US 20230252230 A1)- A system can include a data store, including a subscriber list, and a computing device in communication therewith. The computing device can perform optical character recognition of an image to identify text portions, each text portion including position data and a subset of text portions including handwritten data. The computing device can associate each text portion with a respective column of a plurality of columns and a respective row of a plurality of rows based on the position data. The computing device can analyze individual ones of text portions associated with a particular column to determine a particular data type corresponding to the particular column. The computing device can generate a respective entry to the subscriber list for individual ones of a subset of the plurality of rows with individual ones of the text portions from the particular column being stored in a field associated with the particular data type....... Fig. 1, 3, Abstract.
ATTAR et al. (US 20230214428 A1)- A system may iteratively scan a portion of a document, extract first data from the portion of the document, and determine, using a trained model, whether the first data corresponds to one or more document types based on one or more confidence thresholds. The system may repeat this process, increasing the portion of the document scanned by a predetermined amount each iteration, until the first data corresponds to the one or more document types based on the one or more confidence thresholds. Responsive to determining the first data corresponds to the one or more document types based on the one or more confidence thresholds, the system may cause a graphical user interface (GUI) of a user device to display a notification indicating a document type match... Fig. 3, 4, Abstract.
HE et al. (US 20230037272 A1)- A handwritten content removing method and device and a storage medium. The handwritten content removing method comprises: acquiring an input image of a text page to be processed, the input image comprising a handwritten region, which comprises a handwritten content (S10); identifying the input image so as to determine the handwritten content in the handwritten region (S11); and removing the handwritten content in the input image so as to obtain an output image (S12)…. Fig. 1, 2A, Abstract.
MANNBY et al. (US 20220375244 A1)- Examples described herein generally relate to systems and methods for handwriting recognition. In an example, a computing device may receive input corresponding to a handwritten word and apply first recognition model to the input. The first recognition model may be configured to determine a first confidence level of a first portion of the input is greater than a second confidence level of a second portion of the input. The computing device may also apply a second recognition model to the input, wherein the second recognition model is different from the first recognition model and combine results of the first recognition model and the second recognition model to determine a list of candidate words. The computing device may also output one or more candidate words from the list of candidate words.... Fig. 1, 3, Abstract.
CASSUTO et al. (US 20200251217 A1) – Handwriting analysis is provided by data analysis using machine learning. A handwriting sample is received and the sample is analyzed by one or more analysis components that can include one or more of: segmentation analysis of handwriting with numeric extraction of data, vector analysis of handwriting, demographic data, known diagnoses, data from other manual/motor tasks, and data from other cognitive/higher function tasks. Machine learning is used to adjust or add criteria in at least one of the analysis components, the machine learning comprising a predicted probability of diagnosis based on prior handwriting analysis samples… Fig. 1A, 1B, Abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEZAWIT NOLAWI SHIMELES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673